Russia may invest $5 bln in Pakistan in next five years

Ind4Ever

Russia may invest $5 bln in Pakistan in next five years
Economy
June 18, 16:32 UTC+3ST.PETERSBURG
"I expect that in the next five years, Russia’s companies may invest at least $5 billion in Pakistan in such spheres as energy, coal mining and metals industry," Pakistani official said
Material has 1 page

© ITAR-TASS/Valeriy Matytsin

Process of India’s, Pakistan’s accession to SCO likely to be launched in Ufa

ST.PETERSBURG, June 18. /TASS/. New investments of Russia’s companies in energy, coal mining and metals industry of Pakistan may reach $5 billion in the coming five years, the vice president of Federation of Pakistan Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FPCCI) said on Thursday.

"I expect that in the next five years, Russia’s companies may invest at least $5 billion in Pakistan in such spheres as energy, coal mining and metals industry," Muhammad Waseem Vohra told the St. Petersburg economic forum.

Russia could also invest funds in creating petrochemical enterprises in Pakistan, he said.

Pakistan, which seeks to join the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), Russia and other members of the group should have closer ties, Vohra said.

The real prospects of this rapprochement are linked to the implementation of the Pakistan-China economic corridor (CPEC) project, he said. The project will connect China’s Kashgar city with Gwadar Port in southwestern Pakistan.

Russia may join the project and the legal basis is ready for this. "There are no restrictions on the number of countries that will use Gwadar Port," he stressed, adding that the participation will allow Russia’s companies to carry out the transit of cargos to the Persian Gulf via the port.

Russia’s companies that seek to supply their goods to the Middle East countries, Pakistan and India will benefit from this, he said.

http://tass.ru/en/economy/801916

Ind4Ever

So the Russians ready to give up Indians concern about investment in PoK ?

Putin will put Russia in a new
Mess with his attitude towards its friends . Thanks to Congress lead UPA 1 and UPA 2 government which helped Russians to take these attitude towards India . A weak and corrupted govt don't need whole hearted trust but here and there kickbacks to keep our ties afloat ...

What do you think guys ? Sometimes we need to take advantage of our relationship expansion with the US ?

Ind4Ever

All Russians will come up is our new ties with the Americans. But My humble question to Russians friends ... Is India's relationship with RUSSIA and America are same ? Is this how Russia looks at India ? You may be having some secret deals with Chinese with deep pockets .This is how you came down to ? Giving away our relationship just to make money ?

history repeats itself again. Russian again trying to reach warm waters. pakistan ka phir band bajega

:):):):rofl::rofl:

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
history repeats itself again. Russian again trying to reach warm waters. pakistan ka phir band bajega

:):):):rofl::rofl:
Last time it was Russia jis ka band baja tha. This time they are coming in the civilized way so they can have access to Gawadar like the china. Band kis ka bajay ga !!!!!! :)

Mod : No personal attacks.

"I expect that in the next five years, Russia’s companies may invest at least $5 billion in Pakistan in such spheres as energy, coal mining and metals industry," Muhammad Waseem Vohra told
Nuff said :lol: call me when a russian says that

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
Ind4Ever don't get jazbati, they are only investing in oil and gas

What do you think guys ? Sometimes we need to take advantage of our relationship expansion with the US ?
We still have a grip on russia .... these are just tactics....once we sign the FGFA/PAK-FA contract, we shall have significant leverage.

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
Nuff said :lol: call me when a russian says that
There is one investment amounting to US$ 1.2 billion in gas pipeline, which i know is being materializing .

The enlightened

Is this how Russia looks at India ?
India Russia relations are completely overblown largely by Indian media. Russia is like any other nation looking after its own interests. From the 60's to 80's when our ties with the Russia were at their peak, the relationship was drawn not by love but by hate, hate of China. Additionally they very successfully courted all our leaders esp. the Gandhis which helped them keep a leash on Indian foreign policy.

Post-Soviet deals - Nerpa, MKI, Gorkshov, Kamorta are all hugely beneficial to Russian MIC and in fact revived their shipyards and factories. But then, they also sold to China, and would have sold much more if the Chinese weren't Chinese - cheap copycatting ******s. Don't be under any illusion over Indo-Ruso ties, at least in the 21st century. The US was and is India's natural ally. Think where and what our country would have been if we had liberalized post-independence.

Russia tries to see itself as the Wests/US's primary competitor as it pampers its bloated ego. Its choice of 'friends' reflects that. That is not very useful for us and infact much harmful. In the future they will go deep into the Panda's embrace. What difference does it make if they make some money of our beggar neighbour.

aliyah

we should buy only those stuff which r best for our military, no friendship nothing.....we should also make investments in Ukraine...... that will put their ass on fire......they wana play this game.. ok we can play that too that too in style,not like those bankrupt russia

Except we have 70% of our hardware from them and need them for spares etc :lol:
They don't need us ... they have china.

Bheeshma

The 5 billion is hot air from a paki. Russia caanot afford to invest outside its borders and US will tighten the screws on pakis via IMF and subsidiaries. This is just for local consumption in pakistan to fool the illiterate pakis. Relax and watch the tamasha.

Last time it was Russia jis ka band baja tha. This time they are coming in the civilized way so they can have access to Gawadar like the china. Band kis ka bajay ga !!!!!! ganday pani ka :)

if u see clearly band to pakis ka bazza ha aur aaj tak baaj raha ha. the aftermath of afghan war still haunting you and u r still in mess . who is the looser ?? pakistan. Now as far as gawadar is concerned both china and russia are hardcore business mind countries, They mean business, hor tusi una de mame de putt nahi lage. In long run paki **** awan wont get any gas or oil. all will be siphoned by china ,Russia and ur corrupt politician swiss account

Mod Edit : Please do not use expletives

musalman

پاکستان زنده باد
********** its an internal pipeline which will transport gas to power plants in Punjab. Line is from Karachi port to Lahore.

Mod Edit : Do not resort to name calling.

First off, these talks of investment is most likely being discussed and not finalized. Secondly, it is probably for oil pipelines. There is a possibility that India might be able to use these pipelines to import Iranian oil. Are there details anyone can share?

And chest thumping pakis think that they are the winners. They don't know world power will abuse them in this whole deal and they won't get much , apart from few million $$$$$ in their corrupt leaders Swiss account

That is what should concern any individual. Whatever the real investment might be required, a good amount has to be spent extra to buttress these corrupt politicians and power centres. Pakistan sits at a nice location. If only it could offer a stable environment that would encourage people to invest. It would benefit Pakistan. Do not forget that anyone could blow up a pipeline, given the state of security in Pakistan. I wonder whether this will ever materialize.