Mayawati bursts Modi's economic growth myth

mayfair ,

Odisha, Bengal and Kerala are coastal states. Punjab has Pakistan as their neighbour. We know which has the highest socio-economic-industrial indices amongst them.
odisha:

Orissa was ranked third on investment radar (after gujarat, and maharashtra) with total planned investments at Rs 1,134,716 crore (Rs 11,347.16 billion) during the H1 FY11.

India's most preferred investment destinations - Rediff.com Business
bengal:

Among the bigger states, the top three were all ruled by the Opposition. Bihar clocked 110%, Chhattisgarh (104%) and Left Front-ruled West Bengal matched Uttarakhand's 103%. Gujarat was ranked 12th among the the bigger states, taking sheen off Modi's tall claims.

Mayawati bursts Narendra Modi's economic growth myth - The Times of India
Kelrala: i dont have the figures with me, so not in a position to comment. perception certainly is that the commies took the state for a ride, well the perception was also that mayawati had taken the state for a ride. will reserve the comments beyond till the time the figures are with me.

What story? Can you elaborate on that?
comparison between UP and gujarat.

UP has its share of problems, i named 4 - 90's-00's , the east of the state, land locked and the population.

gujarat on the contrary doesnt have similar problems and on same level.

a much better comparison would have been between gujarat and haryana, haryana because this state is not infested with problems alike UP and the scale of the problems suffered are way less.

that said, when the report highlights:

UP's NSDP at current prices was pegged at Rs 2,56,000 crore in 2005-06. At the end of 2009-10, it had reached Rs 4,53,000 crore. The Mayawati-ruled state has performed on a par with Narendra Modi's Gujarat, which saw its economy expand from Rs 2 lakh crore in 2005-06 to Rs 3.70 lakh crore last year.
that says a lot, no matter how skewed it might be and as such we do not have a district wise break up so we are not in a position to comment further on this. it could well be a case where there has been an over all impact from the whole state or from the west of the state.

Caste and communal politics are not limited to UP alone. Albeit they are extremely pronounced there, especially caste-based politics.
as you said it is extremely pronounced, which certainly compounds the problems for UP many times more.

Yet clearly, the past ten years the state has progressed more rapidly and holistically. Mallus are highly enterprising as well, yet Kerala does not seem to share the same indices of industrial growth. To their credit, social indices are pretty high in Kerala, though a lot may have to do with the gulf remittances.
if kerala would have someone like buddha dev minus mamta, i am sure the same state would have done as good if not better.

HDI report is indeed surprising since UP is the state with the largest number of impoverished people in India. Also, Gujarat's overall score on the Human Development Index has, gone up to 0.527 in 2007-08, from 0.466 in 1999-2000, well above the national average of 0.467 as per the report of 2007-08.
change happens slowly, the base is being taken as 1999-2000 and if we were to discount the recent mayawati tenure which started in '07, then it means UP would have done miserably under other CMs till '07.

and still the report says:

It said Gujarat was among the worst performers, with 69.7% kids up to 5 being anaemic and 44.6% suffering from malnutrition, proving that high growth was no guarantor of improvement in health.
the credit is primarily given to mayawati and not mulayam singh, whose tenure also gets covered in the above report.

For UP to truly progress, the mindset of the people must change. They could do by stop by being extremely curious about the caste of those whom they come in contact with.
indeed mindsets do need to change, but if there are better administered smaller states, the impact is profound.

i would be more happy with a bigger number of states in india than a few big, dominant states taking away loin's share under various schemes, and having the biggest say in running of the affairs of the country.

Yeah yeah...bash modi and get the votes..

I don't think Cast/Communal and Sea side location matters. Cast/Communal based politics is very much there in most of the states. U.P. may have higher % but that is not the reason.

WB, Kerala, Orissa are also near sea. Still, far behind than Mahrahstra and Gujarat.

U.P. has border with Nepal, but whole North-West India has border with Pakistan, East India has border with Bangladesh/China. Uttrakhand, U.P., Bihar has border with Nepal. That is also insignificant.

IMO destruction of U.P. is mainly due to politics and corruption.

Biggest problem of U.P. is no single party which can form the government as per current scenario. BJP or BSP use to win half of the seats. But highly unlikely that any single party will win election on own. It would be 2 party among BJP/BSP/SP/ Congress + LD. Whoever wins election always concentrates on specific section due to political compulsion. Like BSP - Dalit (20%), SP - Yadav - (10%), BJP - Upper Cast + OBC (25%). EBC + Muslims votes as per situation. Muslims votes to BSP/SP/Congress+.

If any party follows the Nitish model - Then problem can be solved. Bihar NDA government has proved Election can be won on basis of performance.

2nd, State division is must. U.P. should be divided in 3 parts. It's quite large state of 200 Million. Too difficult to manage.

I am from Eastern UP and would love for these HDI indices to be truly reflected on the ground. However, aprt from NOIDA and Ghaziabad, I fail to see any region of UP where one can say with conviction that this place is better than what it was 10-15 years ago. Ironically, MP fares poorly on several of thse indices, yet it appears far less run down than UP.

I completely agree with you. Except Noida, All places are more or less same like 10 years back. I visited Meerut, Lucknow, Allahabad, etc. several times. All looks same all the time with no improvement in infrastructure. Nothing happened in last 15 years compare with 15 years of country economical reform . On other side, Most of the other cities of the country has improved a lot in last decade.

Some improvement happened in other parts of U.P. compare with other parts but Eastern U.P. is worst one.

I don't think Cast/Communal and Sea side location matters. Cast/Communal based politics is very much there in most of the states. U.P. may have higher % but that is not the reason.

WB, Kerala, Orissa are also near sea. Still, far behind than Mahrahstra and Gujarat.

U.P. has border with Nepal, but whole North-West India has border with Pakistan, East India has border with Bangladesh/China. Uttrakhand, U.P., Bihar has border with Nepal. That is also insignificant.

IMO destruction of U.P. is mainly due to politics and corruption.
when you say politics what do you mean by politics?

doesnt that mean the communal and casteist nature of the politics there? i believe that is a very important part of the politics of that state and every party in that state has done it.

corruption yes, but what one has here is a cocktail of a lot of problems getting together and all that making a heady mix. people sitting in delhi have done the most corruption, and not so much in UP i would reckon.

i mentioned about odisha, bengal, and kerala, have a look.

sea access plays a very significant part, industries which depend on imports and which export will invariably look for states that have access to the sea, reason why mumbai is the financial capital and not delhi or karachi is and not lahore/isloo or for that matter newyork, shanghai, etc, reason why there are bangalore, chennai, mumbai, kolkata, ahmedabad, hyderabad, which all have very close links to the sea and no such big names prop up in the north or north east, other than delhi/ncr which is what it is because that happens to be the national capital.

talking about bengal, incidently the biggest misfortune of bengal has been that people there tend to go for an option which are more left than the other. at a time when industry was again starting to take roots, what could have been more bad news for them than mamta. buddha dev came in as a fresh change, but for some reason people didnt like him much and went for mamta.

the trade links between the east and china were never worked upon, limitation is the terrain.

bangladesh, nepal, bhutan, et all dont account for much, but pakistan does.

if we were to have a FTA some day with pakistan, see how the north will zoom. the study in pakistan says if pak opens trade with india the biggest beneficiary there will be their punjab, so will the case on india's side.

punjab has been talked about an example which did well and that has primarily been because of this land being well irrigated, and there never was any shortage of water there. its the land of five rivers. himachal, uttrakhand and haryana have done better because these states have been able to attract domestic industry which caters to domestic needs.

2nd, State division is must. U.P. should be divided in 3 parts. It's quite large state of 200 Million. Too difficult to manage.
completely agree.

I have been to eastern UP, Ramkola to be precise.

Never seen anything that underdeveloped!

Eastern UP is lost to the world.

when you say politics what do you mean by politics?
All states are mainly divided between 2 main parties/groups. But U.P. is divided in not 3 but 4 which makes unstable government and volatile politics.

For example near by state Uttrakhand - Either BJP wins or Congress. So, They don't focus on specific cast or religion. If they perform well, They win or by anti-incumbency.

But in U.P., No political party can win by Anti-Incumbency or performance due to 4 main division. If BSP loses election, Who will win?No confirm answer. That's why all political party tries their level best for social engineering. So whoever won election between BSP or BJP or SP - They all tried to consolidate their vote, region and specific segment. Today, All opposition party blaming BSP and no one knows who will form next government. That is major problem.

All states are mainly divided between 2 main parties/groups. But U.P. is divided in not 3 but 4 which makes unstable government and volatile politics.

For example near by state Uttrakhand - Either BJP wins or Congress. So, They don't focus on specific cast or religion. If they perform well, They win or by anti-incumbency.

But in U.P., No political party can win by Anti-Incumbency or performance due to 4 main division. If BSP loses election, Who will win?No confirm answer. That's why all political party tries their level best for social engineering. So whoever won election between BSP or BJP or SP - They all tried to consolidate their vote, region and specific segment. Today, All opposition party blaming BSP and no one knows who will form next government. That is major problem.
a very valid point indeed.

the more the cooks the more the chances of the broth being spoilt.

each party tries to better the other in playing the caste, communal, reservation politics. one just needs to follow rahul G and diggy raja for that matter.

have a look at the poll done by nielsen and i am quoting the relevant part:

But perhaps the most interesting revelation of this poll is that Uttar Pradesh is moving back towards the BJP. In a general election, BJP gets a huge 37 per cent of the vote, with BSP next at 27 per cent, Congress third at 18 per cent and SP a poor fourth at 11 per cent. The numbers are slightly less favourable for BJP in an Assembly poll, but still place the party significantly ahead at the top. If this translates into fact in next year's Uttar Pradesh elections, it could upturn all expectations and open new variables in national politics.
the above poll was done prior to the recent anna hazare hunger fast (the one which started from the 16th august), which means there would have been a bigger swing in favour of bjp and bsp, so one can hope there will be a one party government, but then elections are still quite sometime away, so a lot can still change.

The problem with UP is that there is no leader with worthwhile credentials in any of the parties in the fray. Maywati and Mulayam are barely acceptable to those outside their own social groups. Congress and BJP have no mass leaders to speak of. The electorate there are not really spoilt for choices.

None of them have come up with a developmental agenda, nor do they inspire confidence, trust or hope. I am rather pessismistic about things in UP changing for better in the near future.

Among the six poll-bound states -Punjab, Uttarakhand, Manipur, Goa, UP and Gujarat - Uttarakhand and Punjab top the growth charts. Uttarakhand has seen its net state domestic product (NSPD) grow by 103% and Punjab has witnessed 86% growth as compared to Gujarat (79%), Goa (77%), UP (76%) and Manipur (51%). The Indian economy grew by 77% during this period.

UP's NSDP at current prices was pegged at Rs 2, 56, 000 crore in 2005-06. At the end of 2009-10, it had reached Rs 4, 53, 000 crore. The Mayawati-ruled state has performed on a par with Narendra Modi's Gujarat, which saw its economy expand from Rs 2 lakh crore in 2005-06 to Rs 3.70 lakh crore last year.

The BSP supremo has been able to keep pace with showpiece UPA-ruled states like Maharashtra and Andhra Pradesh as well. The economic expansion in Maharashtra was 78% during this period, while Andhra Pradesh accounted for 79%.

Among the bigger states, the top three were all ruled by the Opposition. Bihar clocked 110%, Chhattisgarh (104%) and Left Front-ruled West Bengal matched Uttarakhand's 103%. Gujarat was ranked 12th among the the bigger states, taking sheen off Modi's tall claims.

UP's performance in raising the per capita income was also commendable. The per capita income of the state rose 64% in the five years till last year as against Gujarat (69%), Maharashtra (78%) and Andhra Pradesh (79%).

The growth in per capita income of BJP-ruled Uttarakhand has been the highest among poll-bound states at 91%, followed by Punjab (73%) and Manipur (40%). Instability in Uttarakhand and change of leadership made little dent in its economic expansion.

Despite the considerable improvement over the last five years, UP's per capita income remains at about half the national level of Rs 46,500 in 2010. Punjab at Rs 62,000 and Uttarakhand (Rs 55,800) are well above the national average. Ditto for Gujarat at Rs 63,900.
Source of OP

Unemployment rate per state in every 1000 individuals

http://labourbureau.nic.in/main2.html

This is the first time ever labor bureau of India has conducted survey on employment, unemployment & has come up with this report.

Here is detailed employment/unemployment report if you are interested to read more on general national scale divided in urban, rural class, published for 09-10

Here is another interesting summary.

Comparing Indian states and territories with countries: An Indian summary | The Economist

Which countries match the GDP and population of India's states and territories?

How big is Uttar Pradesh, India's most populous state? One way of answering the question is to take its total area: 95,000 square miles (246,000 sq km). Another way is to think of it as a country. If Uttar Pradesh were to declare independence, it would be the world's fifth most populous country (as the map below shows, it has about the same number of residents as Brazil). Yet its economy would only be the size of Qatar, a tiny oil-rich state of fewer than 2m people. That makes it poor on a per person basis. Despite India's two decades of rapid growth, Uttar Pradesh's GDP per head is close to that of Kenya. The map below presents country equivalents for India's states and territories in terms of GDP, GDP per person (in PPP terms) and population. Please play around with it and tell us what you think.

If you look closely,

you'll find Gujrat on 8th rank in GDP/person & on 4th rank in overall GDP.

UP ranks 2nd on overall GDP! but takes dipping position on GDP/person.

Anyways Gujrat is not among top 3 ;)

Mayawati bursts Modi's economic growth myth
With what? Mahadalit statues and theme parks? Or countless monuments on mythical dalits that are no more existent in modern Indian societies? :lol: Mayawati is a joke.