Govt to cut defence spending

Sources say the "reluctant" move is due to acute fiscal distress thanks to huge shortfall in tax collection, disinvestment and miscalculation of subsidies.

http://toi.in/VPXU5b

Way to go, idiot government! Continue your useless subsidies, handouts and doles, for vote politics. These rascals are destroying the nation's economy for the sake of votes. Anything to see that buddhu Rahul Gandhi on the throne! :frusty:

its good we should decrease our defense budget.

waise bhi we are not buying anything. we take 10 to 20 yrs to buy anything. its better we use that money in education,social upliftment

UPA- and its populist policies are bleeding the country much faster than porki jihadis had hoped. Way to go UPA, WE indians will vote for you even if we loot our entire country:sad::hail:

it's not the govt but sarkari babus who are to be blamed.

waise bhi we are not buying anything. we take 10 to 20 yrs to buy anything. its better we use that money in education,social upliftment
Yeah, they should put more money into education and focus on retaining talent in the country. But this should not be done sacrificing the Defence Budget.

MoD returns substantial amount of money allocated in budget back to GOI at the end of fiscal year. This is the tradition from a very long time. I don't see any harm if FM reduces the Defense allocation in budget itself if that money can be used elsewhere. Money sitting idle in MoD waiting to return to national treasury at the end of year is no money, rather its a wastage.

The proposed cut is small and won't make any difference. Big ticket purchases are not necessarily bounded with budget anyways.

In one way you are right, that defence expenditure in India does not feed domestic industry, and only benefits foreign players. But in this dangerous neighbourhood, we need to maintain status quo, at the very least. We cannot afford to roll back. That is very dangerous.

it's not the govt but sarkari babus who are to be blamed.
Wrong - the government is also responsible.

With such high rates of growth, we are still having to cut back on expenses. You know why? Because of useless subsidies and dole and handouts. All for votes. They have ruined fiscal discipline and the economy. UPA-II has ----ed over the economy.

The problem is that, corruption is built into our society. Its institutionalized. So it doesn't matter who is in power. There should be radical change and a more educated youth and empowered people will be able to bring about this change. We need to flush out the old system, that is the need of the hour. And maybe start with kicking out Sonia and her retard son Rahool.

MoD returns substantial amount of money allocated in budget back to GOI at the end of fiscal year. This is the tradition from a very long time. I don't see any harm if FM reduces the Defense allocation in budget itself if that money can be used elsewhere. Money sitting idle in MoD waiting to return to national treasury at the end of year is no money, rather its a wastage.

The proposed cut is small and won't make any difference. Big ticket purchases are not necessarily bounded with budget anyways.
Why can't they use this extra money and push it into defense research. I mean putting more money on research will mean that more people would be interested, which would mean better talent pool, right? Also more money would mean better equipment. Also why can't some money be moved to black budget.

• There is black budget.
  • Last year new law was drafted according to which MoD can spend any project/purchase upto 500crores without approval from Finance Ministry or House.
  • What MoD needs to do is become more pro-active and put money in product-specific R&D. They'll end up doing so deliberately or out of compulsion of growing domestic competition as private industry is getting aggressive in defense sector.
  • GOI this year more than doubled its expenditure in R&D Sector (i.e. >8 Billion USD/annum). There will be military-use spin offs of this investment in coming years.

• There is black budget.
They should make it bigger and blacker.

• Last year new law was drafted according to which MoD can spend any project/purchase upto 500crores without approval from Finance Ministry or House.
  • What MoD needs to do is become more pro-active and put money in product-specific R&D. They'll end up doing so deliberately or out of compulsion of growing domestic competition as private industry is getting aggressive in defense sector.
  • GOI this year more than doubled its expenditure in R&D Sector (i.e. >8 Billion USD/annum). There will be military-use spin offs of this investment in coming years.
:thumb: :thumb:

70,000 crore is total capital expenditure for defence budget, now if you think of it, it cost 1 crore for 400 insas rifles. This time this figure mght go for 80,000 crore. This is too low. Specially with china and pakistan wan to go for tag team war with us.

KUSH JHA

In my view we should cut defence budget, as our economy is slowing down (6.2% goldman sacs),budget deficiet is 4% of gdp .
instead we should increase the deterance by
1)secetly testing thermonucler bomb.
2)removing no first use policy.
3)increasing the number of nuke rapidly.

jackhammer2

Ministry of Defence has already failed to use their complete budget anyway so I don't see it as such a big probelm plus it just a few thousand crores from 68000 its still big at current we should concentrate more on economy.

The problem is that, corruption is built into our society. Its institutionalized. So it doesn't matter who is in power. There should be radical change and a more educated youth and empowered people will be able to bring about this change. We need to flush out the old system, that is the need of the hour. And maybe start with kicking out Sonia and her retard son Rahool.
mate the entire society is to be blamed no doubt about that, but this stupid govt's populist schemes just for getting votes is bankrupting us. Instead of investing on the infrastructure projects, these corrupt rotten pigs have wasted the money in useless schemes just to cover up their humongous corruption. This has already started hampering our growth. Wait and see, they will completely bankrupt us and sell our country just to get money. The scoundrals are more dangerous to us than any terrorist group like ISI or LeT.

In my view we should cut defence budget, as our economy is slowing down (6.2% goldman sacs),budget deficiet is 4% of gdp .
instead we should increase the deterance by
1)secetly testing thermonucler bomb.
2)removing no first use policy.
3)increasing the number of nuke rapidly.
do you know what is the best way to bring back india towards faster growth, kicking the UPA out of power.

Sam2012

Very good right move :). Corruption in Govt no bar like economic slow down but armed force spending has to be curbed which is more important than stopping curruption

Dear Pkis & Chinese this is right ,movement to strike india where we have spineless govt just like nehru 60's era pls make most use of it

but why this Mr St.Antony , lungi wearing oragatan time & time again assured fund avialability , why u people are fooling even armed force ? fooling public on subsidy , lokpal etc is acceptable , if u fool armed force its just like fooling ur self
:mad::mad::tsk::sad:
Antony assures about modernization of country's defence - YouTube

Sam2012

Mr.joker Antony atleast have guts to tell MMRCA was just eye wash,we will fly MIG-21 till 2025 & after that and replace it with people like Vadra, chidambaram,raja ,kanimozhi,kalmadi,gadkari,sonia madam family etc who will sneak into china & pak , after that they will creat world record of corruption in those country so that they themself break form inside

We don't need armed force scrap the armed force:mad::mad::mad: