India -- only country to have access to the military segment of the Glonass

Discussion in 'Strategic Forces' started by A.V., Mar 3, 2011.

  1. A.V.

    A.V. New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    6,503
    Likes Received:
    1,106
    Location:
    Moscow, russia
    Russia today launched next generation of glonass satellites to make the system almost 95 percent operational , after the launch failure in december last this was a successful launch from soyuz 2- 1b system to make the count to 23 , india will be using dual signals and receivers for navigation comprising of the GPS and Glonass , the dual receivers are now being jointly developed.

    The Dual mode will make india use the technology to better precision and reliability.
     
  2.  
  3. bhramos

    bhramos Elite Member Elite Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    13,206
    Likes Received:
    6,638
    Location:
    Telangana/India/Bharat
    thats a great news........
    but how many of the systems would use it other than Russian platforms???????
     
  4. Singh

    Singh Phat Cat Administrator

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20,305
    Likes Received:
    8,270
    Location:
    011
    Glonass is not very accurate around the tropics, it'll be plenty useful if India ever plans to bomb Mongolia or something.
     
  5. p2prada

    p2prada Stars and Ambassadors Stars and Ambassadors

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    10,233
    Likes Received:
    3,896
    Location:
    Holy Hell
    Military grade signals from GLONASS have no issues in the tropics, if there are issues in the first place. Funny that we are clubbing Civilian GPS with military GLONASS. :p
     
  6. nitesh

    nitesh Mob Control Manager Stars and Ambassadors

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,541
    Likes Received:
    1,260
    Location:
    Bangalore
    I don't think the military equipment will have devices which will take signals from GPS and GLONASS, at best they will take from IRNSS and GLONASS, for civilian equipments yes they will take the civilian signals from GPS and GLONASS
     

Share This Page