Iran oil supply : Issue resolved

Pussy-witted corrupt GOI has never given Iran full-fledged support, now why should we expect Iran to behave like a humble servant when we have always gone against their interest!!

Have we ever shown Gutts and supported Iran on any International forum?? None! Our shameless coterie have been supporting all the move of the US and EU to isolate Iran further, and the void is being filled by China....Why blame Iran, when our politicians can sell the country for few Dollars........and all this blabbering in GOI/congress mouth pieces such as one above is to cover up GOI/Congress' incompetencies and past corrupt moves......i.e. put the blame on Iran rather than being thankful for supplying OIL even in the event of being constantly being stabbed!!

didnt they resolve it? a part in indian rupee, euros, and turkish lira and the mode of payment would be turk banks? what is the response to this?

It's nothing to do with any pussy footing government. It's to do with international sanctions shutting all banking channels.

The thing is, if India was also exporting good volumes to Iran, the balance of payment could be more easily addressed.

Damn this .. Iran is one of the crucial players that India has under engaged consistently :sad:
The sanctions on Iran is no a recent development. We should've found a way out by now.

Earlier there was definitely a news that Iran and India have sorted out this hassle
A tripartite agreement had been worked out

I believe that there is some saudi angle to it Maybe GOI is being agressively wooed by Saudis

And therefore GOI is playing ball and looking for some discounts from Iran

Saudis just hate Iran and would love to see Iran go down

Remember Wikileaks ; How Saudi Prince asked the US to " CUT the snake's head " while discussing Iran

No there is no Saudi angle to this because this is about balance of payments.
What the Saudis are trying to do is take away India as a customer of Iran and increase the volume of oil it exports to India.

^^^ Yes that is what I meant The Saudis would love to see Iranian economy suffer

SO the Saudis might be offering India more oil and asking GOI to stop buying Iranian oil

Iranian economy is totally dependent on oil and 12 billion dollar annual Indian purchase is a big amount for Iran

They way the ask is really embarrassing for us..

^^^ Yes that is what I meant The Saudis would love to see Iranian economy suffer

SO the Saudis might be offering India more oil and asking GOI to stop buying Iranian oil

Iranian economy is totally dependent on oil and 12 billion dollar annual Indian purchase is a big amount for Iran
Iranian economy us self sufficient with good industrial base. Those guys are far better of in terms of diversification of economy than any mid east country after Israel. They have survived sanctions for so many years.

Well how about India pay $$$ in cash? Ship it on a special plane in full security? May be with fighter escort?

They way the ask is really embarrassing for us..
Like the bania seth on the bazaar corner lambasting a hapless BPL dweller .. "abey jab time pe paise nahi de sakta to saamaan kyu kharidta hai :mad2: "

:tsk: :tsk:

Like the bania seth on the bazaar corner lambasting a hapless BPL dweller .. "abey jab time pe paise nahi de sakta to saamaan kyu kharidta hai :mad2: "

:tsk: :tsk:
It's not that we don't want to or don't have money to pay. Problem is, we have run out of options to transfer funds. $5billion is peanuts really for India.

Well how about India pay $$$ in cash? Ship it on a special plane in full security? May be with fighter escort?
problem with would be if ever it was to be caught the US/west/israel/gcc/arabs and their allies across will lambast it as secret financing of the iranian regime which doesnt have a good rapport and that will put us in a tight spot.

not that such things have not happened, soviets used to come with bags full of cash during IG's era, and similarly indians would land up in baghdad but then back then the times were different, there was the cold war.

though what can certainly be done is get a new entity in place, let them act as a party which buys and let them make the payment but via hawala, but this process will make the crude very expensive.

TR, we are buying oil regardless anyways. What's the big deal in sensing plane load of cash. We are going to continue to buy oil and the US,Arabs, Israelis know that. Problem is payment. We cannot even barter because there isn't anything India can barter with Iran.

Barter ??Basmati rice,Foodstuffs even more recently gasoline from Jamnagar

Reliance got a "either you are with us or them" notice from the US. They chose to go with the US and stopped refining for Iran. Basmati Rice and food stuff will not amount to 12 billion a year.

Yusuf,

there is no stopping, we can do what ever we like to do, but will we and what if in a worst case scenario we were to get caught?

worst case scenario, as i said there will be all round condemnation of us supporting a rouge nation which is hell bent on procuring nukes and we could well be linked in indirectly or directly supporting them with their nukes, we dont need to seen as another pakistan on the international nuke radar and that is a very bad situation to be in something we cant at any cost be seen in that light at a time we are cultivating more important ties in the west and mid east, iran is important but not to that extent that we for them jeopardize our relations with the rest.

the other point is will we do such a thing.
one, i suspect to a certain extent such things do happen, and if we were to do that then at no point we need to use the white money but can pay them from the parallel economy and without a doubt the GoI would have a good access to it.
two, for some reason when it comes to following international norms, we get very very obedient. we wont reverse engineer any tech, we wont steal it either and i really doubt we will follow this path of handing over cash like this.

as i said the best would be create a third party which will do the trade and not the present GoI entities. let them use the hawala channel, so the payment tension erases and then pay in what ever currency, what this assures is if something along with iran is to be sanctioned then it will be this third party which then can be dissolved and till the time the act can be played smartly we get what we want.

but i think we will eventually have to use the turkey route, i guess that is the route the chinese are using currently, but i am not getting why is this not happening when this mode of transaction has already been discussed.

there is more to it than meets the eyes, and i suspect the americans playing a hard ball on something.