Hindu Americans Rank Top in Education, Income

santosh10

Indian-Hindu Americans in short

its simple that a nation is made by its people, who may develop new technologies and improve the existing ones. nothing came from sky and nothing will ever come from sky, and we need those people who may make the nation proud from their knowledge/talent/ performance.

Indian migrants are those who pay very high tax as they fall in very high income bracket, least dependent on the Welfare and the least crime rate is registered from this community living in US/EU. many Indians came under business visa after investment in US/west itself, while most of them are very high qualified and are part of developing technologies to run the US's firms, and are doctors/ CA/ including business professionals (MBAs) too, to help them run businesses etc.:truestory:

the meaning of high end educated people is much more than the amount of tax they pay

(US, and also UK, has been the most attractive place for the best people of world, the creamy layer of different parts of world, whether the high end educated people or the people coming under business visa like Mr L.MIttal, Hiduja etc in UK. and hence it also has a major role when we find the professional immigrants of developing countries doing so good there.)

and from here, the article as below would have a place here too, i think. and the most impressive comment about the Indian Americans, i find, when they are put among the East Asian migrants of Japan, Korea, Singapore. the best remark for the Indian Americans, i find :india:

=> Indian Americans: The New Model Minority - Forbes

The 2008 election barely ended before the GOP began touting the presidential prospects of Louisiana Gov. Piyush "Bobby" Jindal, the son of Indian immigrants. Tuesday, Jindal becomes the new face of his party when he delivers the official Republican response to President Obama's speech to Congress. Whether or not he actually runs for president in 2012, Jindal symbolizes a remarkable but rarely discussed phenomenon--the amazing success of Indian Americans in general, and what that success says about our immigration policy.

Most Americans know only one thing about Indians--they are really good at spelling bees. When Sameer Mishra correctly spelled guerdon last May to win the 2008 Scripps National Spelling Bee, he became the sixth Indian-American winner in the past 10 years. Finishing second was Sidharth Chand. Kavya Shivashankar took fourth place, and Janhnavi Iyer grabbed the eighth spot. And this was not even the banner year for Indian Americans--in 2005, the top four finishers were all of Indian descent.

It's tempting to dismiss Indian-American dominance of the spelling bee as just a cultural idiosyncrasy. But Indian success in more important fields is just as eye-catching. Despite constituting less than 1% of the U.S. population, Indian-Americans are 3% of the nation's engineers, 7% of its IT workers and 8% of its physicians and surgeons. The over-representation of Indians in these fields is striking--in practical terms, your doctor is nine times more likely to be an Indian-American than is a random passerby on the street.

Indian Americans are in fact a new "model minority." This term dates back to the 1960s, when East Asians--Americans of Chinese, Japanese and Korean descent--were noted for their advanced educations and high earnings. :truestory:

East Asians continue to excel in the U.S, but among minority groups, Indians are clearly the latest and greatest "model." In 2007, the median income of households headed by an Indian American was approximately $83,000, compared with $61,000 for East Asians and $55,000 for whites. :coffee:

About 69% of Indian Americans age 25 and over have four-year college degrees, which dwarfs the rates of 51% and 30% achieved by East Asians and whites, respectively. Indian Americans are also less likely to be poor or in prison, compared with whites.

So why do Indian Americans perform so well? A natural answer is self-selection. Someone willing to pull up roots and move halfway around the world will tend to be more ambitious and hardworking than the average person. But people want to come to the U.S. for many reasons, some of which--being reunited with other family members, for example--have little to do with industriousness. Ultimately, immigration policy decides which kinds of qualities our immigrants possess.

Under our current immigration policy, a majority of legal immigrants to the U.S. obtain green cards (permanent residency) because they have family ties to U.S. citizens, but a small number (15% in 2007) are selected specifically for their labor market value. The proportion of Indian immigrants given an employment-related green card is one of the highest of any nationality. Consequently, it is mainly India's educated elite and their families who come to the U.S.

The success of Indian Americans is also often ascribed to the culture they bring with them, which places strong--some would even say obsessive--emphasis on academic achievement. :coffee: Exhibit A is the spelling bee, which requires long hours studying etymology and memorizing word lists, all for little expected benefit other than the thrill of intellectual competition.

But education and culture can take people only so far. To be a great speller--or, more importantly, a great doctor or IT manager--you have to be smart. Just how smart are Indian Americans? We don't know with much certainty. Most data sets with information on ethnic groups do not include IQ scores, and the few that do rarely include enough cases to provide interpretable results for such a small portion of the population.

The only direct evidence we have comes from the 2003 New Immigrant Survey, in which a basic cognitive test called "digit span" was administered to a sample of newly arrived immigrant children. It is an excellent test for comparing people with disparate language and educational backgrounds, since the test taker need only repeat lengthening sequences of digits read by the examiner. Repeating the digits forward is simply a test of short-term memory, but repeating them backward is much more mentally taxing, hence a rough measure of intelligence.

When statistical adjustments are used to convert the backward digit span results to full-scale IQ scores, Indian Americans place at about 112 on a bell-shaped IQ distribution, with white Americans at 100. 112 is the 79th percentile of the white distribution. For more context, consider that Ashkenazi Jews are a famously intelligent ethnic group, and their mean IQ is somewhere around 110. :ranger:

Given the small sample size, the rough IQ measure and the lack of corroborating data sets, this finding of lofty Indian-American intelligence must be taken cautiously. Nevertheless, it is entirely consistent with their observed achievement.

The superior educational attainment, academic culture and likely high IQ of Indian Americans has already made them an economic force in the U.S., and that strength can only grow. :cheers: Does this continuing success imply they will become a political force? Here, Gov. Jindal is actually a rarity. Indians are still underrepresented in politics, and they do not specialize in the kinds of fields (law and finance) most conducive to political careers. Time will tell if they are able to convert economic power into serious political influence, as a Jindal presidency could.

A much clearer implication of Indian-American success is that immigrants need not be unskilled, nor must their economic integration take generations to achieve. In sharp contrast to Indian Americans, most U.S. immigrants, especially Mexican, are much less wealthy and educated than U.S. natives, even after many years in the country. :tup:

A new immigration policy that prioritizes skills over family reunification could bring more successful immigrants to the U.S. By emphasizing education, work experience and IQ in our immigration policy, immigrant groups from other national backgrounds could join the list of model minorities.

There is nothing inevitable about immigration. Who immigrates each year is a policy decision, free to be modified at any time by Congress. Constructing new legislation is always difficult, but I propose a simple starting point for immigration selection: Anyone who can spell guerdon is in! :tup:

Indian Americans: The New Model Minority - Forbes.com

=> also, there is a major difference between Asian and American cultures, that is, Asians/Indians pay for their kids while mostly American kids, Single Mother kids in particular, grow on welfare/taxes of the immigrants ....
Washington: Indian Americans are the highest-income and best-educated people in the United States and the third largest among Asian Americans who have surpassed Latinos as the fastest-growing racial group, according to a new survey.

The share of unmarried mothers was much lower among Indian Americans (2.3 per cent) than among all Asian Americans (15 per cent) and the population overall (37 per cent). :coffee:

http://www.ndtv.com/article/world/indian-americans-top-in-income-and-education-233757

santosh10

i have prepared a post regarding changing India as below, which may have a place here too, i think :tup:
=> Literacy Rate

here the comparison is based on 347 million population in 1947 to 1.25 billion people by 2011. Literacy rate is seen around 80% by 2015....
here we find, Youth Literacy Rate might have reached 90%+ by 2015, as we had almost 95%+ attendance of kids in schools since 1997
When the British rule ended in India in the year 1947 the literacy rate was just 12%. Over the years, India has changed socially, economically, and globally. After the 2011 census, literacy rate India 2011 was found to be 74.04%. Compared to the adult literacy rate here the youth literacy rate is about 9% higher.

Literacy Rate of India - Population Census 2011

=> Per Capita Income of India

Considering the method which was in application till 2006, by both World Bank and IMF

British Left around 2% to 5% rich and rest poor in 1947, out of total 347 million population in 1947, while we now have around 350 million Middle Class of India whose Per Capita Income is well over $20,000+ on PPP now, similar to Very High HDI countries like Argentina, Poland, Saudi Arabia etc

We have new GDP Per Capita on PPP calculation for India by 2015, as below:

now poverty of India is because of its over population. Most of the problems of India is because of its Over Population and India has to reduce its population only. otherwise India has around 350mil Upper Middle Class, more than total population in 1947, whose per capita income on PPP is similar to the Very High HDI countries like Argentina, Poland, Saudi Arabia etc. one day I calculated as below:-

first, we find GDP on PPP of India was $5.2tn in 2013 but its still manipulated by the US/UK since 2007. as, till 2006, we had a different way of measuring GDP on PPP which used to include estimated undocumented part of GDP also. and I remember, this way GDP of high population 'developing' countries was around 50% to 80% higher, and for the middle order countries like Brazil/Turkey it was around 10% to 25% higher. and for the developed nations, the difference was hardly around 1% to 3% by that "Old Method" which was in application till 2006, by IMF and World Bank both. like as below:
"There are, however, practical difficulties in deriving GDP at PPP, and we now have two different estimates of the PPP conversion factor for 2005, India's GDP at PPP is estimated at $ 5.16 trillion or $ 3.19 trillion depending on whether the old or new conversion factor is used," it said.

It's official: India's a trillion-$ economy - The Times of India

means, GDP of India on PPP was already $5.16tn in 2007, higher than Japan that year, making it the 3rd Largest Economy on PPP by 2007 itself this way.

again we have India's growth rate since 2007 as below:

India GDP Annual Growth Rate | 1951-2014 | Data | Chart | Calendar

here we find, "Average Growth Rate" of India from first quarter of 2008 till the December quarter 2015, stood at around 7.2%, on 'annual' basis. hence considering GDP on PPP of India at $5.16tn in 2007 by Old Method as above, with the estimated 6.5% growth by 2015, we may calculate its value by 2015, after 8 years since early 2008, as below:

GDP on PPP of India by end 2015 = 5.16*1.067*1.086*1.089*1.067*1.051*1.069*1.074*1.065= $8.93 trillion on PPP

but we would also get to know that PPP value consider value of goods and services in US$ term, means we would also include the factor of inflation of United States also. and if we consider average 1.5% inflation of US for these 8 year in between early 2008 to 2015, with considering an overall factor of just 1.1 this way, then GDP on PPP of India comes around = 8.93*1.1 = $9.82tn by 2015. and it still hasn't included 'Value Added' effects........
(also its true that "undocumented part" of GDP might not have registered a similar growth, but most of the economics data's are based on 'estimate' only, its also very true.)

again, we know that share of agriculture would be around 17.0% in India's GDP in 2015. therefore, we find share of agriculture in indian economy, 0.17 * 9.82= $1.7 trillions (around), on which 50% population of india is dependent. means around 600mil people based on agriculture in india have per capita income around = $3,000 on PPP by 2015 this way, which is itself similar to the better side of Lower Order Countries like Bangladesh.....
this way, 9.82 - 1.70 = $8.12tn is left for rest of 600mil people based in industry and service in India, with per capita income of around $13,600 on PPP which is higher than Middle Order Countries like Brazil, South Africa etc..........

The World Factbook

again, we have news that 25% of the population of cities are either in slum or in bit better condition only. so we would consider per capita income of 300mil living in cities in low condition at hardly $3,000 which takes a share of $900 billion from its GDP. hence we are then left with around 8.12 - 0.9 = $7.22 trillions for the rest of 300 mil people living in cities, the so called Middle Class of India with per capita income around $25,000 on PPP this way.

but it is estimated that out of total 600mil people based in agriculture sector, it also has around 50mil Lower Middle Class with Per Capita Income around $15,000 on PPP. (as we know that agriculture has higher share of 'undocumented' part of GDP. with that, Agriculture also has higher share of non-taxable business of India.) Hence, we find total middle class of India around 350mil with per capita income around $22,000+ on PPP which is similar to Very High HDI countries like Argentina, Poland etc, which is more than total population of India at the time of freedom in 1947:tup:

=> Most Expansive Places of World

5th Moscow $17,566 per sq.m.

7th Singapore $16,350 per sq.m.

10th Mumbai $11,306 per sq.m.:coffee:

12th Sydney $8,774 per sq.m.

20th Shanghai $6,932 per sq.m.

29th Istanbul $4,569 per sq.m.

47th Dubai $3,393 per sq.m.

54th Bangkok $2,996

68th Kuala Lumpur $2,182 per sq.m.

73rd Jakarta $,2099

World's most expensive cities

=>
Mumbai, Delhi office rentals top Shanghai, New York

MUMBAI: Office rentals in Mumbai and Delhi continue to be among the highest in the world, beating the likes of New York, Washington or Shanghai despite a depreciating rupee. Renting office space in Mumbai and Delhi costs over $65 and nearly $73 per square meter a month, while the same costs $63 in New York $48 in Washington and $41 in Shanghai, property consultancy firm DTZ said in a report.

Mumbai, Delhi office rentals top Shanghai, New York - Economic Times

santosh10

The literacy rate in India has risen to 73 per cent in comparison to 64.8 per cent in 2001. While male literacy rate stands at 80.9 per cent, which is 5.6 per cent higher than the previous census, the female literacy rate has been recorded at 64.6 per cent, an increase of 10.9 per cent since 2001.Apr 30, 2013. Theres different definitions of literacy.
hmmm, literacy rate of India was around 12% in 1947, at the time of freedom, while our current old aged people belongs to 50s-60s when we hardly at around 20%+ literacy rate. and yes, women among them hardly had around 10%+ literacy rate during the 50s-60s... so your figure does state the ground reality :tup:

hence here as below, which state literacy rate of India at the time of Independence in 1947 to upto 2011, we find Youth Literacy rate of India must have been crossed 90%+ by 2015, as we had almost 95%+ attendance of kids in schools since 1997. the Youth, whose age range fall in between 16 to 24 year :cheers:

When the British rule ended in India in the year 1947 the literacy rate was just 12%. Over the years, India has changed socially, economically, and globally. After the 2011 census, literacy rate India 2011 was found to be 74.04%. Compared to the adult literacy rate here the youth literacy rate is about 9% higher.

Literacy Rate of India - Population Census 2011

santosh10

The Industrialized India

; India has now entered among the Newly Industrialized nations as below:

Newly industrialized country - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

India had overall 5.81% growth rate since 1951.....
India GDP Annual Growth Rate averaged 5.81 Percent from 1951 until 2013

India GDP Annual Growth Rate | 1951-2014 | Data | Chart | Calendar

We now have Industrialists as below too, who are building the nation. as we do know that our these honored Super Riches/ Billionaires don't have money in pocket, but they are Industrialists/ billionaires in terms of the industries they have to provide employment, generating taxes for the government which government use to help the common public itself, along with improving production line hence reducing cost of products, with introducing new technologies too through their industries, hence building the nation this way.... :india:

The report as below, mention around 115 Billionaires in India, as compare to hardly around 100 by Forbes. its because Forbes estimate only Share values, while the report as below includes, "shares in public and private companies, residential and investment properties, art collections, planes, cash and other assets, according to Wealth-X...".
World's Billionaire Club Grows; Ultra Millionaires Lose Money - WORLD PROPERTY JOURNAL Global News Center

and here is the main report, as below.....
Wealth-X World Ultra Wealth Report 2011-2012 | Wealth-X

Further to the above talks, BRIC economies as whole have their UHNWI estimate, with India's at around 8,200, is given in the article as below: :thumb:

=> BRIC Country Super-Rich Worth $4 Trillion

The future of wealth will be built with BRICs.

According to new data from Wealth-X, the wealth research and consulting firm, Brazil, Russia, India and China now have a combined 25,600 people with $30 million or more in net worth (which includes shares in publicly traded and closely held companies, residential and investment real estate, art, planes, cash and other investible assets).

That is about half the number of ultra-high-net individuals in the U.S., according to Wealth-X.

The BRIC ultrarich have a combined net worth of $4.125 trillion, compared to $6.4 trillion for the U.S.

What is most interesting about the BRIC data is the concentration of wealth at the very top of the wealth pyramid. In Russia, the nation’s 80 billionaires account for 7% of the total population of people with a net worth of $30 million or more, but they own 84% of that group’s $640 billion in wealth.

In Brazil, the nation’s 50 billionaires account for less than 1% of the ultrarich population but a third of the group’s $890 billion in wealth. India’s 115 billionaires represent 1.4% of the total ultrarich population and 20% of the group’s wealth of $945 billion.

China’s billionaires account for 1% of the ultrarich and about a third of their wealth of $1.65 trillion.

The U.S., of course, isn’t exactly a model of equity when it comes to billionaires and the ultra-rich. Its 450 billionaires account for less than one percent of the ultra-rich population but control 25% of the group’s $6.4 trillion wealth.

But the fastest global growth in billionaires and their lesser ultra-rich aspirants will likely be from the BRICS rather than the U.S. or Europe.

“In Russia, as in other emerging markets….billionaires and near-billionaires, followed in aggregate by the mass of ultra-high-net-worth will dominate wealth,” according to Wealth-X.

Which country would you want to live in if you had a net worth of $30 million or more?

BRIC Country Super-Rich Worth $4 Trillion - The Wealth Report - WSJ

santosh10

Standing of BRIC's Firms in World

we have an update of listing of firms of BRIC economies on Forbes as below:

1st; The World's Most Innovative Companies - Forbes

The World's Most Innovative Companies List - Forbes

here we find 5 Indian firms having a place among the top 100 of world

2nd; Asia's Fab 50 Companies - Forbes

Asia's Fab 50 Companies - Forbes

here we see 12 Indian firms having a place in this above list of Asia's top 50

3rd; World's Largest 2000 Public Companies - Forbes

The World’s Biggest Public Companies List - Forbes

here we find 54 Indian firms having a place in the above list. and yes, Pakistan too from South Asia having a name here in the above list.....

4th; List of Industrialists of BRICS

=> The World's Billionaires - Forbes

we have for India as below. we find even the 100th ranked here, Radhakishan Damini, is expected to have at least $1.0billion in exchange rates terms
India's 100 Richest People - Forbes

here, we can't see anyone from the rest of South Asia region having a place in the list of world's billionaires. while the market size of Pakistan (population 190million) and Bangladesh (population 170million) is well closed to Brazil at population 200million.

(the Market Size of a country is defined by the number of consumers/buyers a country has, who then buy products-services within a country, pay taxes etc, to run the local industries. hence its mainly relate to the population of that country as whole....)

in a simple term, we find "Market Size", the businesses within a country, represents "Buying Power of the consumers" of a certain country. for Brazil's 200million population, its as below:

The World's Billionaires - Forbes

while when we talk about US's, or even Chinese firms, then its also about their buyers based in whole world, buying their products. so size of a firm of OECD countries also depends on their world wide buyers-consumers :coffee:

in fact, i don't see any of the Bangladeshi national getting a place in this list by even next decade, very less likely. but considering buying power of Pakistani Middle class consumers, i do expect a Pakistani national to have a place in this list by this decade, hopefully....

with regard to so poor indicators of Bangladesh, falls among the LDCs countries this way, we generally talk, it would take at least 20 years for Bangladesh to come to the level of Pakistan. except enter in India under false Indian-Hindu names, occupy high positions by bless of US-UK, no other credibility these people have within their own country.

=> Bangladeshi False ID Infiltrators in India

a conspiracy by the government of Bangladesh, with involving Pakistan too

(businesses within a country is supported by the government incentives, by using resources of a certain country, which are first supported by the local buyers who run the industries by buying products. its none like how foreign investments is made by US's firms, which falls under certain contracts of FDIs.... only Infrastructure investment by India during the 12th 5 years plan of 2012-17, cross $1.0trillion, paid by the Indian tax payers. which is enough to make over 1,000 billionaires in ever 5 years time. and this infrastructure investment has a rising trend only...... its the tax payers of India, who pay for the subsidy for the people below poverty line, paying expanses of the government to run this country as whole, along with building infrastructure of India too
The Planning Commission is aiming at a total outlay of Rs 51.46 lakh crore in the infrastructure sector during the 12th Plan (2012-17), short of the earlier projection of $1 trillion (about Rs 55 lakh crore).

Rs 51.46 lakh cr to be allocated for infrastructure during 12th Plan - NDTVProfit.com

no foreign government share any burden of Indian Tax Payers, neither US-UK share 'equal voting rights' with Indian voters in their democratic elections too, hence, they have no rights to help these 2 rogues nations in India, the Bangladesh+Pakistan.

and with reference to the news that now Bangladeshi government help their people occupy local Indian IDs too, in numbers over 20million now, we want US-UK-Aus to completely withdraw their support from Bangladesh+Pakistan, help us put them among the rogue nations in UNSC, until they come fair on their stand with their neighboring country India :tup:
nowdays Bangladeshi government is part of conspiracy to 'employ' Bangladeshi workers on false Indian IDs, saying Indian workers go to this so poor country of world and working there. hence, we would demand a 'complete freezing' of the Indian-Bangladesh border, until we may successfully identify all the Bangladeshi False ID infiltrators, sneaking into India. a full conspiracy is seen by the govts of Bangladesh+Pakistan, to destroy this country, hence we first want this country to be recognized as a 'rogue' nation in UNSC. :india:

(if foreign nationals enter in a country and occupy high government positions under a False Indian Identity, only fall under death penalty, by laws of any parts of world.
Bangladeshi migrants as whole in India aren't getting any type of Immigration here, NO, and occupying false Indian IDs, while hiding their true identity as guided by the foreign governments of Bangladesh+Pakistan, simply recognize them as an Infiltrators, by any criterion of world.)

in a simple term, property prices of India is more expansive than over 80% OECD economies, the list as below where only Karachi i have seen once, at the bottom. we simply dont have any space for the False Indian IDs holders coming from Bangladesh, who are provided with the False Indian IDs as funded by the annual budget of Bangladeshi government....
World's most expensive cities

its not about 'favoring' Pakistan, but, with a similar population to that of Bangladesh, we find only Pakistan from this south Asia region, has as big 'market size' of Middle Class that it may have a place in any of the above lists....

The World Factbook

santosh10

Income-Debt-Buying Power comparison of Indians, British and Americans
(in exchange rates terms)

Per Capita income of US = $50,000 (around)
Per Capita Income of UK = $38,000 (around)
Per Capita Income of India = $2,000 (around)

25 times difference

=> Government Debt
Government Debt per Capita in US = $18.5trillion for 310 million population = $60,000

Government Debt per Capita in India = $1.2trillion for 1.25billion population = $1,000

Government Debt per Capita in UK = $2.2trillion for 64million population = $34,000

35 times difference

=> "Total Debt" Per Capita of US = $60.5trillion for 310million population = $190,00 per person (around)

"Total Debt" Per Capita of India = $2.8trillion for 1.25billion population = $2,500 per person (around)

Total Debt Per Capita on UK = $12.0trillion for 64 million population = $190,000 per person (around)

around 80 times higher

=> buying products in Market, would be around 8 to 10 times difference, as per my experience.

coffee in India at 30 cents and in Sydney its $3.2 (10 times difference)

something we usual buy, a mineral water for Rs15 (30cents) in Delhi, while it was around $2.4, the cheapest one, for a similar one liter mineral water in Sydney.....

the cheapest Chinese take away food at $12 plus $2.0 for water, as compare to i pay around Rs90 ($1.5) a time here in Delhi

renting flat in Sydney starts with around $350 per week, the cheapest, means around $1,500 per month, plus other charges. as compare to renting a flat in my city, Lucknow, at around Rs 20,000 a month ($300).

parking in city, as you first drive to a shopping complex and then buy food whose prices isn't much different than India, for example. and similarly, even if you watch a movie, you pay dollar as compare to rupees in India.

even mobile charge at around 30 paisa per minute in India, less than 0.5 cent, while its around 20 cents per minute in Australia....

even for transportation, its around Rs 20 rupees(30 cents) in Delhi metro, as compare to minimum $3.5 one way in Perth-Sydney metro.....

i would put "on ground" purchasing power difference at around 8 to 10 times between India and US. the prices which matters us, the prices of driving, renting, food, travelling, mobile etc.... :tup:

hence, $2,000 'exchange rate term' per capita income of India would stand at around $15,000, using the factor of '7.5', as per its prices in US, for the what we buy-use the money on the ground, which affect the buying power of people.
hence this way, we find per capita income of India at around $15,000, as compare to per capita income of around $50,000 and $38,000 in case fo US and UK respectively....

=> im just trying to find out, how much $1.0 worth in India, "on ground". whether you say it PPP or whatever

in a more clear way, how much $30,000 a year salary would worth in India, in terms of paying rent, paying for transport/metro, buying food, mobile phone/usual tea/coffee, mineral water, movie ticket, car repair, and similar other things. the money we use "on ground", which affect our buying power within a country :tup:

World Bank/IMF etc have many other concerns, other than how much we pay for food, rent, transport and other services. many resource prices, like oil/gas/minerals/gold etc, have same prices. hence we find then considering half of the GDP almost same, because of their same international price. hence overall they hardly use a factor of 2 to 4 in case of a country like India, while buying power of a civilian mainly depends on what we find "on ground", which affect our daily life :coffee:

also, here its worth mentioning that around 30% to upto 40% GDP of India type developing countries remains "undocumented". in a more clear way, we generally talk about "taxable" income subject to Tax File Number, and also "non-taxable"/illegal income in US/Australia, which is meant for not paying tax on the money you earning. we see this type of earning mainly in small Chinese shops in Sydney, farm houses in regional Australia etc, where you generally dont show your income. just work and get the money on hands...the "cash in hands" jobs ...

and in case of a developing country like India, and similar one like Philippines, Vietnam, Indonesia, China etc, have you heard Indian labors doing usual labor jobs show their income on tax file number? its joke,in fact..... half of the population of India is based on agriculture, in villages, and there would be 'none' of those labors working in those farm lands, who would be aware of paying tax on the money on their salary. in fact, the agriculture is a tax free business in India....

hence I would say, the Nominal/exchange rate GDP of India at around $2.4 trillion by end of the financial year 2015, belongs to only upto 70% of people, without documenting the earning of rest of over 30% people... i would say 30%, as this is the number of people below poverty in India, with below $2.0 a day income....
( the GDP of India, which was around $2.1trillion for the last financial year, and would be around $2.4trillion for the current financial year, considering 6.0% growth rate + 6.0% inflation and other value added factors. hence resulting in around $2,000 per capita income, in exchange rates term.)

santosh10

now poverty of India is because of its over population. Most of the problems of India is because of its Over Population and India has to reduce its population only. otherwise India has around 350mil Upper Middle Class, more than total population in 1947, whose per capita income on PPP is similar to the Very High HDI countries like Argentina, Poland, Saudi Arabia etc. one day I calculated as below:-

Over-Population Notes

World is changing and few points everyone knows on the world platform in today's world, no need to read articles, as below:

1st; High Population means high consumption of resources, and hence its higher prices for the people of whole world.

2nd; high energy consumption and hence higher green house gas emission, hence increasing Climate Change threats this way

3rd; High Subsidy to feed poor below poverty line, especially in case of India. which is possible only until its Middle Class may afford it. and we must avoid that breaking point :tup:

4th; and, we also encourage a "Population Tax" on every second kid taking birth in a family, which may be denoted to World Bank/ Climate Change Organizations to reduce its effects. i mean, if you can't reduce population then at least pay something to reduce its effects on the world's Climate Change. and yes, this "Population Tax" on the 'non-first' child would be same for the people of whole world. :coffee:

Few Key Points I always mention on this Topic as below:

these are my own ideas so it does require criticism by other members to make the topic interesting :thumb:

1st; if the poor of India ask the Western nations to share the burden of subsidies then they will simply kick these shiits of India, isn't it? and if its only Indian Middle Class who is generating money and running government and also paying heavy price for the welfare/subsidies for poor, then they do have a right to ask the Indian Government, "to what extent they will have to bear this burden of tax just to feed poor, and whether they will remain capable enough in future also to bear this burden on long run if the government doesn't control the population?????" :facepalm:

like the news as below, around 50% indian population is based in agriculture only, around 600mil, while even 200mil population may produce the same agriculture output? and the same in cities of India, around 50% people just try to earn a decent salary which they can't, simply because too many mouths and limited resources. and Indian Middle Class is just paying high price to feed these around 600mil 'excess' population, but still there is no effort to have a control on this growing population????
“As per statistics, India provides around Rs855 billion subsidy to its farmers to reduce their production cost, whereas Pakistan hardly spends Rs8 billion in this regard.
India’s agriculture production cost was around two to three times lower than Pakistan due to these subsidies,” agriculture expert and Agri Forum Pakistan chairman, Ibrahim Mughal said.

http://nation.com.pk/Business/20-Nov-2011/MFN-status-to-ruin-agriculture-industry-alike

2nd;here for example of Pakistan and Bangladesh, right now overly populated Pakistan is full of target killings, simply because too many mouth and no resources to feed them. its also similar to 'genocide' itself?????? and Bangladeshis just want to run from Bangladesh, mainly to India. its the worse to see people dying without dignity than controlling population by force........
Don't hold your breath: during a recent DPC rally in Karachi, speaker after speaker made it clear that their real enemies are India and America. This assembled galaxy clearly failed to notice the uncomfortable fact that over the last decade, well over 30,000 innocent civilians and 5,000 security personnel have been killed in terrorist attacks launched by jihadi militants.Such mundane truths often escape our religious brigade.:facepalm:

http://www.dawn.com/news/696249/save-us-from-our-defenders

3rd; many economists of India advocate "food security"/ "free medicines"/ "right to get a job" etc in India which is not possible until the Indian government may control its population. they simply can't feed 1.25bil population from the limited natural resources they have . USA is 3 times bigger in area than India but population of India is 4 times to USA? and on the top of that, Indian government wants to give welfare/ heavy subsidies to its people? if India face a sudden fall like ASEAN in late 90s and South America like in 80s, all these they will have to withdraw after that so better they keep habit to live in less and get rid off the unnecessary subsidies/welfares . for example, we always find Pakistan increasing petrol and diesel prices as per market prices as they can't afford to give subsidies while the people of Pakistan are poorer than India, but Indian government always hesitate to do so? but the day India will reach level of Pakistan, just one good economic fall is required, and India will learn all by themselves. :wave:

4th; here we have report from world bank that around 60% people of India are living with income less than $2.0 per day, as below

here, how is it wise to have high population if you can't give them good life? how is it advisable to have more population this way???

http://data.worldbank.org/indicator...api_data_value+wbapi_data_value-last&sort=asc

5th; Population of India was hardly around 341 million at the time of freedom, in 1947, and we can't have more than 700 million people, and we need a national consensus on it. :india:

and as Overpopulation of India is directly related to consumption of natural resources of the world. as, higher International price of natural resources, due to high demands from the high population countries, is applicable on whole world. high pollution and hence Climate Change due to high consumption of energy. reduced water level has also been caused in India due to the same high population and hence high demand reasons, hence India is directly answerable to the rest of the world about the measures it is adopting to reduce its population to 700 million, say by 2050 :truestory:

we can't let India become one of the reason for the destruction of this world, as the Earth belongs to every person of the world, regardless any nationality :nono:

6th; and here, first there is no control on the population, as much as India can have, and on the top of that, they want to feed them for nothing too :rofl:

http://articles.economictimes.india...9205_1_food-security-bill-foodgrain-subsidies

santosh10

double post

santosh10

America’s Wealthiest Religions?

An interesting�infographic circulating the Web has many people talking about the relationship between wealth and religion.� The graphic, titled The Almighty Dollar, was created by�GOOD and Column Five Media and breaks down income levels in the U.S. by religion.��Data�is based on information from the Pew Forum and it compares the income level of each religion to the national average. �From thewebsite: It’s no secret that the distribution of wealth is inequitable in the United States across racial, regional, and socio-economic groups. But there is a distinct variance among and within America’s faiths as well.

eligious groups such as Jewish, Christian (divided into several groups), Buddhist, Mormon, Muslim etc. You’ll notice that Sikhism is not one of them (not sure why?). There are five income brackets (Less than $30,000 to $100,000+) listed and numbers signifying what percentage of each religious group falling into which income bracket.

43% and 46% of Hindus and Jews, respectively, fell into the $100,000+ income bracket while 8% and 9% of Christians (Historically Black Churches) and Jehovah’s Witnesses, respectively, fell into this same income bracket. �Interestingly, Buddhists look to have the most equal distribution for each income bracket.

Many conversations on the internet have focused on the idea that immigrants make up a large portion of religious groups such as Hindus and Muslims. �This is probably quite true. �Individuals from these groups who are in the United States today, are probably more educated. �The representation of these groups in this data sample is highly selective. �Wealth is therefore probably more related to education rather than religion.

Other conversations suggest that those religious groups who have the lowest percentage in the $100,000+ also give the most money to their place of worship.

Having said that, what religious group’s distribution would Sikhs most likely follow? �How would those individuals, who identify as Sikhs, be represented on this infographic?

http://thelangarhall.com/general/americas-wealthiest-religions/

santosh10

Mar 11, 2008

NEW DELHI: If you thought that Global Indian Takeover was just a hollow cliche leaning on a few iconic successes like Pepsi's Indra Nooyi, Citibank's Vikram Pandit and steel world's Lakshmi Mittal, there is a slew of statistics now to give it solid ballast.

The extent to which desis have made an impact in the US was reeled off in the Rajya Sabha — as many as 12% scientists and 38% doctors in the US are Indians, and in NASA, 36% or almost 4 out of 10 scientists are Indians.

If that's not proof enough of Indian scientific and corporate prowess, digest this: 34% employees at Microsoft, 28% at IBM, 17% at Intel and 13% at Xerox are Indians.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...e-Indians-Govt-survey/articleshow/2853178.cms

a Competent Professional is product of the competition he/she has faced since schooling

i was made to discuss this topic in detail. the above type news, we have been reading on time to time, but we do know that we have only professional and business quota immigration for US-UK-Australia-Canada so this type of news looks closed to truth as we mainly had this type of brain drain during the 90s and the last decade. nowdays we do have enough degree qualified people available but till the 90s, it used to be a truly brain drain category migration of Indians, for the profession of Engineering-medicines-CAs- including MBAs, mainly for those who own a degree from US-UK itself to qualify for Green Card, for permanent visa, as till the mid last decade, till my time...

we generally discuss, whoever want to study can get admission in US's institutes while for the immigrants, you need to have enough marks in GRE-GMAT type exams to get admission in top ranked institutes of US-UK, and the above statistics of US's top ranked institutes does show high performing Indians on the world platform, who would then get jobs in these high ranked US's firms with qualifications from these leading US's institutes. looks obvious till the time of last decade....

credibility of these news has also faced questions, but we do understand that these 13%+ degree holders Indians from the top ranked US's institutes, must be getting jobs in these leading firms like IBM, Microsoft, NASA etc, because of having a master level engineering-medicines degrees from leading US's institutes. as discussed in the above video too....

(but as this is the news of early 2008, and we see US's data's being manipulated during the last 3-4 years of my involvements, .... im not sure how many of these scientists are even alive also, if not killed yet ... Hate Crime is the biggest crime of world and the current generation of US-UK-Aus are nothing but a condition on the Humanity of any part of world..)

also, whenever we discuss a qualified immigrant as compare to locals in US-UK-Aus, the immigrants are mainly master level engineering-medicines category, while mainly arts graduates we see in locals, in limited number too....

whenever we discuss the "competent" professionals, we mainly have a look on the level of competition he/she has faced even since schooling. in US-Uk-Aus, the locals dont have any "entrance tests" type exams for their institutes. while for India, its too hard to qualify for a seat in the high ranked institutes of India like IITs and IIMs. even if you hire a professional from lower ranked institutes of India, the certain qualified person would have less experience of labs as compare to US's institutes, obviously while comparing the infrastructure difference of Indian and US's institutes, but you do get a highly competent qualified professional, with high end knowledge of the books he/she has studied, and ready to work with the labs of US's firms.....

immigrants from developing countries also come in business quota, like Mr L Mittal, Hinduja etc, as discussed in the above news too. hence they would obviously have high end earning side, the highest tax paying people as they fall in high income bracket for tax payment.
while meaning of high end competent professionals is much more than the amount of taxes they pay, very true....

Bangladeshi Crisis of India: as per the information im getting, nowdays an Indian student fails to get admission in top ranked Institutes of India, even at 98.6 percentile, as the 98.7 percentile person is occupying his/her seat coming from Bangladesh under a False Indian ID, mainly with Hindu names to bully the society as whole. even if most of the Indian students would be getting admission in lower ranked college of India this way, they do have high end competition. and this again show the "education crisis" of UK-Australia who bring people from Bangladesh on this commonwealth recruitment, "this is not UK-Aus that you may get admission in any institute, without any 'entrance test'. top ranked institutes of India has very high 'cut off' for the most performing students, which are being occupied by the False ID people you bring from Bangladesh, to work under British government for rest of life, as spies on the high positions of India this way.... level of competency of students, first come from the level of competition you have faced in schools, which these poor educational background countries like UK-Aus lack, who only use technologies of US, where these technologies are developed by immigrants professionals of developing countries, mainly Indians....

the shiits coming from US-UK-Aus and its consequences on the growing societies like India. and it also includes IIMs, where 'bit higher' marks holders False Indian ID holder people are being put there under Commonwealth Recruitment. no matter how much you study, bit higher marks holder False ID people are being brought from Bangladesh under UK's annual budget.. :facepalm:

a competent Indian professional is there, even if he/she then get admission in a lower ranked Indian institute, who then get campus selection in western firms too. but how will the common people respond, when they will get this news? all the government positions of India has a big share of this Commonwealth Recruitment, "as per how they look, with good looking faces and proficiency of Hindi language", while the local Indian civilians not getting jobs as they score 'bit' less than these commonwealth False Indian ID recruitment from back door for these positions, under a conspiracy of last 2 decades :facepalm:

i was just talking, over 1.0mil+ students doing preparation for government jobs and seats of engineering/medicines in Delhi won't know that 'bit' higher marks False ID people are being put on these positions from UK's annual budget, is this finally means for a liberal society of India, which is being 'hollowed out' by those friends like UK at present? .... :toilet:

jouni

I think that Indians are hard working, conformist and benevolent people, who do not question things. That kind of workers are sought after in the labour market. That explains a lot of the good position they enjoy.

Different people for different tasks, like in motorracing there is a saying: if you want to win, get a Finn. If you put Indian to a racing car, he will cruise around peacefully and get the points, but never win the race or championship. He might be good owner of a team though.

santosh10

further to the above post, its all about, "having a degree and being competent enough to deliver key projects is two very different issues, the experience US's firms have from the Indian professionals only."

santosh10

Indians account for 20% of Britain’s ultra-rich club
June 19, 2012

Super-rich Indians account for more than 20% of the wealth of ultra-high net worth (UHNW) individuals in Britain, a new list showed on Tuesday. As a national group, they are second only to expat Russians. :coffee:

The list, published by the Singapore-based Wealth-X group, places steel magnate and ArcelorMittal chairman Lakshmi Mittal at second place with a fortune of $15.8 billion. Mittal was pushed to the second spot this year by Russian Alisher Burkhanovich Usmanov, who is part owner of the English football club Arsenal and is worth $16.4 billion.

“Mittal has seen his net worth estimate decline along with the stock price of ArcelorMittal, losing at least $30 billion in recent years,” the report said.

The two other Indians on the top 15 list are the Hinduja brothers — Srichand at number 9 with a net worth of $7.6 billion and Gopichand at 12th with $6 billion.

Taken together, the wealth of the three Indian-origin industrialists makes up 22% of the top 15 total of $133.3 billion.

Apart from Usmanov, the two other Russians in the list include Roman Abramovich (at number 3, $12.1 billion) and Leonard Blavatnik (Number 5, $9.5 billion).

According to Wealth-X estimates, there are 10,760 individuals residents in Britain worth $30 million or more, with at least 310 new individuals joining the ranks of the ultra wealthy. On an average, Britain has added one UHNW individual every day since 2011. The combined wealth of the UHNW in Britain stands at an estimated $1.3 trillion.

“The wealth composition of the United Kingdom, London in particular, is diverse,” said David Lincoln, Director of Research at Wealth-X. “This is reflected in our data showing that 31% of the UHNW population in the United Kingdom is considered non-domiciled, with non-resident Indians and West AsianUHNWIs making up a significant proportion of these.”

http://www.hindustantimes.com/news-feed/chunk-ht-ui-businesssectionpage-corporate/indians-account-for-22-of-britain-s-ultra-rich-club/article1-875096.aspx#sthash.sFkQCOHH.dpuf

santosh10

Indian-Americans top in income and education
June 20, 2012

Washington: Indian Americans are the highest-income and best-educated people in the United States and the third largest among Asian Americans who have surpassed Latinos as the fastest-growing racial group, according to a new survey. :cheers:

Asians as a whole too are better educated and earn more than the general US population, according to the Pew Research Centre report on "The rose of Asian Americans" released Tuesday.

Indians, who now number 3.18 millions, the third largest after the Chinese (4 million) and the Filipinos (3.4 million) have a median household annual income of $88,000, much higher than for all Asians ($66,000) and all US households ($49,800).

Median annual personal earnings for Indian-American full-time, year-round workers are $65,000, significantly higher than for all Asian Americans ($48,000) as well as for all US adults ($40,000).

Seven-in-ten (70 per cent) Indian Americans ages 25 and older, have obtained at least a bachelor's degree; this is higher than the Asian-American share (49 per cent) and much higher than the national share (28 per cent), the survey found.

More than half of Indian Americans (57 per cent) own a home, compared with 58 percent of Asian Americans overall and 65 percent of the US population overall.

The share of adult Indian Americans who live in poverty is 9 per cent, lower than the rate for all Asian Americans (12 per cent) as well as the national rate (13 per cent).

Indian Americans stand out from most other US Asian groups in the personal importance they place on parenting; 78 per cent of Indian Americans say being a good parent is one of the most important things to them personally.

Indian Americans are among the most likely to say that the strength of family ties is better in their country of origin (69 per cent) than in the US (8 per cent).

Compared with other US Asian groups, Indian Americans are the most likely to identify with the Democratic Party; 65 per cent are Democrats or lean to the Democrats, 18 per cent are Republican or lean to the Republicans, the Pew Survey found.

And 65 per cent of Indian Americans approve of President Barack Obama's job performance, while 22 per cent disapprove.

Key Findings:

Indian Americans are more evenly spread out than other Asian Americans. About 24 per cent of adult Indian Americans live in the West, compared with 47 per cent of Asian Americans and 23 per cent of the US population overall.

More than three-in-ten (31 per cent) Indian Americans live in the Northeast, 29 per cent live in the South, and the rest (17 per cent) live in the Midwest.

Nearly nine-in-ten (87 per cent) adult Indian Americans in the United States are foreign born, compared with about 74 per cent of adult Asian Americans and 16 percent of the adult US population overall.

More than half of Indian-American adults are US citizens (56 per cent), lower than the share among overall adult Asian population (70 per cent) as well as the national share (91 per cent).

More than three-quarters of Indian Americans (76 per cent) speak English proficiently, compared with 63 per cent of all Asian Americans and 90 per cent of the US population overall.

The median age of adult Indian Americans is 37, lower than for adult Asian Americans (41) and the national median (45).

More than seven-in-ten (71 per cent) adult Indian Americans are married, a share significantly higher than for all Asian Americans (59 per cent) and for the nation (51 per cent).

The share of unmarried mothers was much lower among Indian Americans (2.3 per cent) than among all Asian Americans (15 per cent) and the population overall (37 per cent). :coffee:

http://www.ndtv.com/article/world/indian-americans-top-in-income-and-education-233757

santosh10

Indian Americans: The New Model Minority - Forbes

The 2008 election barely ended before the GOP began touting the presidential prospects of Louisiana Gov. Piyush "Bobby" Jindal, the son of Indian immigrants. Tuesday, Jindal becomes the new face of his party when he delivers the official Republican response to President Obama's speech to Congress. Whether or not he actually runs for president in 2012, Jindal symbolizes a remarkable but rarely discussed phenomenon--the amazing success of Indian Americans in general, and what that success says about our immigration policy.

Most Americans know only one thing about Indians--they are really good at spelling bees. When Sameer Mishra correctly spelled guerdon last May to win the 2008 Scripps National Spelling Bee, he became the sixth Indian-American winner in the past 10 years. Finishing second was Sidharth Chand. Kavya Shivashankar took fourth place, and Janhnavi Iyer grabbed the eighth spot. And this was not even the banner year for Indian Americans--in 2005, the top four finishers were all of Indian descent.

It's tempting to dismiss Indian-American dominance of the spelling bee as just a cultural idiosyncrasy. But Indian success in more important fields is just as eye-catching. Despite constituting less than 1% of the U.S. population, Indian-Americans are 3% of the nation's engineers, 7% of its IT workers and 8% of its physicians and surgeons. The over-representation of Indians in these fields is striking--in practical terms, your doctor is nine times more likely to be an Indian-American than is a random passerby on the street.

Indian Americans are in fact a new "model minority." This term dates back to the 1960s, when East Asians--Americans of Chinese, Japanese and Korean descent--were noted for their advanced educations and high earnings. :truestory:

East Asians continue to excel in the U.S, but among minority groups, Indians are clearly the latest and greatest "model." In 2007, the median income of households headed by an Indian American was approximately $83,000, compared with $61,000 for East Asians and $55,000 for whites. :coffee:

About 69% of Indian Americans age 25 and over have four-year college degrees, which dwarfs the rates of 51% and 30% achieved by East Asians and whites, respectively. Indian Americans are also less likely to be poor or in prison, compared with whites.

So why do Indian Americans perform so well? A natural answer is self-selection. Someone willing to pull up roots and move halfway around the world will tend to be more ambitious and hardworking than the average person. But people want to come to the U.S. for many reasons, some of which--being reunited with other family members, for example--have little to do with industriousness. Ultimately, immigration policy decides which kinds of qualities our immigrants possess.

Under our current immigration policy, a majority of legal immigrants to the U.S. obtain green cards (permanent residency) because they have family ties to U.S. citizens, but a small number (15% in 2007) are selected specifically for their labor market value. The proportion of Indian immigrants given an employment-related green card is one of the highest of any nationality. Consequently, it is mainly India's educated elite and their families who come to the U.S.

The success of Indian Americans is also often ascribed to the culture they bring with them, which places strong--some would even say obsessive--emphasis on academic achievement. :coffee: Exhibit A is the spelling bee, which requires long hours studying etymology and memorizing word lists, all for little expected benefit other than the thrill of intellectual competition.

But education and culture can take people only so far. To be a great speller--or, more importantly, a great doctor or IT manager--you have to be smart. Just how smart are Indian Americans? We don't know with much certainty. Most data sets with information on ethnic groups do not include IQ scores, and the few that do rarely include enough cases to provide interpretable results for such a small portion of the population.

The only direct evidence we have comes from the 2003 New Immigrant Survey, in which a basic cognitive test called "digit span" was administered to a sample of newly arrived immigrant children. It is an excellent test for comparing people with disparate language and educational backgrounds, since the test taker need only repeat lengthening sequences of digits read by the examiner. Repeating the digits forward is simply a test of short-term memory, but repeating them backward is much more mentally taxing, hence a rough measure of intelligence.

When statistical adjustments are used to convert the backward digit span results to full-scale IQ scores, Indian Americans place at about 112 on a bell-shaped IQ distribution, with white Americans at 100. 112 is the 79th percentile of the white distribution. For more context, consider that Ashkenazi Jews are a famously intelligent ethnic group, and their mean IQ is somewhere around 110. :ranger:

Given the small sample size, the rough IQ measure and the lack of corroborating data sets, this finding of lofty Indian-American intelligence must be taken cautiously. Nevertheless, it is entirely consistent with their observed achievement.

The superior educational attainment, academic culture and likely high IQ of Indian Americans has already made them an economic force in the U.S., and that strength can only grow. :cheers: Does this continuing success imply they will become a political force? Here, Gov. Jindal is actually a rarity. Indians are still underrepresented in politics, and they do not specialize in the kinds of fields (law and finance) most conducive to political careers. Time will tell if they are able to convert economic power into serious political influence, as a Jindal presidency could.

A much clearer implication of Indian-American success is that immigrants need not be unskilled, nor must their economic integration take generations to achieve. In sharp contrast to Indian Americans, most U.S. immigrants, especially Mexican, are much less wealthy and educated than U.S. natives, even after many years in the country. :tup:

A new immigration policy that prioritizes skills over family reunification could bring more successful immigrants to the U.S. By emphasizing education, work experience and IQ in our immigration policy, immigrant groups from other national backgrounds could join the list of model minorities.

There is nothing inevitable about immigration. Who immigrates each year is a policy decision, free to be modified at any time by Congress. Constructing new legislation is always difficult, but I propose a simple starting point for immigration selection: Anyone who can spell guerdon is in! :tup:
Indian Americans: The New Model Minority - Forbes.com

today i discussed, high performing Asians in US+UK mainly coming from the migration policy of US+UK, in fact.

we generally used to discuss, the best people of India moving out, who are more needed in India. and India is one among those developing countries of Asia, South America, including East European countries like Poland, who suffered brain drain in search of a better life in OECD economies....