Sorry, I am a Journalist!

Discussion in 'Politics & Society' started by abirbec04, Nov 30, 2010.

1. abirbec04

abirbec04 Regular Member

Aug 13, 2010
    The Sunday Cover of The New Indian Express dated November 28, 2010 is by Gautam Datt. The New Indian Express once again stood apart from the rest by displaying 'Journalism of Courage' by publishing a balanced and thought-provoking piece. Thanks to Radia tapes, the true face of Journalism is finally exposed. Courtesy: The New Indian Express

Anantha Krishnan Muralidharan Nair

“What do YOU mean by Radia tapes?” my son (Class-V), recovering from a bad bout of fever, had a very interesting question this Sunday morning. His mother, i.e., my wife, had an interesting answer to his query: “It’s the story of how corrupt Journalists are!”
    While I used my Veto Power (sic!) to end the Sunday morning debate abruptly, the guilt within me in not giving a proper explanation to the little fellow grew by the hour. So, I decided to pen this piece on Tarmka007 – which carries the catch-line Journalism Purpose!
    The bulky Sunday Supplements of The New Indian Express and Deccan Herald had interesting stories on the Falling Towers of the Fourth Estate. Then I received an interesting piece from sans serif written by Mr T.J.S. George. Like a classic Sachin straight drive, TJS was as fine, flawless and inspirational as ever. I rang my friend Gautam Datt, who wrote the Sunday cover in The New Indian Express, and congratulated him for his very balanced piece.
    A Journalist provoked by his son and cornered by his wife was soon at work. For a change, shutters down on Tejas and Agni! A piece on Journalism, my sole bread-winning-profession, instead.