India is fifth largest military spender with outlay of $55.9 bn: SIPRI WORLD Updated: Apr 24, 2017

was at fifth place on the list of the world’s highest spenders on defence in 2016 as global military expenditure rose for a second consecutive year to $1,686 billion, according to a new report.

New Delhi’s military expenditure grew by 8.5% last year to $55.9 billion, according to the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute’s annual report on defence spending.

The United States remained at the top of the list, with its military spending growing by 1.7% between 2015 and 2016 to $611 billion. Military expenditure by China, the second largest spender, increased by 5.4% to $215 billion, a “much lower rate of growth than in previous years”, the report said.

Russia hiked its spending by 5.9% to $69.2 billion, making it the third largest spender. Saudi Arabia was the third largest spender in 2015 but dropped to fourth position in 2016 as its spending fell by 30% to $63.7 billion despite its involvement in regional conflicts.

Total global military expenditure in 2016 rose by 0.4% over 2015 in real terms, according to the new figures from SIPRI.

In February, India hiked its allocation for defence in 2017-18 by 6% to Rs 2.74 lakh crore, including Rs 86,488 crore for modernisation. However, experts said the modest increase could hurt the military’s modernisation plans, crucial to keeping up with China’s expanding might.

India’s military spending has averaged an annual increase of 10% during the past three years, much to the disappointment of the military that is struggling to scale up its capabilities.

The armed forces are currently negotiating several big-ticket deals for Rafale fighter jets, Apache, Chinook and Kamov helicopters and the M-777 lightweight howitzers.

The SIPRI report also said military spending in North America saw its first annual increase since 2010, while spending in Western Europe grew for the second consecutive year.

Global military expenditure rose for a second consecutive year to a total of $1686 billion, marking the first consecutive annual increase since 2011, when spending reached a peak of $1,699 billion.

The report said spending continued to grow in Asia and Oceania, Central and Eastern Europe and North Africa. By contrast, spending fell in Central America and the Caribbean, the Middle East, South America and sub-Saharan Africa.

“The growth in US military expenditure in 2016 may signal the end of a trend of decreases in spending, which resulted from the economic crisis and the withdrawal of US troops from Afghanistan and Iraq,” the report said.

US spending last year remained 20% lower than its peak in 2010. “Despite continuing legal restraints on the overall US budget, increases in military spending were agreed upon by Congress,” said Aude Fleurant, director of the SIPRI Arms and Military Expenditure (AMEX) programme.

Military expenditure in Western Europe rose by 2.6% in 2016 and experts said this was linked to growing threat perceptions. There were spending increases in all but three countries in the region. Italy recorded the highest increase, with spending rising by 11%.

“The growth in spending by many countries in Central Europe can be partly attributed to the perception of Russia posing a greater threat,” said Siemon Wezeman, senior researcher with the SIPRI AMEX programme.

There were also large falls in military spending by many oil-exporting countries. “Falling oil revenue and associated economic problems attached to the oil-price shock has forced many oil-exporting countries to reduce military spending,” said Nan Tian, a researcher with SIPRI. “For example, between 2015 and 2016, Saudi Arabia had the biggest absolute decrease in spending of $25.8 billion.”

http://www.hindustantimes.com/world...-9-bn-sipri/story-bOH1JVFUcnOxKH3XTdncSM.html

Wow we are spending more than Pakistan’s entire GDP on defence.

LAHORE: (Dunya News, Web Desk) - The volume of Budget 2016-17 is going to be Rs 4394 billion while the tax collection target is going to be set at Rs 3621 billion. Moreover, non-tax revenue target is going to be Rs 960 billion, reported Dunya News.

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/339634-Budget-worth-Rs-4394-billion-presented-in-National

$56 billion USD in 2016 equals about 6272 billion in Pak Rupees, assuming one $1=112 Pak PNR.

LAHORE: (Dunya News, Web Desk) - The volume of Budget 2016-17 is going to be Rs 4394 billion while the tax collection target is going to be set at Rs 3621 billion. Moreover, non-tax revenue target is going to be Rs 960 billion, reported Dunya News.

http://dunyanews.tv/en/Pakistan/339634-Budget-worth-Rs-4394-billion-presented-in-National

$56 billion USD in 2016 equals about 6272 billion in Pak Rupees, assuming one $1=112 Pak PNR.
Chinese defence budget = Paki GDP
Indian defence budget = Paki government spending total
Indian defence budget = Recent proposed increase in US defence budget
Indian defence budget = 2X Afghanistan GDP
Indian defence budget = 5X Pakistan Defense budget
Chinese defence budget = 5X Indian Defence budget

Saudi Arabia defence budget > Indian Defence budget . But still Saudi Arabia sucks:dude:

Pakistan's GDP is 250 bn USD. We may be spending more tan pakistan's entire budget.

Saudi Arabia defence budget > Indian Defence budget . But still Saudi Arabia sucks:dude:
With the oil falling apart it's interesting to see how longer can they sustain both their military budget and wahabi ideology export.

We need to reduce our manpower at the same time induct more force multipliers. Salaries and pension liabilities are reducing our advantages.

Plus we need to spend more on air and navy and reduce expenditure on army.

Pakistan's GDP is 250 bn USD. We may be spending more tan pakistan's entire budget.
39.2 billion USD was total budget for Pak ans we spended about 56 billion. Thats lot of money. Almost like Pak and Afghan together.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
When our GDP crosses $5 trillion in 2022 we will have third largest defence budget in the world.

Our GDP is crossing 5 trillion mark in 2022? That is news to me. Wet dreams aside, I think 3.8 trillion is barely achievable by 2022.

According to 2016 data from forbes .............

With the oil falling apart it's interesting to see how longer can they sustain both their military budget and wahabi ideology export.
They are flooding the market with cheap oil to make US and Canada oil unfeasible as well as to stick it to Iran.. They will be fine I think.. Also, they are investing like crazy for the eventuality when fossil fuels are obsolete/not feasible to mine. I think more likely, there will be a revolution and people will overthrow the government at some point.

The Saudi s can survive less oil price for another 10 years easily if they just cut the grants they give it to their citizens inside the country .. Plus now they are smartly investing on religion along with another financial investments in other countries .. Look at indonesia and Malaysia how totally become puppet of Saudi s Royal family thanks to Wahabism..The only trouble is for the US Shail oil explorers and the Russian oil industry if the oil prices keep staying low . Russia will totally submit itself into the arms of china forever that s a big trouble for us ..

Saudi s spending 63 bn $ and Israel Spending just 18 Bn $ now if you look at these two forces Israel will just simply run over saudi s if there is a war .. Quality matters over Quantity .. Israel spends most of its budget on Air Defence, Missiles and Armoured weapons and aircraft's ..

We should also move away from high number of infantry to more Force multipliers like 5th Gen Fighter gets .. More submarines and Aircraft carriers and more good hi end battle tanks and missiles..I feel a reduction of 2-3 lakhs people in army is very much needed right away to trim the excessive fat and bring the army into a healthy force financially to maintain ..

Well our budget looks low compared to china,Russia and Saudi But given the current conditions inside the country with drought and farmers issues and even the slowing economy i wont be surprised if the Opposition starts criticising the govt next year for its massive defence spending and starting a debate in its liberal media same way like China said we need to focus on economy instead of building ACs ..

They are flooding the market with cheap oil to make US and Canada oil unfeasible as well as to stick it to Iran.. They will be fine I think.. Also, they are investing like crazy for the eventuality when fossil fuels are obsolete/not feasible to mine. I think more likely, there will be a revolution and people will overthrow the government at some point.

The Saudi s can survive less oil price for another 10 years easily if they just cut the grants they give it to their citizens inside the country .. Plus now they are smartly investing on religion along with another financial investments in other countries .. Look at indonesia and Malaysia how totally become puppet of Saudi s Royal family thanks to Wahabism..The only trouble is for the US Shail oil explorers and the Russian oil industry if the oil prices keep staying low . Russia will totally submit itself into the arms of china forever that s a big trouble for us ..

Saudi s spending 63 bn $ and Israel Spending just 18 Bn $ now if you look at these two forces Israel will just simply run over saudi s if there is a war .. Quality matters over Quantity .. Israel spends most of its budget on Air Defence, Missiles and Armoured weapons and aircraft's ..

We should also move away from high number of infantry to more Force multipliers like 5th Gen Fighter gets .. More submarines and Aircraft carriers and more good hi end battle tanks and missiles..I feel a reduction of 2-3 lakhs people in army is very much needed right away to trim the excessive fat and bring the army into a healthy force financially to maintain ..
Well said, agree completely with everything you just said.

Where are we supposed to cut the flab from? Which arms or formations need to go according to you?

AFAIK, there is talk of improving the teeth to tail ratio, but then again, the definition of tail or a tooth is disputed. We could do with more automation in logistics and support arms, but removing frontline troops is not a good idea IMHO. Israel does not have a large territory to protect itself. We OTOH, are mainly a defensive force with threats on multiple fronts, and hence are infantry intensive. Manning the Himalayas is, again, a manpower intensive job. The Mechanised forces we do have need better equipment. And the set piece defence-offense scenario on the Western border requires strategic reserves larger than Pakistan's.

Totally agree with you
For army we need to buy better gear for our infantry,better encrypted comm systems,better network centric warfare command,Better arty and self propelled guns,attack helo for anti-armour and anti-infantry roles,need better APC's and IFV's,Arjun mk2's in numbers.....................

For air force we need about 900-1000 jet fighters,about 25 awacs systems and 25 mid air refueling systems,some 300-400 transport aircraft of all sizes to airdrop troops and heavy armour,More highways that can double up as Runways,more ALG's in the north east,Air force must focus on generating upto 5-6 sorties per aircraft per day

For navy we need 2 more aircraft carriers and 4 helicopter carriers,upto 30-35 subs and 5-6 ballistic missile subs,Better replacement for rajput class destroyers and older frigates and corvettes,Buy upto 30-40 missile boats,
That would be a force to be reckoned with

Well if you ask me i really don t know were to cut the flab .. But just look at china with a bigger border and with more borders disputes with so many countries has just decided to trim 3 lakh soldiers from the PLA ...

Well if you ask me i feel we can use the TA to maximum utilisation in case of a War .. We should encourage and recruit more people into the TA in both Infantry and Mechanised divisions and this will helps us reduce the financial burden of having more full time soldiers to an extent and we can use TA if there is war ..we can start cutting down the numbers from the support services and also fill the number of officers post which are vacant ..

Well you are right its huge Himalayan task to man our borders up in the mountains and we need man power but we have to adapt technology in surveillance and reduce the dependency on man power to an little less extent ..

Well if you look back at the yum-kippo war Israel fought a much larger Egyptian army of 1 lakh soldiers and 1000 Tanks in the Sinai peninsula which was huge compared to size of Israel with much smaller force and they fought a two front war with Egypt and Syria which had huge number of soldiers .. and Israel utilisation of reservist in these wars to the were equal to the regular soldiers.

Where are we supposed to cut the flab from? Which arms or formations need to go according to you?

AFAIK, there is talk of improving the teeth to tail ratio, but then again, the definition of tail or a tooth is disputed. We could do with more automation in logistics and support arms, but removing frontline troops is not a good idea IMHO. Israel does not have a large territory to protect itself. We OTOH, are mainly a defensive force with threats on multiple fronts, and hence are infantry intensive. Manning the Himalayas is, again, a manpower intensive job. The Mechanised forces we do have need better equipment. And the set piece defence-offense scenario on the Western border requires strategic reserves larger than Pakistan's.

Cutting Edge 2

Space Power
Our GDP is crossing 5 trillion mark in 2022? That is news to me. Wet dreams aside, I think 3.8 trillion is barely achievable by 2022.
There are many estimated reports of fast GDP growth post 2018 because of GST and rupee appreciation, both combined can possibly put our GDP in 4 to 5 trillion range post 2022. So there is a possibility of india becoming third largest military spender by or post 2022.

We should not cross 800 when it comes to Fighter aircraft's..which is as per the current requirement 42 Squadrons X 18 aircraft's per Squadron = 756 so we can add another 44 more and keep it around 800 Maximum if we increase the Squadron size to 24 then we may need 1000+ Fighters .. The transport fleet should be around 250 Aircraft's maximum ..

For Naval 3 ACs.. and 30 Sub s with Maximum 8 SSBNs nothing above that .. We can Easily be a force to reckon with ..

We have only two big adversaries not 20 like China has to increase the naval strength to 200+ ships they want to rule SCS,IOR,Pacific and who knows even Atlantic in future once USA moves done the order from the World super power .. We are not in race to become a military super power to rule the oceans and seas .. we are just building a deterrence force to counter our adversaries if they attack us ..

No one is going to take a weak military force as super power either economically or militarily ..We need that much force to keep ourselves up in the order ..

Totally agree with you
For army we need to buy better gear for our infantry,better encrypted comm systems,better network centric warfare command,Better arty and self propelled guns,attack helo for anti-armour and anti-infantry roles,need better APC's and IFV's,Arjun mk2's in numbers.....................

For air force we need about 900-1000 jet fighters,about 25 awacs systems and 25 mid air refueling systems,some 300-400 transport aircraft of all sizes to airdrop troops and heavy armour,More highways that can double up as Runways,more ALG's in the north east,Air force must focus on generating upto 5-6 sorties per aircraft per day

For navy we need 2 more aircraft carriers and 4 helicopter carriers,upto 30-35 subs and 5-6 ballistic missile subs,Better replacement for rajput class destroyers and older frigates and corvettes,Buy upto 30-40 missile boats,
That would be a force to be reckoned with

Totally agree with you

For air force we need about 900-1000 jet fighters,.....
But how?
Goddamn MRCA I hear it since some 5th std. still not one plane in pocket.
And with that insane price, we could have bought like double the number (252 ??) of russian fighters and spent the rest on reverse engineering the same, for indigenous tech.