Indian Weapons asking for Reservation

If that is the case then IAF is on the right track, We are not gaining anything significant in FGFA, All Major technologies ( Engine, Radar and Part of Avonics ) are kept away, In such case we are focusing On AMCA which is more productive for us, As of now all the focus on Tejas MK2 and as planned, When MK2 will be in Production first AMCA Prototype will take to the skies ..
@ersakthivel

FGFA might be facing troubles but it cannot be ignored ... Russian are not willing but the tech they are not sharing can be developed in India ...Number of Tejas will incease for sure in near future ....but it still be 4th gen and when the world is having 5th and even 6th gen we cannot stick to it...

No Doubts about it apart from the fact even with all the focus on AMCA after Tejas MK2 it will be production ready not before 2025 ...
As per your last statement are you trying to say that AMCA prototype will be ready by 2018-2019?
If thats true it is a very good news...

BUt AMCA as planned is medium range A/C where as FGFA will be long range..... and by 2030 Sukhoi MKI will loose its edge over chinese... so to counter balance we will need FGFA... We have already invested 7-8 billion I think we must cover that up atleast....

If that is the case then IAF is on the right track, We are not gaining anything significant in FGFA, All Major technologies ( Engine, Radar and Part of Avonics ) are kept away, In such case we are focusing On AMCA which is more productive for us, As of now all the focus on Tejas MK2 and as planned, When MK2 will be in Production first AMCA Prototype will take to the skies ..
@ersakthivel

Hye as you were telling there is not much inc in the budget to acquire huge projects ...

Heres another good news 34000 crore out of 94000 crore has been already proposed by Defense minister ...
Most of it being given to Indian Projects or JV or TOT .... Is n't that a good news...

With Army and Navy still in need of funds wheer will IAF get the 15000 crore for rafale order as initial payment as they are already gonna pay for upgradations as committed earlier....

Firstly you need to understand that TEJAS IS A FIGHTER AIRCRAFT...It cannot be air superiority or medium range but within its range its a deadly mean machine and with range and payload enhanced in mk2 its gonna be more deadly....
It is not as simple as that. If a Maruti 800 hits you at 60 Kmph or if BMW M5 hits you at the same speed won't make a difference in the outcome. And both are cars too.

Within its range, it can't hit at aircraft that operate outside its range. That is a huge difference. The LCA Mk2 is not going to be any more deadly than Mirage-2000 already is. And we have had M-2000 for decades now.

2016-2018-2019 First squad thats 21 aircraft as you said then 20 per year which takes it to 2025 for full deployment true.. and we are looking at FGFA entering services by 2020-2022 so by 2025 we will be having FGFA is good numbers with us....
You are confused by the dates.

By 2019 we will have ~40 Rafale. By 2020 we will have 60. By 2023 all will be inducted. FGFA is very far away in comparison. IOC is in 2022, meaning first squadron will be built only by 2023 at max. Squadron induction will be at that time. Rafale will predate the FGFA by at least 5 years.

Correct by the time Rafale will be produced fully AMCA will be there...
That's where Rafale experience will benefit AMCA. Rafale's production facilities and manpower will give way to AMCA.

We are having plan to have entire fleet based on AMCA FGFA SUKHOI by 2035 (u said 2060 when no 4th gen will be there)then wats the ful of having a so costly 4th gen aircraft when we are gonna have two of 5th gen one 4th gen awesome aircraft MKI....
MKI will start getting phased out by 2040 with a possible FGFA replacement. Rafale will predate the MKI by 17 years, so there is still time for it. LCA's phase out should be around 2050 in comparison because it is not being built for 8000 hours. Its lifetime should be 25 years, like Mirage-2000, Mig-29 and MKI.

IF we use half of the money on MK1 and MK2 then we will have far larger fleet by 2025 and mk2 will fit between the role of AMCA and MK1 but Rafale will be overshadowed by AMCA.......
It's not about money but capability. Even 10000 LCA is worthless against China. And we don't need too many LCAs anyway. Total planned is 178. Navy is the most likely to go for more. IAF will instead have to make place for both FGFA and AMCA by then.

FYI 44 squads is allowed i confirmed it from an friend in defense services..... min of 39.5 you said 42 somewhere just recheck and let me now....
Tell him he is wrong. It is 42 max. 45 is what IAF wants, but have settles for 42. There is no 44.

..:: India Strategic ::. Air Force: IAF Transformation Maturing with New Aircraft, More Squadrons
The Air Chief confirmed that the Government had finally approved 42 combat squadrons for the IAF,
Tell him to go argue with the Air Chief.

no production line in first year will be giving yo that a huge number..... therefore 20 per years from beginning is a myth.....
The production line should start with 6 in the first year and expanded to 20 the next year. It's fine because I have considered first squadron in 2019, that's two years later. So, I haven't considered 20 in just the first year. Rafale from France will take 3 years for full delivery and HAL will take one more year. Even if it slips by one year, I have considered that.

According to the contract, first 18 Rafales are supposed to be delivered in 3 years and the first Indian Rafale squadron delivered in 4 years after signing the contract.

France has earmarked all Rafales from 2017 to 2019 for export. ALA is taking the last 5 Rafales for this year and will not be taking new deliveries until 2020. The remaining time, Dassault will make the jets for India and Qatar.

you cannot have all air superiority a/c you hve to maintain a balance among them.... when we say we are replacing migs by refale its foolish....
We are currently replacing Mig-21 with MKI. We will be replacing Mig-27 with Rafale. The remaining Mig-21s with LCA. There are lesser Mig-27s than Rafales, so Rafales will continue adding capability until all 9 squadrons are inducted.

i believe u will agree that tejas is better than migs even today and it fits the role migs did .....
And that's exactly what it is. It is better than Mig-21 in almost everything except acceleration and climb. So, saying Rafale is as good as LCA Mk2 is wrong. Rafale thoroughly trounces both LCA and Mig-21 in practically every parameter.

so lets replace migs with tejas only.... mk1+mk2......
Yes, 6 Bison squadrons will ultimately be replaced by 6 Tejas squadrons. The last two orders of the MKI will be replacing 80 Mig-21s. So, around 200 Mig-21 replacement has already been planned. The remaining are Mig-27s which Rafale will replace. There are around 80 in service.

We are not Pakistan, to replace jets based on incremental superiority. We are aiming to be like US, Russia and China, aiming to replace old jets with jets that have overwhelming superiority. Basically Pakistan is replacing one low end aircraft with another low end aircraft. USAF will replace all low end aircraft with high end aircraft. China is doing the same. However we currently cannot afford such an expensive replacement program, that's why 6 low end squadrons will replace 6 older low end squadrons.

we all want our pilots to return back home... then why is the world designing lca's?
Nobody is designing LCAs. All new aircraft are MCA and HCA. Even Gripen E/F is a MCA, not LCA. It is longer, bigger and heavier than LCA Mk2 will ever be.

AMCA, KFX, TFX, J-31, F-35 etc are all MCA. PAKFA and J-20 are HCA.

Only JF-17, F/A-50 and Tejas are LCA. And these jets are being built in Pakistan, Korea and India which have fledgling aerospace industries. And none of them are really new development, all go back to the '90s.

who is asking to place then china centric.... they will be lethal against pakis....
jf17 thunder is even older design older avionics.....
You don't get it. As of today we are placing all our LCA squadrons in Tamil Nadu, that's not even against Pakistan. The home base will be Sulur and Thanjavur will be the second base, both in TN.

but you didnt answer a question i asked earlier how are we filling the numbers lost or retired we will be down to 30 squad soon????
remember number game?alone rafale cant do that
I had posted that two or three times before, by even providing the break up of current squadrons and future squadrons.

What you had posted was mere speculation.

So, here's a simple list.
New:
MKI = 14 squadrons
Rafale = 6 squadrons
LCA = 6 squadrons = 2 Mk1 + 4 Mk2.

Old:
Mig-29 = 3 squadrons
M-2000 = 2.5 squadrons
Jaguar = 6 squadrons

Total = 37.5 squadrons

These are "almost" guaranteed by 2022, subject to LCA Mk2 being a success and Rafale being ordered.

As for speculation, there are four possibilities for the remaining 4.5 squadrons.
1. One PAKFA squadron ordered direct from Russia, as we had done with Su-30 in 1996.
2. Early adoption of Rafale options with assembly in India, which takes 3-6 months depending on the kits.
3. Retain some of the Mig-27s until 2022. The original phase out period for Mig-27UPG was 2025, that's 2 squadrons or 40 jets.
4. Additional order of 2 MKI squadrons from Russia. Production ends in 2019, but with FGFA delay the MKI production line can work on 40 more jets before 2022 apart from attrition reserves of 2 jets.

So a combination of these is likely. 3 is most likely and 1 is least likely.

Of course us being Indians, the 2022 date might be missed and achieved only in 2025 with the adoption of 3 extra Rafale squadrons and 2 FGFA squadrons. It means the possibilities from 1 to 4 may never happen.

As for additional LCA orders by 2022, it is not likely since the production of LCA Mk2 would give way for naval Mk2. It may be possible after 2022. But 6 squadrons is the best possible because HAL will make 16 jets only from next year. And Mk1 production itself may go on until 2017 (for last jet to be delivered). So, it will take 5-6 years for the remaining 83 Mk2 jets, considering navy also wants 8 Mk1s and that the Mk2 itself will not be delayed. HAL is yet to deliver the first SP-1 and it is already 2014.

@p2prada

Sharing an article for you ... you say Tejas is old and decades old but if you go through this article you can derive one thing out of it and that in todays era electronic and avionics define the aircraft and in the case of tejas it has modern and state of art tech... which can be upgraded whenever we have a better one.... which make tejas even more better...

"SOURCE: SAURAV JHA / IBNLIVE BLOG In 2007 during the run up to the medium multirole combat aircraft (MMRCA) decision, the then air chief had remarked that what matters today is not the exterior of the aircraft but what is inside it"

Trends in combat jet sensors of relevance to the Indian Air Force's transformation | idrw.org
The Air Chief wasn't talking about LCA.

FGFA might be facing troubles but it cannot be ignored ... in case of FGFA we do have share in research and all but just like brahmos Russian will be in a better position ... but we all know that Brahmos is a vital organand a asset...
India is in the better position with Brahmos. Production is happening in India. And we own 50.5% of Brahmos, Russians own 49.5%.

True he was not talking about any aircraft in particular....
thats wht i said derive that electronic and avionics are more important in todays world...
and tejas has very nice avionics and electronics with very easy upgradation....

The Air Chief wasn't talking about LCA.

India is in the better position with Brahmos. Production is happening in India. And we own 50.5% of Brahmos, Russians own 49.5%.
again its not about % but the work you do.... I still dont know that can we 100% manufacture brahmos with any Russian help....

Breaking Rafale induction:
2017-2018 : 18
2018-2019: First year in India Manufacturing:8
2019-2020: 20(as you said though its little optimistic)
20-21:20
21-22:20
22-23:20
23-24:20 adding one year for delays that to might inc: the year comes to be 2025....as i said earlier..

It is not as simple as that. If a Maruti 800 hits you at 60 Kmph or if BMW M5 hits you at the same speed won't make a difference in the outcome. And both are cars too.

Within its range, it can't hit at aircraft that operate outside its range. That is a huge difference. The LCA Mk2 is not going to be any more deadly than Mirage-2000 already is. And we have had M-2000 for decades now.
LCA MK2 will be better that the upgraded M2000 .... Mk1 was even compared to it on the basis of control and electronics and aviation...

You are confused by the dates.

By 2019 we will have ~40 Rafale. By 2020 we will have 60. By 2023 all will be inducted. FGFA is very far away in comparison. IOC is in 2022, meaning first squadron will be built only by 2023 at max. Squadron induction will be at that time. Rafale will predate the FGFA by at least 5 years.
already explained

That's where Rafale experience will benefit AMCA. Rafale's production facilities and manpower will give way to AMCA.
same is the case with the production facility for Tejas and its manpower .....

MKI will start getting phased out by 2040 with a possible FGFA replacement. Rafale will predate the MKI by 17 years, so there is still time for it. LCA's phase out should be around 2050 in comparison because it is not being built for 8000 hours. Its lifetime should be 25 years, like Mirage-2000, Mig-29 and MKI.
Agreed... what your point?

It's not about money but capability. Even 10000 LCA is worthless against China. And we don't need too many LCAs anyway. Total planned is 178. Navy is the most likely to go for more. IAF will instead have to make place for both FGFA and AMCA by then.
It is about money aswell.... if we keep paying for rafale how will we fund other programs... everything will suffer set bacs....
Tell him he is wrong. It is 42 max. 45 is what IAF wants, but have settles for 42. There is no 44.

..:: India Strategic ::. Air Force: IAF Transformation Maturing with New Aircraft, More Squadrons

Tell him to go argue with the Air Chief.
will surely ask him ,,,,,

The production line should start with 6 in the first year and expanded to 20 the next year. It's fine because I have considered first squadron in 2019, that's two years later. So, I haven't considered 20 in just the first year. Rafale from France will take 3 years for full delivery and HAL will take one more year. Even if it slips by one year, I have considered that.

According to the contract, first 18 Rafales are supposed to be delivered in 3 years and the first Indian Rafale squadron delivered in 4 years after signing the contract.

France has earmarked all Rafales from 2017 to 2019 for export. ALA is taking the last 5 Rafales for this year and will not be taking new deliveries until 2020. The remaining time, Dassault will make the jets for India and Qatar.

We are currently replacing Mig-21 with MKI. We will be replacing Mig-27 with Rafale. The remaining Mig-21s with LCA. There are lesser Mig-27s than Rafales, so Rafales will continue adding capability until all 9 squadrons are inducted.

And that's exactly what it is. It is better than Mig-21 in almost everything except acceleration and climb. So, saying Rafale is as good as LCA Mk2 is wrong. Rafale thoroughly trounces both LCA and Mig-21 in practically every parameter.

Yes, 6 Bison squadrons will ultimately be replaced by 6 Tejas squadrons. The last two orders of the MKI will be replacing 80 Mig-21s. So, around 200 Mig-21 replacement has already been planned. The remaining are Mig-27s which Rafale will replace. There are around 80 in service.

We are not Pakistan, to replace jets based on incremental superiority. We are aiming to be like US, Russia and China, aiming to replace old jets with jets that have overwhelming superiority. Basically Pakistan is replacing one low end aircraft with another low end aircraft. USAF will replace all low end aircraft with high end aircraft. China is doing the same. However we currently cannot afford such an expensive replacement program, that's why 6 low end squadrons will replace 6 older low end squadrons.

Nobody is designing LCAs. All new aircraft are MCA and HCA. Even Gripen E/F is a MCA, not LCA. It is longer, bigger and heavier than LCA Mk2 will ever be.

AMCA, KFX, TFX, J-31, F-35 etc are all MCA. PAKFA and J-20 are HCA.

Only JF-17, F/A-50 and Tejas are LCA. And these jets are being built in Pakistan, Korea and India which have fledgling aerospace industries. And none of them are really new development, all go back to the '90s.

You don't get it. As of today we are placing all our LCA squadrons in Tamil Nadu, that's not even against Pakistan. The home base will be Sulur and Thanjavur will be the second base, both in TN.

I had posted that two or three times before, by even providing the break up of current squadrons and future squadrons.

What you had posted was mere speculation.

So, here's a simple list.
New:
MKI = 14 squadrons
Rafale = 6 squadrons
LCA = 6 squadrons = 2 Mk1 + 4 Mk2.

Old:
Mig-29 = 3 squadrons
M-2000 = 2.5 squadrons
Jaguar = 6 squadrons

Total = 37.5 squadrons

These are "almost" guaranteed by 2022, subject to LCA Mk2 being a success and Rafale being ordered.

As for speculation, there are four possibilities for the remaining 4.5 squadrons.
1. One PAKFA squadron ordered direct from Russia, as we had done with Su-30 in 1996.
2. Early adoption of Rafale options with assembly in India, which takes 3-6 months depending on the kits.
3. Retain some of the Mig-27s until 2022. The original phase out period for Mig-27UPG was 2025, that's 2 squadrons or 40 jets.
4. Additional order of 2 MKI squadrons from Russia. Production ends in 2019, but with FGFA delay the MKI production line can work on 40 more jets before 2022 apart from attrition reserves of 2 jets.

So a combination of these is likely. 3 is most likely and 1 is least likely.

Of course us being Indians, the 2022 date might be missed and achieved only in 2025 with the adoption of 3 extra Rafale squadrons and 2 FGFA squadrons. It means the possibilities from 1 to 4 may never happen.

As for additional LCA orders by 2022, it is not likely since the production of LCA Mk2 would give way for naval Mk2. It may be possible after 2022. But 6 squadrons is the best possible because HAL will make 16 jets only from next year. And Mk1 production itself may go on until 2017 (for last jet to be delivered). So, it will take 5-6 years for the remaining 83 Mk2 jets, considering navy also wants 8 Mk1s and that the Mk2 itself will not be delayed. HAL is yet to deliver the first SP-1 and it is already 2014.
[/QUOTE]

yes we are not pakis they inducted jet with IOC etc and we are not even Russia China and US yes we can aim on it.... we have limited resources and numbers .... lets see what hapens to this deal..... I believe there will be cut back.... let wait and watch

If you see the specs of AMCA it has same range of an MKI & As for FGFA its a gone case ..

We will be working out with Super MKI until AMCA available in mass for longer range interceptor and strike fighter ..

BUt AMCA as planned is medium range A/C where as FGFA will be long range.....

so are you saying there will be no FGFA.....??
Sorry Kunal that appears to be unrealistic after Billions of investment.....
FGFA will not deliver as promised or what the issue?
i that the statement by iaf about it was just to force Defense Ministry to fast track Rafale...
going by the available sources T50 Pakfa is among top three available 5th gen and our 5th gen is 10 years away ..
whereas china will be having two 5th gen by then....

If you see the specs of AMCA it has same range of an MKI & As for FGFA its a gone case ..

We will be working out with Super MKI until AMCA available in mass for longer range interceptor and strike fighter ..

True he was not talking about any aircraft in particular....
thats wht i said derive that electronic and avionics are more important in todays world...
and tejas has very nice avionics and electronics with very easy upgradation....
It doesn't matter how good LCA's avionics are. Even if LCA has superior avionics to FGFA, the aircraft itself is limited in its performance. It doesn't have the range, payload or electric power to use all these to the fullest extent possible.

Regardless of how advanced LCA is, the J-10 is still a superior bird because of these qualities. Even the old F-16 Block 52 is a better bird in that respect due to its huge 4000 Km range.

Also, due to the low cost nature of LCA, the avionics seem nice, but they aren't really as advanced as what's on Rafale. Think about it this way, Rafale has two engines while LCA has one. It means Rafale has twice the onboard electricity compared to LCA. And electricity is a rare commodity and pretty much everything is used. So, if Rafale's 100 KW is used up entirely compared to LCA Mk2's 50 KW, then Rafale has more and better avionics. It goes without saying that the avionics for Rafale is already mature and battle-tested. OTOH, we don't know how long it will take for ADA to develop LCA Mk2's current avionics.

LCA performs missions like point defense and escort, apart from limited air interdiction (shooting at enemy ground troops in the battlefield). Rafale performs all the missions LCA does while being much better at it and also performs missions like electronic attack, deep penetration strike and offensive counter-air (fighting enemy aircraft in enemy airspace). LCA cannot effectively perform these other missions. And these missions are what we need.

It seems to be the case as of now, How much India spend in the project yet is not disclosed as FGFA is not even started ..

This is a rumor spread by few over Internet only, India has to make its own 5th Generation ..

No matter how much money poured no one will give you his best technology ..

so are you saying there will be no FGFA.....??

Sorry Kunal that appears to be unrealistic after Billions of investment.....

i that the statement by iaf about it was just to force Defense Ministry to fast track Rafale...

whereas china will be having two 5th gen by then....

Breaking Rafale induction:
2017-2018 : 18
2018-2019: First year in India Manufacturing:8
2019-2020: 20(as you said though its little optimistic)
22-23:20
23-24:20 adding one year for delays that to might inc: the year comes to be 2025....as i said earlier..
2016-2017 : 18 ... Beginning July 2016 to ending of March 2017. But it should be sooner because of ALA decision to hold back.
2017-2018: 20 ... Beginning early 2017 and ending March 2019. Last deliveries from France and beginning of HAL deliveries should coincide, so it will start slow, but jump rather quickly.
2018-2019: 20
19-20:20
22-23:8... Ending June-July 2023. We will make 108 in India, not 120.

This is how it is without delays. If there are delays, there is expectation that assembly work may be increased by setting up more work cells. The same thing happened with MKI. This is very likely because IAF wants all of them by 2022.
Day after crash, IAF grounds Sukhoi fleet for checks - The Times of India
HAL, in fact, has been directed to end the production of 140 of the original 230 jets under transfer of technology by 2015, instead of the originally scheduled 2017-2018.
The idea is to finish two squadrons within 4 years of contract signature. A squadron a year after that for the remaining 4. So, if we assume we sign the contract in December, we should have all 126 jets in exactly 8 years. That's Dec 2022. If we sign by Mach 2015, then we should finish by March 2023. So, I have catered to that delay.

LCA MK2 will be better that the upgraded M2000 .... Mk1 was even compared to it on the basis of control and electronics and aviation...
Only in terms of new avionics. Performance, range and payload is still M-2000's advantage.

same is the case with the production facility for Tejas and its manpower .....
No, it is not. The assembly of FGFA should happen at Nasik. LCA's production line has already been set up in Bangalore, it still uses old techniques for production. Rafale's main line is yet to be setup and will be independent from LCA. Rafale will incorporate new production techniques and technologies which can be implemented on AMCA later.

Agreed... what your point?
Point is by 2060, the MKI won't be there and Rafale will be in the process of phase out. FGFA and AMCA will be like how MKI, Mirage-2000 or Mig-29 is today, either undergoing MLU or last bit of upgrades.

The only ones left will be FGFA, AMCA, next gen HCA, next gen MCA. Of course, HCA, MCA etc have definitions that change in time. It is possible that by then FGFA will be some kind of a light aircraft.

It is about money aswell.... if we keep paying for rafale how will we fund other programs... everything will suffer set bacs....
Capability always comes at a cost. The capability on Rafale is not available on LCA.

It is much cheaper than buying 375 LCAs. It's pointless. We don't have that many free squadrons anyway. The unsolved equation has only 4.5 squadrons, and that's to be shared between FGFA, Rafale and maybe LCA, so it doesn't make any sense to order more LCA than the number of Jaguars already present.

The only way possible is to increase squadron strength, but that seems unlikely until we replace all Mig-29s, Mirage-2000s and Jaguars. And that puts it in the FGFA/AMCA timetable.

We plan to fund MKI production, Mig-29 upgrade, M-2000 upgrade, Jaguar upgrade, MKI upgrade, LCA development and production, Rafale production, FGFA development and production and AMCA development production in this order. So, why single out only Rafale?

I believe there will be cut back.... let wait and watch
There's nothing to wait and watch. The Rafale deal will increase in numbers. There won't be any cuts.

It doesn't matter how good LCA's avionics are. Even if LCA has superior avionics to FGFA, the aircraft itself is limited in its performance. It doesn't have the range, payload or electric power to use all these to the fullest extent possible.

Regardless of how advanced LCA is, the J-10 is still a superior bird because of these qualities. Even the old F-16 Block 52 is a better bird in that respect due to its huge 4000 Km range.

Also, due to the low cost nature of LCA, the avionics seem nice, but they aren't really as advanced as what's on Rafale. Think about it this way, Rafale has two engines while LCA has one. It means Rafale has twice the onboard electricity compared to LCA. And electricity is a rare commodity and pretty much everything is used. So, if Rafale's 100 KW is used up entirely compared to LCA Mk2's 50 KW, then Rafale has more and better avionics. It goes without saying that the avionics for Rafale is already mature and battle-tested. OTOH, we don't know how long it will take for ADA to develop LCA Mk2's current avionics.

LCA performs missions like point defense and escort, apart from limited air interdiction (shooting at enemy ground troops in the battlefield). Rafale performs all the missions LCA does while being much better at it and also performs missions like electronic attack, deep penetration strike and offensive counter-air (fighting enemy aircraft in enemy airspace). LCA cannot effectively perform these other missions. And these missions are what we need.
perfect is missions are priority along with range and payload the lets go for our own personal favourite Sukhoi MKI... lets make the entire fleet of Sukhoi.... Who needs rafale when we have Sukhoi we can upgrade it to super sukhoi ... perfect ... what do you say... best option right...

It seems to be the case as of now, How much India spend in the project yet is not disclosed as FGFA is not even started ..

This is a rumor spread by few over Internet only, India has to make its own 5th Generation ..

No matter how much money poured no one will give you his best technology ..
How are you saying nothing has been spent if that would have been the case IAF wouldnt havee been complaining about the product and about the work share saying HAL has given away the share of work which it was asked to do.... I believe FGFA will be a version of PAKFA when we have its prototype available it means something have been already done...

yes India will be making its own 5th gen ... Agreed ..

Agreed no ones gonna provide you with everything ie spoon feed you,... one has to make effort...

your projection and my estimate has a difference of 1 year ...

Yes avionics are better and the role I am talking about of interceptor can be performed by it perfectly...
If more orders of tejas are there another line has to be set up which will be as per todays standards international which will be helpful for amca...

Yes one thing must be cost effective if I hve to choose between rafale and Sukhoi MKi I will go with su... u can call for upgraded super su...

even after 3 years deals is stand still and what hapened todays create a doubt if India will go for it as 34000 crore out of 94000 crore has been already spent.... and going interenet info which does vary rafale will be close to 1.5 lakh crore.... how are we gonna pay for it all....

2016-2017 : 18 ... Beginning July 2016 to ending of March 2017. But it should be sooner because of ALA decision to hold back.
2017-2018: 20 ... Beginning early 2017 and ending March 2019. Last deliveries from France and beginning of HAL deliveries should coincide, so it will start slow, but jump rather quickly.
2018-2019: 20
19-20:20
22-23:8... Ending June-July 2023. We will make 108 in India, not 120.

This is how it is without delays. If there are delays, there is expectation that assembly work may be increased by setting up more work cells. The same thing happened with MKI. This is very likely because IAF wants all of them by 2022.
Day after crash, IAF grounds Sukhoi fleet for checks - The Times of India

The idea is to finish two squadrons within 4 years of contract signature. A squadron a year after that for the remaining 4. So, if we assume we sign the contract in December, we should have all 126 jets in exactly 8 years. That's Dec 2022. If we sign by Mach 2015, then we should finish by March 2023. So, I have catered to that delay.

Only in terms of new avionics. Performance, range and payload is still M-2000's advantage.

No, it is not. The assembly of FGFA should happen at Nasik. LCA's production line has already been set up in Bangalore, it still uses old techniques for production. Rafale's main line is yet to be setup and will be independent from LCA. Rafale will incorporate new production techniques and technologies which can be implemented on AMCA later.

Point is by 2060, the MKI won't be there and Rafale will be in the process of phase out. FGFA and AMCA will be like how MKI, Mirage-2000 or Mig-29 is today, either undergoing MLU or last bit of upgrades.

The only ones left will be FGFA, AMCA, next gen HCA, next gen MCA. Of course, HCA, MCA etc have definitions that change in time. It is possible that by then FGFA will be some kind of a light aircraft.

Capability always comes at a cost. The capability on Rafale is not available on LCA.

It is much cheaper than buying 375 LCAs. It's pointless. We don't have that many free squadrons anyway. The unsolved equation has only 4.5 squadrons, and that's to be shared between FGFA, Rafale and maybe LCA, so it doesn't make any sense to order more LCA than the number of Jaguars already present.

The only way possible is to increase squadron strength, but that seems unlikely until we replace all Mig-29s, Mirage-2000s and Jaguars. And that puts it in the FGFA/AMCA timetable.

We plan to fund MKI production, Mig-29 upgrade, M-2000 upgrade, Jaguar upgrade, MKI upgrade, LCA development and production, Rafale production, FGFA development and production and AMCA development production in this order. So, why single out only Rafale?

There's nothing to wait and watch. The Rafale deal will increase in numbers. There won't be any cuts.

perfect is missions are priority along with range and payload the lets go for our own personal favourite Sukhoi MKI... lets make the entire fleet of Sukhoi.... Who needs rafale when we have Sukhoi we can upgrade it to super sukhoi ... perfect ... what do you say... best option right...
Su-30 is more expensive to fly than Rafale. Rafale has a range of 3800 Km+ with 9.6 tonnes of fuel MKI has a range of 3000 Km with 9.6 tonnes of fuel. So there is fuel saved. And other aspects of MKI is also more expensive in terms of maintenance. MKI's airframe needs more maintenance because it has a life of only 4000 hours while Rafale has 8000 hours. Then, AL-31 has engine life of just 2000 hours versus 7000-8000 hours on M88-2. We just placed an order for another 970 engines for MKI because of its low service life. That won't be necessary with Rafale.

Technically, MKI is the best option if it were cheaper, but it is not. We can actually afford a 300 MKI fleet with a 200 Rafale fleet instead of a 500 MKI fleet. It's expensive because MKI is from the same era as LCA is. It was different if MKI was actually the Su-35 with better maintenance and service life. With Rafale, we get a new jet, we get new technologies, new production techniques, a new strategic partner, new weapons, a more focused development partner with a long lasting relationship and all this with the lifecycle costs being cheaper than MKI.

MKI is better than Rafale in some parameters like larger radar which gives it better air to air capability. So, it is more useful as an air dominance platform. If we end up using the 270 MKI for other duties, then LCA will be expected to fight Chinese Flankers. That would put IAF at a severe disadvantage. Instead if we can use most of the MKIs for OCA (Offensive Counter Air), then the Rafales can perform other duties without having to bother the MKI fleet (like how 4 Rafales can carry a large package and also escort themselves). If we use LCA, then the MKI must perform all of its own duties, all of what should have been Rafale's duties and also protect the LCA at the same time, thereby rendering LCA useless.

Example:

Replace the Flankers with Rafale and Gripen with LCA. This gives you an idea about LCA versus MCA or HCA. This is a major reason why nobody wants an LCA. IAF is just stuck with one because it is our own development. If LCA wasn't our aircraft, IAF wouldn't even have looked at it.