Exercise Iron Fist 2016

Nuvneet Kundu

...in the 3D animation of the logo, they had projected a MiG-29 as a Su-30. Mediapersons making such follys is understandable, but it's surprising such mistakes occur within IAF PR departments.
+1 to what @abingdonboy said about DD.

To top it off, they've managed to record the entire event in a magnanimous resolution of...wait for it.. 480P!

Nuvneet Kundu

The camera cut away before I could see what happened :crying:
The whole point of the exercise was not to validate their own tactics, which they already know. It was to show IAF capabilities to others. Now, 'others' here includes Indian tax payers who foot the bill for these expensive flying machines, it also includes outsiders (enemies and allies). The point of the show was that it is meant to be a propaganda exercise, which means that the message that you convey from the exercise is more important than the exercise itself. In that context, there was a complete failure on part of the Information and Broadcasting Ministry given the shoddy coverage that we got to see.

If only they had roped in some BJP-friendly film makers like Madhur Bhandarkar to deploy his crew to record the event in a scenic way, our purpose would have been served. DD (and other PSUs) are plagued by the same professional lethargy which arises from a lack of interest or incentive to keep up with modern times.

India lacks presentation skills, no doubt about it.

Do you have link & this is for night part?
Sorry, i don't have. Though i tried recording it but could not due to PC issues. Though i watched full length. Akash intercepting its target was the best part of night time display. Below is You tube link to what DD has uploaded. Though i have not checked if covers night part.

The whole point of the exercise was not to validate their own tactics, which they already know. It was to show IAF capabilities to others. Now, 'others' here includes Indian tax payers who foot the bill for these expensive flying machines, it also includes outsiders (enemies and allies). The point of the show was that it is meant to be a propaganda exercise, which means that the message that you convey from the exercise is more important than the exercise itself. In that context, there was a complete failure on part of the Information and Broadcasting Ministry given the shoddy coverage that we got to see.

If only they had roped in some BJP-friendly film makers like Madhur Bhandarkar to deploy his crew to record the event in a scenic way, our purpose would have been served. DD (and other PSUs) are plagued by the same professional lethargy which arises from a lack of interest or incentive to keep up with modern times.

This kind of event, if showcased properly could have been outstanding. Look at how Western forces present similar (but much smaller) events. And it isn't just about the coverage on the day but the build up, other than a single online trailer that not many people would have seen there was almost no hype surrounding this event- that is wrong. For not much effort they could have driven a lot of interest in the weeks leading up to this event.

Interviews with pilots, onboard GoPro footage, "cool" posters, social media interaction, "teasers" etc etc. Some militaries would/could have promoted such an event that it rivaled a Hollywood blockbuster.

Instead, what do we get? A single static (grainy) camera shot with poor direction and inconsistent commentry.

You are spot on when you say India's presentation skills are regressive.

People don't get pissed at DD for giving lens time to high dignitaries. Apart from people like us, there is a huge volume of Indians who watch these kind of shows on DD. And these are the people to whom all passenger jets are called Boeing, all fighter jets are Migs, every rifle is AK-47, all howitzer is Bofors.

To them it does matters how their leaders are reacting to those explosions. Surely they can't tell what a LGB is?

Some will even tell you....Jaante ho, amrica ke pass aise missile hai jo Saddam Hussian ko dhundhate hue Khirkiyo me bhi ghus jati thi ....Sure enough they are talking about Tomahawk from Desert Storm 1.

Nuvneet Kundu

People don't get pissed at DD for giving lens time to high dignitaries. Apart from people like us, there is a huge volume of Indians who watch these kind of shows on DD. And these are the people to whom all passenger jets are called Boeing, all fighter jets are Migs, every rifle is AK-47, all howitzer is Bofors.

To them it does matters how their leaders are reacting to those explosions. Surely they can't tell what a LGB is?

Some will even tell you....Jaante ho, amrica ke pass aise missile hai jo Saddam Hussian ko dhundhate hue Khirkiyo me bhi ghus jati thi ....Sure enough they are talking about Tomahawk from Desert Storm 1.
That's precisely why people want it to be perfect. And this was just shoddy performance. DD has the kind of audience (numbers and quality) which no other channel has. While English language news channels clock a few thousand views, DD easily scores a few crore views daily, this makes it all the more important to hire the best talent to lead this national asset. DD is no less than an aircraft carrier in today's era, in terms of strategic importance. At a time when NGO sponsored presstitutes are running a disinformation campaign, DD could be the difference between a well informed electorate and a western backed regime change. In the backdrop of the information warfare that we are facing, if the government isn't even using the tools it has at its disposal then it's probably not taking its own survival seriously.

In fact, we didn't even need a good exercise for there to be a good resultant video. Our planes do all sorts of maneuvers all year round. We could have recorded HD footage of planes doing some of the notable maneuvers and made a mini-documentary out of it and had a small ceremonial exercise. Patch in the reactions of the leaders with the footage you have gathered over the year, make a mini documentary out of it with proper narration, show it on DD, Discovery, Nat Geo and create a spectacle. Instead we did a 3 hour show with poor graphics, shoddy narration, and missed every opportunity to market it to the masses. It just came and went like a yawn.

Compare that to our fantastic coverage of our Mars mission. The build up, the documentary, the social media campaign, the press coverage, it was just perfect. It was probably the kind of thing @abingdonboy was referring to. The information created ripples on a national level and the entire nation was glued to every second of the event.

This 3 minute video packs in more information than the 3 hour video of IAF does.

We need to focus on creating viral-worthy content. Our own Army recruitment advertisement is a good example of what good content looks like.

That's precisely why people want it to be perfect. And this was just shoddy performance. DD has the kind of audience (numbers and quality) which no other channel has. While English language news channels clock a few thousand views, DD easily scores a few crore views daily, this makes it all the more important to hire the best talent to lead this national asset. DD is no less than an aircraft carrier in today's era, in terms of strategic importance. At a time when NGO sponsored presstitutes are running a disinformation campaign, DD could be the difference between a well informed electorate and a western backed regime change. In the backdrop of the information warfare that we are facing, if the government isn't even using the tools it has at its disposal then it's probably not taking its own survival seriously.

In fact, we didn't even need a good exercise for there to be a good resultant video. Our planes do all sorts of maneuvers all year round. We could have recorded HD footage of planes doing some of the notable maneuvers and made a mini-documentary out of it and had a small ceremonial exercise. Patch in the reactions of the leaders with the footage you have gathered over the year, make a mini documentary out of it with proper narration, show it on DD, Discovery, Nat Geo and create a spectacle. Instead we did a 3 hour show with poor graphics, shoddy narration, and missed every opportunity to market it to the masses. It just came and went like a yawn.

Compare that to our fantastic coverage of our Mars mission. The build up, the documentary, the social media campaign, the press coverage, it was just perfect. It was probably the kind of thing @abingdonboy was referring to. The information created ripples on a national level and the entire nation was glued to every second of the event.

This 3 minute video packs in more information than the 3 hour video of IAF does.

We need to focus on creating viral-worthy content. Our own Army recruitment advertisement is a good example of what good content looks like.
The only good explanation is...
Mantralay ke pass paisa nahi hai in sab kamo ke liye. Hawai jahaz dikh jaye sir , vispot dikh jaye bahut hai janta ki entertainment ke liye.

They surely had limited resources for publicity. Which they used badly.

@Rahul Singh, don't worry about media. This kind of thing does not trouble either media or public. Media is happy with anti-nationalist tirades and socialism, as it sells. Public is happy with Saas-Bahu serials.

The people who care are a very very tiny minority.

DD is has just woken up from decade long congress rule. Give it time. BJP led NDA government has some good people at desks. I am sure Defence Minister will take note of concerns that we share with rest of enthusiasts. Things are definite to improve. But we have to wait.

Camera work during RD parade and events like this has been long concern. Given then importance of showing our military might in right way, concerned people like DM will definitely take steps. Because if these people can't then i certainly can't how Antony type can.

chex3009

Sad but true, we have till now lost the war of perception and for forseeable amount of time in future we will keep losing it. With no dearth of enemies within, there's no probable chances of India projecting power and changing perceptions of people outside. A lot of effort goes in making people's opinion and win over their perceptions.

bennedose

A few short video clips
1. Tejas fires R-73 and a piece breaks off the flare

2. Su-30 MKI fires Astra BVRAAM

3. Sonic boom from MiG 29 (Turn volume down. Or up)

Sabru Foxtrot

here is the exclusive video of LCH in action captured by Saurav Chordia on Iron Fist 2016

Exclusive video of IAF Paratroopers jumping from C-17 Globemaster - Exercise Iron Fist 2016

bennedose

..which is pretty sad because our film industry has some of the best photographers and cinematographers in the world and even ad agencies are able to produce works of video art..

If you watch the Indian Fleet Review video you find that the camera pans to Modi's face every 30 sec and stays there for 15 sec

Iron Fist was not much better - the LCA LGB was missed because the camera coordinator was too busy ingratiating himself to his boss by showing VIP faces. If IAF power must be showcased then they need to stop showing VIP chairs and faces for 25 to 30% of the time. Stupid morons. Cricket broadcasts that move at a fast pace are so slick - and they don't miss a thing. How difficult is it to show a dozing/burping/farting VIP in one corner while the show goes on?

Nuvneet Kundu

..which is pretty sad because our film industry has some of the best photographers and cinematographers in the world and even ad agencies are able to produce works of video art..

If you watch the Indian Fleet Review video you find that the camera pans to Modi's face every 30 sec and stays there for 15 sec

Iron Fist was not much better - the LCA LGB was missed because the camera coordinator was too busy ingratiating himself to his boss by showing VIP faces. If IAF power must be showcased then they need to stop showing VIP chairs and faces for 25 to 30% of the time. Stupid morons. Cricket broadcasts that move at a fast pace are so slick - and they don't miss a thing. How difficult is it to show a dozing/burping/farting VIP in one corner while the show goes on?
They missed the target audience of the exercise. It's the youngsters who carry forward the messages which exercises like these convey, and if the youngsters are not impressed by the message emanating out of the exercise then the whole exercise flops. The message should have been tailored for these two groups of targeted audiences : the tax payers and the potential recruits. A good PR exercise rationalizes the money that tax payers spend on defense equipment and at the same time inspires the next generation to take up a career in the armed forces. The exercise failed on both counts.

It seems like the IAF's target audience was not the people but the politicians, like you rightly noted. In their mind, as long as they impress the political bosses who foot the bill for buying more shiny, imported stuff, the purpose of the exercise is served, citizens be damned. Typical IAF.

su35

Any HD pics of Garuds in the exercise? Why Sudarshan LGB was not shown? Do Garud only use Tar 21