Is it right to be the world's largest arms importer?

Eagle2000

Hello to all.
This is Eagle2000 - and I have been reading the threads as a daily hobby for the last few years but have not posted anything for a long time.

Is it right to be the world's largest arms importer? what does it mean and why is it relevant

A clue - We are not the world's largest spender on defence equipment - but we are the largest importer. Why ? What does it mean?

India has one of the largest R&D establishment in terms of manpower. It has a huge capital outlay in ordinance factories. But it still does not "grow its own food". Why?

I am not trying to answer - but hoping that we can collectively discuss the situation.

Let me throw the first question to all-

Is it a good thing that we are the world's largest importer of arms (and not in the context of guns vs butter as in economics) ?

If yes - why?

If not - why?

And my thanks to all who answer - let us impassionately analyse rather than react to opinions.

Our R&D sucked big time for a very long time. The lack of private participation in defense industry for s very long time due to govt regulations also hurt India.

All defense R&D was left to DRDO which became notorious for delays and also not good enough to deliver according to staff requirement.

So we are forced to import. Things should change in the future.

The problem in one line was IN-COORDINATION between the khadi clad , the service departments and white coats.

where are the arms?? It's all in papers or air.. titles should be ""Is it right to be the world's largest arms importer ON AIR""? jai ho for babus :namaste::namaste::namaste:

StarShip Enterprise

unprofessional, mismangement of all projects by our babus : except ISRO and to some extent Nuclear Dept.

debasree

ita a disgrace,wasting billions of dollar,we should concentrate to build millitary millitary industrial complex here,it is shamefull we produce larjest no of iit graduates and engineers but cannot use this huge manpower in proper way,hopefuuly the new offset policy will lead us in the right direction.

I thing its better to boost our military capabilities with import rather than waiting for our projects to complete and then induction, also it a very important period of our military modernization, so it seems like we are importing a lot. But at the same time we have R&D going on for future development, so i don't think this largest importer tag is going to be on us forever.

I think India shouldn't rely on critical technology like turbojet on foreign nations, import of missiles and small arms are fine.

satish007

bahuth acha, Hindu. it is definitly right, Chinese have money but nobody sale them.
The more India buy, the more countries like India. I swear India will become Permanent Member soon once India buy some arms
from China. their goods are cheaper but quality is ok even good if india is a good selector.

The simple reason is in the name of Socialism Indian government do not want Indian private sector in defence business . I mean to say full developed weapons not only sub assembly of any weapon .

There are companies in India who can make defence products , but GOI loves to import them .
But things are changing now but speed is very slow yet .

Those foreign companies who started R&D deprtments in India , they employ Indians in their R&D crnters . Foreign companies are happy with their work .
So what is wrong ?

bahuth acha, Hindu. it is definitly right, Chinese have money but nobody sale them.
The more India buy, the more countries like India. I swear India will become Permanent Member soon once India buy some arms
from China. their goods are cheaper but quality is ok even good if india is a good selector.
Bahut acha, china have money bahut acha. India have money usse bhi acha, Pakistan don't have money nahi acha. India will buy arms from china if pakistan kuch chore (left)... haena acha ??