Terrorist Sympathizers: Media Manipulation

SPIEZ

Country flag
Washington: Anmol Saxena has done a hard day's work in defending his channel. What he describes as the increasingly difficult job of sorting through the myriad streams of information and the crowd of talking heads is exactly the question I posed in my column. The channel chose someone who is known to parrot Pakistani establishment views. He has neither credentials nor the ability to articulate coherently. A little background check on him from independent and respected Pakistani analysts would have solved the problem.

The gentleman's enthusiasm to just keep talking — by now a well-proven tactic of agenda-loving people — over the voices of others was a ploy, not his passion for a cause. Give me the benefit of some experience in being able to sort wheat from chaff. I have been a journalist for nearly three decades and have not always been "sitting in Washington." Anyway why should that be a problem?

Screengrab of Al Jazeera website
The anchor feebly tried to interject but never succeeded. If she were familiar with sub-continental history, she would have known how the Pakistani guest was spinning it and to what end. In my opinion, the anchor failed to intelligently "guide" the discussion. The point about the need for multiple views was unnecessary since intelligent viewers and reporters seek that by definition.

I am happy that the channel has received awards and accolades from important people. But if I might be permitted to think that Mr Chidambaram chose to reveal details of the dossier via Al Jazeera, it might be because he knew it would get the attention of the people in Pakistan. It was a strategy, I would conjecture.