India's Godrej group to invest in Pakistan by year-end

Jim Street

may be other way around,

Trade=dependency on india=addiction of indian products by paks
It also goes other way, Indian companies getting affected if Pakistan bans the products after these companies have significant market. It will affect our economy too.

We are not selling them something related to defense so in war like situation, its us who will be affected rather than Godrej refrigerator not getting enough sales and infrastructure being built gone in vain. They can live without these products, remember they are ready to eat grass when its fight against India.

Agnostic Muslim

trade = more money in pakistani economy = more terror in India and more weapon for pakistan....lol jai ho congress...
Even if you believe that attacks like Mumbai were sponsored, financially, by the Pakistani State, you should understand that the amount of money needed to finance such attacks is negligible and will not be impacted by increased economic growth in Pakistan. The TTP after all have been able to finance their reign of terror in Pakistan over several years now, and if you believe that the Afghans and/or US and/or India are not financing the TTP, then they are a very good example of how terrorist groups can obtain the necessary resources regardless of the economic conditions in Pakistan.

Agnostic Muslim

It also goes other way, Indian companies getting affected if Pakistan bans the products after these companies have significant market. It will affect our economy too.
I believe it would create a mutually dependent relationship and would result in lobbies in both countries that would push for continued normalization between the two States.
We are not selling them something related to defense so in war like situation, its us who will be affected rather than Godrej refrigerator not getting enough sales and infrastructure being built gone in vain. They can live without these products, remember they are ready to eat grass when its fight against India.
But keep in mind that the infrastructure that would have to be built and maintained in Pakistan would likely be through a Pakistani workforce and in collaboration with local businessmen. There will be significant downstream economic activity involving Pakistanis supporting any Indian venture in Pakistan - all these people will be affected in case of any sanctions on Indian companies that have invested in Pakistan and therefore there will be significant pressure on the government through trade and worker groups in favor of continued normalization, provided there are no coups of any sort.

already pakis are addicted to godrej products. only difference is, it will come straight to them rather than from Dubai. pakis will get our items cheap and they are of good Quality.

now Q of banning them by pak govt.They dare not do that. they tried to ban Indian channel but addicted paki janta and cable operator revolts and pak govt had to roll back their decision

Moral of the story." Make pakis addicted and depended on you":p:thumb:

Jim Street

already pakis are addicted to godrej products. only difference is, it will come straight to them rather than from Dubai. pakis will get our items cheap and they are of good Quality.

now Q of banning them by pak govt.They dare not do that. they tried to ban Indian channel but addicted paki janta and cable operator revolts and pak govt had to roll back their decision
What you are talking about is in peace time, what i am talking about is when there is more hostile environment or a war. Do you think Pakistanis will see Indian channels or buy Indian products if govt. ask them not to do so. In that time, they will rather attack any cable operator who will show Indian channels. Patriotism will takeover daily addiction.

Didn't Indians welcome the decision of BCCI of not playing with Pakistan after 26/11 ? Would you allow anything that will be part of Pakistan's economic growth ?

Don't we already block many loans to Pakistan from WB and ADB, and no Indian cry foul on it. ?

The environment plays a major role Sir. Germans left US to fight against enemies as they answered to country's call to all Aryans fight against the enemies, ironically they had to fight against US itself.

What I am saying is, its just not a single, isolated news, it means something that will become an important factor after some time.

What you are talking about is in peace time, what i am talking about is when there is more hostile environment or a war. Do you think Pakistanis will see Indian channels or buy Indian products if govt. ask them not to do so. In that time, they will rather attack any cable operator who will show Indian channels. Patriotism will takeover daily addiction.

Didn't Indians welcome the decision of BCCI of not playing with Pakistan after 26/11 ? Would you allow anything that will be part of Pakistan's economic growth ?

Don't we already block many loans to Pakistan from WB and ADB, and no Indian cry foul on it. ?

The environment plays a major role Sir. Germans left US to fight against enemies as they answered to country's call to all Aryans fight against the enemies, ironically they had to fight against US itself.

What I am saying is, its just not a single, isolated news, it means something that will become an important factor after some time.

economic dependency is more powerfull. make them dependent on you so much ke kisi kam na rahe.make them useless.

aab pakistan ki aukat nahi ha war karne ki

Jim Street

I believe it would create a mutually dependent relationship and would result in lobbies in both countries that would push for continued normalization between the two States.

But keep in mind that the infrastructure that would have to be built and maintained in Pakistan would likely be through a Pakistani workforce and in collaboration with local businessmen. There will be significant downstream economic activity involving Pakistanis supporting any Indian venture in Pakistan - all these people will be affected in case of any sanctions on Indian companies that have invested in Pakistan and therefore there will be significant pressure on the government through trade and worker groups in favor of continued normalization, provided there are no coups of any sort.
I think the only way to dial down the hostility among these two nations is economic dependence at much larger scale.

As our economies become more inter-linked, chances of taking the extreme steps will reduce many fold, reason being, it will weaken both countries' economy which we don't want considering our present condition where Pakistan's economy is struggling, and India has to keep up with China's progress.

Projects like IPI and TAPI will certainly be Pakistan's favor but certain clauses can avoid any step against India even at war time. Its upto the policy makers to make a certain change in economic front and this is a first step.

Having said that, its upto Pakistan to become corridor for India to CAR nations, which will give Pakistan another leverage than nuclear threat against Indian forces getting more stronger due to growing economy and defense budget.

Your point on local workforce and side business these Indian companies will create is valid and hence it gives India the another leverage to affect Pakistan on economic scale.

I think the only way to dial down the hostility among these two nations is economic dependence at much larger scale.

As our economies become more inter-linked, chances of taking the extreme steps will reduce many fold, reason being, it will weaken both countries' economy which we don't want considering our present condition where Pakistan's economy is struggling, and India has to keep up with China's progress.

Projects like IPI and TAPI will certainly be Pakistan's favor but certain clauses can avoid any step against India even at war time. Its upto the policy makers to make a certain change in economic front and this is a first step.

Having said that, its upto Pakistan to become corridor for India to CAR nations, which will give Pakistan another leverage than nuclear threat against Indian forces getting more stronger due to growing economy and defense budget.

Your point on local workforce and side business these Indian companies will create is valid and hence it gives India the another leverage to affect Pakistan on economic scale.

not possible,india will dominate and dictate its own terms,hostility will not go down but disguised in other form

Sir you are WKK Ing their sole reason for existence is hostility.A paki is a paki anywhere.They are currently in Autophagy mode annd I say let them continue to be in that mode

Jim Street

economic dependency is more powerfull. make them dependent on you so much ke kisi kam na rahe.make them useless.

aab pakistan ki aukat nahi ha war karne ki
Now you are gettin emotional rather than rational and objective. War karne ki hamari bhi haalat nahin hai...if you want to discuss it, open another thread, its going off topic.

Jim Street

Sir you are WKK Ing their sole reason for existence is hostility.A paki is a paki anywhere.They are currently in Autophagy mode annd I say let them continue to be in that mode
I don't understand guys like you having obsession of WKK. This blind nationalism doesn't take you anywhere. Think smart. Think of our current foreign policy and economic maneuvers. A visible friendship while hidden animosity works in today's world.

India has more worries than Pakistan now. Obsession with Pakistan will leave us their enemy, not a global power. Think of China and strides made by other countries. We now need our footprints in other part of the world, solid connections in SCS, Japan and ROK, in resourceful Africa, strong presence in IOR, strengthening relations with GCC especially KSA who is interested in investing billions in India and hence in future would force Pakistan if its investment are in danger, Iran which is our gateway to Afghanistan and CARs right now.......Do you want me to go on. Either become indifferent with Pakistan, or make more efforts in destabilizing it or best thing, to strengthen our borders more and increase trade.

Last one will help us in focusing in other field. Get out of the this mentality and think of bigger place in world scenario.

Jim Street

Moral of the story." Make pakis addicted and depended on you":p:thumb:
To do that you need good relations with Pakistan, but if I talk about it people will call me WKK rather than a healthy debate. :thumb:

ajtr

I don't understand guys like you having obsession of WKK. This blind nationalism doesn't take you anywhere. Think smart. Think of our current foreign policy and economic maneuvers. A visible friendship while hidden animosity works in today's world.

India has more worries than Pakistan now. Obsession with Pakistan will leave us their enemy, not a global power. Think of China and strides made by other countries. We now need our footprints in other part of the world, solid connections in SCS, Japan and ROK, in resourceful Africa, strong presence in IOR, strengthening relations with GCC especially KSA who is interested in investing billions in India and hence in future would force Pakistan if its investment are in danger, Iran which is our gateway to Afghanistan and CARs right now.......Do you want me to go on. Either become indifferent with Pakistan, or make more efforts in destabilizing it or best thing, to strengthen our borders more and increase trade.

Last one will help us in focusing in other field. Get out of the this mentality and think of bigger place in world scenario.
Indian People hate WKK kuldip nayar,admiral ramdas etc more than they hate pakistanis.

Sir,Iam thinking smart .Pakistan is not a worry to us they are in a irreversible decline due tons lot of reasons and a lot of them of their own making.What we need to be considered is about economy,internal security and illegal immigration.Our only way into C.A.R is through Iran.China has lot of internal issues which will keep it busy from now onward.Iam saying do not do anything stupid which emboldens or economically empowers pakistan

Jim Street

Indian People hate WKK kuldip nayar,admiral ramdas etc more than they hate pakistanis.
Pakistan is a good example of blind nationalism as far as India is concerned. Just to fight India, they are now in this mess. Their politicians and generals took advantage of this. They lost so much while India got ahead. Why Indians don't learn "WHAT NOT TO DO" from Pakistan.

Our economy is our best weapon, not Arihant, Vikramaditya, Agni, Nukes or anything. They will be useful in war time while economy is always useful both in peace and war time.

Pakistan is a good example of blind nationalism as far as India is concerned. Just to fight India, they are now in this mess. Their politicians and generals took advantage of this. They lost so much while India got ahead. Why Indians don't learn "WHAT NOT TO DO" from Pakistan.

Our economy is our best weapon, not Arihant, Vikramaditya, Agni, Nukes or anything. They will be useful in war time while economy is always useful both in peace and war time.
That is what Iam saying focus on economy,internal security and Bangladesh.

Jim Street

Sir,Iam thinking smart .Pakistan is not a worry to us they are in a irreversible decline due tons lot of reasons and a lot of them of their own making.What we need to be considered is about economy,internal security and illegal immigration.Our only way into C.A.R is through Iran.China has lot of internal issues which will keep it busy from now onward.Iam saying do not do anything stupid which emboldens or economically empowers pakistan
Pakistan will economically empowers itself and if they do so, what would you want, their independent growth or growth dependent on us. Its not about our false pride and ego to not trade with Pakistan. Think of a situation if they do manage to get a good leader, what would you want, considering Pakistan has huge natural resources which are untapped. Rather take it or let them sold to some other country.

When you draft foreign policy, you take every scenario, and think of decades not years. By economic ties, we can artificially affect their economy if we penetrate deep enough, and due to more strong economy of ours and economic shock absorbers, we will end up in relatively less damage. Learn it from US and China.

Jim Street

That is what Iam saying focus on economy,internal security and Bangladesh.
I agree, but we are discussing investment in Pakistan not other problems. I would suggest to open a thread on discussion on present threats and our priorities.

Pakistan will economically empowers itself and if they do so, what would you want, their independent growth or growth dependent on us. Its not about our false pride and ego to not trade with Pakistan. Think of a situation if they do manage to get a good leader, what would you want, considering Pakistan has huge natural resources which are untapped. Rather take it or let them sold to some other country.

When you draft foreign policy, you take every scenario, and think of decades not years. By economic ties, we can artificially affect their economy if we penetrate deep enough, and due to more strong economy of ours and economic shock absorbers, we will end up in relatively less damage. Learn it from US and China.
If they are economically empowered their generals do not see/ will not see the need to talk peace with us.We have seen enough this.They are in a path to become a larger and more horrible Somalia.

Pakistan is an ideological state. For everlasting peace, that ideology must be taken apart.

Economic prosperity will just make them bolder.