Indian Air Force Light Combat Aircraft Tejas India's Second Supersonic Fighter

I don`t have much knowledge about the matter ..

Has Marut seen any other service besides battle of longewala? As far as I know, they were just ground attacks targeting tanks. Any dog fights in Marut's records?

If Kaveri turns out to be a 60 KN dry thrust engine as discussed and expected, MTOW of Tejas will rise to 15000 KG and with reduced weight of 6000 KG, It will almost carry weight equal to its own weight or a bit less. It will not require to use after burner in many maneuvers which will save a lots of fuel. It will give Tejas a very short takeoff distance and timing and enhanced Maneuverability. With Good EW and AESA, it will be an @$$ kicking weapon. I see this happening by 2020.
I am more interested in the jump in export potential of Tejas once Kaveri enters production. JF-17 Lunder can su** it.

For sure, within the next 5 years the LCA project is going to blow the Pakis and Chinese out of the water vis a vis the export potential of their 3.5 gen likes to crash "super MiG-21" powered by an almost obsolete engine aka the JF-17. A 4.5+ gen lightweight, low cost fighter with a high composite material utilisation, AESA radar, Indian engine (or F404 if the customer prefers) and a vast array of diverse weapons intergrated from India, Israel, Russia and possibly France in the future.

There is no way the Pakis/Chinese will be able to compete other than offering their junk at bargin prices or with soft loans.

40 LCA Tejas Mk1s to be delivered by 2019-20.

The development of the Mk1A is likely to be completed by the end of 2018. The series production will follow thereafter.

Moving over to production of Mk1A from Mk1 is expected to take place seamlessly.

The work on LCA Mk1 FOC activities pertaining to integration of weapons and air to air-refueling probe, expansion of envelope is under progress and the FOC is expected by December 2017.

- said T. Suvarna Raju, Chairman and managing director, Hindustan Aeronautics Limited, in an interview with Force India magazine,
https://www.facebook.com/pg/TejasMrca/photos/?ref=page_internal

Tejas PV-1 Fitted With Kaveri Engine To Fly By Aero India 2017

BANGALORE: With an eye to export TEJAS fighters to friendly nations, two platforms from the Tejas test line will be available for customer evaluation flights during the upcoming AeroIndia 2017.
Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) Chief Cmde C D Balaji (Retd) told media on Saturday that PV5 and PV6 (both trainers) will be exclusively available for customer evaluation flights.
In addition to Tejas Test pilots from ADA-HAL, No 45 Squadron pilots of IAF, Tejas has been so far flown by Air Force chief of Turkmenistan. Senior IAF officials too have flown in the aircraft.
He said the Tejas PV-1 fitted with Kaveri engine will be flying by Aero India 2019. “We are reviving PV-1 to accommodate the Kaveri engine with some changes to the rear fuselage,” he said.
To a specific query on LCA Navy’s status, post comments being made by Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sunil Lanba in last December, Balaji said: “The CNS was citing overweight issues of LCA-Navy MK1. We always knew the plane was overweight, but this was only a technology demonstrator. But, Navy is keen on Mk2 variant.”
He said the arrested recovery landing tests of N-LCA will be undertaken later this year at the Shore Based Test Facility in Goa.
http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2017/02/tejas-pv-1-fitted-with-kaveri-engine-to.html

PD_Solo

The only one
Tejas PV-1 Fitted With Kaveri Engine To Fly By Aero India 2017

BANGALORE: With an eye to export TEJAS fighters to friendly nations, two platforms from the Tejas test line will be available for customer evaluation flights during the upcoming AeroIndia 2017.
Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) Chief Cmde C D Balaji (Retd) told media on Saturday that PV5 and PV6 (both trainers) will be exclusively available for customer evaluation flights.
In addition to Tejas Test pilots from ADA-HAL, No 45 Squadron pilots of IAF, Tejas has been so far flown by Air Force chief of Turkmenistan. Senior IAF officials too have flown in the aircraft.
He said the Tejas PV-1 fitted with Kaveri engine will be flying by Aero India 2019. “We are reviving PV-1 to accommodate the Kaveri engine with some changes to the rear fuselage,” he said.
To a specific query on LCA Navy’s status, post comments being made by Chief of Naval Staff Admiral Sunil Lanba in last December, Balaji said: “The CNS was citing overweight issues of LCA-Navy MK1. We always knew the plane was overweight, but this was only a technology demonstrator. But, Navy is keen on Mk2 variant.”
He said the arrested recovery landing tests of N-LCA will be undertaken later this year at the Shore Based Test Facility in Goa.
http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2017/02/tejas-pv-1-fitted-with-kaveri-engine-to.html
Bhai change the title ....

2017 [emoji44] [emoji43] [emoji44]

Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk

Bhai change the title ....

2017 [emoji44] [emoji43] [emoji44]

Sent from my XT1562 using Tapatalk
Sorry I did not see title now a days Indian defense articles put wrong information. Tejas PV-1 Fitted With Kaveri Engine To Fly By Aero India 2019. But i don't know how to change to title please tell moderators to change title. I regret for the mistake next time i will be carefull while posting articles.

Hal Tejas Flies With Refueling Probe

The LSP-8 (Serial KH2018) made its first flight fitted with a Cobham in-flight refueling probe on 31st Jan 2017. The fixed probe is fitted in front of the canopy, and offset to the starboard side of the aircraft, similar to the Mirage 2000 and Rafale fixed refueling probes.
The first flight test was used simply to collect air data and to monitor aircraft performance with the probe attached. LSP-8 has already gone through all the required structural modifications and software updates required to enable in-flight refueling, and ground trials of in-flight refueling have been carried out successfully demonstrating the capability.
HAL will now replicate these trials in the air, first ensuring that the probe does not affect aircraft aerodynamics, then progressing on to multiple 'dry contacts' with a tanker before attempting actual 'wet' fuel transfers.
In-flight refueling is a critical requirement for Final Operational Clearance (FOC) of the Tejas Mk1 for the Indian Air Force. While FOC had been earlier planned for March 2017, HAL CMD T Suvarna Raju recently confirmed that the milestone would not be achieved before December 2017.
http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2017/02/hal-tejas-flies-with-refueling-probe.html

Exclusive: Want to break morale of terrorists, selectively targeting them in J&K, says Parrikar
In an exclusive interview to India Today, Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar said, 'For now, the LoC is quiet.'
Even otherwise sixty-one-year old Defence Minister Manohar Gopalkrishna Parrikar is a busy man. His time, in fact every minute, is under particular pressure as he chose to spend almost 48 hours at the AERO INDIA 2017, the 11th such exhibition using which India hopes to attract investment in the aerospace sector. While he flips in and out of meetings at the first level of the Ministry of Defence (MoD) chalet, his staff is hard pressed to regulate the flow of visitors. Meanwhile, on the ground floor the queue of company representatives and foreign manufacturers is burgeoning with every passing minute.

In the midst of this, he sat down to answer questions put to him by India Today TV's senior special correspondent Jugal R Purohit.
It is a pro-active action in counter insurgency operations that you are witnessing. Our intention is to catch or eliminate terrorists in winter and break their morale. We are also trying to get local terrorists to back into fold. We are selectively catching terrorists unaware because these are the ones who spread out after winter and create a situation. For now, the LoC is quiet and I welcome it. Hope it remains so. We are interested in peace.

USING EMERGENCY POWERS TO EQUIP THE ARMED FORCES:

We are moving quickly, to fast track, to ensure that some gap, and there is not too much gap, but wherever gap exists and it will be filled in through various methods. The new Defence Procurement Procedure permits fast -tracking for small arms and special equipment. This has been used. No need for emergency powers to be used regularly but wherever there is shortage, in those items only. Don't misunderstand that everything is short. Powers were given to the army and we use it to make the army capable, efficient. No hesitation in using. In fact, we believe in delegating power.
EXPORT OF BRAHMOS SUPERSONIC MISSILE AND LIGHT COMBAT AIRCRAFT (LCA) TEJAS:

On BrahMos, we have already cleared many countries and promotion is proceeding. It takes time. Got No Objection Certificates (NOCs) for specific countries which have been given to the company (BrahMos Aerospace Private Limited where India holds 50.5 per cent stakes and Russia, 49.5 per cent) and now the company has to export them.

I would not like to name but the countries concerned have been told. Basically, friendly countries are the recipients and there is a BrahMos council consisting of India and Russia and both have to agree to export it to certain countries. I would not like to derail the process as it is going on and in-principle approval has been granted and detailed approval will come.

In so far as LCA Tejas is concerned, it is already offered to neighbouring countries and it would take upswing only after we complete the Mark 1A configuration because the current TEJAS is more of a trainer and it does not have missile and all those fitted. Certification for missile and other payload is being worked out and the initial tests are a success. However certification needed for upgrades like the Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar. Now integration and certification is in balance.
IMPACT OF INDIA JOINING THE MISSILE TECHNOLOGY CONTROL REGIME (MTCR):

Technology is easily available and it cannot be denied. Many companies are ready to provide us with what we want. We are also permitted to export up to a particular limit. Missile is an area where we want to be self sufficient by 2022. We should be able achieve that. Last year, more than 25-26 successful tests of various types of missiles were carried out including NAG, HELINA as well as the Interceptor missile we have done and it is not easy. In fact in the area of interceptor missiles, we are on the four countries in the world to directly hit an incoming missile at an altitude of 175km or 100km at a relative speed of 3km per second.
http://indiatoday.intoday.in/story/manohar-parrikar-jammu-and-kashmir-terrorists/1/893103.html

When People on BR were discussing about how LCA Mk2 should be build and whether it will meet IAF requirement or not. I wrote that time that rather we should focus on making MK1 better so that we may use it and subsequently we can gradually develop MK2. Ultimately that turned out to be true. A massive 40+83 MK1a dn MK1+ are ordered.

A case study should be conducted that how Tejas was ridiculed once upon a time and an impression was created that IAF do not want it but government is forcefully want to give it to IAF. Now look at the plane and how it has evolved. It maneuvers beautifully. It is all set to carry 4+ ton weight and with desi engine, it is likely to a lot more as it will have dry thrust 60+ KN. It will initially use imported Radar but subsequently be replaced with Desi radar. In next few years, AESA TW version of engine will also come. It is all set to emerge as a top class small fighter of the world.

Tejas SP-4 Completes Maiden Flight

LA-5004 (SP-4), the fourth series produced LCA took to sky for the first time on 3-March-2017. After couple of evaluation sorties, she will become the fourth member of Flying Daggers.

Inching closer to the final operational clearance, Tejas got the In-Flight Refueling Probe flown on 31st Jan 2017 on KH-2018 (LSP-8) for the first time
We take this opportunity to accolade the entire design and integration team for their untiring effort.
X-Wind landing has been one of the toughest task in a fighter aircraft development program. The Control Law, for this task where piloting technique plays a major role, needs to crisp and robust enough to handle all kind of eventualities. We take this opportunity to dedicate this image of KH-2015 to the Tejas Control Law Designers.
With Aero India 2017 now away from the Radar, Team Tejas can get back to the bigger task in hand now. Task of finishing the pending FOC activities like GSH-23 integration, BVR firing with a target, carefree handling, etc. The prototypes will always require special attention in seeing off a flight.
http://www.indiandefensenews.in/2017/03/tejas-sp-4-completes-maiden-flight.html