How Lollywood was ousted from cinemas

Son of pakistan :lol::lol::lol::lol:

LAHORE:
Lollywood has remained a struggling industry for years — not only does it need a loyal audience, large budgets, proper screening and quality scripts but it also yearns for producers' support.
However, it seems these criteria are still not enough as 2011's big-budget film Son of Pakistan — touted as the first major release in the industry in ages — failed at the box office. Consequently, the willingness to provide Pakistani films a chance in the local industry has further condensed.
Despite a budget of Rs35 million, director Jarrar Rizvi admits that Son of Pakistan, which stars Meera in a lead role, was simply not up to par; the film was made in the format of '90s action thrillers, conspiracies, national narratives and the war on terror. "Maybe if we emphasised on advertising and made sure that people came to watch the film, it might have helped," he adds, blaming producer Chaudhry Hameed who pushed for a release prior to Muharram at the same time Ra.One and Don 2 were being screened.

"We tried hard to promote Pakistani films but the truth is that film-makers themselves don't believe in their films," says manager of PAF Cinema Nadir Minhas, adding that they screened the film for free for two weeks in which they gave 100% of the sales to the film's producer and not a single ticket was sold. Neither did any of the main actors turn up to promote it, apart from Pakistani film actor Sila Hussain and a few others.
"This will have to change — they don't even try to promote their films or go an ounce out of their way to make sure the film is screened," Minhas adds.
The manager explains that a shift has occurred, leaving classically-styled traditional Lollywood films in a rut — they don't qualify for the big screen and questions regarding where the money invested in these projects goes, have also surfaced. "These are [supposed to be] big budget films but I've see them and I wonder what they did with all that money," Minhas sighs. "The production is shaky and it [the film] just won't survive."
Last year, only five films made it to local cinemas in Punjab; Acha Gujjar, Gujjar da Kharak, Shareeka and two other small productions. The real shift however, is that unlike four years ago, old (single) cinemas prefer Bollywood films over Pakistani ones. "I think there are some cinema owners who want to screen Pakistani films but they say they have to meet the competition now," says Minhas.
Minhas admits that two years ago, Bhai Log earned Rs4.4 million in Lahore and showed there was potential in this industry. He also reveals that certain agreements between film producers and single cinemas are also signed where the cinema buys the rights to a certain film — this means other single cinemas cannot screen the same film.

Other agreements which include lopsided partnerships were also done such as 80-20 (80% profit for one party and 20% for the other) or 70-30. But with the advent of Indian films, cinemas have become business partners in 60-40 and in the next week of screening, turn it into a 50-50 partnership.

"A market for action thrillers has also come about within the city's single-screen cinemas," he says, adding, "it has really changed the dynamics of how the market functions." Only five films released last year (excluding Indian films) and Minhas feels, "There is little to no chance that cinemas would be able to survive — this isn't six or seven years ago where cinemas could run sub-par films."

How Lollywood was ousted from cinemas – The Express Tribune

Since in bollywood movies urdu is used.

if we want we should either get half the profit of each and every bollywood movie or sue them for using pure language like urdu in india or any bollywood movies

Urdu is solely a Pakistani language because Turkish TV series dubbed in Urdu language are a hit in Pakistani. :nod::pig:
:pound:

Urdu is solely a Pakistani language because Turkish TV series dubbed in Urdu language are a hit in Pakistan. :nod::pig:
:pound:
not only hit Pakistan but also hit pak TV industry and exchequer

peacecracker

urdu is a Indian language, why are you people using it? you have arbi,turkish,farsi,pashto and such options? why your nation and people is stalking our country in every way?

urdu and indian?

OMG are you guys really thought this in your school?history books?

The indigenous people of the urdu language are Pakistani.during partition they migrated from UP if i am not wrong

please sue your govt for providing you guys wrong info

urdu and indian?

OMG are you guys really thought this in your school?history books?

The indigenous people of the urdu language are Pakistani.during partition they migrated from UP if i am not wrong

please sue your govt for providing you guys wrong info
I think Dear farhaan have studied in one of these prestigious school

:wave::wave::wave:

the above again is by a# indian.or may be even by your own govt.

OH OH...

What do they say.. something like allham dul illaha... (in disgust)

or contrary Phitte Munha...

what is the literal meaning of Urdu... ??What is Pakistani about it... you ahve been told thousand times about it by every one stll...

Don't fool your self Urdu is derived from Hindi (kharaboli dialect) and Persian and the birth of it took place in India. :pound:

@ farhaan, yaar lollywood was about to release film called WAAR in june 2012. ki hoya hallle pakistan ch June 2012 nahi aya:p:p:p

OH OH...

What do they say.. something like allham dul illaha... (in disgust)

or contrary Phitte Munha...

what is the literal meaning of Urdu... ??What is Pakistani about it... you ahve been told thousand times about it by every one stll...
urdu word itself is a turkish language word which means lashkari(made out of many)

when the word itself is not from india how can you claim it to be of indian origin..

Sanskrit is probably the only indian language..the reason is say bollywood should now shift there movie to sanskrit language

@ farhaan, yaar lollywood was about to release film called WAAR in june 2012. ki hoya hallle pakistan ch June 2012 nahi aya:p:p:p
waiting as well.last i heard that they are working on a complete english version..dont know what happened

to be released by WB..

future movies of lollywood would be different than gujra,the enemy of teens etc

hahaha Pakistani logic.

Given that you are posting in english kindly give UK a their share.

so you were not pakistani before as tum amerika aur saudi ki baat to mante the,

musshy 1 ameriki call pe maan gaya, kya musshy pakistani nahi,? kya ek muhajir pakistani nahi???
Apni marxi se to sab kuch mante ha

zabardasti kuch ni mante.

zara soch samajh kr reply kare janab