Hurriyat(G) heir apparent sour about Pakistan

ejazr

Ambassador
Hurriyat heir apparent sour about Pakistan - The Times of India

SRINAGAR: For some months now, Srinagar is curious about one man: Dr Naeem Geelani, son of Syed Ali Shah Geelani, the man Hurriyat insiders say is tipped to take over from his father.

Naeem spent 10 years in Pakistan, and he now says, "My Pakistani friends are brutalised by what's going on there. They are scared for their lives. There's no justice or accountability. It's a land of big men. If you have power you are insulated from everything."

Naeem left the Valley in 2000, first for a few months to the UK and then to Pakistan. "I worked as a doctor in the health department in J&K, but things were tough. I faced constant harassment from the Ikhwanis. There was threat to my safety, so it was decided I should leave," he said.

Along with the timing ^ Naeem returned after last summer's unrest, in December 2010 ^ it's also the manner of his comeback that was noted. Naeem's Indian passport had expired in 2005, but in 2010 the Indian embassy in Islamabad quickly issued him a fresh one. Nor did he face any trouble once back. No arrest or debriefing. "It's strange, it's as if he spent the last 10 years in Bombay," says a Srinagar-based journalist.

Naeem is calm, almost diffident, in sharp contrast to his father. But when he begins to speak, it's clear why he, and not his scientist brother Naseem, is the heir apparent.

His 10 years in Pakistan ^ he got his MD in surgery from Pakistan Institute of Medical Sciences ^ seem to have left their mark. For a man who grew up in a house where `Kashmir banega Pakistan' was gospel, the time spent there has cooled his ardour for that country.

Endless sectarian strife and collapsing economy penetrated the bubble in Islamabad where he lived. "There is no Islam there. I used to imagine that Pakistan would be more Islamic. Life would be more in accordance with the tenets of Islam, but it's not like that."