New Assault Rifles for Indian Army

Which Contender`s Rifle has more chances of winning than others?

12,280 crores for 7.4 lakh mean 1.65 lakh for each rifle.
For sniper almost 26K$ for rifle
For imported sniper rifles, you have to factor in ammo costing atleast 5$ per round, OFB ammo may not give the same accuracy.

Last year along with tender for about 100 sniper rifle tender, there was 1 lakh sniper ammo tender. For 5700 sniper rifles probably ammo procurement has to be in millions.

You already answered most of your questions correctly, but the vedio below shows that this is a reality, and is already happening.....(Tavor 7 is competing with this gun in US closely)

A big army, like ours will need both 7.62x51 and 5.56x45 platforms... If Tavor 7 can offer that..it's a big plus....I am sure IWI will do the same....But again, this is nothing to do with what Indian Army will finally choose...just a technical input !!!

What about the MCIWS? it was very hot about 2 years ago.

tharun

For imported sniper rifles, you have to factor in ammo costing atleast 5$ per round, OFB ammo may not give the same accuracy.

Last year along with tender for about 100 sniper rifle tender, there was 1 lakh sniper ammo tender. For 5700 sniper rifles probably ammo procurement has to be in millions.
Sniper rifles is fine because we need to import ammo too.
But 1.65 lakh for assault rifle?

rishivashista13

Details of procurement
So that means, ki snipers will not made in India. All 7.4 lakh rifles will be 7.62 nato and most probably IWI products.
Now question is What options are available for snipers and LMG weapons?

Sent from my Redmi 4A using Tapatalk

rishivashista13

These rifles will be made in India under the categorisation of Buy and make (Indian) through both OFB and private industries.

What this Categorisation mean?

aghamarshana

Mitron......naacho
These rifles will be made in India under the categorisation of Buy and make (Indian) through both OFB and private industries.

What this Categorisation mean?

I think some of them would be bought directly from the manufacturer and the rest of the lot would be manufactured in India by OFB and Private industry...Just my assertion,dunno wat it means though.

Pandeyji

7.4 Lakh AR to me "Made in India", not "Make in India". Interesting.
Explain Bhai. Jingo ko aise na tarpao. Should we assume that IA got some "Sadbuddhi" & accepted OFB guns or I am running far ahead of myself?

Vinod DX9

"Made In India under categorisation of Buy and Make Indian"

This is the biggest mystery....
What does it mean?

1) Is there going to be a Single Rifle platform rather two different for Infantry and Non infantry?
2) No foreign rifle only INDIAN one?
3) If so then OFB 7.62*51 coming ?

Why no Make In India rather Made In India? And why Buy and Make "Indian" mentioned?

@Chinmoy
@rishivashista13

rishivashista13

What does it mean?

1) Is there going to be a Single Rifle platform rather two different for Infantry and Non infantry?

Why no Make In India rather Made In India? And why Buy and Make "Indian" mentioned?

@Chinmoy
@rishivashista13
If this is purely made in India then, yes OFB 7.62 nato coming...... But this Categorisation Buy and make (Indian) is out of grasp for me. Creating confusion.

Galaxy 7

If this is purely made in India then, yes OFB 7.62 nato coming...... But this Categorisation Buy and make (Indian) is out of grasp for me. Creating confusion.

They will import ckd kits. OFB employees will assemble them. Its better to import directly.

What does it mean?

@Chinmoy
@rishivashista13
Now let us have a look at the clause mentioned.

DAC.jpg

First thing is "Made in India". When you use this particular clause, it means that you should have IPR of the system with you.
Second is categorization. It means if you don't have any in house design, you could go for any global design available. Example is 'Ghatak'. Although its a clone of AK, but the IPR lies with OFB. Under this category, you are free to form a JV, but it can't be a license buildup. You are free to buy off the self component, but the deign right should be with you.

Moreover, with a price tag of 1.66 Lakh per gun, for anyone, a license production is not a profitable offer.

Vinod DX9

Still now what I do know.....

1) 740000 rifles to be procured
2) 240000 rifles , 7.62*51 ,foreign will be given to infantry
3) 500000 rifles, for non infantry
4) For infantry, two ultimate choices are, Tavor 7 and ACE 52
5) Whoever be winner, 74000 will be procured under G2G Fast Track Procedure
6) Rest 166000 will be made by Transfer of Technology, by Punj Lloyd
7) For non infantry still now two competetors ....
INSAS 1C 5.56*45
OFB 7.62*51

Now today a new news came that OFB made a new 7.62*51 rifle . Don't know what is it. And also remember, Point 4 & 6 have no official confirmation... "Urti urti khabar hai"

Now if everything changes then I have nothing to say

Still now what I do know.....

1) 740000 rifles to be procured
2) 240000 rifles , 7.62*51 ,foreign will be given to infantry
3) 500000 rifles, for non infantry
4) For infantry, two ultimate choices are, Tavor 7 and ACE 52
5) Whoever be winner, 74000 will be procured under G2G Fast Track Procedure
6) Rest 166000 will be made by Transfer of Technology, by Punj Lloyd
7) For non infantry still now two competetors ....
INSAS 1C 5.56*45
OFB 7.62*51

Now today a new news came that OFB made a new 7.62*51 rifle . Don't know what is it. And also remember, Point 4 & 6 have no official confirmation... "Urti urti khabar hai"

Now if everything changes then I have nothing to say
One thing though...

This assumption that punj Lloyd is getting the order, is unfounded.

That would be decided only after tender process is complete.

My own assumption is that which ever assault rifle wins the tender, there would be atleast two independent manufacturing units . Combination could be foreign + domestic, domestic + domestic.