Naxalite/Maoist insurgency in the Red Corridor & the CCP/PRC

Rashna

Re: Is Naxals/Maoists is internal problem or something else?

Do you know the dalit population of this country? Go do some research and come back.

I never said naxalism is inspired by the Hindu religion. I said naxalism is a reaction to the caste system of the Hindu religion. Communism is about abolishing caste/class and creating a society of equals. So these poor lower-caste people, who were repeatedly dehumanized by the upper caste hindus, found solace in communism. So even though the naxalite movement is communist in nature, you can't deny that it's also a reaction to the unjust caste system.

@Ray sir can you show some light in this regards as you were posted in North eastern state.
The problem is not only economic, but as in most insurgencies, there are external forces at work, working most unobtrusively but persuasively with total compassion, as if working in the interest of the tribal and others.

We are well aware of the Baptist Mission's work in 'civilising' the Nagas and entrenching themselves as the Naga 'conscience' and the following consequences. It will also be noticed that insurgency and general unrest is mostly from areas where the Churches of various denomination are working hard to 'save' the souls. Take the case of Bodos, Rajbonshis, Jharkhand, MP, Odisha, et al.

It is not Christians who are at work, it is, what is said are the foreign agent provocateurs under the cover of the Church who are at work.

The NGOs too are at work. Note how the Christian world including the so called western intellectuals getting together and rallying for Binayak Sen who was propagating the Maoist cause and was arrested for sedition. He was not only released but made his way into Sonia Gandhi's 'Kitchen Cabinet' the National Advisory Council. Imagine a person who has been arrested for sedition had made his way to the extra constitutional body that formulated the destiny of India. In fact, if one sees the NAC, one finds Harsh Mander, the former IAS officer and Action Aid India man. He worked formerly in the Indian Administrative Service in the predominantly tribal states Madhya Pradesh and Chhatisgarh for almost two decades.

Mander also supports the demand for removal of the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act, 1958 from Kashmir and North-eastern states.

Mr. Mander's another organization – 'Centre for Equity Studies'(CES). This is a foreign funded (with partial funding from Christian organizations and church) NGO, headquartered in Delhi.

In 2011, Mr. Mander's NGO received highest amount of aid from Netherlands based 'Partnership Foundation' for "welfare of children".

One interesting source of donation is the Hong Kong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (HSBC) – the bank that was in news for alleged dubious money transfers.

America based Indian Muslim Relief & Charities is another donor of Mander's NGO. The same Muslim organization helped Shabnam Hashmi's ANHAD

Then CES has received nearly Rs 90 lakh are as donation from Denmark based Christian organization DAN Church AID.

Rs 10 lakh received from America based Association for India's Development(AID). This organization called AID also supports Medha Patkar in her Narmada movement and anti-Delhi Mumbai corridor movement. AID supported the movement to free Binayak Sen who was allegedly connected to Naxals and therefore jailed, but released later. Arvind Kejriwal is AID Saathi. What is AID Saathi? Well, AID recognizes certain activists in India with "Saathi" awards and support them in a manner that allows them freedom to operate without the constraints of a specific time-bound project. The program creates a mutually enriching relationship between AID and the Saathi and entails not only support in the form of a stipend, but also non-monetary involvement and strategic support from AID volunteers.

So, you will notice that it is not only economic reasons that keeps the Maoist going, but effective foreign aid through Indian proxies.

I am merely given the case of Harshubhai, but imagine how many such Harshus are involved
See this
Harsh Mander's CES received Rs 12.33 crore foreign/Church fund in two years
http://deshgujarat.com/2013/04/17/h...-12-33-crore-foreignchurch-fund-in-two-years/
This might also be interesting to your question.

"Hillary Clinton likes to operate through NGOs, which are given funding through indirect channels, and which target individuals and countries seen as less than respectful to her views on foreign and domestic policy in the target countries," a retired US official now based in Atlanta said. He claimed that "rather than US NGOs, (the former) Secretary of State Clinton favoured operating through organisations based in the Netherlands, Denmark and the Scandinavian countries, especially Norway" as these were outside the radar of big power politics. These NGOs were active in the agitation against the Russian nuclear power plant at Kudankulam in Tamil Nadu, with "funding coming mainly from a religious organisation based in Europe that has close links with France".
http://www.sunday-guardian.com/news/obama-quietly-reverses-hillarys-get-modi-policy

I never said naxalism is inspired by the Hindu religion. I said naxalism is a reaction to the caste system of the Hindu religion. Communism is about abolishing caste/class and creating a society of equals. So these poor lower-caste people, who were repeatedly dehumanized by the upper caste hindus, found solace in communism. So even though the naxalite movement is communist in nature, you can't deny that it's also a reaction to the unjust caste system.
Found solace in Communism and voted Congress, right?

Samar Rathi

Militants procuring arms from Chinese border: Govt

There are reports that various insurgent groups operating in the country's North Eastern region procure arms and sophisticated weapons from Sino- Myanmar border towns and South-East Asia, Rajya Sabha was informed on Wednesday.Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju, however, said no direct Chinese involvement has been reported in insurgent activities in the region.

"The activities of such underground militant or insurgent groups are kept under close vigil. In order to counter unlawful activities of these groups, the Central Government is supplementing efforts of the state governments through various measures.

"These include deployment of additional central security forces for carrying out intensive counter insurgency operations and providing security for vulnerable installations and projects, effective guarding of international borders by the border etc," he replied to a written question.

Militants procuring arms from Chinese border: Govt | idrw.org

Militants procuring arms from Chinese border: Govt

There are reports that various insurgent groups operating in the country's North Eastern region procure arms and sophisticated weapons from Sino- Myanmar border towns and South-East Asia, Rajya Sabha was informed on Wednesday.Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju, however, said no direct Chinese involvement has been reported in insurgent activities in the region.

"The activities of such underground militant or insurgent groups are kept under close vigil. In order to counter unlawful activities of these groups, the Central Government is supplementing efforts of the state governments through various measures.

"These include deployment of additional central security forces for carrying out intensive counter insurgency operations and providing security for vulnerable installations and projects, effective guarding of international borders by the border etc," he replied to a written question.

Militants procuring arms from Chinese border: Govt | idrw.org

They are also actively funding them.

Whenever someone tells this, they are silenced as 'crazy right wing nationalists blaming friend China' but the Hindi-China-Bhai-Bhai brigade.

Our biggest weakness is that we cannot mass produce advanced weapons and distribute them to forces against CCP.

Unfortunately, naxalite problem is something that India created with its caste system and systematic oppression of the lower-caste people. The poor in rural areas were dehumanized, women violated by upper caste people. Police also tortured and bullied the lower-caste people. That's why naxalite movement became popular and it's not surprising that policemen are often targeted. It all fits.
:rofl: naxalism is inspired by communist ideology not by religion. Go and read something before you make such comments.
This comment shows the height of your dumbness. :scared2::pound::pound: Did you get this information from that popular champu Jahil Hamid. :lol::lol:
@genius is not wrong. There has been a long drawn tussle between the Bhumihars in Bihar and the landless under-privileged classes. A long history of caste based oppression was the reason why the MCC and CPI-ML came into prominence, and eventually merged together.

Let us not accuse the Chinese to mask our own incompetence. The Chinese did not ask the police to open fire on unarmed villagers in Naxalbari, the origin of Naxalism/Maoism. Sure, once the problem festered, they saw an opportunity to direct arms and funds to weaken India, but the Chinese did not start it. To suggest so is utterly irresponsible.

Anyway, we already have a thread on this, so merged, and I am quoting myself.

Here is the paragraph:

Some details:
  • The Maoist movement in India has its genesis in the police firing where villagers in Naxalbari were shot dead by the police, which in turn originated from the Telangana and Tebhaga movements, much before the Cultural Revolution in PRC. Naxalbari happened in 1967, and it might be somewhat related to the Cultural Revolution in PRC, but has its genesis in the Telangana and Tebhaga movements, which happened much before the Cultural Revolution in PRC.
  • The police firing happened because, to make it simplified, the government at that time did not agree with the demands of the peasants, who in turn protested.
  • The political party CPI (Marxist-Leninist) did not come into existence until two years later.
  • The leader of the initial Naxalbari uprising, Kanu Sanyal, wanted arms from PRC, but PRC refused. In other words, the Naxalites never got any weapon from PRC during the late 60s.
  • The CPI (Marxist) was opposed to CPI (Marxist-Leninist).
  • Jyoti Basu, who later became the Chief Minister from the CPI (Marxist) party, at the time of the Naxalite uprising, was the Deputy Chief Minister (arguably Home Minister), and he started India's first anti-Naxalite police operation, called Operation Crossbow. (Warning: Many sources will tell you he was part of the Maoist movement.)
  • The rise of Naxalism and Maoist is attributed to various reasons, one being the failure of the government to implement the 5th and 9th Schedules of the Constitution of India. A very unfortunate fact is that successive governments, and their sycophants, have repeatedly played the "patriot card," while at the same time dragging their feet on their responsibilities on sensitive issues enshrined in the Constitution of India. This, IMHO, is a malignant problem with many Indians - many of who think they are nationalists, without understanding what nationalism is all about. As Mark Twain famously remarked, on patriotism: "the person who can holler the loudest without knowing what he is hollering about."

Bottom line is, the Maoist problem is a result of the failure or corruption or incompetence of the successive Indian governments, and PRC only took advantage by supporting an existing problem which has its roots well within India. Anyone who says PRC is the progenitor of the Maoist problem has no clue of what he is talking about.
They are also actively funding them.

Whenever someone tells this, they are silenced as 'crazy right wing nationalists blaming friend China' but the Hindi-China-Bhai-Bhai brigade.

Our biggest weakness is that we cannot mass produce advanced weapons and distribute them to forces against CCP.
Our biggest weakness is the pseudo-patriotic right-wingers who always point fingers at the Chinese bogeyman when our own actions have turned a part of our population into our enemies. We incessantly whine about the Chinese arming and funding the Naxalites but obstinately refuse to look at the reasons why many Indians are losing faith in the nation and its institutions and willing to receive arms from abroad. India is a nation, and this means, every single Indian is part of the nation. Should we respect our nation? Or should we only care for a part of the nation?

Rashna

There may be caste implications to the movement now, but i was talking about naxalism as an ideology. It is after all something that has crossed over from across the himalayas. And while i don't forgive our incompetent leaders for having not nipped the issue in the bud, i can also not turn a blind eye to inimical forces which use this fissure to gain a foothold in the border areas of India.

@genius is not wrong. There has been a long drawn tussle between the Bhumihars in Bihar and the landless under-privileged classes. A long history of caste based oppression was the reason why the MCC and CPI-ML came into prominence, and eventually merged together.

Let us not accuse the Chinese to mask our own incompetence. The Chinese did not ask the police to open fire on unarmed villagers in Naxalbari, the origin of Naxalism/Maoism. Sure, once the problem festered, they saw an opportunity to direct arms and funds to weaken India, but the Chinese did not start it. To suggest so is utterly irresponsible.

Anyway, we already have a thread on this, so merged, and I am quoting myself.

Our biggest weakness is the pseudo-patriotic right-wingers who always point fingers at the Chinese bogeyman when our own actions have turned a part of our population into our enemies. We incessantly whine about the Chinese arming and funding the Naxalites but obstinately refuse to look at the reasons why many Indians are losing faith in the nation and its institutions and willing to receive arms from abroad. India is a nation, and this means, every single Indian is part of the nation. Should we respect our nation? Or should we only care for a part of the nation?

There may be caste implications to the movement now, but i was talking about naxalism as an ideology. It is after all something that has crossed over from across the himalayas. And while i don't forgive our incompetent leaders for having not nipped the issue in the bud, i can also not turn a blind eye to inimical forces which use this fissure to gain a foothold in the border areas of India.
Good point. So, to put it simply, despite this being more complicated, we need a two pronged strategy.
  1. Uphold and enforce the Constitution of India so that India's internal weaknesses are mended.
  2. Counter external forces for directing funds and arms to groups within India.

Rashna

I think we should have a centralised structure for eastern region which will single mindedly work on issues related to the region. If we do not integrate the tribals and others in the far reaches this trouble will continue to brew under the guise of maoism, tribalism, etc. I think the isolation of this area is more because the central command sits far away in Delhi and these states have not really been on anybody's list. If there is an accountable centralised structure for east india then we could see a lot more happening and it would be result oriented. Counter insurgency ops should be the last resort, we must get everyone to give up these ideologies and the only way out is economic development and better reach of social welfare. This is also the reason missionaries are so successful in these remote areas, nobody knows and nobody cares.

A bit off topic but China's main interest in developing the Pak China corridor is to bring development to its own lesser developed part which is also having problems of radicalization. China knows that this landlocked region has no access to ports and is far away from trading centers therefore it is trying to create a route so development takes place and consequently takes care of separatism. We have to take a leaf out of this.

Good point. So, to put it simply, despite this being more complicated, we need a two pronged strategy.
  1. Uphold and enforce the Constitution of India so that India's internal weaknesses are mended.
  2. Counter external forces for directing funds and arms to groups within India.

blueblood

@genius
While I agree with you for most part, I disagree on the disillusion part. Insurgencies were there and will always be there in some form or other. You cannot satisfy every single person in the country where more than a 6th of humanity lives. Hoping otherwise is absurd.

Phizo, the father of independent India's very first insurgency, wasn't fighting for the Naga people but for the power he will wield in an independent Nagaland.

Most people who turned maoists, not including their top brass have been let down severely by this country and it's people. I have been to Chattisgarh many times, it is very rich in resources but until a few years ago was one of the poorest regions in the country. If my state has massive amount of resources I will be immensely pissed if I am not living the life I was supposed to. That being said, over the years Maoists have lost whatever cause they had and are now nothing more than extortion mafia and since they no longer find volunteers they now resort to abducting village kids.

Indian Express reported that "Naxals took approx.200 villagers as hostages..and later released them.As PM said" we should bring facilities to red corridor such as schools roads medical facilities , jobs( industries)..etc"..Of course central govt. has to provide good equipment to CRPF(Central reserve police force). They don't have bullet proof armour, no back up.A combing party should be supported by another party which can provide back-up one in case of emergency.
We have few incidents that our IAF choppers came under fire.I don't think reinforcements for Naxal ( arms}are coming across the border

Salwa Judum is once again being resurrected, as per the news today.