Hindu spiritual organisations are not socially conscious

sgarg

Re: The long-held perception that Hindu spiritual organisations are no

Why can a Sudra not marry a Brahmin girl? What you are promoting is actually casteism. In fact you proved there was casteism in Manusmriti.

Who determined the qualities in a person? Are you so naive that you think that a brahmin would allow his son to be called a shudra even if he has no skills. Placing restrictions on marriage promotes casteism and divides the society. Fortunately Bengalis hardly follow such age old rules . I believe there should not be a restriction on the ability to marry a person.
If Brahmin girl is ready to marry a Shudra - it is fine by all means. There is no law in Manusmriti against it. However such an alliance is unlikely as an educated girl will likely go for an educated groom.

Being a "dharmi" is like walking on a sword's edge. A "dharmi" is one who always upholds the truth. A Brahmin (educated, snatak) would uphold the truth, even in his family.

Who decides who is Brahmin etc. - obviously there was a system but in short the Head teacher (Acharya) of Gurukul decided.

Yes sir,that is what I am telling that in Bengal there is no restriction on inter caste marriage. In fact even I know that Shudras can marry Brahmins and viceversa in Bengal. I am referring to @sgarg 's post who thinks he knows everything about Vedic life.
That is just the point.

Why can a Sudra not marry a Brahmin girl? What you are promoting is actually casteism. In fact you proved there was casteism in Manusmriti.

Who determined the qualities in a person? Are you so naive that you think that a brahmin would allow his son to be called a shudra even if he has no skills. Placing restrictions on marriage promotes casteism and divides the society. Fortunately Bengalis hardly follow such age old rules . I believe there should not be a restriction on the ability to marry a person.
It think he was talking about ancient India when caste was decided based on occupation but not birth and when Shudras were the people who for lack of skills in other areas had to take up financially lower kind of occupation. Even a brahmin's son could have been downgraded to become a shudra if unable to master the skills required of a brahmin. Now the marriage of one's daughter was responsibility of the father. Which father would marry off his daughter to a person who is fiancially much poorer than him? Isnt it basic wisdom from the part of the father? Where does caste come in it?

However the modern day casteism in various parts of India is indeed worrying and RSS shiuld take up the issue more vocally.

VivekShah

I personally feel, there has been a little too much discussion on caste, casteism, intermarriage, etc. in the last few days. The presence of that Dharti pe Bojh from Mahilpur is responsible for this, to a large extent.

All these concepts are totally irrelevant in today's world. Seriously, who cares what you caste is? I want to know what is your achievement, what is your identity? What have you achieved as an individual? How intelligent are you, how rich are you, how powerful are you? What is your merit? In simple Hindi, which the Mahilpur bumpkin will understand more easily - teri khud ki aukaat kya hai?

I know that most members on this forum are discussing casteism on this thread purely for academic and knowledge purposes. Its more of a history debate. Apart from the Mahilpur bumpkin, no one cares about caste on this forum, everyone looks at individual merit.

The world has changed. RSS and VHP are starting massive campaigns to root out caste discrimination. Fossils like the Mahilpur bumpkin are the worst enemies of Hinduism, and of India. Such people encourage missionary activities and conversions to Islam, and then we wonder why missionary campaigns are successful. Simple: Hindus are losing ground in India because we allow poison like the Mahilpur bumpkin to live among us freely. We allow such toxic elements to run riot, we need not scratch our heads about why Hindus are losing ground.

The message needs to go out loud and clear, that the world has changed, and there is no place for the likes of @Jatt.Hindustan anymore.

Please sir don't ban this fellow, it would be useful if we can counter his views so many more people can see that his poisonous views are held by a very small and shrinking minority.

Sounds like socialist version of Vedic dharma.
More like a religion he pulled out of his ass.

No gods or goddesses? What about Indira, Agni, Vayu? They were not gods in the Vedic times:rofl:

BTW, follow him in other threads, he makes several such ass pulls with no data or link to back it up

Please sir don't ban this fellow, it would be useful if we can counter his views so many more people can see that his poisonous views are held by a very small and shrinking minority.
No one is banning anyone.

All one is requesting is sane posts and not merely 'gut' impressions and disjointed rambling that makes no sense.

Just report the post and the nonsense will either be deleted or he will be sent for a well deserved sabbatical, just like good old Rahul Gandhi has taken a break to ease his strained nerves.

warriorextreme

Everybody spoke Sanskrit in Vedic society. Vedic society had no caste, no superstitions, no gender bias, no child marriages.

All major religions are based on VEDIC CONCEPT OF GOD.

Even Jesus Christ came to India in his learning phase. It is a fact that Taxila university was the largest university in the world in ancient times.

What happened to people of India?? People stopped learning Veda. People stopped learning science. Kings became greedy and ignorant. Kings stopped performing their duties. Eventually political power declined, regional languages took root, and the entire country became ignorant and poor.

India's strength is its Vedic roots. It is not some "Hindu" religion. People of India need to discover Vedic dharm.

Swami Dayanand Saraswati (founder of Arya Samaj) made a valiant effort to awaken people of India. For this he was poisoned multiple times, still he was successful in accomplishing his goal partially.
We must not bask in the glory of the past, whatever was in past can be proved only theoretically with verses and thoughts. We must shape the present for a glorious future.

I agree that there is no caste system in vedas or any other evils that are currently prevelent in hinduism today, I can also see that propogation of the vedas alone is not going to uproot these practices. We must lead by example and with every action we do every day during our lives.

While I too am a firm believer in vedas, I know that any book, be it vedas, quran, bible or mahabharat are not untouched from the curse of adulteration and shall never be. We must think with an open mind & seek truth always.

असतो मा सद्गमय।
तमसो मा ज्योतिर्गमय।
मृत्योर्मा अमृतं गमय।
ॐ शान्तिः शान्तिः शान्तिः॥
– बृहदारण्यक उपनिषद् 1.3.28

Sameet Pattnaik

I have nothing against RSS and they are moderate hindu organisation but i very much dislike VHP/bajrang dal :/
VHP and bajrang dal are real dhongi people ! they are sexiest , castiest , egoest and they lusty heavy men infact all types of nithyanand , asaram bapu makes the these group !

Sameet Pattnaik

then what you thought varna system which we call caste system wasnt there in manu smirithi ! and one thing should caste sytem is like any sytem of fuedal socities in world ! you will find feudal society in muslim world too ! french revelution was cause fuedalism too ! so caste system is hierarchy system its not something new !

You little less intelligent people dont understand meaning of it ! untouchabiliy is widespread but the situation is different now ! My friend a muslim told me about a man who was love with jay bhim ( dalit ) girl was hit by the family of her ! and he is was patil khumbi ! I have given my house to rent to dalit people ! my best is a dalit ! myself a kayastha which I didnt know till 2014 ! only by help of google I came to know that !

yes india is split in different community and sect but the violence between them is less ! honour killing exists cause of intercaste marriage and even in inter-religion marriage ! the main threat I see From Hindu-muslim harmony ! christian people are even good but like average Indian they too play politics for selfish deeds ! Christians should respect hindu people and this government and even should the hindu respect christian people ! conversion is bad if not then ghar wapsi program of VHP should not be condemned or termed illogically 'communal'!

Sameet Pattnaik

then what you thought varna system which we call caste system wasnt there in manu smirithi ! and one thing should caste sytem is like any sytem of fuedal socities in world ! you will find feudal society in muslim world too ! french revelution was cause fuedalism too ! so caste system is hierarchy system its not something new !

You little less intelligent people dont understand meaning of it ! untouchabiliy is widespread but the situation is different now ! My friend a muslim told me about a man who was love with jay bhim ( dalit ) girl was hit by the family of her ! and he is was patil khumbi ! I have given my house to rent to dalit people ! my best is a dalit ! myself a kayastha which I didnt know till 2014 ! only by help of google I came to know that !

yes india is split in different community and sect but the violence between them is less ! honour killing exists cause of intercaste marriage and even in inter-religion marriage ! the main threat I see From Hindu-muslim harmony ! christian people are even good but like average Indian they too play politics for selfish deeds ! Christians should respect hindu people and this government and even should the hindu respect christian people ! conversion is bad if not then ghar wapsi program of VHP should not be condemned or termed illogically 'communal'!
sorry for much grammatical error forget to correct it !

jouni

If you want to move from world's most population rich democracy to world's greatest democracy, you must address these issues. Compared to US And EU you are lacking in many basic rights issues. Of course I understand the poverty and lack of development as barriers, but you should get rid of mental and cultural barriers too. Avoid the mistakes west had with treatment of jews, blacks etc and develop an equal society for all.

sgarg

@jouni, you have no idea of India. Your perception of India is highly artificial.

Today's India is skewed in favour of so called disadvantaged groups. There may be some minor inter-religious friction; but all religions operate openly and without any restrictions. Everybody has recourse to the law and courts.

There is no parallel to European society.

India with per-capita of $1500 ($5350 PPP) is steadily inching towards a middle-income country in the next five years. The growth in GDP is dependent on many factors (including India's competitive position), and growth in GDP is very much tied to growth in productivity. The GDP will keep on growing as infrastructure and industry is added.

@jouni, you have no idea of India. Your perception of India is highly artificial.

Today's India is skewed in favour of so called disadvantaged groups. There may be some minor inter-religious friction; but all religions operate openly and without any restrictions. Everybody has recourse to the law and courts.

There is no parallel to European society.

India with per-capita of $1500 ($5350 PPP) is steadily inching towards a middle-income country in the next five years. The growth in GDP is dependent on many factors (including India's competitive position), and growth in GDP is very much tied to growth in productivity. The GDP will keep on growing as infrastructure and industry is added.
Do you still think @jouni's condescending silliness is a result of real curiosity and concern? That is why I have stopped replying to his troll posts.

Voldemort

If you want to move from world's most population rich democracy to world's greatest democracy, you must address these issues. Compared to US And EU you are lacking in many basic rights issues. Of course I understand the poverty and lack of development as barriers, but you should get rid of mental and cultural barriers too. Avoid the mistakes west had with treatment of jews, blacks etc and develop an equal society for all.
You just love getting bashed, dont you? Also, do you have a comprehension problem?

jouni

You just love getting bashed, dont you? Also, do you have a comprehension problem?
I know you like to avoid your problems. I do not think it is a good attitide, of course you would rather just talk with likeminded. I see a lot of good in India, you are after all 1.2Bn, so some misfires are bound to happen. Just wanna give my 2 cents once and a while, knowing that we have overcome some of the problems you are still fighting.

jouni

Do you still think @jouni's condescending silliness is a result of real curiosity and concern? That is why I have stopped replying to his troll posts.
Lately also in Finnish media is a lot of talk about the problems India is facing, it is not just from Anglo-saxon newshouses, but from Finnish reporters visiting India. Do not be over sensitive, it is not the end of the world. When you become player in the global scale, you must take the good with the bad.

If only your media could point out the real problems instead of indulging in hysterical scare-mongering and total falsehood.

Not surprising.

India is no longer taking dictates from the West and instead chalking out its own destiny.

It has establish strong links with Israel, without upsetting the Arabs or the Iranians.

It has established strong links with Saudi Arabia where the King has delayed his invasion on the Houthi rebels so that India could evacuate stranded Indians in Yemen. All that, without US assistance.

It has established strong ties with its neighbours by giving assistance and ironing out all disputes. It has ignored Pakistan and has not bothered about the usual issues that vexed previous Govt.

It has established defence, strategic and economic ties with SE Asian countries to include Japan and may buy or cooperate with Japan to build submarines.

And so that has upset those who had held India captive to their way.

And as is usual, the West uses the Church for its purpose and so the bogey of Christians are fearful has been incited with the likes of John Dayal and the Cardinal of Indian origin who live, drink and feast and get fat under the aegis of the Vatican and thus the Church here in India.

You will recall, how that idiotic Keralite Cardinal in the Vatican took the side of Italy and its Marines when they killed the Indian Christian fishermen and the manner in which they descended in Ranaghat in the 72 year old Nun's case and blamed the Hinduvta chaps. They had to eat crow since it was discovered that they were Bangladeshi Muslims and not Hindus that stole the money and raped the ancient Nun.

Therefore, there is good reasons to believe that it is an international Christian activity that does not want India out of its clutches and the Church, as usual the world over, is playing its role to subvert all who wish to stand alone.

Remember that Pope who involved himself wholesale to overthrow the Communist Govt in Poland and how Walesa acted as the Pope and Reagan's agent?

And the other places where the Church has worked hard to sabotage nations?

So, it is noting unusual that Finland is working at the bidding of the Church.

Jesus Saves. ;)

Samar Rathi

I think we already have the great democracy as everyone is entitled to their own opinion and nobody forcing them to falsify one. Yes India has it's problem like everyone else but EU and USA is not idol on human rights issues.

I don't want to post many links showing how humans rights are discarded in USA and europe but no point turning it to be bashing thread so at last i would say yes India has long way to go to improve itself but not to be like USA or EU as they are not the idol.

Khagesh

@jouni, man here is your choice

We don't need your incessant moralizing from your pulpit in your church to impress your converts.