India: the Story You Never Wanted to Hear by Rose Chasm

TrueSpirit

The same thing can be said about regional cooking mediums man.

For example, Punjabi food is all about sarso ka tel and tonnes of onions.

Gujarati food is all dry and sweet, my cuisine is all about rice cakes, momos and non-veg (north sikkimese cook in yak fat).

You will be totally shocked if you eat a traditional meal in Nagaland, if you can eat it as you may find it too exotic to even try.

Even we NE Indians get shocked at each others cuisines.

Each region has its own delicacy and ways of cooking.
On a high-level, you are quite right when you say that each region has its own delicacy and ways of cooking. But, if you try to quantify the influence & business of Indian cuisines in India as well as across the globe, you would find that Kerala cuisine doesn't figures really high.

The ones figuring among higher ups are : Punjabi, Rajasthani-Gujrati-Marwari(hybrid, ubiquitous thali, found even in Nordic countries), UP's Mughlai cuisine, & some South Indian cuisines (non-Kerala origin, AFAIK). Not necessarily in that order. Reasons are galore but this post is OT, anyway.

Except for some Malabar delicacies (invariably non-veg & mostly fish), Kerela is not really a foodie's paradise. Cuisine is Kerala tourism's weakest spot.

TrueSpirit

Yeah, yeah true, but we generally use coconut oil for the head.

For any other purpose it is YUCK! Plus I hate the taste of anyhting cooked with coconut oil.
But you belong to Tamil Nadu, right ? So, which is your preference ?

sometimes????
they get harassed all the time.
them perverted b@stards call 100 no. to talk and abuse female police responders.

we need good education and thats all.
government schools are sh8t and so are the most of the pass outs.
also we need liberalisation.most of these incident happens because young man are sexually and economically frustrated.

look at it in this way.if these people would have been educated then they would have known that i should treat them foreigners with respect,love and care so that these foreigners visit there hotel again and again and spend tons of dollars. :gangnam:
Not education but danda.

Our government and police are soft on those who need a dose of thrashing and thrash those who are innocent and good citizens.

That is the problem.

Prank calls and flirting with police operators is a criminal offense in western countries and they ensure that the culprits are tracked and arrested.

Here there should be one more element added, tracked, arrested and beaten black and blue.

The problem is most of the goons and local henchmen have MLA backing and therefore they get away.

The first step to excellent policing is banning state-based police.

The police force must be centralized along the lines of CISF and CRPF, trained and disciplined along the lines of the paramilitary.

Police also needs some serious training in how to talk decently with people; especially those who are NOT proven guilty. Some state police officers are worse than the local goons in their attitude, which scares people off.

Even male police officers harass civilian women at times.

There was a case in Delhi where a drunk cop abused pinched and slapped a woman who was a housewife. However, she was a Sikh and her husband and brothers came out with their swords and pummelled the police officer black and blue. It was even shown on the TV, as the altercation happened on the streets when the family was going in two cars.

There has to be a mutual respect taught to both the civilians and security personnel and for that military-like discipline is needed.

And that can happen only if the culture of discipline and respect is enforced on people. Initially there will be opposition but later, people will expect.

There are certain things that have to be enforced on people and one thing that I personally believe that can instil a good character in the youth of the country is, mandatory NCC training.

Every student passing out from India, male or female, must be asked to serve in NCC across the country for a period of one year.

The activities can be the same as now, except that training has to involve in personality building, ethics, character building, personality development and rigorous physical fitness training together.

1 year of military-like discipline and manners during the formative year of the youth will ensure a balanced behaviour in them. Those who graduate from government schools must serve 2 years and as an incentive for excellent performance, should be offered possible positions in Military services and Police.

This will motivate the youth in a positive manner.

Why would a man molest a woman? Because a decent woman is out of his reach?
Why is a decent woman out of his reach? Because he does not have money or education to make some?
Isn't molestation the result of taking out frustrations and a wrong notion of what is "cool"?
So isn't development and growth of the lower socio-economic classes the major pre-requisite for making women safer in India?

2 instances from my personal experience:

In 2011, I complained about an employee (12th pass agent, getting 3500pm salary) in my then office to the ombudsman who regularly used to make catcalls to women on street in front of the road side tea stall in front of the office. The reply I go was that they would not take any steps unless the victim is an employee and she herself makes the complaint. Isn't this basically saying that what he has doing was OK as long as the org does not suffer?

In 2005, while going to office on my bike with my colleague for night shift during Durga Puja, I saw a group of 4 rowdies pulling the dupatta of a young woman on a scooter with her husband. When I shouted at them to stop, they came and started assaulting me and my colleague. After beating them up nice and good I called the police standing nearby and watching the entire thing while sipping tea, and told them that I wanted to lodge an FIR against them. The police told me that I should go away and not come near the area for a few months as apparently the people I stopped molesting had "connections". Isn't this providing political/legal cover to such men?

As long as there is no socio-economic development of the lower classes, and the higher classes retain the age old "chalta hai" or "not my problem" attitude, women will never be safe in India.

In such an event, even the police is useless. They may want to genuinely help people as even they have wives, sisters and daughters among others.

But because of fcking MLA and politicians, criminals get scot free.

The single way to crush this problem is to de-regionalize the police.

Centralize them under a CRPF like command structure, regiment, training and discipline.

Eliminate any political authority on them except for the Home Minister.

They should not be answerable to anyone but the Home Minister (ignoring the fact that we have someone like Shinde right now there but that's a different story).

The centralized- national police officers should be able to overrule a state's chief minister or any pesky MLA if it involves in meddling in a case against a victim, like how you say.

That will ensure that the police force becomes as apolitical as the Army is.

It is a hard step against individual state freedom, but that is what has become of this country.

Freedom has a very big value... and one has to earn it.

Those who don't understand the value of freedom and autonomy don't deserve it.

After all, this freedom of everything has come at the price of thousands of brave heroes who ensured this would come to the future generations; us.

We as a national society have lost that right to such forms of autonomy and freedom

The worst case example is that of the current UP state government. They make even Congress look good.

debasree

its so sad ......we worship woamn as goddess & step by step...remember them they r secondary citizel sex toy for male...its pathetic ..:(........

India is a pot-pourri.

However, with westernised ways penetrating into the Indian psyche, there is a cavalier attitude that is overpowering society that everything is fair to do. A stupid thing, but it exists.

The breakdown of the Indian joint family system where there was strict moral standards and accountability to the family reputation has much to do with this free for all attitude.

Money has changed the social scene where third rate people with money are the icons of society and their perceptions of life in general rule the day!

Hindi films showing lewd scenes of gangsters and their molls ignite the imagination of the perverted elements of society.

Easy availability of porn and soft porn arouses the carnal instincts of the callow.

The sum total leads to this total degradation and foreign, especially western women, who are taken to be more permissive, are the victims!

This may not be a true analysis, but just a thought.

SPIEZ

Yeah, yeah true, but we generally use coconut oil for the head.

For any other purpose it is YUCK! Plus I hate the taste of anyhting cooked with coconut oil.
The same thing can be said about regional cooking mediums man.

For example, Punjabi food is all about sarso ka tel and tonnes of onions.

Gujarati food is all dry and sweet, my cuisine is all about rice cakes, momos and non-veg (north sikkimese cook in yak fat).

You will be totally shocked if you eat a traditional meal in Nagaland, if you can eat it as you may find it too exotic to even try.

Even we NE Indians get shocked at each others cuisines.

Each region has its own delicacy and ways of cooking.
But you belong to Tamil Nadu, right ? So, which is your preference ?
Dude, I belong to TN, I don't know what the "But" signifies. Kerala and TN are totally different states with totally different cultures.

I know squat about cooking, but I love to eat and eat different kinds of food. You won't believe this but my fav food is Punjabi, Aloo parata and Dal makhani (I m guessing it's Punjabi). I also love Andhra cuisine and the spice in them. But Kerala food with coconut oil is shitty. In fact there is a crab specialty they make with coconut oil. Many probably died smelling that, lol.

Overall I have tasted different cuisines, amongst them Indian is always the best.

Not education but danda.

Our government and police are soft on those who need a dose of thrashing and thrash those who are innocent and good citizens.

That is the problem.

Prank calls and flirting with police operators is a criminal offense in western countries and they ensure that the culprits are tracked and arrested.

Here there should be one more element added, tracked, arrested and beaten black and blue.

The problem is most of the goons and local henchmen have MLA backing and therefore they get away.

The first step to excellent policing is banning state-based police.

The police force must be centralized along the lines of CISF and CRPF, trained and disciplined along the lines of the paramilitary.

Police also needs some serious training in how to talk decently with people; especially those who are NOT proven guilty. Some state police officers are worse than the local goons in their attitude, which scares people off.

Even male police officers harass civilian women at times.

There was a case in Delhi where a drunk cop abused pinched and slapped a woman who was a housewife. However, she was a Sikh and her husband and brothers came out with their swords and pummelled the police officer black and blue. It was even shown on the TV, as the altercation happened on the streets when the family was going in two cars.

There has to be a mutual respect taught to both the civilians and security personnel and for that military-like discipline is needed.

And that can happen only if the culture of discipline and respect is enforced on people. Initially there will be opposition but later, people will expect.

There are certain things that have to be enforced on people and one thing that I personally believe that can instil a good character in the youth of the country is, mandatory NCC training.

Every student passing out from India, male or female, must be asked to serve in NCC across the country for a period of one year.

The activities can be the same as now, except that training has to involve in personality building, ethics, character building, personality development and rigorous physical fitness training together.

1 year of military-like discipline and manners during the formative year of the youth will ensure a balanced behaviour in them. Those who graduate from government schools must serve 2 years and as an incentive for excellent performance, should be offered possible positions in Military services and Police.

This will motivate the youth in a positive manner.
1 bold part-what made you think army men doesnt harass woman???
do you want me to post link or you will google it.
2. you know that most of the police officer in delhi are from u.p and haryana.
constables are 10 pass and s.i are 12th pass or maybe farji graduates.
they all have jugaad and get into delhi police.see they have little or less education and hence they don't know how to talk to people.
i heard in news few month back that out of 500 or something police man only 50 were able to write application in proper english.
3.military like discipline is not needed but the moral science is needed.
kids should be taught things like respecting woman and elders and moral science should be implemented practically in school and good behaviour should be considered in character certificate.
4.NCC is good. An NCC certificate holds much value in your resume.

there are NCC camps in delhi and guess what? very less amount of government school participate in it.most of the school participating in NCC camps are the likes of bal bharati,D.A.V and rosary etc.

the thing is it all comes down to good education with tons of extra curricular activities which make a good human being and government schools like sarvodyas and others are just money making things for government employees.
i've seen sarvodya students.i asked one student to write down the spelling of science and he wrote sci .i told him to write the full spelling and he said teacher only wrote this much so i only know sci.

How can you expect a person to know moral and ethics of treating woman when he doesn't even know how to spell science.i mean he can't spell science then he can't read.he is a f@ckin illiterate.

SPIEZ

I ll stick with this idea.

Put some female police women in important places and places of tourist interest. Give them some guns. Make sexual offense punishable.
Heck give them permission to shoot if there are more than a few people near the foreigners, first one in the air the next one in the balls. Loss of few worthless lives will not cause much ado. And it will keep the rest behaved.

You have gotto be kidding if you say foreigners alone face such situation.

debasree

at first punish those who commit crime agaist women thousands of case pending in court do i think forign woman pride is more valuable then indian...charity begins at home

Put some female police women in important places and places of tourist interest. Give them some guns. Make sexual offense punishable.
Heck give them permission to shoot if there are more than a few people near the foreigners, first one in the air the next one in the balls. Loss of few worthless lives will not cause much ado. And it will keep the rest behaved.

calm down bro
laws like that can be misused i.e like a female police officer shooting her ex or someone she hold grudge against

SPIEZ

calm down bro
laws like that can be misused i.e like a female police officer shooting her ex or someone she hold grudge against
Again as I said more respect for women. This will stop the men from harassing the women.

TrueSpirit

Dude, I belong to TN, I don't know what the "But" signifies. Kerala and TN are totally different states with totally different cultures.

I know squat about cooking, but I love to eat and eat different kinds of food. You won't believe this but my fav food is Punjabi, Aloo parata and Dal makhani (I m guessing it's Punjabi). I also love Andhra cuisine and the spice in them. But Kerala food with coconut oil is shitty. In fact there is a crab specialty they make with coconut oil. Many probably died smelling that, lol.

Overall I have tasted different cuisines, amongst them Indian is always the best.
I got my answer. Your preference is the one shared by almost all my friends hailing from South.

TrueSpirit

An NCC certificate holds much value in your resume.
@angeldude13

NCC was good but I have not seen it benefiting me or anyone in careers (C certificate-Army Wing, that is). Private employers do not care & PSU have their own criterion.

TrueSpirit

Unless you are talking Tazer or rubber bullets (best for the job) or chilly/garlic sprays, I would not really support such a proposal. Too aggressive for my tastes :) with far-reaching implications. Such decisions are not taken in haste. There are too many factors at play.

@angeldude13

NCC was good but I have not seen it benefiting me or anyone in careers (C certificate-Army Wing, that is). Private employers do not care & PSU have their own criterion.
I am a student sir.
My principal told me about the benefits of having a NCC certificate in one's resume. he said you'll get benefits from it even in private sector as it shows how disciplined you are.

SPIEZ

Unless you are talking Tazer or rubber bullets (best for the job) or chilly/garlic sprays, I would not really support such a proposal. Too aggressive for my tastes :) with far-reaching implications. Such decisions are not taken in haste. There are too many factors at play.
Chilly spray is for sissies.

You know what, ask a women to walk alone in the night even with conservative clothing and in most cities, you will know what happens. We will know the seriousness only when such a thing happens to your own kith and kin.

Situation has already gone out of hand, it's time to bring it under control and let's do it the only way possible.

TrueSpirit

India is a pot-pourri.

However, with westernised ways penetrating into the Indian psyche, there is a cavalier attitude that is overpowering society that everything is fair to do. A stupid thing, but it exists.

The breakdown of the Indian joint family system where there was strict moral standards and accountability to the family reputation has much to do with this free for all attitude.

Money has changed the social scene where third rate people with money are the icons of society and their perceptions of life in general rule the day!

Hindi films showing lewd scenes of gangsters and their molls ignite the imagination of the perverted elements of society.

Easy availability of porn and soft porn arouses the carnal instincts of the callow.

The sum total leads to this total degradation and foreign, especially western women, who are taken to be more permissive, are the victims!

This may not be a true analysis, but just a thought.
Immaculate analysis (which can only come with real experience). Anybody would concur.

TrueSpirit

Chilly spray is for sissies.

You know what, ask a women to walk alone in the night even with conservative clothing and in most cities, you will know what happens. We will know the seriousness only when such a thing happens to your own kith and kin.

Situation has already gone out of hand, it's time to bring it under control and let's do it the only way possible.
You are correct in saying that situation has got completely out-of-hand but Tazer (electro-shock devices) & rubber bullets are best for the job.

Check the youtube videos for their effect. Non-lethal & non-decapitating but almost paralyzing for sufficient duration.

TrueSpirit

I am a student sir.
My principal told me about the benefits of having a NCC certificate in one's resume. he said you'll get benefits from it even in private sector as it shows how disciplined you are.
Free gyan: Disregard the Honourable principal's advice.

Invest in yourself by obtaining some industry-relevant certifications (Commerce, right ?) & enhancing your business-communication skills.

If feasible/interested obtain some foreign language proficiency (not superficial knowledge, which is of hardly any use).

Any popular language would do. Non-popular ones like Japanese/German would be even better.

For the record, I am not Sir, yar :) My industry experience is just 9 years. There are some veterans on DFI who actually deserve "Sir". You know who.