Parrikar Assures Best Weaponry, Infra To Troops On Lac, Loc

Parrikar assures best weaponry, infra to troops on LAC, LoC

DM visits Siachen, briefed by top Comdrs
Posted on 23/05/2015 by Dailyexcelsior

JAMMU, May 22: Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar today assured the Army soldiers that they will get best possible weaponry during their deployment on the borders along China and Pakistan and took assessment of further strengthening the infrastructure along the Line of Actual Control (LAC) with China in Eastern Ladakh as he flew over Northern Glacier in Siachen, the highest battlefield in the world, on first day of his two days visit to Jammu and Kashmir.

Parrikar accompanied by Army chief Gen Dalbir Singh Suhag and Northern Command chief Lt Gen DS Hooda flew over the Northern Glacier in Siachen, where the Indian troops guard the strategic borders with Pakistan in extreme hostile weather conditions with temperature dipping to several degrees minus throughout the year, and reviewed the situation there with top Army Commanders.

The Defence Minister laid wreath at the War Memorial at Siachen base camp, inter-acted with the troops and lauded courage displayed by the Army jawans in manning the Indian boundaries during extreme tough circumstances at the Glacier throughout the year.

Gen Suhag and Lt Gen Hooda briefed Parrikar about the situation in Siachen Glacier and the circumstances in which the Army jawans had to perform their duties. They projected requirements of the troops deployed at the Glacier. Parrikar assured all facilities to the Army jawans posted in Siachen Glacier.

The Defence Minister, who landed at Thoise in Ladakh region, later visited Leh, where he was given extensive briefing by GOC 14 Corps Lt Gen BS Negi on the situation prevailing in Eastern Ladakh along Line of Actual Control (LAC) with China.

Parrikar is reported to have assured the troops that they will get latest weaponry and improved infrastructure right up to the LAC with China in Ladakh. This was part of the Central Government’s plan to match strength of the People’s Liberation Army (PLA) of China along the LAC throughout the country.

The Defence Minister reviewed latest situation along the China borders with the Army Commanders. He was briefed that there had been no major incursions by the Chinese troops in Eastern Ladakh for past quite some time now and both sides were having regular meetings on different occasions at the Border Meeting Point (BMP) at Chushul. India and China have mooted proposal to increase number of BMPs in Ladakh from two to four.

Parrikar assured the troops that the Government of India proposed to strengthen infrastructure right up to the LAC so that the troops didn’t face any problems during patrolling and carrying out day-to-day operations.

He also had extensive review of the situation along the Line of Control (LoC) with Pakistan in Ladakh, where the situation was normal for past several years now with no unwarranted activity reported from the neighbouring country.

Later, the Defence Minister, the Army chief and the Northern Command chief flew to Srinagar, where GOC of Srinagar based 15 Corps Lt Gen Subrata Saha gave detailed briefing to Parrikar on situation prevailing in the Kashmir Valley and summer strategy adopted by the troops to keep infiltration by the militants completely under check on the LoC.

Parrikar reviewed upcoming Amarnath yatra arrangements including fool-proof security for the pilgrims along with other security agencies, summer strategy on the LoC when maximum infiltration attempts are made by the militants due to melting of snow, installation of sophisticated gadgetry on the LAC, strengthening Counter-Insurgency Grid, presence of militants within the Valley and those waiting across the LoC to sneak into this side and rebuilding of Army infrastructure damaged by the floods along with the Army Commanders.

He called upon top brass of the Army to maintain high degree of alert on the LoC to keep militant activities under complete check and prevent infiltration at all costs. GOC 15 Corps Lt Gen Subrata Saha told the Defence Minister that Army was on high alert along the LoC with onset of summer and keeping strict surveillance with sophisticated gadgetry, manpower and other equipments to ensure that the militants didn’t manage to infiltrate from the passes, where snow had started melting.

Parrikar called for strengthening anti-infiltration measures and Counter-Insurgency Grid to maintain peace in the Valley.
Sources said Army officers also projected certain demands. The Defence Minister assured the Army Commanders that their all demands will be fulfilled.
In the afternoon, Parrikar had detailed separate meetings with Governor NN Vohra at Raj Bhawan and Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed in Srinagar.

The Governor and the Defence Minister discussed various important matters relating to effective management of internal and external security, particularly in the backdrop of several terrorist infiltrations from across the International Border (IB) in the past year and a half and more recent encounters in the Valley.

Among the several other matters discussed with the Defence Minister, the Governor stressed the need for urgent strengthening of the BRO’s resources for ensuring the maintenance of the vital road networks and strategic connectivity in J&K.

The Governor also solicited Parrikar’s personal intervention for the return of certain pieces of the lands to the State Government, particularly those at Satwari, Jammu, Army transit camp in the Jammu University and land for the long pending extension of the Kargil airport runway. The Governor had projected all these demands to the Defence Minister earlier.

The Governor lauded the missionary dedication with which the officers and men of the Army were continuing to perform their role, in the most difficult situations.
Later, Parrikar had one-to-one meeting with Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed during which several security related issues figured.

Sayeed is reported to have discussed with the Defence Minister the partial revocation of Armed Forces Special Powers Act (AFSPA) from some parts of Jammu and Kashmir. Parrikar is said to have raised the issue of allotment of land to the Army for Field Firing Ranges (FFRs). The absence of firing ranges has become major problem for the Army.

During their meeting, which was also attended by senior officers of the State Government and Ministry of Defence, Parrikar and Sayeed discussed several strategic issues related to prevailing security situation in the State.
The Chief Minister took up with the Defence Minister matters related to civil aviation which included allowing night-landing facilities at Srinagar Airport and expansion and development of Jammu and Kargil Airports. He also highlighted the need for creating parking bay facilities at the strategically-located Leh Airport.

The sorting out of civil aviation issues will pave way for operation of additional flights to J&K which will go a long way in bringing down spiraling air fares during peak tourist season.

Mufti Sayeed also impressed upon Parrikar the urgent need to expand Jammu Airport, which is inadequate to handle additional flight operations. He said State Government will facilitate removal of bottlenecks in transfer of land to the Airport Authority of India, paving way for its expansion.

“With inflow of pilgrims to Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine at Katra increasing every year, the Jammu Airport required expansion and up-gradation for increasing intake capacity and improving facilities for the passengers,” Sayeed said.

Mufti Sayeed also raised the issue of entrusting maintenance of National Highways in J&K, especially Srinagar-Jammu (NH1-A) and Batote-Kishtwar-Sinthan, with Border Roads Organization (BRO).
In his meeting with DG BRO yesterday, the Chief Minister had laid emphasis on having a single chain of command for maintenance of the vital Srinagar-Jammu National Highway, some patches of which are in a very critical condition.

The Chief Minister also raised the issue of removing restrictions on making Industrial Estate, Ompora, in Budgam functional.
The issue of enhancement of compensation on account of death or injury due to operation of field firing ranges was also discussed.

Mufti Sayeed also raised the issue of reconciling excess land presently with the Army. He said an institutional mechanism has to be put in place between the officials of State Government and the MoD so that the issue is resolved in a time-bound manner.
The Chief Minister made a special request for vacation of Toto Ground by the Army, which is in the heart of the summer capital, so that civic facilities are developed in the larger public interest. He also raised the issue of transfer of Khurbathang Plateau to LAHDC, Kargil.
The issue of enhancement of rentals for land in possession of the Army was also discussed in the meeting.
The Defence Minister assured the Chief Minister early positive consideration of the demands by his Ministry.
The Governor hosted dinner for the Defence Minister at the Raj Bhawan tonight, where he had the night stay.
Tomorrow morning, Parrikar would visit forward posts of the Indian Army along the LoC in Bhimber Gali (BG) sector of Poonch district for on spot assessment of the situation including working conditions of the Army soldiers, installation of sophisticated gadgets to counter infiltration by the militants and other related issues. He will also visit Infantry Brigade Headquarters in BG for briefing by the local Army Commanders on the situation prevailing at LoC in twin border districts of Rajouri and Poonch.

Parrikar would be briefed on the situation in Jammu region by Nagrota based 16 Corps GOC Lt Gen KH Singh.
The Defence Minister is likely to visit holy cave shrine of Mata Vaishno Devi ji before flying back to New Delhi in the evening of May 23

http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/parrikar-assures-best-weaponry-infra-to-troops-on-lac-loc/

Are you in armed forces? If not how can you see any progress?

Also, from decision making which includes changing of policies given how abysmal the previous regime's policy was, to actual action takes time since there are process of approval at different levels. Once DM clears something regarding purchase it needs to cleared by Cabinet committee and then seller needs to be selected and deal signed and then delivery to begin. It takes time unless you are saying that DM just needs to go out with a bagfull of money and buy whatever he/amy brass fancies without planning of future needs and its financial implication on economy?

Also, already the problem of deficit of ammunition has been solved by almost 50%, your favourite Rafale deal is in making, plans of laying down of keel of INS Vishal in the next month or so, artillery deal in progress, selection S-70B complete and Apache deal is close to signing, M777 deal close to signing, OROP to be approved in June possibly .......

What you don't follow news? Or can you not see something positive with this Govt?

Pandora

Are you in armed forces? If not how can you see any progress?

Also, from decision making which includes changing of policies given how abysmal the previous regime's policy was, to actual action takes time since there are process of approval at different levels. Once DM clears something regarding purchase it needs to cleared by Cabinet committee and then seller needs to be selected and deal signed and then delivery to begin. It takes time unless you are saying that DM just needs to go out with a bagfull of money and buy whatever he/amy brass fancies without planning of future needs and its financial implication on economy?

Also, already the problem of deficit of ammunition has been solved by almost 50%, your favourite Rafale deal is in making, plans of laying down of keel of INS Vishal in the next month or so, artillery deal in progress, selection S-70B complete and Apache deal is close to signing, M777 deal close to signing, OROP to be approved in June possibly .......

What you don't follow news? Or can you not see something positive with this Govt?
Lol Nanga kar diya @SajeevJino ko :pound::hehe:

Why is Vivek Raghuvanshi so negative in his recent article in Defence News

By Vivek Raghuvanshi

NEW DELHI — Procedural disputes are delaying development of the Indian Army's Tactical Communication System (TCS), the first weapon project slated for the "Make in India" category, said a Ministry of Defence source.

Two development agencies (DAs) were tapped to compete for TCS. The first is a consortium composed of private sector defense companies, and the other is state-owned Bharat Electronics Ltd. (BEL). The private company consortium said it would not proceed with development of a TCS prototype until it receives the same tax incentives as are given to BEL, and insists that the intellectual property rights of the system be vested with the developer and not the Ministry of Defence.

Since the selection of the DAs in early 2014, no headway has been made in the development of a TCS prototype, the source added.

The private sector DA includes Larsen & Toubro, Tata Power SED and HCL Ltd., which have formed a special purpose vehicle based on an equity-sharing basis.

Under the "Make in India" category, each DA will develop two TCS prototypes at a cost of $100 million each. The government will finance 80 percent of the costs for the prototypes, which will then be evaluated, tested on the ground and one will be shortlisted for production. The process is expected to take about 36 months.

The Army will use TCS to provide a dedicated mobile communication system with anti-jamming and electronic countermeasures capabilities.

Demanding a level playing field, an executive with the private sector DA said, "The Indian government has already created facilities in BEL which would be utilized by them free of cost, whereas the private sector consortium would have to make investments that would be loaded on our offer. Ideally, the depreciation and interest of the MoD-funded facilities should at least be loaded on BEL to ensure a level playing field. This is still an issue to be resolved."

In addition, because BEL is state-owned, it gets special tax incentives on the import of technologies that are not imparted to private sector companies.

An executive from another company in the private- sector DA said, "The major problem is legal as the special purpose vehicle formed by private consortia is not yet recognized by MoD. However, in their efforts to move forward, the qualitative requirements have been shared by the user [Indian Army] for DAs to respond with their costs for the prototype. That discussion is on currently. However, even if this is cleared, the legal clearance has to happen prior to disbursement of funding by MoD."

Since TCS would be a dedicated strategic project, the Army will want to ensure the technologies built into the prototype and the final system are "sanitized," an Indian Army official said, meaning the technologies are developed exclusively for the Army and will not be shared.

Uncertainty exists among the DAs about how the Army will ensure the technologies, whether homegrown or imported, are sanitized.

"I hope this process of sanitization does not become too much of an interference in the development," said the first executive.

"The DAs have to take an undertaking from the overseas equipment manufacturers for unrestricted use of the imported technologies. The norms for checks on technologies would be uniform for both DAs," the executive added.

TCS was conceived in 2000 but was delayed because the MoD was unable to decide in which category the TCS should be built. Initially, the plan was to build the project on a "Buy and Make" basis, which would involve overseas companies. But later, BEL urged the MoD to give it the contract since it involved a strategic project.

In 2012, the MoD decided to build the project in the "Make in India" category and in early 2014 shortlisted the two DAs.

The Army needs TCS as quickly as possible, an Army official said, expressing concern the procedural dispute will cause further delays. "Even Pakistan has developed its own TCS kind of project, and further delays of the Indian project will affect the combat worthiness of the Indian Army," the official added.

GUNS-N- ROSES

only thing mr Parriker should ensure is to keep his trap shut. enough damage has been caused due to his loose statements. we cannot afford a loose cannon like this man as our defence minister.

PM Modi are you listening?

only thing mr Parriker should ensure is to keep his trap shut. enough damage has been caused due to his loose statements. we cannot afford a loose cannon like this man as our defence minister.

What loose statements?

His every statement has a purpose. His 'mercenary terrorist' satement chilled the blood of how many Pakis? Just see some vids in youtube those scums debating and you will learn how effective that statement was.

Other than that, I haven't heard or read of any single statement by him which can be termed loose.

Btw, that man was a CM of a state and he pulled that state to the level it is right now. Not an easy feat and not much unlike Modi. Give him enough credit that he knows what he is doing. He has to have more IQ than you or I to be a IIT-alumni and then a successful CM.

This Gov as B A L L S, Least said is better ..

Its not loose statements..its a follow up of what the lead politician said.
Parriker the head of the security establishment made a followup on that statement confirming the fact that the leadership and the establishment is on the same page.

This is how things should be.The Govt machinery should talk in the same voice and tone.
Ofcourse controversies will follow, but thats the nature of the game. The noise is taken by the media..but the voice of the establishment will be heard clear by your enemies, thats the end result we want.

The previous UPA govt used to send mixed signals...step back on statement made etc thereby the world not taking the statements made by India seriously. They were a bunch of b(.)(.)bs.

You can see the reaction from the side of Pakistan and how ruffled they are about RAW and allied for the past week. Thats exactly how it should be.

GUNS-N- ROSES

What loose statements?

His every statement has a purpose. His 'mercenary terrorist' satement chilled the blood of how many Pakis? Just see some vids in youtube those scums debating and you will learn how effective that statement was.

Other than that, I haven't heard or read of any single statement by him which can be termed loose.

Btw, that man was a CM of a state and he pulled that state to the level it is right now. Not an easy feat and not much unlike Modi. Give him enough credit that he knows what he is doing. He has to have more IQ than you or I to be a IIT-alumni and then a successful CM.
his one statement has put us on the same pedestal as Pakistan. as a nation who uses terrorists to attain its objectives.

at a time wen India is trying hard to de-link itself from Pakistan and project itself as a progressive democratic nation, a loose statement has put itself in the list of nations like north korea and Pakistan.

so while u might question my Intelligence or IQ (or even question the freedom bestowed on me by constitution of india by right to speak something a dum wit like u probably will never understand because u conveniently choose to link freedom of speech to IQ) the eminent foreign policy/strategic experts have already slammed the defence minister for his loose statements.

Well, the minister has been privately "advised" to be sensible in his speeches.

for all those, saying that Pakistani leaders are "shivering" with this statement, consider this:-

1. Pakistan will use this statement in all forums including United nations and tell the world that terrorism if our state policy.

2. whatever upper moral hand we had has been lost.

3. the terrorists in Pakistan will use this statement to further recruit more people and get more funding and even justify their actions.

4. they will claim that their terrorists actions are a consequence to terrorists actions by India.

5. at a time wen we are trying to be of equal status to US and UK, do we really want to chided by these nations on irresponsible comments?

i am all in favour of being aggressive and tit for tat policy. i am also in favour of using Afghanistan to put more pressure on Pakistan. i am all in favour of using wat ever favourable "elements" in Pakistan to give them same treatment but JUST DO DONT TALK ABT IT. ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN THOUSAND WORDS.

AND ONE MORE THING I DONT THINK BEING AN EX SPY AJIT DOVAL WOULD TALK ABOUT THIS. HE WOULD RATHER DO IT AND SHOW HIS FAMOUS SMILE TO CONVEY THAT HE HAS DONE IT.

Bheeshma

Nobody cares what pakistanis think. No major media outlet in western world has even bothered to report parikars statement. Just relax and watch pakis work themselves into frenzy.

We cannot survive long against growing under china influence, We must follow our rivels ways to root out our problems in same ways they did ..

his one statement has put us on the same pedestal as Pakistan. as a nation who uses terrorists to attain its objectives.
Nope. He reminded our enemies that we may not choose to, but now with the new Govt. we can and will bite if provoked. It is called hard-talk, which is required to teach lessons to rabid dogs like Pakis.

at a time wen India is trying hard to de-link itself from Pakistan and project itself as a progressive democratic nation, a loose statement has put itself in the list of nations like north korea and Pakistan.
India is trying to project? Wake up and sniff the coffee. India already is and acknowledged as a progressive democracy, and barring few imbeciles, everyone knows that.

so while u might question my Intelligence or IQ (or even question the freedom bestowed on me by constitution of india by right to speak something a dum wit like u probably will never understand because u conveniently choose to link freedom of speech to IQ) the eminent foreign policy/strategic experts have already slammed the defence minister for his loose statements.
Well, may be I am a dumb wit (not dum wit. learn the language moron]. Btw, what have those so called 'their eminences' have achieved till date with Pakis by their 'Track 2'? Pakistan is a country with idiotic psychopaths and led by the same. They have not understood even a single soft-approach by India despite having lost 3 wars. They need to be slammed and hammered till their skull opens up so the reason may get into it. And the only reason they understand it is like any rabid dog - a bigger stick.

Freedom of speech is forever an issue for nitwits like you, as you always demand your be respected when you would badmouth everyone who counters you.

Source please.

for all those, saying that Pakistani leaders are "shivering" with this statement, consider this:-

1. Pakistan will use this statement in all forums including United nations and tell the world that terrorism if our state policy.
Who will believe them? Except pathological India-haters or our long time adversaries or some power who don't have our best interest in their minds may run with it and that too is doubtful, given how little stir there is after this comment.

Upper moral? Are you serious? Your so called upper moral doesn't save our security personnel or civilians.

3. the terrorists in Pakistan will use this statement to further recruit more people and get more funding and even justify their actions.
And, you think they would not do something like this or find some other things to recruit suicidal morons or get funds for the venture, if Parrikar has not sid this. Which land do you live in? La-la-land?

4. they will claim that their terrorists actions are a consequence to terrorists actions by India.
Well, had you taken the task of getting informed you wouldn't have made such a comment. They have been claiming every terrorist activities in their land to have RAW hand for decades. Have you been sleeping?

5. at a time wen we are trying to be of equal status to US and UK, do we really want to chided by these nations on irresponsible comments?
If we have been trying to 'equal status' of USA/UK (whatever that means? and UK? LOL), this kind of statements are just what we needed to prove that we have the teeth not only to show but to bite as well. What do you think USA has been doing in last 2 decades?

i am all in favour of being aggressive and tit for tat policy. i am also in favour of using Afghanistan to put more pressure on Pakistan. i am all in favour of using wat ever favourable "elements" in Pakistan to give them same treatment but JUST DO DONT TALK ABT IT. ACTION SPEAKS LOUDER THAN THOUSAND WORDS.

AND ONE MORE THING I DONT THINK BEING AN EX SPY AJIT DOVAL WOULD TALK ABOUT THIS. HE WOULD RATHER DO IT AND SHOW HIS FAMOUS SMILE TO CONVEY THAT HE HAS DONE IT.
Now, you are not the DM or NSA or anybody worth taking advise from - hence why don't you let the man tasked with the job do the work? I am again saying this peabrain, you are not the DM, so don't 2nd guess him.

I'll bite. What has India achieved by having the moral upper hand all these years? Has it stopped any Pakistan and China to get away with their agenda with impunity, or has it improved the internal security?
The minister rightly said that we are losing good soldiers just to keep status quo, which is a losing proposition.
I'm happy that the government has its priorities set right. The enemy must know that we can hurt them and that we intend to if provoked.

When was that not true.
You are missing out on all the atrocity literature against India where every thing was and is blown out of proportion.
Atleast now, we are actually threatening to bite.

On the other hand, Pakistan has already overplayed its hand and seeing the consequences of its non-state actors. India trying to take advantage of this situation is a smart decision.

Its foolish of us to think that we can be of equal status of US and UK. Lets not get into this status things, the do us no good.
You also seem to have forgotten how these countries have time and again needled India by refusing to call the insurgency in Kashmir as terrorism. Its only after 9/11 did anything change. All those countries did was look after their interests then. They continue to do so now.
You also seem to forget how they conduct their warfare. Afghanistan, Iraq and Libia did not invite them to liberate.

This government is getting its messaging right. We have effectively told what will be done. Now the ball is in Pakistan's court.

Defence ministry readies war chest, eyes $8.3 billion parked with PSUs

An internal study has revealed that outstanding advances to these enterprises — money usually given towards the end of the financial year from the capital budget — have swollen to $8.3 billion over the years.

Read more at:
http://economictimes.indiatimes.com...ofinterest&utm_medium=text&utm_campaign=cppst
I've read the article, but still didn't get where is 8.3 Bln coming from and to whom.

Can some one explain in layman terms?

I've read the article, but still didn't get where is 8.3 Bln coming from and to whom.

Can some one explain in layman terms?

An internal audit suggests that while the total amount outstanding from PSUs is Rs 55,892 crore ($8.3 billion), Hindustan Aeronautics Limited holds the most of it (Rs 51,573 crore), because of getting these advance payments from as early as 1975.

It was in the last financial year that the defence ministry had unlocked an unused corpus of $2.3 billion, lying in Indian accounts in the United States. The money was paid as advance payments for purchasing equipment under the foreign military sales pact.

http://www.businessinsider.in/Defence-ministry-wants-to-use-DPSUs-advances/articleshow/53719563.cms