India a 44$Tr Economy by 2050

PPP is not a correct way to measure GDP. It has several flaws which will take a lot of space for me to elaborate. But today no serious economics student uses PPP as barometer of GDP. PPP per capita has some uses though. India is likely to be 15 Trillion economy by 2040 as GDP will grow by 6% at max. That said 15 trillion is serious economic heft but far behind China whose nominal GDP will be 50 Trillion by then. Infact Chinese nominal GDP will be more than India and US combined. The main reason is lack of indigenization in weapons development and energy. Blame generals our corrupt army generals, babus, scientists and politicos for this sad state of affairs.
There is no correct way to measure GDP. That is why it is calculated in different ways.

PPP is more accurate measure if external trade (hence use of dollars for trade) is low. Like in case of India .

Measuring GDP of India at nominal exchange rate disregard internal Indian economy which transacts in rupees only.

That being said PPP to has faults.

GDP will grow by 6% at max
Max at 6% any basis to that claim.
We are already going faster with strong fundamentals , favourable demography .

For the most of next decade we should be growing easily 7-8% and upwards.

China whose nominal GDP will be 50 Trillion by then. Infact Chinese nominal GDP will be more than India and US combined.

Nope it won't. Look at both IMF and WB projection both nominal and PPP India US together will be heavy on china in each and every projection no matter what method you use.

Also nominal GDP shoots up when currency appreciates. If Indian fundamentals remain strong rupee will shoot up an nominal GDP will shoot up with it.

Chinese yuan will grow stronger but that will make china less competitive resulting in loss of manufacturing which will render millions of chinese jobless again.

So GDP boost for china will come with disastrous consequences.

What happens when Indians start becoming money oriented and do much more big businesses?
I see big leap in our financial situation in future.

In 5 years, we may run many heavy industries.

The Pwc February 2017 report for the world in 2050 has India as the 2nd largest Economy in the World by 2050 with a Projected PPP GDP of over 44$Tr growing from a 8.7$Tr Economy today . While the Report gives China top spot with a Estimated 2050 GDP of 58.5$Tr It puts the US in third place with only 34$Tr.
Please note that this only considers an average yearly growth of 4%/annum for India from 2021-2050, the real growth and hence GDP in 2050 could be far larger.
Pakistan is also projected to grow from the 24th largest economy at 988$Bn PPP GDP today to the 16th largest economy with a 4.2$Tr PP GDP by 2050.

The full report can be found at the link below for those interested to read through the entire thing.
http://www.pwc.com/gx/en/world-2050/assets/pwc-the-world-in-2050-full-report-feb-2017.pdf
Hold your horses guys!
It's number in PPP.
Nominal GDP is real way project power.

Bhai they were already bankrupt a couple of times. USA & IMF bailed them out. Agar tabhi bail nai hoti toh aaj Islamabad me taliban ghum rahe hote.. aur pakistani ghaas kha rahe hote.
We should understand what going bankrupt means before using the term. Pakistan never went bankrupt. Moreover, Pakistan is not even close to bankruptcy.

Countries that are close to bankruptcy are: Belarus, Argentina, Jamaica, Belize, Venezuela, Greece, Ukraine.
Source: http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-05-12/countries-teetering-verge-bankruptcy

Countries that actually went bankrupt in the recent past: Iceland, Argentina, Russia, Mexico.
Source: https://www.tharawat-magazine.com/facts/4-bankrupt-countries/

What happens when Indians start becoming money oriented and do much more big businesses?
I see big leap in our financial situation in future.

In 5 years, we may run many heavy industries.
India just started world's biggest digital literacy program. This coupled with skill India, make in India, growing literacy rate will definitely affect the economy for good.

We should understand what going bankrupt means before using the term. Pakistan never went bankrupt. Moreover, Pakistan is not even close to bankruptcy.

Countries that are close to bankruptcy are: Belarus, Argentina, Jamaica, Belize, Venezuela, Greece, Ukraine.
Source: http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-05-12/countries-teetering-verge-bankruptcy

Countries that actually went bankrupt in the recent past: Iceland, Argentina, Russia, Mexico.
So why the need to bailout without bankruptcy?

Tarun Kumar

India's external trade is not low. Infact India is the only large developing economy whose currency is depreciating as we are running a negative BOT. reason: we spend billions on weapons imports and oil apart from external debt committment. Hence PPP is totally wrong way to measure Indian economy. If i am a marwari with tonnes of gold, it does not help indian GDP as most of it is untaxed and India is importing all critical stuff like weapons and oil. Also dont go by GDP data, it is fudged. I have reams and reams of evidence to show that GDP growth is not more than 6%but Modi and Co did statistical jugglery to inflate GDP figure.
All said even China's GDP is fudged and they will most likely be around 35TnUSD by 2050 but we will be at 15Tn at max provided we dont have war with pakis by 2050 about which I am sceptical. 2050 world would be in middle of WW3

India's external trade is not low
It's pretty low compared to all other major economies. India is a consumption based economy.
Also dont go by GDP data, it is fudged.
That can be said about every other indicator and every country in the world.
It is the govt that collects data and supplies to external agencies.

Chinese province was just caught fudging data so on that count Chinese projection must go much below India. And pakistan doesn't even have a population count to begin with.
All said even China's GDP is fudged and they will most likely be around 35TnUSD
Again how are you calculating. I can see CCP going bust much before that and Tibet and xinxiang gaining independence.

Pakistan had to take an IMF loan to bailout it's forex reserve. Without that bailout pakistan would have lost its reserv in matter of weeks. And then it would've defaulted on its payment for oil gas and imports.

That kind of defaulting on payments is considered as bankruptcy afaik.

Now I agree pakistan took IMF bailout and saved itself . It's foreign reserve grew a little too but they count private citizens foreign currency too in their reserve which is shoddy. And their trade deficit is ever widening thus forcing them to take more loan from china to cover reserve.

Situation is not good no matter how we look at it:truestory:

Vilander

This is GDP PPP.

India is no 3 already so there is nothing alarming in this prediction. We should not confuse between GDP PPP and GDP nominal. UN/IMF are generally thought to be more accurate estimations, that puts Indian nominal GDP at 2.2 trillion for 2016 but in terms of PPP India is 8.7 Trillion in 2016.