Jaguar crashed in Haryana

Lions Of Punjab

An Indian Air Force (IAF) fighter jet crashed on Thursday near Kurukshetra in Haryana, police said.

"The (Jaguar) fighter aircraft crashed in the fields. According to preliminary information, the pilot ejected from the plane before it fell in the fields. He was reported to have sustained injuries," Kurukshetra's Superintendent of Police, Simardeep Singh, said.

An IAF spokesperson said the pilot gave a distress call before ejection. The aircraft crashed near Landi village, close to Shahbad town in Kurukshetra, about 65 km from here, at 1:15 pm.

The aircraft, which was on a routine training sortie, had taken off from the Ambala Air Force base, 45 km from Chandigarh.

Singh said that there were no immediate reports of any casualty on the ground where the plane fell.

He said besides police, the IAF personnel from Ambala have rushed to the spot.

A helicopter from Ambala has taken off to bring the pilot to the city.

IAF plane crashes in Haryana, pilot safe | idrw.org

An Indian Air Force (IAF) fighter jet crashed on Thursday near Kurukshetra in Haryana, police said.

"The (Jaguar) fighter aircraft crashed in the fields. According to preliminary information, the pilot ejected from the plane before it fell in the fields. He was reported to have sustained injuries," Kurukshetra's Superintendent of Police, Simardeep Singh, said.

An IAF spokesperson said the pilot gave a distress call before ejection. The aircraft crashed near Landi village, close to Shahbad town in Kurukshetra, about 65 km from here, at 1:15 pm.

The aircraft, which was on a routine training sortie, had taken off from the Ambala Air Force base, 45 km from Chandigarh.

Singh said that there were no immediate reports of any casualty on the ground where the plane fell.

He said besides police, the IAF personnel from Ambala have rushed to the spot.

A helicopter from Ambala has taken off to bring the pilot to the city.

IAF plane crashes in Haryana, pilot safe | idrw.org
What the hell is this.Every year IAF loses minimum 10 fighters.....This is very bad sign:sad::banghead:

chalo pilot baach gaya.

very effective and only way to get rid of MIG-21 and jaguar.:p:p
HAA ji i agree with you but we have to replace another fighter .I think we cant place another one very soon.It will take some time.And what about rafale deal?

sgarg

One more reminder of IAF's sub-optimal maintenance. A force used to calling other names while having serious inhouse problems.

Buying "Western" fighters is assumed to be the solution to all problems. Now same "Western" fighters are also crashing. Even if American F-22 is given to IAF, even that will crash one a week.

IAF is a force that refuses to learn.

sgarg

A number of ex-IAF technicians have told me that maintaining aircrafts IS SIMPLY NOT IN IAF's BLOOD. IAF wants to buy the best spanking new fighters BUT does not want to spend on maintaining them.

The aircrafts go down MOSTLY due to technical deficiencies. It is a combination of defects originating from manufacturers + improper procedures followed in maintaining aircrafts.

Our officers have become very good in file notings but not equally good in actual performance.

The bureaucratic culture is to shift responsibility while avoiding own responsibility. Everybody wants 5-star lifestyle while not required to perform his duty at all.

sgarg

India has a sizable air force. There is no need to spend huge amounts on new planes if the existing one are properly maintained. The government has realized that the existing procurement programs are quite adequate if availability of aircrafts is improved. For example - an availability increase from 50% to 70% makes a difference of 160 fighters in a force that has 800+ fighters. This is a sizable number.

IAF is procuring 15 Su-30 and 8 Tejas per year (expected for year 2015-16). Mig-29 and Mirage-2000 are under upgrades. Jaguar upgrade is being finalized. Mig-27 is already upgraded. Old Mig-21s are being retired but new Su-30 is taking its place. People forget that one Su-30 easily replaces 3-4 Mig-21s. It is NOT a one-to-one replacement.

If IAF has dreams to become a world class air force by operating best aircrafts; it has to show first it can maintain its inventory. How can anybody trust IAF otherwise.

sgarg;1013677[B said:
]India has a sizable air force.[/B] There is no need to spend huge amounts on new planes if the existing one are properly maintained. The government has realized that the existing procurement programs are quite adequate if availability of aircrafts is improved. For example - an availability increase from 50% to 70% makes a difference of 160 fighters in a force that has 800+ fighters. This is a sizable number.

IAF is procuring 15 Su-30 and 8 Tejas per year (expected for year 2015-16). Mig-29 and Mirage-2000 are under upgrades. Jaguar upgrade is being finalized. Mig-27 is already upgraded. Old Mig-21s are being retired but new Su-30 is taking its place. People forget that one Su-30 easily replaces 3-4 Mig-21s. It is NOT a one-to-one replacement.

If IAF has dreams to become a world class air force by operating best aircrafts; it has to show first it can maintain its inventory. How can anybody trust IAF otherwise.
u failed in ur analysis.

India is short of 12 squadron and 50% of its fleet are obsolete

china and pakis are ready to poke you.

mind it india is not NATO member that all 20 countries will jump in to save you

sgarg

u failed in ur analysis.

India is short of 12 squadron and 50% of its fleet are obsolete

china and pakis are ready to poke you.

mind it india is not NATO member that all 20 countries will jump in to save you
If your statements are based on some "analysis", I would like to see it.

There is no fixed number of squadrons that India must have for its security. Security itself is not a fixed quantity. The threats change with time and threat perception also changes.

The security has to be managed with different tools available to the State. IAF is just one of the tools.

A number of ex-IAF technicians have told me that maintaining aircrafts IS SIMPLY NOT IN IAF's BLOOD. IAF wants to buy the best spanking new fighters BUT does not want to spend on maintaining them.

The aircrafts go down MOSTLY due to technical deficiencies. It is a combination of defects originating from manufacturers + improper procedures followed in maintaining aircrafts.

Our officers have become very good in file notings but not equally good in actual performance.

The bureaucratic culture is to shift responsibility while avoiding own responsibility. Everybody wants 5-star lifestyle while not required to perform his duty at all.
maintaining

You should know how the 1970 manufactured Aircraft flying even Now, they are better than you me and us

Stop pretending like these,

sgarg

maintaining

You should know how the 1970 manufactured Aircraft flying even Now, they are better than you me and us

Stop pretending like these,
Which 1970 manufactured plane is flying now??

Pandora

Per my Dad, jaguar still pack a punch. Its really a rugged and low maintenance strikers which are waiting to get upgraded. All they need is a pair new engines and electronics systems.

phir rah kya gaya ?????

sgarg

Jaguar re-engine program is viable and is being considered. The rest of the upgrade is indigenous DARIN-3.

i think with same price of upgrading jaguar India can buy new saab grippen:taunt::taunt:

Khagesh

A fighter with a higher 'aspect ratio' wing, will always remain relevant for India, flying low and loaded negotiating the mountains.

I am thankful that we have adequate numbers of Jaguars and Mig27s. These bomb trucks will always be able to gap fill any weak spot on the battle front at some of the cheapest possible prices. All they need is a clear sky and after that only an idiot will field a large ingress force against us.

With armament like cheap glide bombs these bomb trucks become exceedingly useful.

Not every battle requires expensive stand off weaponry.