Full Revamp Of DRDO-Commercial arm by year-end

AJSINGH

Can you elobarate how russian requirement is different before advocating for russian products. Russian are not inducting because these products are not for next 30 years and they have a very loyal customer named India to dump all their junks
same goes for America , SH and SV, also why would then Russia collborate with India on PAK FA

ppgj

i quote " first you should tell how long it takes to indegenize a tech transfer i say 5 years so tech was transfered at least 5 years ago

same is the fate of mki tech transfer took 6 years" from the same website http://kuku.sawf.org/News/59601.aspx
AJS, the question arises only when T-90M is operational and if IA shows an interest in them.

Russia is not even ready with T-90M. besides indian TOT is for T-90S.

so where is the question of indigenising it??

AJSINGH

AJS, the question arises only when T-90M is operational and if IA shows an interest in them.

Russia is not even ready with T-90M. besides indian TOT is for T-90S.

so where is the question of indigenising it??
T-90M will be operational soon ,plus the TOT for T-90M wont take long ,since we are already customers of Russians , also IA has expressed interest in T-90M

http://week.manoramaonline.com/cgi-...Events&programId=1073754900&contentId=7342536

Manmohan Singh tried to be even-handed while giving away the National Technology Day awards to DRDO scientists. He commended their work on missiles, tanks, aircraft, electronic warfare, radar and communication systems. Then he went ballistic: "Our current level of self-reliance in defence R&D is less than our capabilities."

DRDO chief V.K. Saraswat, who has shot down incoming missiles endo- and exo-atmosphere, made an interception bid within the solemn atmosphere: "...The responsibility for self-reliance should be shared by all stake-holders of MoD [ministry of defence]," meaning the brass-hats and the babus.

Another ICBM from the PM: "...Some defence projects have been delayed... DRDO [should] learn from these experiences and work more closely with the armed forces...."
Saraswat's ABM: "DRDO neither has the power to impose its products on its customer nor the mandate or capacity to produce the developed systems all by themselves." A point missed by those who compare defence scientists with space and atomic scientists! Space savants don't have to sell their PSLV to anyone. DRDO has to 'sell' Tejas, Arjun and Lakshya to phoren-crazy customers.

Saraswat then launched his own ICBM at the brass-hats: "...While the temptation may be overwhelming to field proven, state-of-the-art imported systems, they [the services], too, have a role to play in the economic and industrial growth of the country."

Defence scientists have been saying ad nauseam that the services should order local ware in bulk for the industry to grow. But the Army has ordered just 120 Arjun tanks and the Air Force 40 Tejas warjets. No plane-maker in the world, save Hindustan Aeronautics, would set up assembly lines for 40. The services say the systems have to be proven 100 per cent.

No such problem when importing! The MiG-29, indeed the world's finest interceptor, was bought eyes closed when Gorbachev offered it for the first time outside the Warsaw Pact. The Sukhoi-30, the world's best plane of its class, had not even flown when India committed to buy 230.

Qualitative requirements (QR) are diluted if the foreign seller reduces price. But no dilution for Arjun, come hell, highwater or Pakistan's Al Khalid tank. QRs are upped for local ware, midstream. Some missile caught the fancy of IAF in 2004 and the QR for Tejas was changed, after the prototypes had clocked hundreds of test hours. The entire wing, made of locally-invented composite material, had to be re-engineered from square-one on the graph sheet. Nag, the third world's first top-attack anti-tank missile, is still in the lab because the generals asked for a longer range, after it had completed trials.

The Navy asked DRDO to build an electronic warfare system in the 1980s. When DRDO delayed, the Navy went for import. The Public Accounts Committee was horrified that the Navy had "firmly stuck to the short time-frame given to [DRDO] while liberally revising the delivery schedule of the foreign vendor".

Indeed, DRDO men need to be pulled up. They bite more than what they can chew. They promise the moon, and deliver meteors. They think of themselves as product-developers; they should be technology-developers. Hopefully, the Rama Rao report, which A.K. Antony is implementing, will rectify the lacunae.

Tailpiece: In the 1930s, Prime Minister Stanley Baldwin ordered the Royal Air Force to take Hampdens and Wellingtons even before the prototypes had been tested. He sent the Bristol Beaufort into production straight from the drawing-board. When the Luftwaffe locusts came to bomb Britain into Stonehenge age, the RAF pilots raced to meet them in more than 10,000 rookie planes. That trust, which the brave-hearts had on the wise-minds of their country, created 'the finest hour'.
[email protected]

san

T-90M will be operational soon ,plus the TOT for T-90M wont take long ,since we are already customers of Russians , also IA has expressed interest in T-90M
Do you have any source? If we are so much a love pat of mother Russia, why mother Russia is so reluctant to provide barrell tech to their favourite pat India. About T-90M we have heard about it for several years with their ultra secreative, stealth T-95. When mother Russia dumped T95 projects all the indian fun boys started about T90M, victor, burkut etc etc. We are buying and we have TOT for T90S only. Russian army has around 200 T90. If the T90is such a great tank why Russia is not buying it in a large numbers?

pavanvenkatesh

this is really sad the way the army is treated they reject one tank & people brand them corrupted,or import hungry even after buying many DRDO products its not like DRDO has a squieky clean image, all they been doing all these years are manufacturing russian and western weaponery under TOT now after all these years they are talking about encouraging R&D when they should have that years ago, and i will not buy that they will not get adequet funding because that is completly false the LCA A/C could have been a reality if they had just purchased the components like engines,radars off the shelf and after FOC could have dived into developing these technologies and by now we could have had a Tejas mk- 2 or Mk-3 with 80% indegenious components the same with arjun what i like to know is when armed forces of countries like france or US or isreal or any developed countries reject any weapon systems does that make them corrupted? or they are unsupportive towards indeginisation? when the user rejects a weapon they have there reasons after all they are the one who use it at the end? so whats the big deal it does'nt mean they don't like indegineous products you move on and look to the future not stuff them down there throats

this is really sad the way the army is treated they reject one tank & people brand them corrupted,or import hungry even after buying many DRDO products its not like DRDO has a squieky clean image,
No body is saying that DRDO is completely correct

all they been doing all these years are manufacturing russian and western weaponery under TOT now after all these years they are talking about encouraging R&D when they should have that years ago,
Don't BS so according to you DRDO is the manufacturer?

and i will not buy that they will not get adequet funding because that is completly false the LCA A/C could have been a reality if they had just purchased the components like engines,radars off the shelf and after FOC could have dived into developing these technologies and by now we could have had a Tejas mk- 2 or Mk-3 with 80% indegenious components
What are you speaking here? You have any clue or just for thee heck you are ranting. Isn't LCA is flying with GE engine? And have you checked the benefits of the technologies developed for LCA for ex MiG 27 upgrades Su 30 MKI mission computers. So according to you these should not have been developed at all.

the same with arjun what i like to know is when armed forces of countries like france or US or isreal or any developed countries reject any weapon systems does that make them corrupted? or they are unsupportive towards indeginisation? when the user rejects a weapon they have there reasons after all they are the one who use it at the end? so whats the big deal it does'nt mean they don't like indegineous products you move on and look to the future not stuff them down there throats
So according to you what ever product they have inducted was perfect from day 1 without any issues at all? Come on apply some logic before putting a sentence

pavanvenkatesh

What are you speaking here? You have any clue or just for thee heck you are ranting. Isn't LCA is flying with GE engine?
I am not ranting i don't need to rant,you talk about the GE 404 engine when was the decision made to go for the GE 404 engine made can you tell me? forgot about the kaveri engine drama all i meant to say was they could have gone with the Grippin way by buying critical components off the shelf for the first time ONLY when there were CLEAR signs that the same will take time to develop indegeneously

Don't BS so according to you DRDO is the manufacturer?
AGAIN there's no BS i was referring to the past at what we were doing getting TOT (T-90,72's,MIG's ,Sukois,BMP's) and then manufacturing them here what was DRDO doing then, we are forced to still using the MIG 21's for god's sake

So according to you what ever product they have inducted was perfect from day 1 without any issues at all? Come on apply some logic before putting a sentence
I request you to apply the same logic which you so talk about before blindly blaming the armed forces or any body for that matters Tell me how many camache Attack helis do you seenow? or the new GE F35 engine which it is lobbying so aggressively to the congrees do you see that in the new F35 prototypes? or what about the new Scar assualt rifles which is still undergoing user trials by SACCOM, or the F-22's when still it is not being flown that much by the USAF after all these years why do you think they are so less in no's even when billions are pumped in to developing them they are 5th gen by every standerds you don't see much of the developers complaining of sabotage yes they are promoting there product but they are not questioning the decisions of the users are they? any armed forces will not induct any equipment which does not pass its initial trials its that simple arjun failed the initial trials so were not inducted in full no's later it passed in the trials and more were inducted thats it deal with it don't go about accusing one of the oldest and most respectable institutions of corruption because thats not fair and it is wrong

I am not ranting i don't need to rant,you talk about the GE 404 engine when was the decision made to go for the GE 404 engine made can you tell me? forgot about the kaveri engine drama all i meant to say was they could have gone with the Grippin way by buying critical components off the shelf for the first time ONLY when there were CLEAR signs that the same will take time to develop indegeneously
Isn't this is happening LCA is flying with GE 404 what is your point?

AGAIN there's no BS i was referring to the past at what we were doing getting TOT (T-90,72's,MIG's ,Sukois,BMP's) and then manufacturing them here what was DRDO doing then, we are forced to still using the MIG 21's for god's sake
The ToT is given to manufacturing agency not to DRDO which is a research organization which gets funding from GoI which in turn takes advise from services and gives mandate to do research to DRDO in those areas.

I request you to apply the same logic which you so talk about before blindly blaming the armed forces or any body for that matters Tell me how many camache Attack helis do you seenow? or the new GE F35 engine which it is lobbying so aggressively to the congrees do you see that in the new F35 prototypes? or what about the new Scar assualt rifles which is still undergoing user trials by SACCOM, or the F-22's when still it is not being flown that much by the USAF after all these years why do you think they are so less in no's even when billions are pumped in to developing them they are 5th gen by every standerds you don't see much of the developers complaining of sabotage yes they are promoting there product but they are not questioning the decisions of the users are they? any armed forces will not induct any equipment which does not pass its initial trials its that simple arjun failed the initial trials so were not inducted in full no's later it passed in the trials and more were inducted thats it deal with it don't go about accusing one of the oldest and most respectable institutions of corruption because thats not fair and it is wrong
What ever you have written have you understood the base of it?
FUNDING and inclination to use the home grown products.
I don't think so, if you don't understand this then there is no hope of having any meaningful conversation
Now coming to your rant about arjun you keep on repeating the things without understanding that the foreign products are ordered with deficiencies why this favor is given to foreign products only?

pavanvenkatesh

Isn't this is happening LCA is flying with GE 404 what is your point?
My point is it was known that the kaveri engine can never be ready on time still the IAF was promised that delivery would happen in time then the decision to go with the GE 404 was taken only after GTRE failed to develop the kaveri engine on time, when this could have been done in the biginning itself, all the time and money which could have been saved,

What ever you have written have you understood the base of it?
FUNDING and inclination to use the home grown products.
I don't think so, if you don't understand this then there is no hope of having any meaningful conversation
My point was to show you that all countries has certain standers and trials when it comes to using weapons and ultimatly the users determise whether to use it or not, the examples was to show that even some of the most complex systems developed failed to achive sucess it should have because the users could not fit it in its plans whether its homegrown or imported does'nt matter and the IA is no different so there is nothing new or controvertial about it, if the user feels it will help in the over all plan he will take ot or no so don't make a big issue out of it if you still disapprove then please Enlighten me

Now coming to your rant about arjun you keep on repeating the things without understanding that the foreign products are ordered with deficiencies why this favor is given to foreign products only?
NOW comming to your RANTS about buying deficient products the decision to buy weapon system does not only lie in the hands of the armed forces the MOD,DOD & host of other agencies are involved they are not idiots to import defective products if it were true then the PHALCON AWACS,the HERON UAV, Tavor, hercules C130 J,C-17 globemasters are all defective?

My point is it was known that the kaveri engine can never be ready on time still the IAF was promised that delivery would happen in time then the decision to go with the GE 404 was taken only after GTRE failed to develop the kaveri engine on time, when this could have been done in the biginning itself, all the time and money which could have been saved,
Uh so what there was a delay and alternative engine was chosen it happens in development you don't achieve desired result every time.

My point was to show you that all countries has certain standers and trials when it comes to using weapons and ultimatly the users determise whether to use it or not, the examples was to show that even some of the most complex systems developed failed to achive sucess it should have because the users could not fit it in its plans whether its homegrown or imported does'nt matter and the IA is no different so there is nothing new or controvertial about it, if the user feels it will help in the over all plan he will take ot or no so don't make a big issue out of it if you still disapprove then please Enlighten me
First understand basic thing, the products are developed according to user requirements so it's user also carry equal responsibility towards that product.
Now again you are not getting the point those weapon systems you are mentioning are replaced with another of there country's origin not by imports when our programs have been started do we have sufficient money and R&D base to keep multiple programs running? The same products you keep them in high regard have been accepted and refined with user inputs importing is short term solution not the long term. The posters here are not against imports but suggesting that home grown products given sufficient place to grow to world class level. Is it so difficult to understand. And especially the objection is regarding accepting foreign products with deficiency and rejecting home grown products showing deficiency

NOW comming to your RANTS about buying deficient products the decision to buy weapon system does not only lie in the hands of the armed forces the MOD,DOD & host of other agencies are involved they are not idiots to import defective products if it were true then the PHALCON AWACS,the HERON UAV, Tavor, hercules C130 J,C-17 globemasters are all defective?
Don't change the point by taking different names, as you say it is user who has to chose the product then it's user resposibility to chose the right one if it has defect then the blame has to be on user. Don't try to blame other for user's wrong doings.

DRDO plans to form commercial arm by year-end

DRDO plans to form a commercial arm by year-end as it seeks to put in place an aggressive approach towards marketing and commercialisation of its products and technologies and exports, a senior official said.

DRDO was exploring the possibility of export of Akash and Nag missiles besides the Light Combat Aircraft (Trainer) among others, developed by it, DRDO Research and Development chief controller Prahlada said, adding the proposed venture would be similar to Antrix, the marketing arm of ISRO.

"If not today, tomorrow we want to start export," Prahlada said after unveiling the logo of newly formed Bangalore Defence and Aerospace Journalists' Forum (BDAJF) and delivering the inaugural talk.

"We would have a commercial arm for export of defence items... so that we are going to see a different type of business models," he said.

He noted that DRDO already has a franchisee kind of arrangement with industry body FICCI, which is facilitating marketing of some 10 DRDO-developed products to the industry.

A particular country has come forward to market battlefield surveillance radar developed by DRDO and if it comes through, the order would be worth several hundreds of crores of rupees, Prahlada said.

In the next two-decades, India is projected to overtake many countries including France, UK and Israel to become the world number two, behind China, in terms of defence-related activities, including production. It is not clear if the US would continue to invest in this sector.

In the next 10-15 years, he said DRDO's role would only be limited to being a "think-tank" in government R&D areas, with industries getting into play in a big way.

The department of Science and Technology and Planning Commission were in a dialogue to put in place a formal mechanism to take the fruits of R&D in DRDO, ISRO and department of Atomic Energy to non-strategic departments, state governments and districts, he added.

Source

Saraswat said the DRDO has put in place a "complete framework" on the proposed commercial arm, which is currently in the process of securing necessary government approvals and is expected to be operational next year. He said this arm would customise and provide to the civil population the spin-offs of defence technologies through select industry partners, which would be production agencies.

Source

^^ फिर तो भूल ही जाओ... इस जन्म में नहीं होने वाला.. Just get the private players and be done with it already. This red tapism has almost killed India's indigenous capabilities. China is at least 2 decades ahead of us in indigenous development even if we call it stealing, copying and borrowing. At least during wartime, they will have constant supply of their own stuff rather than wait for shipments from foreign countries.

What Bhul jao??
They are planning to get the Commercial arm of DRDO by end of year.

@ Bolded part

It clearly says that, through selected industry partner (production agencies) the operations will be carried out.

It appears that things are working on schedule these days..... :cool:

DRDO signs MoUs to commercialize technologies

Back in early 2009, India's highly reputed defense organization, the DRDO (Defense Research and Development Organization) had announced that they will be commercializing their technologies as spin-off products for civilian purposes. The DRDO initiated a program called Accelerated Technology Assessment and Commercialization (ATAC) in partnership with the Federation of Indian Chambers of Commerce and Industry (FICCI).

Earlier this week, under the ATAC initiative, the DRDO signed Memorandum of Understanding with 6 private companies giving them access to research and technology for specific commercial purposes.

The scientists working at DRDO are some of the brightest minds in India and have been crucial to India's global perception. With immense research in fields like Avionics, Chemistry and other core competencies, the expertise will help the private sector come up with products for the masses quicker. There has been a belief that some of the best technologies are first developed for defense and military purposes and then filtered for commercial applications.

The 6 MoUs signed by DRDO are with the following companies:

1. Jyothy Laboratories Ltd. and Alkali Metals Ltd., for Multi-insect repellant based on DEPA
2. Jyothy Laboratories for woolcare
3. Vantage Security for explosive detection kit
4. Deltapure Water India Ltd. and Ariva Group for RO based Water Purification System
5. MGM Associates for High Altitude Pulmonary Oedema (HAPO) Chamber
6. GSC Glass Ltd. for electrochromic window

These 6 technologies have direct applications in healthcare for civilians. There is a feeling of pride running through me while writing this article and I am looking forward to seeing the hard work put in by the scientists being used for the betterment of society and not just warfare.

The DRDO is now planning to setup its own commercial arm to further this objective of bringing their research technology to the masses.

ZDnet