Myth Busted: High Crash Rates of IAF

Gorkhali

These days I am seeing that Indian members are running low on morale after recent frequent crashes of IAF, and after recent C-130J crash, people have gone berserk trying to defame IAF how it is the most unprofessional air force of the world, and how our pilots are total noobs. :tsk:

So I did a little research on the crash rates of IAF and some other air forces and calculated crash rates of different planes they operate.

At first I also thought that crash rates of IAF are worst in the world seeing all the media rant going on...but after calculating crash rates of other air forces.....I got different result. :thumb:

I calculated the crash rate of the plane by this formula - Rate = 10000*(No. Crashed)/((Total Plane)*square(Time in Service(in years)))

Reason:-

No. Crashed/Total Plane is reasonable. crash probability of a plane increases by square of time it is in service. multiplication by 10000 is to cancel the exponential term.

Now, Crash Rates of Different Air forces and their Planes -

1. Indian Air Force:-

Su 30 MKI - 1.05

Mig 21 - 1.74 (Not too bad considering they are more than 50 yrs in service)

Mig 29 - 1.98 (Cannot explain this)

Mirage 2000 - 0.4 (quite low(western maal?))

An - 32(transport) - 0.7

2. Pakistani Air Force :-

JF-17 - 4.7 (Oops!)

F-16 - 1.4 (Not so good as people think)

Dassault Mirage III - 0.3

Dassault Mirage V - 0.2

F-7 - 0.7

C-130(transport) - 1.3

3. US Air Force :-

F-15 - 0.4(Expected)

F-22 - 4.0 (Quite high)

F-16 - ? (Cannot get exact data)

4. French Air Force :-

Dassault Rafale - 2.9 (Why?)

5. Royal Australian Air Force -

F/A- 18 Hornet - 0.4

6. Spanish Air Force

Eurofighter Typhoon - 1.2

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------