Seven ways India can rescue Pakistan

Butter Chicken

Pervez Hoodbhoy: Former Pakistani President Pervez Musharaff offered him the Sitara-i-Imtiaz, the third highest honour in the State of Pakistan, but Dr Pervez Hoodbhoy, 61, refused it. A Pakistani scientist, essayist, and political-defence analyst, Hoodbhoy is a professor of nuclear physics and heads the physics department at Quaid-e-Azam University. A strong and avid supporter of nuclear disarmament, non-nuclear proliferation and the peaceful use of nuclear technology in Pakistan.

Mani Shankar Aiyar: A former Indian diplomat with 26 years of service in the Indian foreign services, Aiyar resigned from the IFS in 1989 to join politics. He has been elected as Congress M.P from Mayiladuthurai in 1991 and 2004. He has served has Union Cabinet Minister for Petroleum and Natural Gas and Sports Minister. Most recently, he was Minister of Panchayati Raj Minister until he lost his seat in the 2009 Lok Sabha elections. He is a well-known political columnist and the author of Pakistan Papers and Remembering Rajiv, and has edited a four-volume publication, Rajiv Gandhi's India.

How bizarre is it to sit in the comfortable confines of a Goan hotel and discuss ways to save Pakistan? Not ways to counter, restrain or engage the nation – but to save it from itself, in a way. Or that both the Pakistani and the Indian panelist agreed on every point, including the fact that Pakistan did indeed need to be saved, and that its most likely saviour is India.

Both Pervez Hoodbhoy and Mani Shankar Aiyar agree that Pakistan's likeliest saviour is India - Reuters

"Pakistan is in deep trouble," said Hoodbhoy, tracing its woes to 1981 when the very idea of Pakistan changed from that of a Muslim state to a Islamic state. The islamization of Pakistan has since continued apace. "Pakistan is losing its South Asian roots. It's being Arabized," said Hoodbhoy, "You can see it in what we say for goodbye. We now say 'allah hafiz' not 'khuda hafiz." And in that small change is a world of loss.

But how can India save Pakistan? The starting point, according to Shankar Aiyar, is facing two important facts: "Pakistan is an irremovable geographical fact. Pakistan is also an irreversible historical fact."

Next is understanding the root cause of the hostility of the Pakistani state. Pakistan is not a failing or failed state," said Shankar Aiyar, arguing that it is precisely this need to impose unity on a divided, fragmenting nation that makes the state authoritarian. But to maintain it's authority, it needs an 'other,' and that 'other' is India. "The consequence of a failing Pakistan is a state that would attack the 'other' to save its own nation."

Hoodbhoy echoed the same thought in another way: "We have to accept in Pakistan that the two-nation theory has run its course. Moving forward, our idea of the nation has to be more inclusive."

But what we must remember – and quick to forget – claims Shankar Aiyar is that the Pakistani state has largely failed to persuade the Pakistani people. There remains a huge constituency for friendship which we need to work with, as opposed to responding to the constituency of hatred.

Following this logic, what India has to do is pull the rug from under the feet of the authoritarian Pakistani state. "Our response to Pakistan has to be asymmetric. To turn the other cheek," said Shankar Aiyar, "We need to give more than we expect." To discard the idea of reciprocity and create a blitzkrieg of goodwill."

The seven steps Shankar Aiyar outlined include the following. One, return to the Musharraf/Manmohan Singh proposal to create a borderless Kashmir -- where the LOC is rendered irrelevant – as a precursor to a borderless subcontinent. Two, agree to maintain "uninterrupted and uninterruptable dialogue" that will remain unbroken and regular, irrespective of terrorist attacks or any other calamity. Three, introduce a visa regime similar to Nepal and remove all restrictions of pilgrimages. As Hoodbhoy agreed, the isolation of the two peoples strengthen the constituencies of hate.

The fourth remedy is to ensure a full and free media exchange, including and not limited to movies, TV channels and newspapers. Five, an open investment regime without any barriers to trade. Six and seven involve standing together on the international stage to push for the expansion of the UN Security Council and launch a joint initiative for global nuclear disarmament.

Sounds naïve and unrealistic? As Shankar Aiyar is quick to remind us, the current European Union would have sounded as impossible a hundred years ago. Much like the French and Germans who fought and killed each other for centuries, we too can live together in "South Asian Union."

Or so insist the erudite peaceniks in Goa.

http://www.firstpost.com/blogs/seven-ways-india-can-rescue-pakistan-124892.html

=====================

Because of people like MSA,the artificial terrorist state of Pakjabistan still exists

What bullshit. Essentially what these delusional fuckfaces are suggesting is that India should become Pakistan, so the reason for conflict doesn't exist. A borderless Kashmir means Muslims flood and wreck India with impunity.

There will be no peace between India and Pakistan unless:
  • Muslims are no longer the majority community in Pakistan
  • Hindus are no longer the majority community in India
The idea of Pakistan is to provide sanctuary to the Muslim forces that want to Islamize India, whose business was left unfinished when the Europeans came knocking. It's a perpetually-revisionist entity, which will not stop at Kashmir. You can either defend against it, or destroy it, but you can't make lasting peace with it.

I got a better idea. Transfer PoK to India, surrender Pakstan's nuclear weapons, and partition Pakistan along its four key provinces. There will be peace in South Asia then. Can't do? Fuck off.

India has nothing to gain from taking Muslim-majority territory from Pakistan beyond PoK that's legally ours. If it did, then Bangladesh would have been made a part of India decades ago.

India is borderless with Nepal and Bhutan because those countries have dharmic-religions as their majority communities.

1. The European Union is not exactly doing well. To cite that as an example after the Greek economic crisis is unwise.
  2. If J&K declares independence like the Catalan province of Spain, a border-less Indo-Pak union might actually recognize it.
  3. I. K. Gujral tried to go very soft with Pakistan, but it did not yield any result. A sign of leniency is almost always mistaken as a sign of weakness.
  4. No point having a dialogue with the political leadership of Pakistan when their military lacks discipline, has been regularly out of control, and when no proper chain-of-command exists.

What India should debate within itself as to what will happen if Pakistan disintegrates? It will bring benefits to India but it might also have its drawbacks. The debate should focus on which one outweighs the other.

TrueNeo

I am making far fetched prediction but I think India will save Pakistan and we will make a federation or have loose boundaries with them. Might very well happen under BJP.

"We need to give more than we expect." To discard the idea of reciprocity and
Not sure if there is a context a policy of reciprocity is exactly what we always needed to have.

Butter Chicken

I am making far fetched prediction but I think India will save Pakistan and we will make a federation or have loose boundaries with them. Might very well happen under BJP.

Not sure if there is a context a policy of reciprocity is exactly what we always needed to have.
Pakistan will be disintegrated very soon under BJP,with BJP calling for early Lok Sabha elections,but it will never have open borders like we have with our dharmic neighbours Nepal,Bhutan,Sri Lanka

Fu*k rescuing the pakis.
All I (We) care about is to protect/save/rescue India. The best way to do that is to allow and enable pakis to destroy themselves thereby destroying a rabidly anti-India country and creating a buffer between India and other countries that harbour anti-India sentiments (read middle east)

Attack Sindh and assimilate it into India.
The population is already 17% hindu and probably more hiding in the closet.
Baluchistan can be a free country or can join India autonomously.
Capture POK and land up to chitral valley.

TrueNeo

Pakistan will be disintegrated very soon under BJP,with BJP calling for early Lok Sabha elections,but it will never have open borders like we have with our dharmic neighbours Nepal,Bhutan,Sri Lanka
Yes Boss, we will have an open border and might even fully integrated our economies. It will happen after Pakistan's disintegration which isn't exactly a united country anyway. Once disintegrated , their army and rogue ISI will not have control of the country, a broken will also lose its strategic importance to outsiders like US, China etc. And we will have full cooperation from their civilian government on extremism, curbing Islamist.

Pakistani civilian leadership had sought loose border with India but that would weaken the Army's grip on their nation which is why the current tussle between civilian and army institution going on and Nawaz Sharif ousted .

TrueNeo

Why the heck has this site gotten so slow? It's taking 5 to 10 minutes to make one post or to load a page.

Butter Chicken

Acc. to Pak Urdu news ,Nawaz Sharif met MQM and Baloch leaders in Londonistan.Not sure if real news or fake news planted by ISPR

Pakistan does not need rescuing. Calling itself a fragile state is simply a ruse to get financial and military aid. "If you don't give us military aid, our nukes will fall into the hands of terrorists!", "if you don't give us financial aid, our entire country will collapse!" All this nonsense is only meant to get free money from foolish Americans. But don't worry, their time has come, they have fallen into the trap of a country that knows how to get its money back.

I fail to understand the reason for rescuing Pakistan. Why would Congress think on such lines. Making peace with neighbors is another thing but rescuing an almost dead nation is foolishness. What benefit would it accrue to us India. What benefit will it give to Congress itself??? Will it help Cong remain or come back to power. We shld ponder...

Kalki_2018

Nothing to save. Pakistan's cure is severe chemotherapy. congress is irrelevant in India and hoping to get some traction in pakistan. We can gift mani shankar aiyar and his ilk to pakistan.

LordOfTheUnderworlds

.... "Pakistan is in deep trouble," said Hoodbhoy, tracing its woes to 1981 when the very idea of Pakistan changed from that of a Muslim state to a Islamic state. The islamization of Pakistan has since continued apace."Pakistan is losing its South Asian roots. It's being Arabized," said Hoodbhoy, "You can see it in what we say for goodbye. We now say 'allah hafiz' not 'khuda hafiz." And in that small change is a world of loss..... :blah::blah::blah:
'Khuda Hafiz' is from which 'South Asian' language?

Hoodbhoy sahab may be a respectable scientist and an honest gentleman. But south asian insaan aakhir to zaat pe hi jata hai na? Our views are influenced by caste and creed often even without realizing it.

- 1981 or whatever is of no relevance to India. 1947 is.
- Pakistan was created on demand of people who said 'Khuda Hafiz'. Why should India care if Pakistanis now say Khuda Hafiz or Allah Hafiz?

That too when they can't even say Indian subcontinent and invent a bullshit south asian subcontinent !

Note:
  • Pervez Hoodbhoy - Ismaili Shia.
  • Jinnah - Ismaili Shia.
  • Mani Shankar Aiyar - As a petroleum minister was strong advocate of Iran-Pakistan-India pipeline.
  • Iran - centre of Shia imperialism.
  • Khuda Hafiz - persian language
  • Allah Hafiz - Arab language.
  • Iran and Arabia - long enmity going from pre-islamic times to Islamic times to even today.

This Khuda Hafiz Allah Hafiz is none of India's business.

"Pakistan is in deep trouble," said Hoodbhoy, tracing its woes to 1981 when the very idea of Pakistan changed from that of a Muslim state to an Islamic state. The Islamization of Pakistan has since continued apace. "Pakistan is losing its South Asian roots. It's being Arabized," said Hoodbhoy, "You can see it in what we say for goodbye. We now say 'Allah hafiz' not 'Khuda hafiz." And in that small change is a world of loss.
wait for a minute the issues of Pakistan started the day the Erstwhile Northwestern Provinces of India declared along with East Bengal decided to leave India and chart their own destiny the Journey that started in that bloody month of august 1947 is the starting point as for arabization of Pakistan it is not India's fault it was MA jhinna who had quantified that Hindus and muslims are two seprate and distinct nations that could not live side by side the arabization started the day Pakistan was formed the whole premise of the creation of pakistan is the rejection of its Indic Roots the Islamization of Pakistan or rather the wahabization of pakistan was the only thing that happened under zia nothing eles

Hoodbhoy echoed the same thought in another way: "We have to accept in Pakistan that the two-nation theory has run its course. Moving forward, our idea of the nation has to be more inclusive
the Good doctor I think has had a good dose of High-quality weed or Aman ki tamasha Kool-aid if the Pakistanis
think like the esteemed doctor said the whole basis of Pakistan will be in tatters and Pakitan as a state will cess to exist
One, return to the Musharraf/Manmohan Singh proposal to create a borderless Kashmir -- where the LOC is rendered irrelevant –
this will be shot down by GOC Muree and GHQ Rawalpindi moving on
Two, agree to maintain "uninterrupted and uninterruptable dialogue" that will remain unbroken and regular, irrespective of terrorist attacks or any other calamity. Three, introduce a visa regime similar to Nepal and remove all restrictions on pilgrimages. As Hoodbhoy agreed, the isolation of the two peoples strengthen the constituencies of hate.

The fourth remedy is to ensure a full and free media exchange, including and not limited to movies, TV channels and newspapers. Five, an open investment regime without any barriers to trade. Six and seven involve standing together on the international stage to push for the expansion of the UN Security Council and launch a joint initiative for global nuclear disarmament.
Both gentlemen seem to be living in some kind of Idealistic Utopia or have gone bonkers too much water has flowed down the Indus since 1947 and all this is just bloody castles in the air the deranged musings of a deranged generation

What India should debate within itself as to what will happen if Pakistan disintegrates?
One of the oft cited consequence (excuse) is that it'll result in a refugee crisis never seen before and India will be flooded. I have two counter points.

1. Borders will be mined massively as soon as there is even a hint that a civil war or disintegration is about to take place.
  2. No government will commit political suicide of bringing in millions of Muslims. Pretty much the recipe for another partition and this time it'll be initiated by Hindus.
Another one of the gems that is often repeated is that nukes will fall into the hands of terrorists. Chances of that happening are very low and even if few of them went missing, it'll be a global threat not just Indian and will be dealt accordingly.

come again which of the part of current pakistan will be there tomorrow that we need to offer such solutions to ...