India Military Budget Projections - 15 years 2016-30

army budget projection has no value untill they have the worst procurement process and kale pele safari suit wale babus and their tender system:megusta::megusta::megusta::megusta:
At least current government is serious about Army. Army has been ignored for a while, so it needs good focus.

Read parrikar interview today. he has said so many things about procurement etc.
he will be gone in 2 yrs then again koi kala peela dhooti wala minister a jayega:biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

Kabhi shubh shubh bhi bol liya karo paaji. :D
yes thanks to pak-china honeymoon
Their honeymoon was being celebrated before as well.
Pak was giving it's to China and China too was taking with pleasure. :biggrin2:
But last Marxist mentality government had no balls against communists.
Right wing can handle commies better. :p

Posted this in the what equipment would you like to see in the Indian Armed forces thread earlier

Here's what i would buy if i had the power of the RM for a term between 2020 & 2025.For sake of ease I've calculated the defence budget at 2.5% of GDP and purchase budget at 30% of defence budget once for each 5 yr term.
2020-2025
GDP(nominal)-3.5$ tr/annum
defence budget-87.5$bil/annum
purchase budget-26.5$bil/annum i.e. total budget of ~130$bil

1)Complete protective gear for 1 million soldiers including BPJ,ballistic helmet,knee pads,elbow pads,all terrain boots , assault rifle, pistol,& backpack. Cost for each soldier estimated at 4000$ total cost for 1 million men =4$billion.
2)Funding for 6 SSNs at 2$billion each =12$billion
3)Funding for 4 more SSBNs at 2$billion each=8$billion
4)Four LHD's at a combined cost of 6 billion$.
5)Six Destroyers at 1.5$billion each=9$billion
6)Ten frigates at 1$billion each= 10$billion
7)Ten SSKs at 1 $ billion each=10$billion
8)Five S500 units at 1$billion each= 5$billion
9)Five Super Swordfish LRTR @ 1.5$bil each-7.5$bil
10)Towed Arty- 1000 Bharat-52 at cost of roughly 2 billion$
11)1000 Dhanush Howitzers/ATAGS at a cost of roughly 2 billion $
12)1500 Pinaka MBRL at a cost of 2 billion $
13)500 M777 at a cost of approx 3 billion$
14)Tanks- 700 ARJUN mk2 tanks at a cost of roughly 6 billion$
15)APC's- 1000 TATA Kestrels at a cost of 3 billion$
16)AWACS- 4 more DRDO ELTA AIRBUS AWACS at a cost of 2 billion$
17)TANKERS- 5 more AIRBUS MRTT/BOEING KC-46 at a cost of 3 billion$
18)20 more C-17s at a cost of 6 billion $
19)30 more C-130H at a cost of 1 billion$
20)200 more DHRUV ALH at a cost of 1 billion$
21)20 MI-26 at a cost of 500 million$
22)20 CH-47 Chinook at a cost of 500 million$
23)200 mi-17 V5 at an approx cost of 1 billion$
24)100 more LCH at a cost of 500 million$
25)30 more APACHE AH-64E LONGBOW at a cost of 1 billion $
26)200LCA mk3 at a cost of 75$mil each=15$Bil

I still have 9$ Bil left over which would be used for upgradation of ten military bases at the cost of 500$Million/base= Upgradation of all Military academies & staff colleges to the levels to US Ivy League .

Army needs to increase the budget not only for capital (hardware) expenditure but to attract best Indian mind and talent.

We are short of 9000 ~officers in Army.Earlier officers boast about their army heritage.There were 5 generations of officer.Sadly there is a steep decline in that.

Around 7% of new officers are children of Commissioned officers.

34% ~ are children of NCO (non commission officers). VK Singh and D S Shuhag's father was NCO.

Rest are from civilian background including rural areas.

Now Best talent opt for a 9 to 5 job or metro's life.

Earlier gentlemen officers were alumni of schools like meo college,Lawrence school Sanawar and Sherwood etc.Now Army had to reduce the selecting criteria 55 % for Tech entry in Btech.

But selection procedure at SSB (interview) remains the same.

Army officers are rare talent and precious Human resource able to solve any problem.It was a retired Army officer who made Indian Oil a billion $ company.

@bengalraider, I think some of the prices you quoted are too low.

May be you can check/ verify your lists.

Overall a good post.

I think india should look for min 1 sub induction per year, and similar number for combined destroyer/frigate class ships.

Rest 20 asked by Navy should be mine countermeasures ships, asw corvettes, patrol ships, supply ships, hopefully 1 more ACC and 2 LHD.

I think Navy should buy more fighters. Mig29k is very good addition for Navy and it should buy more. Navy should buy 100 NLCA as well. This should be a potent force to keep enemy ships away.

MKM

Posted this in the what equipment would you like to see in the Indian Armed forces thread earlier

Here's what i would buy if i had the power of the RM for a term between 2020 & 2025.For sake of ease I've calculated the defence budget at 2.5% of GDP and purchase budget at 30% of defence budget once for each 5 yr term.
2020-2025
GDP(nominal)-3.5$ tr/annum
defence budget-87.5$bil/annum
purchase budget-26.5$bil/annum i.e. total budget of ~130$bil

1)Complete protective gear for 1 million soldiers including BPJ,ballistic helmet,knee pads,elbow pads,all terrain boots , assault rifle, pistol,& backpack. Cost for each soldier estimated at 4000$ total cost for 1 million men =4$billion.
2)Funding for 6 SSNs at 2$billion each =12$billion
3)Funding for 4 more SSBNs at 2$billion each=8$billion
4)Four LHD's at a combined cost of 6 billion$.
5)Six Destroyers at 1.5$billion each=9$billion Seriously
6)Ten frigates at 1$billion each= 10$billion 1.3B each
7)Ten SSKs at 1 $ billion each=10$billion
8)Five S500 units at 1$billion each= 5$billion 1.4B each for S400
9)Five Super Swordfish LRTR @ 1.5$bil each-7.5$bil
10)Towed Arty- 1000 Bharat-52 at cost of roughly 2 billion$
11)1000 Dhanush Howitzers/ATAGS at a cost of roughly 2 billion $
12)1500 Pinaka MBRL at a cost of 2 billion $
13)500 M777 at a cost of approx 3 billion$
14)Tanks- 700 ARJUN mk2 tanks at a cost of roughly 6 billion$
15)APC's- 1000 TATA Kestrels at a cost of 3 billion$
16)AWACS- 4 more DRDO ELTA AIRBUS AWACS at a cost of 2 billion$
17)TANKERS- 5 more AIRBUS MRTT/BOEING KC-46 at a cost of 3 billion$
18)20 more C-17s at a cost of 6 billion $ What? What? What?
19)30 more C-130H at a cost of 1 billion$ What? What? What?
20)200 more DHRUV ALH at a cost of 1 billion$
21)20 MI-26 at a cost of 500 million$ What? What? What?
22)20 CH-47 Chinook at a cost of 500 million$ What? What? What?
23)200 mi-17 V5 at an approx cost of 1 billion$ What? What? What?
24)100 more LCH at a cost of 500 million$ What? What? What?
25)30 more APACHE AH-64E LONGBOW at a cost of 1 billion $ What? What? What?
26)200LCA mk3 at a cost of 75$mil each=15$Bil

I still have 9$ Bil left over which would be used for upgradation of ten military bases at the cost of 500$Million/base= Upgradation of all Military academies & staff colleges to the levels to US Ivy League .
Who gives you a light helicopter in 5 million, forget about attack helicopter...

I think mi17 should be about 10-12m now.

American stuff is quite expensive though the deals cover at least 10 year spares.

Lch may cost at least 15m per unit. We shall know when an order is placed.

Dhruv may cost between 6-8m depending on version.

C130h have cost 6 for 1 billion. C17 is 400m per unit.

C17 may include long term spares, but still unit cost is very high for a no frills military transport.

Ofb dhanush gun is 20 crore a unit.

So similar 2000 units will cost 40000 crore.

We may not need 2000 new dhanush howitzers. I think 500 upgraded m46 will last quite some time. This with 500 more dhanush is a good number.

We should continue to have 2000+ 105mm guns. More lightweight guns of this caliber should be bought. This is the only gun that can be heli-dropped almost anywhere.

The 1000 or so units of self propelled artillery should be bought too, preferably split equally between tracked and wheeled carriages. I find 814 MGS a funny requirement. Also tracked artillery numbers of 100 + 40 are too low.