Spectre of Russia-China-Pakistan axis haunts Indian minds

Who should be India's partner

we should cultivate usa .....we are reaching a point which has not been reached in the past ...namely that the indian diaspora in the usa is reaching large numbers and very high quality too with 2 or 3 governors of states being Indian origin , nether japans nor china's diaspora has had such political accomplishments

Indians are extremely well placed not so much in money -making positions but rather in political and educational positions which from a strategic point of view are far more valuable than mere money-making

we have with pretty high success assimilated into the usa society and polity to such an extent that we should now take a totally different strategy towards the usa

a strategy that will make the strategy of the old days ( eg Indira Gandhi's days ) look alike a locomotive steam engine in this digital age .

we can still keep our ties with russia as member @LETHALFORCE has pointed out we are a big buyer of russian stuff so that in itself takes care of that relationship

the usa may be a tough act if we try on our own but i strongly suggest we use israel as a fulcrum to wedge the relationship with the usa ..... we must continue our support of israel preferably covertly and get them to use their special relationship with the usa to circumvent the remaining technology denials and also more positively to make better connections with the usa

there is no harm harping on the fact that our student-researchers in the usa are contributing hugely to their science and technology at their universities and even this alone is of great help to the relationship

we dont need to be worried about packland linking with whomever and in this case we should play up the russian fears of china takeover in the riussian far east , which by the way are very real and even imminent .

but we have to be active in offering an alternative to chinese business in Russian far east - much lateral and creative thinking would be needed for this

it is a job for the MEA and i hope they can be innovative and not just the age-old typical civil servant mentality .

invitation to comment and if you feel what ive written is interesting, you may "clicke" :-
@angeldude13 @ @Ancient Indian @bose @brational @blueblood @anupamsurey @ersakthivel @Blackwater @bengalraider @cobra commando @DingDong @Hari Sud @Kunal Biswas @LETHALFORCE @mhk99 @Neil @OneGrimPilgrim @pmaitra @Rowdy @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @Srinivas_K @sorcerer @TejasMK3 @Yusuf @jackprince @Bangalorean @indiandefencefan @aliyah @hit&run @VIP @Razor @Blood+ @Screambowl @Sylex21 @ @thethinker @tsunami @Zebra @sgarg @Rashna @sabari @laughingbuddha @rock127

prohumanity

Well...India does not need Israel as "middleman" to have relation with USA. 3.5 million Indian-Americans and 1.3 billions Indians are more than enough force to deal directly with USA. Times have changed. Israel is puny 6 million people hated by at least 3 to 4 billion people in the world. In USA, things have changed drastically...inlast few years..Israeli influence is on constant decline and American public is getting really tired of "israeli whiny babies' like Nothing..yahoos. They are loud and control media so that it creates illusion of Israeli influence...the ground reality is that Israeli influence is 1/4th of what people are made to perceive. There are 6 million jews in USA and they are becoming less and less relevant by each passing day.
India can and should engage with USA directly...no middle man is needed.

I wish I could like your post 2, 3 more times. Honestly the USA gets too much of a bad reputation in India. The USA is actually very very simple to understand. The USA follows it's own national interests. Just find ways to be useful to the USA and it will never bite you. The USA is also HYPER paranoid about threats. It is very important to appear very friendly and a solid ally of the USA to the average American. This is quite easy as actions don't really have to match the flowery words said during press releases.
Then what is USA's national interest? Oh, yes, keeping US's dominant status in this world economically, militarily and politically. In other words, continuing the current world order in which the average American can have their "American dream": less than 5% of world population consumes around 25% of world resource. Anyone may erode this will be regarded threat. So, as long as 1.2 billions Indians can guarantee this kind of living standard to 300 million average Americans, USA will see you as her best friend even you are not friendly.

People always claim the USA screws over their allies, but do they really? Britain, Canada, Australia, Japan, Germany, has the USA ever turned on their close allies?
You kidding me?
Britain -Americans forced British to destroy their own colonial system and the world currency status of Pound; once again, in 1956, British had to withdraw her army from Suez canal under the threat of USA;
Japan - Plaza Accord, 1990 Japanese financial market collapse and 1997 Asian financial crisis;
Germany - another target of Plaza Accord, Ukraine war;

I don't even need to talk about the other allies in Asia and South America.

What happens to a nation when it becomes an American ally? Just look at Germany, South Korea, Japan, all helped out with the best weapons in the world, lots of economic support and aid money, all top of the line first world nations now.
Of course, as long as you are upholding American national interest, they won't mind sending you some tips.

Allying with the USA is a HUGE opportunity that shouldn't be missed. Even if India was to become the most powerful nation on Earth, would Indians really want to run around South America or Europe policing the world?
You know, even the thought of relacing USA as the most powerful nation on Earth is a big threat to USA national interest. Didn't Japanese tell you that?

Hell no, sit back, ally with the Americans, let them deal with the BS and enjoy getting economically rich as India dominates all of South Asia and the Indian Ocean Region.
In 1971, India was just one step away from the dominance of South Asia. She was stopped by a country. Guess who, USA!

Someone just need to learn something about American's geopolitical strategy.

If Russia indeed sells Flankers to Pakistan (even if through Chinese proxies like Shenyang bureau), then India has a valid reason to snap all defense ties with Russia. We can't "balance" shit with Russia when they're selling fighters as good as ours to Pakistan. Not only are they jeopardising the remaining 30-MKI tenders, but also MiG-29K orders for two carriers.

Yumdoot

Thent what is USA's national interest? Oh, yes, keeping US's dominant status in this world economically, militarily and politically.
<snip>
In 1971, India was just one step away from the dominance of South Asia. She was stopped by a country. Guess who, USA!
US 'dominance' of world is US business and Indian dominance of Indian Subcontinent is Indian business.

You chinese of all people should be the last ones to tell the world what US strategy is, having been the beneficiaries of it.

Didn't your people go to the US with their G-2 proposal. What gave them so much confidence?

But these US fanboys are simply incredible.

What exactly this frightened knee jerk reaction shows to the rest of the world.

What will be the tea time manoranjan be when Modi and Putin meet or for that matter when Modi meets Obama?

We have Modi's team cutting the cobwebs down on the silly UNSC Veto that every head of state promises to India and then backed off at the last moment.

India 1 - Russia 1 - Obama 1. Everybody back to square 1. :p

I would like to have some format where we acknowledge what was said and make sure it never gets said again. Not sure why we even tolerate Paki Thunder engines ... perhaps they are embedded with some Indian collaboration(s)

guru-dutt

agar meri shaadi sonakshi sinha se ho sakti hai to russia pakistan china triangle zaroor ban sakta hai :sarcastic:

guru-dutt

we should cultivate usa .....we are reaching a point which has not been reached in the past ...namely that the indian diaspora in the usa is reaching large numbers and very high quality too with 2 or 3 governors of states being Indian origin , nether japans nor china's diaspora has had such political accomplishments

Indians are extremely well placed not so much in money -making positions but rather in political and educational positions which from a strategic point of view are far more valuable than mere money-making

we have with pretty high success assimilated into the usa society and polity to such an extent that we should now take a totally different strategy towards the usa

a strategy that will make the strategy of the old days ( eg Indira Gandhi's days ) look alike a locomotive steam engine in this digital age .

we can still keep our ties with russia as member @LETHALFORCE has pointed out we are a big buyer of russian stuff so that in itself takes care of that relationship

the usa may be a tough act if we try on our own but i strongly suggest we use israel as a fulcrum to wedge the relationship with the usa ..... we must continue our support of israel preferably covertly and get them to use their special relationship with the usa to circumvent the remaining technology denials and also more positively to make better connections with the usa

there is no harm harping on the fact that our student-researchers in the usa are contributing hugely to their science and technology at their universities and even this alone is of great help to the relationship

we dont need to be worried about packland linking with whomever and in this case we should play up the russian fears of china takeover in the riussian far east , which by the way are very real and even imminent .

but we have to be active in offering an alternative to chinese business in Russian far east - much lateral and creative thinking would be needed for this

it is a job for the MEA and i hope they can be innovative and not just the age-old typical civil servant mentality .

invitation to comment and if you feel what ive written is interesting, you may "clicke" :-
@angeldude13 @ @Ancient Indian @bose @brational @blueblood @anupamsurey @ersakthivel @Blackwater @bengalraider @cobra commando @DingDong @Hari Sud @Kunal Biswas @LETHALFORCE @mhk99 @Neil @OneGrimPilgrim @pmaitra @Rowdy @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @Srinivas_K @sorcerer @TejasMK3 @Yusuf @jackprince @Bangalorean @indiandefencefan @aliyah @hit&run @VIP @Razor @Blood+ @Screambowl @Sylex21 @ @thethinker @tsunami @Zebra @sgarg @Rashna @sabari @laughingbuddha @rock127
dont worry too much about pakies they have a tendency to shoot themselfs in foot and if what your suggesting is true then in a way its gonna make owr job easier than vice versa

US 'dominance' of world is US business and Indian dominance of Indian Subcontinent is Indian business.
Obviously, Americans think Indian Subcontinent is part of the world which should be under their control and they don't like the idea of anyone dominating any part of "their world".

You chinese of all people should be the last ones to tell the world what US strategy is, having been the beneficiaries of it.
Yes, we take big advantage of their strategy, but we never promise to put USA ahead of our own national interest.

Didn't your people go to the US with their G-2 proposal. What gave them so much confidence?
Well, on the contrary, it was Americans came up with this "G-2" proposal and Chinese said "NO".

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/China/KE29Ad01.html

Yumdoot

Obviously, Americans think Indian Subcontinent is part of the world which should be under their control and they don't like the idea of anyone dominating any part of "their world".

Yes, we take big advantage of their strategy, but we never promise to put USA ahead of our own national interest.

Well, on the contrary, it was Americans came up with this "G-2" proposal and Chinese said "NO".

http://www.atimes.com/atimes/China/KE29Ad01.html
First I am sorry about the G-2 mention, did not properly framed the counter.

However the point was not so much as about G-2 per se, rather it was about the 'competitive relationship' that both US and China feign to rope in other countries like Russia and India and groupings like ASEAN into one or the other camp. This is sufficiently borne out by the:
1) Chimerica proposal around 2005 was by the westerners and
2) much later Chinese proposal made to USN Admiral Timothy Keating to divide up the Pacific and the IOR into American and Chinese spheres of influence, respectively.

Both of you are working in concert. There is some disagreement on where and what you guys want to divide between yourself so there is a show put on that both of you would help make some or the other security alliance. But all of that, from our POV is holy shit.

That is why the Chinese keep 'stealing' things from US (and Russia too). At least the Russians ask you to put upfront some licence fee. The Americans just let you 'steal' without anything ever happening thereafter - no overhauling of intel, no change in acquisition processes, no change in strategies and equipment. Just a show trail and that is it. Saala bewakoof bana rakha hai, duniya ka.

Look some random American fanboys in India will fall for this. They are hooked to Americanese and Mall-lifestyle, without them knowing about it. But you cannot fool all the people.

As an Indian my job is to help ensure that 1.25 crore people do not again ever have to send in 12 lac soldiers for a war that is being fought by their oppressors like in the WW-1 (or for that matter 25 lac of WW-2). We dont need Indian fighting among themselves and some third person handing out bravery medals of the repugnant kind. And whenever this G-2 panthi kind of stuff happens anywhere in the world we Indians have to suffer, for no fault of ours.

Some day if you chinese and these americans keep pushing us too hard, into this global netagiri business, we just may lose it and then we will see who gets to hold what netagiri.

The Russians have the experience at these silly things. Rather they have played it quite well. And their citizens also understand these things very well. We Indians have only a small sliver of some of our leaders who understand this business and if they decide its US, then its US and if they decide its SCO then its SCO. And if they decide Ekla Chalo then its Ekla Chalo.

Not for nothing, are most foreigners categorised as Mallechas in our histories.

ersakthivel

Brilliance
The su-35 to PAK is a pressure tactic being applied on IAF top brass , which is primarily focused on rafale at the cost of FGFA, of late IAf is making very strange comments on FGFA and russians are applying their good old tactics again. that too after the good performance of Su-30 MKI in Indradanush against typhoon , russians are forcing IAF top brass to be a bit more positive on FGFA by talking up pakistan deal.

Entirely plausible, what do you think GoI's stance on this is privately?

prohumanity

Who should be India's partner..US or Russia ? Another STUPID question from western stooges..
Why they can not come out of this "black and white" "all or none" "with us or against us" mindset.
My answer to this stupid question is BOTH US and Russia.
But, the way the question is framed..does not want to give you that choice.

First I am sorry about the G-2 mention, did not properly framed the counter.
Both of you are working in concert. There is some disagreement on where and what you guys want to divide between yourself so there is a show put on that both of you would help make some or the other security alliance. But all of that, from our POV is holy shit.
I failed to see how these are related to US-India relationship. Are you angry because both of them ignore India's interest in their negotiation? Why should they?

From American point of view, India is not their ally and India won't be their ally, they know it, Indian government knows it and Chinese know it. Only fools can believe that a 1.2 billions country could be someone's puppet.

In Chinese eyes, whatever they get from the Sino-US competition, they get it from the hands of Americans. These benefits don't belong to India in the first place, what is India whining about?

That is why the Chinese keep 'stealing' things from US (and Russia too). At least the Russians ask you to put upfront some licence fee. The Americans just let you 'steal' without anything ever happening thereafter - no overhauling of intel, no change in acquisition processes, no change in strategies and equipment. Just a show trail and that is it. Saala bewakoof bana rakha hai, duniya ka.
Since Chinese can't stop US "stealing" things from China, certainly US can't complain about Chinese theft.

As an Indian my job is to help ensure that 1.25 crore people do not again ever have to send in 12 lac soldiers for a war that is being fought by their oppressors like in the WW-1 (or for that matter 25 lac of WW-2). We dont need Indian fighting among themselves and some third person handing out bravery medals of the repugnant kind. And whenever this G-2 panthi kind of stuff happens anywhere in the world we Indians have to suffer, for no fault of ours.
Well, that is your own concern, neither American's, nor Chinese.

Some day if you chinese and these americans keep pushing us too hard, into this global netagiri business, we just may lose it and then we will see who gets to hold what netagiri.
My friend, there is one thing you need to learn: people won't stop pushing you because you MAY lose it. Only when you can show people what is the consequence when they pushed too hard, people will start to worry that you MAY lose it.

The Russians have the experience at these silly things. Rather they have played it quite well. And their citizens also understand these things very well. We Indians have only a small sliver of some of our leaders who understand this business and if they decide its US, then its US and if they decide its SCO then its SCO. And if they decide Ekla Chalo then its Ekla Chalo.
Not for nothing, are most foreigners categorised as Mallechas in our histories.
Well, your leaders have been always understanding these since 1947. The problem is: in the most of times, they got nothing to fight back.

Yumdoot

@no smoking we don't care whether you bear a son or a daughter or a napunsak from your compulsive one night stands with Russians or with Americans.

All I care is to expose your fake 'rivalry'. You can expect some Pakis to fall for this. Even some US fanboys born and bred by poor parenthood. But you cannot fool 1.2 billion people who care for themselves.

The two of you cannot expect to be our masters and not have repercussions. Indian interests will not be decided by some random chinese or some random americans in a stupid summit meeting.

Yumdoot

I too thought that way but this http://en.riss.ru/analysis/18882/ recent write up does make things a bit to unclear. Because this institute is talking about another form of Paki==India. Something that is not acceptable at all.

The split in the OROP-Officers and OROP-PBOR agitation has clearly shown that a substantial part of the Officer cadre is quite politically motivated. My jaw dropped when a Col. level relative recently said - Modi did not do as much as he had promised. And this relative is actually not in the suckers class of the officers. My relative is kind of an outlier - a happy go lucky minding his business type. But the propaganda inside must have been heavy to have made his say that and not realize how much has already been accomplished by the GoI in last one and half years. I am afraid we may need to reassess the extent to which the officer cadre will allow itself to get influenced.

One of the member pointed out that he stopped after reading part of the first line "Perverted in the Western imagination as a backwards land of terrorism and poverty, the mainstream media myth about Pakistan carries little factual weight."

But then that member ignored the second part of the same sentence "and purposely neglects the country’s rising geopolitical importance in Eurasia."

That Pakistan is a geopolitical creation is a well accepted idea. The fact that a Russian institute is now promoting it as such implies that Russians today see us as being on the cusp of a change, where we may end up becoming the new Pakis of Asia or the new Israelites of Asia. And the SCO may be their new vehicle. Russians seem to be betting that they may not in future need India to keep tabs on China. Either they are now comfortable with China or they know India will still be competing against China and take away some heat from their direction, regardless of what Russians do. Surprising this is all this is getting done for Russia, without any reference to our current/future Russian alignment, instead it is solely on account of our pruported US alignment. So from the Russian POV it may not matter at all if we promote SCO or not so long as we remain inimical to China.

Let me attempt some of my own analcyst-panthi :D.

Big Picture:
I have always believed that till date China and Americans have worked only to divide the world among themselves. If the Russians have confidence in the Chinese, today despite their histories where China had backstabbed the Soviets, then there has got to be a reason for that. Now Russians are into Syria today less than an year after having brokered the Iran Nuke deal alongwith the Chinese support. And I doubt if they do not have Chinese acquiescence in their Syrian move. Americans main stream media is raising hue and cry only because they too could be unsure of the contours of the new relationship.

The Chinese already have access to the Saudi oil and US cannot say much about that. US and Europe also needs the Saudi oil. Indians and the rest of the world is also feeding on Saudi Oil. That leaves only the CAR+Iranian oil that is up for the grabs, to the Chinese and they seem to be determined to do it.

This is going to be important for Modi. We have already lost a lot of Iranian Oil, thanks to the high falutin alignment to US interests. Americans are extorting throught FMS route for maintaining their stance on Pakistan. Tomorrow if we do not pay up they will quietly begin wooing pakis with weapons again at a fuller rate. Today they supply only modified Harpoons and expect us to say thanks and turn over.

Russians have been seeing this for last 10+ years. They know the PVNR and ABV times are well and truly gone and Modi is an unknown entity even for the Russians. Russians know only as much about Modi as the rest of the world, that Modi has the support of:
1) the patriotic section of officers,
2) even more importantly of the PBOR,
3) even more importantly of all the intel set up and
4) even more importantly of nearly the whole country.
Modi is also only a Murti that represents something else - a Mukhauta if you may :p. The 2014 general elections have been a surprise for everybody. Remember BJP had admitted that even they are short of people for ministerships because essentially they had set for themselves the target of 272. BJP had never prepared itself for the possibility that they may get a bigger haul.

But like everybody else even the Russians don't quite understand what ambitions/aspirations/fears/characters, lie slithering underneath Modi.

Small Picture:
The Russians are not testing our armed forces. If you remember, the Russians did not start ATV collaboration with the Indian Navy.They started ATV with DRDO instead. Only we bear respect for Indian Navy for its indigenization drive. Russian may instead be trying to protect themselves from a Buddhi Koti Subbarao kind of incident.

The Russians have nearly told the Chief of Air Staff, point blank, that he is lying about the Sukhois and that he has no real control over some of his Sukhoi pilots. The chips in the oil incident cannot be ignored. The sudden jump in Sukhoi availability suggests things for people willing to live with open questions.

Army has the all consuming affair of OROP-Officers to worry about, because of the much bigger head-count. Which is not entirely unjustified. But then again there have been one too many reports of Officers having lost laptops etc. Of the Main Stream Media reporting coups. Army officers being taken down on date of birth issues. Defence secretary becoming the National Auditor. All this cannot go un-noticed, even if we Indians pretend that this is normal. And it may actually be normal for us, but an outsider is under no obligation to see it like us.

Russians may already have written off nearly all our Armed forces from their strategic calculus long time back. They may instead by trying to buy influence just like others for the simple fact that there are officers of that kind who have never been exposed.

I don't know what Modi is going to do. But I know what DRDO should be tasked to do, pronto. Every single system/sub-system, that is intel related, communication related, detection related and signature generating must be changed/tweeked/modified/reverse-engineered, on all our military equipment, whether US supplied or Russian supplied. With completely different combat only modes none of which are handed out as study material for staff trainings. Have people trained by practice and practice only. Create gaps in information flow within research establishments where any kind of interaction is routed through secure networks only (till now this is lose). Keep even the personal records and dealings of senior DRDO project managers secret. Currently even their stay and travel records are being leaked. Afford this secrecy to even the DRDO project managers that may be known to be corrupt - deal with their corruption issues behind closed doors. Get ready to reverse engineer anything that may become a limiting factor. We cannot afford the fate of Iranian F-14s. We are not as rich. Sink money in completely independent CFD and metallurgy studies like the way BARC worked on Nuke matters. Foreign studies should be allowed only if sponsored by Indian agencies. No foreign based or educated scientist/engineer should be imported. We are in the midst of a US-China tangle where Russia may already have sided with China. Pakistan is just a bahana / a sideshow. Pakis are a drag even on SCO. But the can again serve to keep India busy.

All this may sound somewhat dry and cynical. But then a lot of Indians have been promoting US alignment under the guise of pragmatic-national-interest. And this is how the game is played if it comes to pragmatic-national-interest. Lets see what Modi ji gets for us from his Obama visit. Its show time for these US fanboys, now. Dikhao beta kya kareke dikha sakte ho.

This sounds somewhat alarmist too but I think it is not entirely unworthy.

Indibomber

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi is yet again on one of his frequent travels abroad. This time he revisits the US, presumably to take part in the 70th session of the UN General Assembly and to press India’s case for UN Security Council reforms and a permanent seat on it.

He will also be visiting the Silicon Valley to drum up investment in India. The highpoint will be the meeting with President Barack Obama, clearly a must these days considering both are now on first name terms. Modi has a passion for foreign travel and has developed an art of sweetening his diplomacy with arms deals. In fact this has become a somewhat embarrassing feature of his diplomatic drive.

A day before Modi embarked on his seven-day trip to the US, the cabinet cleared a proposal to buy $3.2 billion worth of US-made CH 47F heavy lift Chinook and AH-64 Block III Apache attack helicopters. This deal was spoken about in 2014 when Modi made a state visit to the US and was advertised as the new high watermark in India-US relations. In August 2015, the Indian Air Force cleared a proposal to buy three more giant C-17 Globemaster aircraft. As per the 2011 contract, which was worth $4.7 billion, India had an option clause to purchase six additional C-17s over its order of 10.

(Photo: Reuters)
On this visit he is also expected to discuss the potential purchase of 16 S-70B Seahawk multi-role helicopters from Sikorsky for the Indian Navy. The deal is estimated to be worth about $1 billion. Due to these exertions, India has climbed to the top ranking from the 24th place as an importer of arms from the US after buying $1.9 billion worth of American military hardware last year.

Modi’s Arms Diplomacy
The announcement of large defence contracts on the eve of a foreign visit by Modi is now a regular practice. When he made his first overseas visit to self-professedly pacifist Japan, the media was primed with news that Japan has also removed six Indian space and defence entities from the “foreign end users list”, which will help defence technology cooperation. A much-awaited agreement on India buying the Shin Maywa US-2 amphibian aircraft was completed. A joint statement said both sides would work on building the US-2 in India “including transfer of the aircraft and its technology” to India.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi shakes hands with Japan’s Prime Minister Shinzo Abe during a signing ceremony at the state guest house in Tokyo September 1, 2014. (Photo: Reuters)
On the heels of Modi’s visit to Germany, also in April this year, the German defence minister, Ursula von der Leyen, recently arrived in Delhi for a three-day visit during which she sought “to deepen bilateral ties, besides focusing on regional and international security, and defence issues.” She also visited India’s Western Naval Command headquarters and met the Flag Officer C-in-C to discuss India’s naval expansion plans and requirements. This is most unusual but in a regime where military purchases are high on the agenda, nothing comes as a surprise anymore.

“Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s visit to Germany in April has given a new impetus to Indo-German relations. Leyen’s visit will be a further boost for our strategic partnership at all levels”

German ambassador to India, Michael Steiner

When Modi visited France in April this year, he conveyed India’s decision to buy 36 Rafale fighter aircraft in flyaway condition “as quickly as possible” bypassing the log-jammed deal for supply of 126 Rafale aircraft. For this, an inter-governmental agreement will be signed under “separate terms and conditions” which will be discussed by officials. This deal is worth over $7 billion, if it materialises.

(Photo: Reuters)
Moscow is not Happy
Till India began buying arms from the West, with the US and Israel emerging as major suppliers, Russia was the main source of India’s arsenal. Not surprisingly there have been periodic expressions of disquiet over this from Moscow. So Modi is addressing Moscow’s concerns too. After meeting President Putin in December 2014, Modi said that he looked forward to working with the Russian President to further deepen and broad-base the strategic partnership including in the areas of defence, nuclear energy, space, energy, trade and investment, and addressing regional and global challenges.

India has major deals with Russia to purchase over 290 SU30MKI fighters and the fifth generation PAK FA T-50 stealth fighter that it is jointly developing with Russia. But despite this, India’s rash of strategic partnerships has caused Russia to react in Putin’s characteristic style. Consequently, there are reports of Russia willing to sell Pakistan attack helicopters. The message is quite clear. Moscow is not happy with Modi’s arms diplomacy. It would still prefer India to keep the West at arms length. Despite these Russian misgivings the operational phrase in our diplomacy now seems to be “strategic partnership.” In other words the carrot of defence purchases is dangled to buy political support.

According to Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI) the volume of Indian imports of major weapons between 2010 and 2014 was 140% higher than in the previous five-year period, making India the world’s largest major arms importer during this time. India accounted for almost 15% of global imports, more than three times as much as China, whose arms imports actually decreased by 42% between 2005 and 2009 and 2010-14. In fact, India now seems to be the new Saudi Arabia, a nation to be courted because it buys huge quantities of weapons.

http://www.thequint.com/opinion/2015/09/25/modis-sweet-diplomatic-overtures-is-making-moscow-uneasy

Modi's visit to Russia in Dec would be of massive Importance. In International relationships there are no friends only interest's and Modi has to be careful that we do not cut off ties with Russian and maintain healthy relationships. US has been
historically anti India and change has only happened in last 10 or so. The only edge that India maintains over most of the world economies is massive English speaking population and US gets easy and cheap labor who do not fight back right or wrong and these things can change fast.

Kissinger's famous quote: 'To be an enemy of America can be dangerous, but to be a friend is fatal.'

prohumanity

There is NO Russia-China-Paki axis...its in imagination of some people who do not understand geopolitics.
There is Russia-China-India-Brazil-South Africa axis which is getting closer and stronger. Follow the money ..my man...look at trade figures....money talks ! No body wants to invest in loser Paki as they fear they might not get their money back. Yes..there is still a US-Saudi-Paki axis BUT it is lying low at this time but can be activated to bother China-Russia-India.