Oppo official allegedly disrespects national flag, draws public ire

INDIA TODAY TECH
LAST UPDATED: MAR 28, 2017
NEW DELHI
EMAIL AUTHOR

Chinese company Oppo faced major backlash at its Noida office on Tuesday after an employee allegedly "tore the national flag and dumped it in a dustbin." Soon after, people reached the site with flags in protest against Oppo India for allegedly disrespecting the national flag. India Today Tech has reached out to Oppo India for specifics regarding the issue and will update this piece as soon as we have some clarity.

In the meantime, social media is abuzz with storm, with some even urging the newly inducted chief minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath to look into the matter.

Chinese employee of @oppo at Noida torn off the Indian National Flag and dumped in dustbin. People have reached the site with Flags. pic.twitter.com/vLT1DjciAv

- Rishi Muni (@RishiUvaach) March 28, 2017
"#Noida sec 63, A-154B, Oppo Mobile India's office employee disrespected NATIONAL FLAG, people protesting in anger," said one Vipin Sharma on Twitter.

Earlier in the year, online commerce website Amazon (Canada) was caught foot in mouth after doormats based on the Indian flag were found selling on the platform. External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj was quick to respond to a Twitter post with the said link, demanding Amazon Canada immediately remove the content and issue an unconditional apology for disrespecting the Indian flag.

This came after Atul Bhobe (@atulbhobe) from Navi Mumbai had tweeted a screenshot from Amazon Canada website showing many doormats available for sale on the platform having the Indian tri-colour as the base design.

Although not everything about the recent event involving Oppo is confirmed for now, incidents like these are certainly not new in the country. Global companies like Facebook have been involved in such issues, so have international singers like Chris Martin.
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/techno...spects-national-flag-draws-flak/1/914636.html

After Oppo flag row, Beijing asks Chinese companies to respect Indian laws and customs
Chinese government asked the Chinese enterprises operating in India to respect Indian laws and customs.

Ananth Krishnan | Posted by Kuheena Sharma
Beijing, March 29, 2017 | UPDATED 16:24 IST

China hopes Oppo flag row will be resolved properly

http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/oppo-chinese-mobile-company-workers-tricolour-china/1/915496.html

China demands protection of its firms, nationals after flag row at Oppo factory
INDIA Updated: Mar 29, 2017 16:44 IST

Police registered a case against the person, who worked as a production manager in Oppo and allegedly tore and threw the Tricolour in the dustbin at the firm’s office on Tuesday evening. Police said they would collect CCTV footage from Oppo, to establish the claims of the Indian complainants.

The incident wasn’t covered in detail in Chinese media but it did come to the notice of a few hundred users of China’s Twitter, Weibo.

One user said that Indians should boycott Oppo products while another commented that China’s relations with its neighbours weren’t good and this was an example of bad relations.

“We also hope that the legitimate rights of the Chinese enterprises and staff will be safeguarded under the strict regulations of law.”
Some posts were sarcastic posts as well.

One Weibo user, using a method of satire commonly applied to nationalistic Chinese, said:

“If 1.2 billion Indians do not buy Chinese goods, Chinese economy would be in depression, and if they do not buy Chinese good for one year, China would collapse. All the Indians who see this picture have to forward it, or you are not an Indian,” the user wrote using a satirical vein.

One weibo user saw a conspiracy theory in it: “The event cannot be so simple. If it’s not for advertising, there must be other reason. No one would do that in normal situation,” the user said.

One website, Guancha.cn connected the protests following the incident to Oppo’s sponsoring the Indian cricket team and the rising trend of nationalism in India.

It said that it was possible that some Indians feel they not only couldn’t match Chinese goods through the “Make in India” campaign but now the country’s famous national sports brand, the Indian cricket team, would have the name of a Chinese company as a logo.

The website also said that the company was “really worried about the incident” and that they respect India and 99% of its employees (in India) were Indians.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india...ile-factory/story-y4EgPD23xdGGrhkl0pnYpI.html

company will pay the fine and they will release him. India mein paisa chalta hai baki sab jaye bhaad mein.

SexyChineseLady

In China, that guy is probably screwed. Being sent overseas as a supervisor is a big deal since competition is intense. It takes time to develop trust and credit to get to that position. OPPO is the largest selling cellphone company there. Obviously, he will never work for them again but he'll probably be blackballed by all the other big cellphone companies like Xiaomi and Gionee.

He'll need to go back to the assembly line -- or the cafeteria.

In China, that guy is probably screwed. Being sent overseas as a supervisor is a big deal since competition is intense. It takes time to develop trust and credit to get to that position. OPPO is the largest selling cellphone company there. Obviously, he will never work for them again but he'll probably be blackballed by all the other big cellphone companies like Xiaomi and Gionee.

He'll need to go back to the assembly line -- or the cafeteria.

I am feeling sorry for the chap

Akshay_Fenix

A warning would have sufficed, its not like he was a pakistani.

Oppo Chinese management are repeat offenders, same thing happened in Lucknow in 2014.

The question should be when so many multinationals have factories here in India, how come Chinese are the repeat offenders?

MrPresident

I think this incident is blown out of proportion, how many times have we seen the plastic national flag thrown in to the dustbin after the independence or republic day. How many times have we see the the plastic or a paper flag lying on ground and people are not bothered.

This is nothing more than a hypocrisy on our part to expect people from other countries to do things which we ourselves wont do.

I think this incident is blown out of proportion, how many times have we seen the plastic national flag thrown in to the dustbin after the independence or republic day. How many times have we see the the plastic or a paper flag lying on ground and people are not bothered.

This is nothing more than a hypocrisy on our part to expect people from other countries to do things which we ourselves wont do.
The whole world runs on hypocrisy, life is not fair..
How many times we complain that the west is taking hypocritical stands on indian issues? it's time we learn how to do the same with others. That's how leverages are built.

if we want to reach our global aspirations, we should learn to do these things more often and at a larger scale. as long as we are goody goody and restrict ourselves to being nice, the rest of the world will not give us an inch.

vinuzap

chinki knows that :
Ashoka is responsible for propagation of Buddhism in China which is the main religion there and the national flag carries dhammachakra. , must be an usual commie brainwashed zombie

https://www.google.co.in/search?q=d...-o0IHTAhVJu48KHVAhChgQsAQIGA&biw=1242&bih=602

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ashoka_Chakra (24 spokes in national flag)

However, 12 out of the 24 spokes represent the twelve causal links taught by the Buddha and pratītyasamutpāda (conditional arising). The first 12 spokes represent 12 stages of suffering. Next 12 spokes represent no cause no effect. So, due to awareness of mind formation of mental conditioning stops. This process stops the process of birth and death i.e. nibbana. The twelve causal links, paired with their corresponding symbols, are:

1. Avidyā lack of awareness -
  2. Sanskāra conditioning of mind unknowingly
  3. Vijñāna consciousness
  4. Nāmarūpa name and form (constituent elements of mental and physical existence)
  5. Ṣaḍāyatana six senses (eye, ear, nose, tongue, body, and mind) -
  6. Sparśa contact -
  7. Vedanā sensation -
  8. Tṛṣṇā thirst -
  9. Upādāna grasping[1] -
  10. Bhava coming to be -
  11. Jāti being born -
  12. Jarāmaraṇa old age[2] and death[3] - corpse being carried.
These 12 in reverse represent a total 24 spokes representing the dharma.

24 Spokes of Ashok Chakra according Hindu religion:
1. Love
2. Courage
3. Patience
4. Peacefulness
5. Magnanimity
6. Goodness
7. Faithfulness
8. Gentleness
9. Selflessness
10. Self-Control
11. Self Sacrifice
12. Truthfulness
13. Righteousness
14. Justice
15. Mercy
16. Gracefulness
17. Humility
18. Empathy
19. Sympathy
20.Spiritual Knowledge
21. Moral Values
22. Spiritual Wisdom
23. The Fear of God
24. Faith or Belief or Hope

anti national mix to create mahem to confusion as evident in jnu which look for opportunities

roza directed by maniratnam another tamilian watch from 2:05 onwards

MrPresident

The whole world runs on hypocrisy, life is not fair..
How many times we complain that the west is taking hypocritical stands on indian issues? it's time we learn how to do the same with others. That's how leverages are built.

if we want to reach our global aspirations, we should learn to do these things more often and at a larger scale. as long as we are goody goody and restrict ourselves to being nice, the rest of the world will not give us an inch.
To get an Inch, we dont have to stoop to their level. All we have to do is build our own yardstick, how long will we say west does it so will we.

it's because of this high morality we lost a third of kashmir, high morality argument works fine only for true friends. for those countries who use every given opportunity to undermine india's strengths and sovereignty, morality should not be the preferred method. pay it back in the same coin, by hook or crook.

Well i cant say who was anti national in that group there was also in the comments its mentioned someone tried to hoist the flat again by climbing the tree and he was pelted with stones .. Bloody even in kashmir people think twice to insult our flag as army will fuck their ass .. But we let it happen just because few people gone overboard with their linguistic nationalism to a next level and abused the flag...

chinki knows that :
Ashoka is responsible for propagation of Buddhism in China which is the main religion there and the national flag carries dhammachakra. , must be an usual commie brainwashed zombie

anti national mix to create mahem to confusion as evident in jnu which look for opportunities

roza directed by maniratnam another tamilian watch from 2:05 onwards

China demands protection of its firms, nationals after flag row at Oppo factory
Really? These Chinese assholes need to be kicked in the butt once daily to remind them that they are in India, not Pakistan where they can do anything they want.

In fact these Chinese should be kicked out of India as they always work against Indian interests like denying us entry into the NSG and the Security Council and creating a hue and cry about Arunachal. But we are allowing these turds to make huge profits in India and send the loot to China! WTF?

MrPresident

it's because of this high morality we lost a third of kashmir, high morality argument works fine only for true friends. for those countries who use every given opportunity to undermine india's strengths and sovereignty, morality should not be the preferred method. pay it back in the same coin, by hook or crook.
Well I agree to the fact that high morality cost us the Kashmir and a permanent seat in UN security council. Bu ti also believe that hyper nationalism is a threat to a nation especially for a county as diverse as ours.

Sir kindly define hyper nstionalism