Russia offers to build Nuclear powered Aircraft Carrier for India

lcatejas

Re: Russia offers to build new aircraft carrier for India, possibly nuclear powered

Purane me to salo laga diye... pata nahi naye me to sadiyon laga doge....:sleep:

nasavsisro

Re: Russia offers to build new aircraft carrier for India, possibly nuclear powered

Russia is good friend of india they share technology with us. We lost in bangladesh war when china & usa tring to attack only russia come they we won

john70

We lost in bangladesh war when china & usa tring to attack only russia come they we won
What is this suppose to mean ? We lost in Bangladesh war ? wheeeen hoooooow with whoooooomm ? Sorry wrong history.

Any way Russians are definitely our friends, but we need commitment and timely delivery of projects badly, and not filling of few pockets in India.

Russia is good friend of india they share technology with us. We lost in bangladesh war when china & usa tring to attack only russia come then we won
Who ever told you he is not well educated regarding 1971 war..

The IAC-2 better build in Indian Ship yard where we have skilled workers read and Man material are easily available..

lcatejas

Russia is good friend of india they share technology with us. We lost in bangladesh war when china & usa tring to attack only russia come they we won
Its nice to have Russia as a friend but when it comes to time and prompt Delivery it failed...Russia is only good while delivering under table to our babu's from past 60 years of friendship by delaying the project and finish it on high price ...

Why we should not go for Russian yard :

1. Vikramaditya cost rise from its actual price was very bad dot for Russians

2. Vikramaditya delays

3. In house yard will employ 1000 of people instead of Russian

4. After IAC-1 skilled worker will be beneficial for making another carrier where as same is not regarding Russians, Skill will not lost..

Russia is basically trying to find partner (needless to say financial) for its planned fleet of n-powered aircraft carriers around which 5 CBGs of Russian Navy is to form up starting next decade. There was quite buzz about how Russia will manage money, may be and may be i say they are thinking of us as source.

IMO this offer is not entirely a bad idea considering specification of their proposed carrier which is a N-Powered, Catapult equipped 60000 ton class carrier, something exactly we wish IAC-3 to be.

Russia to build nuclear-powered 60,000-ton aircraft carrier

sukhish

if they want to fund us some money, then the development has to take place in india, unlike the FGFA which is a joint venture in name only.

I'd rather wait till the Russians got one of their own boats in the water, the russkies might be experts in nuclear propulsion and have working steam catapults as well, but it is quite another design challenge to integrate both into a working CATOBAR, that is something even the mighty soviet naval armada didn't have.

Kranthi

In my opinion a joint venture is always a good (infact great) idea.It saves a lot on R&D both in human effort and financially.Besides a combined effort always gives a better output than an individual design.

Provided,a joint venture should not be something like accepting a Russian design and building our own ship with help and critical equipment from Russia.

It should b something like Brahmos venture and even better (Even in Brahmos venture crucial technologies are of Russian origin).

A Joint venture should b something like both the nations
contributing to the R&D with equal share of money and the design should be implemented by both with minor changes depending on one's specific requirements.
Also manufacture of modules should b shared by both countries instead of setting up facilities in both countries for same module,some should be built only in India and supplied to both and vice versa.This way we can save on infrastructure costs for manufacturing that specific module/radar/equipment or whatever.

Also the main advantage of this kind of venture is both have to depend on each other and thus once cannot suddenly hike the price of any specific part,or he will have to pay more for something which have to come from other side.This can be a solution to the usual problem with Russian which is sudden price hike when we are trapped half way in the project like in the Goshkov deal.

Something like this can be gladly accepted and also will take the technologies to new heights.
This is what European nations does,they cannot individually afford to develop modern technologies,so they keep on going for more and more joint ventures,bring out a design and modify it specifically for individual needs.

Kranthi

Self delete
Reason : double post

In my opinion a joint venture is always a good (infact great) idea.It saves a lot on R&D both in human effort and financially.Besides a combined effort always gives a better output than an individual design.

Provided,a joint venture should not be something like accepting a Russian design and building our own ship with help and critical equipment from Russia.
When we already have a good deign based on IAC-1, Why we need JV ?

The entire project is assisted by Italian, French & Probably Americans and Russian advisers..

Kranthi

When we already have a good deign based on IAC-1, Why we need JV ?

The entire project is assisted by Italian, French & Probably Americans and Russian advisers.
The answer is in your quote.
A joint venture always gives a better yield than 2 individual designs.
Assistance is different from complete collaboration.They can assist us only to some extent and they will never teach us cutting edge techs in the name of technical assistance.

However that is not the case of a joint project.Because both have to use the same outcome,both will have to put in their best in the project.
like in case of FGFA,because Russia will also be inducting around 200 of them,they will not hold back on implementing any modern techs they have,into the project.Thus we get the best product with the efforts from designers of both countries together.

And above all,a joint effort always yields a better design and will also save a lot on R&D as investment will b shared between the participants.

So what i mean is we should not b buying someother's designs,but instead we should collaborate with them (Not only Russia) to bring out a new cutting edge tech which should b used by both.

Ex: Brahmos,Barak 8,FGFA etc.

The answer is in your quote.
A joint venture always gives a better yield than 2 individual designs.Assistance is different from complete collaboration.They can assist us only to some extent and they will never teach us cutting edge techs in the name of technical assistance.

We go for JV when we dont have a part we dont know..

In this case we have knowledge..

Russia if want to JV should send 5-6 nuclear reactor for AC along with fuel.

Russians Discuss Future Carrier Plans, Eyeing India

The successful MiG landing and other progress in the open-sea trials of the Vikramaditya have encouraged the Russians to approach the Indian MoD with a proposal to build an all-new aircraft carrier in Russia for the Indian navy. The vessel would be built at the same Sevmash shipyard at Severodvinsk that reworked the Vikramaditya. The new ship, however, would have nuclear or gas-turbine propulsion. The Vikramaditya's water boilers run on diesel.
Russians Discuss Future Carrier Plans, Eyeing India | Aviation International News

Why would India fork over billions and cash and thousands of jobs when it is capable of building its own carrier? Seems counterintuitive.
Because Russia sees India as a gullible subservient customer who will fork out billions to pay their corrupt babus. Gorshkov case and point. If India wants a true partner to develop a CVN, the only good choice is France.