Illegal night vision for Naxals, NIA to probe

NEW DELHI: The National Investigation Agency (NIA) has detected that a Delhi-based company has illegally imported night vision devices from USA and supplied them to the Naxalites. Alarmed by the revelation, the home ministry has ordered the NIA to register a case.

NIA Director General SC Sinha told ET that a Delhibased private company had forged a certificate of the Jharkhand government to import night vision devices from USA and had hence given an impression that the Jharkhand government wanted the devices. "We have registered a case on March 19 after it was found that the Delhi-based company had forged the Jharkhand government's certificate to successfully procure the devices from USA and diverted the same to Naxalites. We are in the process of investigating the case," Sinha told ET.

The name of the company is not being disclosed for the purpose of investigation, but it's officials are being questioned. "The accused company made and used forged documents for illegal procurement by import from USA, of night vision devices for self-loading rifles for suspected supply to terrorist gangs or Naxalites in India for waging war against the Union of India," says the NIA FIR lodged under provisions of the IPC and the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act. Night vision devices are a cutting-edge technology that can enhance fighting capability in the dark. CRPF has recently placed an order for the same. A night vision device can enable one to see at least 200 meters ahead in near-total darkness.

"Naxals have lately been found using night vision devices, bulletproof jackets and foreignmade weapons. The present case now explains how Naxals are laying their hands on imported equipment," an MHA official said. A similar case lodged by the Bihar Police last August regarding seizure of foreign made weapons and equipment meant for Naxals has also been taken over by NIA for further probe on March 19.

This case pertains to the arrest of three arms dealers by Bihar Police on August 29 last year from whom an AK-56 rifle, a Czechoslovakia made pistol and two Indian made pistols were seized.
IA army is said to be night blind . our tanks cannot work in night and still our babus are waiting for Indiansed night goggles to be made by some PUS

How naxals are getting night goggles . where our babus where slipping when such request was made.

Naxals are having night vision devices for self-loading rifles and what poor CRPF have lathis

every solider whether belonging to IA or para-militrary force should have night enabled vision equipments

Biggest stupidity is we have a man our home minister who was reluctant to become Home minister in first place itself

Shirman

It happens only in India :rofl::rolleyes: dedicate this video to express my anger :tsk::sad:

when i read this in today's newspaper i was shocked, all the NV and other items require commerce department clearance, didnt get it how the private firm was allowed to export NV from US ? Must be first or second Generation NV.

Those who are responsible for this should be made to punish as an example so that others may not do this ever.

hope NIA would charge them under this provision

121. "Waging, or attempting to wage war, or abetting waging of war, against the Government of India

Whoever, wages war against the 53[Government of India], or attempts to wage such war, or abets the waging of such war, shall be punished with death, or 51[imprisonment for life] 54[and shall also be liable to fine].

11[Illustration]

12[***] A joins an insurrection against the 53[Government of India]. A has committed the offence defined in this section.

55[***]
Indian Penal Code, 1860

122. Collecting arms, etc., with intention of waging war against the Government of India

Whoever collects men, arms or ammunition or otherwise prepares to wage war with the intention of either waging or being prepared to wage war against the 53[Government of India], shall be punished with 61[imprisonment for life] or imprisonment of either description for a term not exceeding ten years, 62[and shall also be liable to fine].

mikhail

i mean how the heck did they get departmental clearance to import those NV devices from the U.S.:shocked:!afaik,in our country the private companies don't have the legal rights to import weapons and equipments related to them without high level official approval.i have always feared that this type of incidents would happen sometime in our country due to the incompetence of our Govt. officials,then again maybe the maoists have some high level connections within the Ministry of Home Affairs as there are lots of maoist sympathizers living in this country and some of them may be working for the Govt. of India!this is a very serious incident and the NIA should dig up the truth at any cost because if it is not checked right now then there is a high possibility that in future the maoist scums will equip themselves with a large number of imported sophisticated weaponry:sad:!

drkrn

IA army is said to be night blind . our tanks cannot work in night and still our babus are waiting for Indiansed night goggles to be made by some PUS

How naxals are getting night goggles . where our babus where slipping when such request was made.

Naxals are having night vision devices for self-loading rifles and what poor CRPF have lathis

every solider whether belonging to IA or para-military force should have night enabled vision equipments

Biggest stupidity is we have a man our home minister who was reluctant to become Home minister in first place itself

some one please find the moist mastermind and keep him as chief of defense procurement board,at least then the process of buying fastens up

drkrn

i mean how the heck did they get departmental clearance to import those NV devices from the U.S.:shocked:!afaik,in our country the private companies don't have the legal rights to import weapons and equipments related to them without high level official approval.i have always feared that this type of incidents would happen sometime in our country due to the incompetence of our Govt. officials,then again maybe the maoists have some high level connections within the Ministry of Home Affairs as there are lots of maoist sympathizers living in this country and some of them may be working for the Govt. of India!this is a very serious incident and the NIA should dig up the truth at any cost because if it is not checked right now then there is a high possibility that in future the maoist scums will equip themselves with a large number of imported sophisticated weaponry:sad:!
the artcle says that they have forged documents of jharkhand govt to get weapons

tharikiran

It's actually a good development.Since we are well aware that our babus won't do anything till the shit hits the fan.
Only when lives are lost and the naxals have a field day, will they speed up procurement not just for the CRPF but also for the army.

mikhail

the artcle says that they have forged documents of jharkhand govt to get weapons
that means in our F**ked up country anybody can forge documents and import weapons from foreign just under the nose of the Ministry of Home Affairs!i mean anybody with a sh*t load of money can import a shipment of HK-416 AR or M-4A1 from the U.S. and nobody will even know about that until those are used to create some sort of real violence inside the country!man this is getting way serious as today the maoists are doing this and there is absolutely no guarrantee that tomorrow some other terrorist groups won't follow their path:mad:.

FLIR cameras and vision solutions are commercially available in the US.

What is the point in making night vision illegal? It should be legally available for sale in any country. Keep making everything illegal, till we will have lost all of our freedoms and liberties. This move to make night vision illegal is absolutely ridiculous.

Remove the root cause of Naxalism, instead of brushing it under the same old pretexts of foreign funding. Sure, foreign funding might be there, but if there were no grievances in the first place, no one would need to turn to foreigners for funding. Let the people of this country stand by this country on their own conviction, and that will only happen in corruption and exploitation is ended.

I sincerely hope our policymakers will get some symbolic night vision goggles so that they can see through the darkness of ignorance and denial they are living in at the moment.

Naxalites are tool for local politicians, Politicians who have such capacity to make such arrangements, there are hundreds local journalists too working for Naxals..

t_co

Naxalites are tool for local politicians, Politicians who have such capacity to make such arrangements, there are hundreds local journalists too working for Naxals..
Do you have proof that all Naxalites are tools for local politicians?

EXPORT INFORMATION

EXPORT RESTRICTIONS:

The U.S. Department of Commerce and the U.S. Department of State, Office of Munitions Control regulates our products. Due to this we kindly request that you read the below paragraphs regarding export regulations.
If you should have any questions or require additional information regarding export regulations please contact our knowledgeable and experienced staff or contact the:
U.S.Department of Commerce
Bureau of Industry and Security
Office of Exporter Services:
PH (202) 482-4811
U.S. Department of State
International Traffic in Arms Regulations
Office of Defense Trade Control:
PH (202) 663 2714

EXPORT REGULATIONS:

Export of night vision equipment and optical sighting equipment is controlled by the U.S. Department of State Office of Defense Trade Controls, in accordance with International Traffic in Arms (ITAR), Title 22, Code of Federal Regulations Part 120-130 and/or the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) U.S. Department of Commerce.
It is unlawful to export, or attempt to export or otherwise transfer or sell any hardware or technical data or furnish any service to any foreign person, whether abroad or in the United States, for which a license or written approval of the U.S. Government is required, without first obtaining the required license or written approval from the Department of the U.S. Government having jurisdiction.
It is the Resellers/End Users responsibility to request and obtain export licenses for the export of the subject items, and to ensure that the requirements of all applicable laws, regulations and administrative policies are met.
Sales or transfers to entities on the List of Debarred Parties, Denied Persons list and Embargoed Countries are strictly prohibited.
These lists can be found at the above US Government websites or at the following links:

Denied Persons list:
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security - Denied Persons List

Unverified list:
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security - Unverified List

Entity list:
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security - The Entity List

Specially Designated Nationals list:
Specially Designated Nationals List (SDN)

Debarred list:
http://pmdtc.org/debar059.htm

Nonproliferation Sanctions:
Nonproliferation Sanctions

Embargoed Countries (see part 746):
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security

Export of GEN-3 night vision equipment from the United States without a valid export permit issued by the U.S. Department of State, Office of Defense Trade Controls is strictly prohibited.
Generation 4, autogated/filmless technology is not available for export.
Diversion contrary to U.S. law is prohibited.
Other Restrictions: Restrictions on the use of night vision with a weapon vary from state to state. You are strongly advised to learn these laws and adhere to them. American Technologies Network corp. will not be held responsible for unlawful usage.
still they got those, Chinese must be impressed with naxals..............:rofl:

EXPORT INFORMATION

EXPORT RESTRICTIONS:

The U.S. Department of Commerce and the U.S. Department of State, Office of Munitions Control regulates our products. Due to this we kindly request that you read the below paragraphs regarding export regulations.
If you should have any questions or require additional information regarding export regulations please contact our knowledgeable and experienced staff or contact the:
U.S.Department of Commerce
Bureau of Industry and Security
Office of Exporter Services:
PH (202) 482-4811
U.S. Department of State
International Traffic in Arms Regulations
Office of Defense Trade Control:
PH (202) 663 2714

EXPORT REGULATIONS:

Export of night vision equipment and optical sighting equipment is controlled by the U.S. Department of State Office of Defense Trade Controls, in accordance with International Traffic in Arms (ITAR), Title 22, Code of Federal Regulations Part 120-130 and/or the Export Administration Regulations (EAR) U.S. Department of Commerce.
It is unlawful to export, or attempt to export or otherwise transfer or sell any hardware or technical data or furnish any service to any foreign person, whether abroad or in the United States, for which a license or written approval of the U.S. Government is required, without first obtaining the required license or written approval from the Department of the U.S. Government having jurisdiction.
It is the Resellers/End Users responsibility to request and obtain export licenses for the export of the subject items, and to ensure that the requirements of all applicable laws, regulations and administrative policies are met.
Sales or transfers to entities on the List of Debarred Parties, Denied Persons list and Embargoed Countries are strictly prohibited.
These lists can be found at the above US Government websites or at the following links:

Denied Persons list:
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security - Denied Persons List

Unverified list:
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security - Unverified List

Entity list:
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security - The Entity List

Specially Designated Nationals list:
http://www.treas.gov/offices/enforcement/ofac/sdn/

Debarred list:
http://pmdtc.org/debar059.htm

Nonproliferation Sanctions:
Nonproliferation Sanctions

Embargoed Countries (see part 746):
U. S. Bureau of Industry and Security

Export of GEN-3 night vision equipment from the United States without a valid export permit issued by the U.S. Department of State, Office of Defense Trade Controls is strictly prohibited.
Generation 4, autogated/filmless technology is not available for export.
Diversion contrary to U.S. law is prohibited.
Other Restrictions: Restrictions on the use of night vision with a weapon vary from state to state. You are strongly advised to learn these laws and adhere to them. American Technologies Network corp. will not be held responsible for unlawful usage.
still they got those, Chinese must be impressed with naxals..............:rofl:

one question why are we waiting for indigenous products for such things . why not just bulk import or allow private players to develop in lieu to sell anybody apart from naxals all

drkrn

that means in our F**ked up country anybody can forge documents and import weapons from foreign just under the nose of the Ministry of Home Affairs!i mean anybody with a sh*t load of money can import a shipment of HK-416 AR or M-4A1 from the U.S. and nobody will even know about that until those are used to create some sort of real violence inside the country!man this is getting way serious as today the maoists are doing this and there is absolutely no guarrantee that tomorrow some other terrorist groups won't follow their path:mad:.
if u say that u dont know all the above said things about our country,then i hope u r a foreigner..:rofl: just joking

SinghSher1984

when i read this in today's newspaper i was shocked, all the NV and other items require commerce department clearance, didnt get it how the private firm was allowed to export NV from US ? Must be first or second Generation NV.

Those who are responsible for this should be made to punish as an example so that others may not do this ever.

hope NIA would charge them under this provision
I would just counter with this:

Legal maxims:
1. A workman is worthy of his hire
2. All are equal under the Law
3. In Commerce truth is sovereign
4. Truth is expressed by means of an affidavit
5. An unrebutted affidavit stands as the truth in Commerce
6. An unrebutted affidavit becomes the judgment in Commerce
9. Sacrifice is the measure of credibility
(One who is not damaged, put at risk, or willing to swear an oath that he consents to claim against his commercial liability in the event that any of his statements or actions is groundless or unlawful, has no basis to assert claims or charges and forfeits all credibility and right to claim authority.)

-
Then file motion to dismiss, and sit down and think about why I just gave night vision to those who bomb civilians and rape women. I'd also have a mob of my fellow Indians to deal with.

Assuming I was the one who supplied the NV. :D

VJKVJF||

SinghSher1984

Are you just learning this? This government hires Sub-Inspectors who make daughters have sex with their fathers at gunpoint for being the wrong religion; or ones like Govind Ram who feed sikhs their piss and toilet claiming you took amrit of Gobind Singh now take of Gobind Ram.

Um, also all those scandals and stuff don't phase you? Or do you prefer one type of terrorist over another?

I would just counter with this:

Legal maxims:
1. A workman is worthy of his hire
2. All are equal under the Law
3. In Commerce truth is sovereign
4. Truth is expressed by means of an affidavit
5. An unrebutted affidavit stands as the truth in Commerce
6. An unrebutted affidavit becomes the judgment in Commerce
9. Sacrifice is the measure of credibility
(One who is not damaged, put at risk, or willing to swear an oath that he consents to claim against his commercial liability in the event that any of his statements or actions is groundless or unlawful, has no basis to assert claims or charges and forfeits all credibility and right to claim authority.)

-
Then file motion to dismiss, and sit down and think about why I just gave night vision to those who bomb civilians and rape women. I'd also have a mob of my fellow Indians to deal with.

Assuming I was the one who supplied the NV. :D

VJKVJF||
did nt get what you are saying..................

SinghSher1984

did nt get what you are saying..................
You want them to be booked under some statuorty INDIAN code (emphasis caps legal meaning) I just showed you the way to be immune to any codes of any commonwealth nation incl. USA. :)

Cheers,