India should de-recognize Tibet as an autonomous region of China

Kesang

Don't create any trouble where it is not necessary.

I don't see any chance of independence of Tibet from China in near future. So it will create only tension between us.

mahesh

if googled about tibet map, we get few different maps , which is the exact map of tibet as a country ?

blank_quest

Don't create any trouble where it is not necessary.

I don't see any chance of independence of Tibet from China in near future. So it will create only tension between us.
Are you so sure! did Tunisia thought "Arab" spring would happen due to Mohd. Buzzizi??

What could India have done at the time Tibet was invaded by the PLA 1950-1951? Anything India or anybody else does now is just posturing. The UK conceded China's claim to Tibet in June, 1950. Aggression has to be confronted when and where it occurs.

If a strong Govt. is sitting in the centre and a massive unrest takes place in Tibet, this is quite possible.
We know from 1971 that good leadership (civil+army) and will power has lead us to break this jinx beofre; that India is just a soft, spiritual country that can regardlessly be filed as harmless.
But currently Tibet is dying a slow death and there isn't much anyone else is doing about it :(

xizhimen

India should be more worried about their own stuff,namely Maoist rebels,Kashmir and NE.at least in China we don't have guerrilla forces fighting.so if India support Tibet independence,you can guess what will China do in return,China has much more money and weapons to offer.

SADAKHUSH

China's imperialist attitude was expected but has been on display these last 18 months trying to bully Vietnam, then Philippines and now Japan. The latest is that they want to name the Varyag as Diaoyu Islands (what CCP calls the Senkaku).

The CCP is under an illusion that cheap and low self esteem is the way to go in establishing sovereignty - sending fishing boats to do their dirty work, renaming ships etc.

In lieu of all this and considering the plight of the Tibetans in India and in Tibet, India should de-recognize Tibet and an autonomous region of China and recognize the government in exile as valid. We should recognize Tibet as a sovereign nation that is under siege by an Imperialist army. Actively working on this will ensure that other countries like Japan (infuriated by Chinese antics) will also in due course recognize Tibet's struggles. If and when an American president grows some balls (unlike the cutlet sitting in chair now), the US will also fall in line.
If, I am in seat of power it will be done with in my first year of rule. It will be done in consultation with nations in the SCS and SEA region as well as Australia and Europe. First item on the plate will be to built consensus among all the nations and India will show leadership under my rule and will deliver on its promise to the nation.

SADAKHUSH

India should be more worried about their own stuff,namely Maoist rebels,Kashmir and NE.at least in China we don't have guerrilla forces fighting.so if India support Tibet independence,you can guess what will China do in return,China has much more money and weapons to offer.

I will retaliate with much more lethal force than you can dream. Your country has over 56 ethnic minorities as well they can as well be exploited to revolt against the thugs of PLA.

xizhimen

I will retaliate with much more lethal force than you can dream. Your country has over 56 ethnic minorities as well they can as well be exploited to revolt against the thugs of PLA.
You are wrong ,we have 55 ethnic minorities,Han is not one of them,and the 55 minorities all together account for 8% of the population and more than 90% of the 55 minorities are exactly like Han,even they themselves can not really tell the difference.what's the case in India?and what more lethal force do you have?

xizhimen

You guys need to face the reality,China's GDP is serveral times bigger than India so is her Defence budget,second biggest in the world.China's foreign reserves account for 30% of the world totall,China had already overtaken US and became world's biggest manufacturer and ended US's over a hundred years rule and also now is the world biggest trader.we have the world biggest industrial and manufacturing base that can be switched swiftly to war time mode if neccessory,due to the fact that China is a very centralized country which enables the country to take on huge projects and mobilise for war in weeks if not days,and also China has superb infrastructure that can tranport and mobilise huge resources for war from anywhere in the country quickly.

if India like to take OP's misadventure into Tibet,we are here waiting and we already know the result.

China speeds past India's slow train to Himalayas

Published on Wed, Aug 17, 2011 at 10:30 | Source : Reuters

India's struggle to build a railway to troubled Kashmir has become a symbol of the infrastructure gap with neighbouring China, whose speed in building road and rail links is giving it a strategic edge on the mountainous frontier.

Nearly quarter of a century after work began on the project aimed at integrating the revolt-torn territory and bolstering the supply route for troops deployed there, barely a quarter of the 345-km (215-mile) Kashmir track has been laid.

Tunnels collapsed, funds dried up and, faced with the challenge of laying tracks over the 11,000 foot (3,352 metre) Pir Panjal range, railway officials and geologists bickered over the route, with some saying it was just too risky.

The proposed train, which will run not far from the heavily militarised border with Pakistan, has also faced threats from militants fighting Indian rule in the disputed region, with engineers kidnapped in the early days of the project.

China's rail system has been plagued by scandal. A bullet train crash in July killed 40 people and triggered a freeze on new rail project approvals, but the country managed to build the 1,140-km (710-mile) Qinghai-Tibet line, which crosses permanently frozen ground and climbs to more than 5,000 metres above sea level, in five years flat.

It has also built bitumen roads throughout its side of the frontier, making it easier for Chinese troops to move around -- and mass there, if confrontation ever escalates.

Indians have long fretted about the economic advantages that China gains from its infrastructure expertise. But the tale of India's hardships in building the railway line also shows how China's mastery of infrastructure could matter in the territorial disputes that still dog relations.

Both train networks, China's running far to the north and India's hundreds of miles away in the southern reaches of the Himalayas, reflect the desire to tighten political and economic links with their two restive regions - the Tibet Autonomous region in China's case and Kashmir for India.

But they would also form a key element of military plans to move men and armour in the forbidding region in a time of conflict.

Should India-China relations ever deteriorate to the verge of military confrontation and if riots in Tibet erupt, the People's Liberation Army's mountain brigades can rapidly deploy to the region. Railway and road construction have been China's Himalayan strategy for decades.

"China outstrips India in at least three respects: the ability to execute large and complex projects; rapid implementation; and - importantly - the foresight to embark upon these projects for economic and strategic purposes," said Shashank Joshi, at London's Royal United Services Institute, who has written extensively on India-China ties.

He also said China was also more proficient at concealing its failures because of its closed political system and excellent information management.

On the other hand, India hasn't yet determined its priorities in the region, which shares borders with both Pakistan and China.

"India has to decide what it wants to be. If integrating Kashmir is a top national priority, then the project should have moved on a war footing long ago," said one visibly exasperated military commander in Kashmir.

Signs of struggle

In the lower stretch of the line, workers are struggling to build tunnels through soft mountains to bring the track from the railhead in Udhampur, 25 km (15 miles) away.

Of the seven they built over the past four years, one has collapsed and the other is seeping water. Now engineers have gone back to the drawing board to figure out an alternative route.

"That is the way the project has been undertaken. You tunnel and then you find it is not holding. You then try and skirt around it like a bypass surgery," said Chehat Ram, chief administrative officer of Northern Railway.

This is only the first of the tough stretches of the network that will run through some of the world's most spectacular mountains and gorges, offering an alternative to the single highway that connects Kashmir and is vulnerable to bad weather.

Bigger challenges lie further down the track, including building the world's tallest single-span bridge over the river Chenab at an elevation of 387 metres (1,270 feet), higher than the Eiffel Tower at 324 metres.

Across the valley floor are signs of the struggle to build a network that even the country's former British rulers gave up on after briefly considering it in 1898 because of the forbidding and often uninhabitable terrain.

A tunnel built into a cliff edge has been abandoned near Tikri in the lower section, at another place work has been stopped after workers found that the section in the hills they had blasted and drilled through had become waterlogged.

The train station built at Katra in anticipation of the line is looking worn out, with paint peeling off and moss growing on the building, two years after it was completed.

Local herdsmen leave their ponies to graze in the grounds around the eerily empty building.

"People have lost their land, there are no jobs and there is no train," said Lal Chand, a herdsman.

The deadline for completion of the project was August 2007, but it has been pushed back to 2017, and even that is seen as an optimistic assessment. Cost estimates have jumped, from Rs 4550 crore (USD 1.0 billion) in 2002 to Rs 1956o crore today.

China, meanwhile, began work last year to build a rail spur that will connect the Tibetan capital of Lhasa with Shigatse, the monastery town that is the seat of the Panchen Lama, the second-most powerful figure in Tibetan Buddhism.

Joshi said China was in a position to bring far greater resources to public sector investment than India. For instance, Indian investment in railways in 2010 was about USD 9-10 billion. In China, it was USD 118 billion.

"If the Chinese had to build the Kashmir track, they'd do it faster and better than the Indians - but it might still fail, and they'd plough much more into it.

Sam2012

Hey come on if we do that will china move out of Tibet? we should not act like those chinese bunch of idoits if India moves troops in Arunachal or our minister visits arunachal then immediately they start issuing staple VISA to Kashmir citizen & Arunachal pradesh

They might have Big Army, Big Airforce , Big Navy & huge stock of nuclear war heads but still they have to grow up . Why should we follow their path?:thumb:

Tianshan

this is a great mentality.

decide to piss off china for no real strategic advantage, but just for the sheer joy of doing it.

i welcome this move fully. :thumb:

I wonder if de-recognising Tibet as an Autonomous Region of China will change anything.

At best, India should state that it has to be autonomous in actuality like Hong Kong, wherein one could really claim without reservation that it is an autonomous region.

You are wrong ,we have 55 ethnic minorities,Han is not one of them,and the 55 minorities all together account for 8% of the population and more than 90% of the 55 minorities are exactly like Han,even they themselves can not really tell the difference.what's the case in India?and what more lethal force do you have?

This map shows the correct borders of J&K in Aksai chin and that is the present LAC thr. India has no justifiable claims over the areas in Aksai Chin which are under chinese right now and we must accept this truth of history. However chinese have no claim in Arunachal as this map shows. It was for this reason that PLA withdrew from all areas in 1962 including Arunachal except the Aksai Chin area. So I think we must accept this border alignment and settle our border with China asap provided they too agree to it. Present day Arunachal was never a part of tibet at any stage of history.

t_co

This map shows the correct borders of J&K in Aksai chin and that is the present LAC thr. India has no justifiable claims over the areas in Aksai Chin which are under chinese right now and we must accept this truth of history. However chinese have no claim in Arunachal as this map shows. It was for this reason that PLA withdrew from all areas in 1962 including Arunachal except the Aksai Chin area. So I think we must accept this border alignment and settle our border with China asap provided they too agree to it. Present day Arunachal was never a part of tibet at any stage of history.
I wholeheartedly agree with this. Arunachal is India's; Aksai is China's.

Wow. This map looks nice. Did you scan & upload it ?
Can you tell me, where I can find similar detailed maps. Thanks in advance.

On topic, I think there is no real point in "de-recognizing" Tibet. India "de-recognizing" Tibet does not really change much.