Egypt Revolution Developments

Flight from Cairo: Passengers complain of exorbitant AI fares

Mumbai, Feb 1 (PTI) Several Indian passengers who were flown home from strife-hit Cairo on two Air India (AI) flights have complained that the airline charged fares as high as Rs 43,000 for a single ticket to Mumbai.
The flag carrier had operated two flights as a special measure to airlift Indian citizens who were caught in the violent unrest in Egypt but some stranded fliers alleged that they had to shell out almost more than double the cost of a single ticket from Cairo to Mumbai.
"The airline has charged fares as high as USD 980 (Rs 43,000). No doubt they have done a good job by rescuing us from the chaos in Cairo, but charging such exorbitant fares in such a situation is not at all justified," said a passenger, who landed at the Mumbai international airport this morning.
Some of the fliers alleged that the airline did not realise the gravity of the situation and demanded payment only in cash to book a flight ticket.
"They were taking only those people, who were able to pay in cash. They were also not accepting payment either by debit or credit card. Due to this reason, a lot of students, who are not in a position to pay are still stuck in Cairo," another passenger, who reached Mumbai, said.
However, Air India denied that it had over-charged passengers and said these were normal return fares.
"We operated an empty aircraft from Mumbai yesterday to ferry these passengers by pulling out the plane from a scheduled service," an Air India official said.
A one-way ticket costs around Rs 20,000 at least in this sector, said a travel agent here.
Meanwhile, Air India flight AI 800 landed at the Chhatrapati Shivaji International airport at around 6 am with 219 passengers from the troubled nation on board.
Yesterday, a batch of around 300 Indians, stuck in the African country landed here safely, much to the relief of anxiously waiting relatives in the city, who were happy for their luck kins who escaped the tumult that has hit Egypt over the demand for the ouster of President Hosni Mubarak.
Most passengers, who arrived in the first batch in Boeing 747-800 last afternoon were from TATA Steel, which organised a three-day conference in Cairo.
Nearly 550 Indians, including tourists, have been transported back from Egypt till now

http://in.news.yahoo.com/flight-cai...-exorbitant-ai-fares-20110131-232600-054.html

If I had no other alternative, I would still pay a higher than normal price for not getting my luggage stolen.

Indian govt has so much of money can't they offer free service to there citizen or in subsidized rates.

^^I was wondering that..this is a freaking emergency evacuation flight dammit! How can they charge exorbitantly for this?? Why aren't the people getting pissed at this?

Iam also shocked ..It was Air India flight not Virgin Atlantic. Govt of Japan, Thailand, Turkey, Uk flew there citizen out for free. but not India. Jai ho

SHASH2K2

GOI lost hell lot of money in CWG and 2 G scam and now they are running short of money . Now they hope to make at least few lakhs by sucking blood of poor Indians who donot have any option but to pay for it . Boond boond se sagar bharne ka plan hai GOI ka.

Tales Of Egypt Violence As UK Charters Flight

6:25pm UK, Tuesday February 01, 2011
Britons returning home have given dramatic accounts of violence in Egypt, as the UK government charters a flight to bring more people back.One mother arriving at Heathrow Airport told Sky News: "On Saturday night"¦ I don't even know if it was tear gas or gunfire, but there were a lot of loud bangs getting closer and closer.
"And then I looked out of the room on Sunday and there was a burning building, and I could see flames from a car on the street."
An ex-pat arriving at the airport said: "Once they shut down text messaging and emails, we just had the landlines.
"I feel sad leaving my colleagues behind – I'm worried about them.
"I feel I have abandoned them but hopefully I'll be back soon to carry on."
British nationals without a "pressing need" to be in Cairo, Alexandria or Suez are being advised to leave if it is safe.
As the protests intensify, Foreign Secretary William Hague announced he was chartering a flight to go to Egypt on Wednesday for Britons who wish to leave.
The flight will cost £300.

i e 500 dollars campare to 900 by Air India. shame on Indian govt

SHASH2K2

CAIRO: Egyptian President Hosni Mubarak said he will not run for a new term in office in September elections, but rejected demands that he step down immediately and leave the country, vowing to die on Egypt's soil, in a television address Tuesday after a dramatic day in which a quarter-million protesters called on him to go.

Mubarak said he would serve out the rest of his term working to ensure a "peaceful transfer of power'' and carry out amendments to rules on presidential elections.

But the half-way concession - an end to his rule months down the road - was immediately derided by protesters massed in Cairo's main downtown square.

Watching his speech on a giant TV set up in Tahrir square, protesters booed and waved their shoes over the heads in a sign of contempt. "Go, go, go! We are not leaving until he leaves,'' they chanted, and one man screamed, "He doesn't want to say it, he doesn't want to say it.''

The 82-year-old Mubarak, who has ruled the country for nearly three decades, insisted that his decision not to run had nothing to do with the unprecedented protests that have shaken Egypt the past week. "I tell you in all sincerity, regardless of the current circumstances, I never intended to be a candidate for another term.''

"I will work for the final remaining months of the current term to accomplish the necessary steps for the peaceful transfer of power,'' he said.

Mubarak, a former air force commander, resolutely vowed not to flee the country. "This dear nation .. is where I lived, I fought for it and defended its soil, sovereignty and interests. On its soil I will die. History will judge me like it did others.''

His speech came after a visiting envoy of President Barack Obama told Mubarak that his ally the United States sees his presidency at an end. Frank Wisner, a respected former US ambassador to Egypt who is a friend of the Egyptian president, made clear to Mubarak that the US "view that his tenure as president is coming to close,'' according to an administration official, who spoke on condition of anonymity because of the delicacy of the ongoing diplomacy.

Read more: Mubarak says will not run for another term - The Times of India http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...er-term/articleshow/7408453.cms#ixzz1CkU9ydN8

ejazr

Winds of change

Tunisia's Jasmine Revolution has powerful resonances elsewhere in the Arab world

We wait to see if 2011 turns out to be for the Arab world what 1848 was for Europe, the Year of Revolutions that brought governments tumbling like dominoes across that continent. Or like 1989 and 1990 when communist regimes collapsed one after another.

What is clear, though, is that winds of change are blowing across the Arab world that no one would have imagined possible just a couple of months ago.

The notion that a whirlwind would be set off by events in Tunisia, of all places, would have been greeted with derision had it been suggested. It was seen as probably the least Arab of Arab countries, a place so Europeanized that it is almost part of a southern Europe. That the flames of protest started there have resonated so powerfully elsewhere, that they have spread so rapidly, speaks not only of common issues too long ignored — corruption, injustice, cronyism and more — but of a new political consciousness in the Arab world — a consciousness driven by new technologies such as the Internet, social network sites and instantly available TV news but based on a very old political idea. That idea is Pan-Arabism.

From the 1950s to the 1970s, the driving political ideology in many Arab minds was Nasserite socialism. It claimed to have the answers to the Arabs' predicaments. When it was seen to have failed, it was replaced by political Islamism. Are we now seeing an end to its appeal? The demonstrations in Tunisia, Jordan, Yemen and Egypt have not been led by existing political organizations, secular or Islamic.

The Jasmine Revolution in Tunisia has been wholly a people's movement. Islamists had no part in it. In Egypt, the main opposition Islamic Brotherhood was completely sidelined by the speed of public protests. It did not know how to respond. Moreover, the protests are not being replicated in Pakistan or Iran or elsewhere in the wider Muslim world despite known pubic discontent with the state of affairs in such places or despite predictions to that effect from numerous international observers. This is purely an Arab affair. Pan-Arabism is alive and kicking in the Arab street.

All eyes are on Egypt. The situation there is unpredictable but it cannot remain unresolved for long. If President Hosni Mubarak decides to quit before his term of office ends, which so far he appears determined not to do, it will be seen across the Arab world as a victory for the protesters. The protests will spread.

But not everywhere. The Arab world is highly diverse. Libya is not Lebanon. Syria is not Sudan. In particular, it says a great deal about the nature of the Gulf states that they have been wholly immune to the protests. It is not just because they are more prosperous or more conservative societies. It is also because, despite the views of those, particularly in the West, who see representative democracy as the only possible means of involving people in politics, they are much more open, cohesive and united societies. With the majlis system, citizens can have their concerns addressed directly by decision makers. Political legitimacy is not an issue in any of the GCC states. These are crucial differences.

There is, then, no question that winds of change are blowing across the Arab world. They blow unevenly — but where they are seen to blow, they blow powerfully.

SHASH2K2

Clashes Erupt in Cairo Between President's Allies and Foes

CAIRO —Thousands of demonstrators for and against President Hosni Mubarak, some on horses and camels, fought running battles in Cairo's Tahrir Square on Wednesday, despite a call from Egypt's powerful military for the president's opponents to "restore normal life."
The confrontation injected a new and perilous element into the eight-day standoff between anti-government protesters and Mr. Mubarak, hours after he offered to step down in September and President Obama urged a faster transition. The fighting was the first since the antigovernment protesters laid claim to Tahrir Square days ago as they pursued their campaign for Mr. Mubarak's ouster.
On Wednesday, Mr. Mubarak's supporters arrived in larger numbers than had been seen before. Hours before, antigovernment protesters had been chanting: "We are not going to go; we are not going to go."
In counterpoint, demonstrators supporting Mr. Mubarak chorused on Wednesday: "He's not going to go; he's not going to go."
Volleys of rocks flew between the two groups and many protesters were led away with bleeding head wounds. The clashes erupted close to the Egyptian Museum housing a huge trove of priceless antiquities.
Plumes of smoke, apparently from tear gas, rose as the rival crowds surged back and forth.
"Where's the Egyptian army?" anti-government demonstrators chanted.
"They are trying to create chaos," said a pro-government demonstrator, Mohamed Ahmed, 30. "This is what Mubarak wants."
The army took no immediate action as the skirmishes intensified, leaving the competing demonstrators to press towards one another. But troops with bayonets fixed to their AK-47 assault rifles fanned out near the museum as antigovernment protesters sought to build makeshift barricades to keep their foes at bay.
Witnesses said the pro-government supporters had arrived in their thousands, but were outnumbered by Mr. Mubarak's opponents.
"With our blood, with our souls we sacrifice for you, oh Mubarak," the president's supporters chanted, waving Egyptian flags. Among the progovernment demonstrators, 18 men on horseback and two on camels charged against their adversaries.
Earlier, on state television, a military spokesman had asked the government's foes: "Can we walk safely down the street? Can we go back to work regularly? Can we go out into the streets with our children to schools and universities? Can we open our stores, factories and clubs?"
"You are the ones able to restore normal life," he said.
"Your message was received and we know your demands," the spokesman said. "We are with you and for you."
The army's role and its ultimate game-plan have remained opaque, with soldiers seeming to fraternize with protesters, without moving against the elite to which its officers belong. While the military has said it will not use force against peaceful protesters, the signs on Wednesday suggested that any gap between it and Mr. Mubarak was narrowing.
The announcement by a military spokesman appeared to be a call for demonstrators, who have turned out in hundreds of thousands in recent days, to leave the streets. It came as high-powered diplomacy between Cairo and Washington unfolded at a blistering pace and reverberations from the protest spread on Wednesday to one more corner of the Arab world in Yemen, where President Ali Abdullah Saleh promised to leave in 2013.
On Tuesday, after a 10-minute television address in which Mr. Mubarak pledged to step down within months as modern Egypt's longest-serving leader, President Obama strongly suggested that Mr. Mubarak's concession was not enough, declaring that an "orderly transition must be meaningful, it must be peaceful, and it must begin now."
While the meaning of the last phrase was deliberately vague, it appeared to be a signal that Mr. Mubarak might not be able to delay the shift to a new leadership.
In Tahrir Square, some pro-Mubarak supporters appeared genuinely convinced by the president's speech. At the same time, there were widespread, though uncorroborated, allegations that many of those supporters were paid government plants.
In a separate development, Internet access, denied for days by official restrictions, began to return.
Hundreds of pro-Mubarak protesters converged on a square in the upscale Mohandiseen neighborhood on Wednesday morning, many of them carrying identical signs and banners praising the Egyptian president.
Others carried a gold-framed portrait of the president. In Tahrir Square, sporadic clashes erupted between supporters of Mr. Mubarak and anti-government marchers, but the military took no immediate steps to intervene.
Messages sent to Egyptian cellphone users on Wednesday seemed intended to reinforce the official line. "Youth of Egypt beware of the rumors and listen to the voice of reason," read one message. "Egypt is above all. Preserve it."

The developments were part of a fast-moving sequence of events that could open a new and unpredictable chapter as President Mubarak seeks to reclaim the initiative after days of protests that have turned the center of the capital into a huge and sometimes festive display of opposition that almost left Washington behind. .
In a 30-minute phone call to Mr. Mubarak just before his public remarks late on Tuesday, Mr. Obama was more forceful in insisting on a rapid transition, according to officials familiar with the discussion.
Mr. Mubarak's speech announcing he would step down came after his support from the powerful Egyptian military began to look uncertain and after American officials urged him not to run again for president.
But Mr. Mubarak's offer fell short of the protesters' demands for him to step down immediately and even face trial, and it could well inflame passions in an uprising that has rivaled some of the most epic moments in Egypt's contemporary history. The protests have captivated a broader Arab world that saw a leader fall in Tunisia last month and growing protests against other American-backed governments.
Mr. Mubarak, 82, said he would remain in office until a presidential election in September and, in emotional terms, declared that he would never leave Egypt.
"The Hosni Mubarak who speaks to you today is proud of his achievements over the years in serving Egypt and its people," he said, wearing a dark suit and seeming vigorous in the speech broadcast on state television. "This is my country. This is where I lived, I fought and defended its land, sovereignty and interests, and I will die on its soil."
In Tahrir Square, crowds waved flags as the speech was televised on a screen in the square. "Leave!" they chanted, in what has become a refrain of the demonstrations.
"There is nothing now the president can do except step down and let go of power," said Mohammed el-Beltagui, a leader of the Muslim Brotherhood, Egypt's most powerful opposition group, which has entered into the fray with Mr. Mubarak. Those sentiments were echoed by other voices of the opposition, including Mohamed ElBaradei, a Nobel laureate, and Ayman Nour, a longtime dissident.
The speech and the demonstration, whose sheer numbers represented a scene rarely witnessed in the Arab world, illustrated the deep, perhaps unbridgeable, divide that exists between ruler and ruled in Egypt, the most populous Arab country and once the axis on which the Arab world revolved.
The events here have reverberated across a region captivated by an uprising that in some ways has brought a new prestige to Egypt in an Arab world it once dominated culturally and politically. King Abdullah II of Jordan fired his cabinet after protests there on Tuesday, and the Palestinian cabinet in the West Bank said it would hold long-promised municipal elections "as soon as possible." Organizers in Yemen and Syria, countries with their own authoritarian rulers, have called for protests this week.
In his speech, Mr. Mubarak was pugnacious, accusing protesters of sowing chaos and political forces here of adding "fuel to the fire." He fell back to the refrain that has underlined his three decades in power — security and stability — and vowed that he would spend his remaining months restoring calm.
"The events of the past few days impose on us, both citizens and leadership, the choice between chaos and stability," he said. "I am now absolutely determined to finish my work for the nation in a way that ensures its safekeeping."
American officials were clearly disappointed by Mr. Mubarak's effort to stay in office for the next eight months, but Mr. Obama, saying, "It is not the role of any other country to determine Egypt's leaders," stopped short of demanding that Mr. Mubarak leave office immediately.
But if Mr. Obama pushed Mr. Mubarak, he did not shove him, at least in his public remarks. He commended the Egyptian military for its "professionalism and patriotism" in refusing to use force against the protesters, comments that clearly undercut Mr. Mubarak's efforts to maintain control. He praised the protesters for their peaceful action, and he reinforced that "the status quo is not sustainable."
Mr. Obama was clearly hopeful that Mr. Mubarak would decide to leave office sooner. But he warned there would be "difficult days ahead," a clear signal that he expected the transition period to be lengthy, and messy.
The uprising, though, seems to have brought a new dynamic to political life here, on display in the scenes of jubilation and protest in Tahrir, or Liberation, Square. The government suffered what could prove a fatal blow to its credibility as police authority collapsed Saturday and Mr. Mubarak's officials met the early protests with half-hearted measures. On Monday, the army said it would not fire on protesters, calling their demands legitimate and leaving Mr. Mubarak with few options.
Protesters defied a curfew that has become a joke to residents and overcame attempts by the government to keep them at bay by suspending train service, closing roads and shutting down public transportation to Cairo. Peasants from the south joined Islamists from the Nile Delta, businessmen and street-smart youths from gritty Bulaq to join in the bluntest of calls at the protest: that Mr. Mubarak leave immediately.
"Welcome to a free Egypt," went one cry.
"No one would have imagined a week before that this would happen in Egypt," said Basel Ramsis, 37, a film director who returned from Spain for the uprising. "I had to be here. We all have to be here. The Egyptian people can change Egypt now."
As the uprising has spread, thousands of foreigners have sought to flee the country in chaotic scenes at the Cairo airport. The United States ordered all nonemergency embassy staff members and other American government personnel to leave the country, fearing unrest as the protests build toward Friday, when organizers hope for even bigger crowds in what they portray as a last push.
In the long years of Mr. Mubarak's rule, Egypt was spared the brutality of Saddam Hussein's Iraq and the delusions of the Baath Party in Syria. But his brand of despotism produced an authoritarianism that suffocated his people, a bureaucracy that corrupted the most mundane transaction and a malaise that saw Egypt turn inward.
"I've always said that my age is 60, but I haven't lived for 30 years," said Leila Abu Nasr, walking with her husband, Sharif. "We could have done so much more."
Tens of thousands of people also took to the streets of Alexandria, Egypt's second-largest city, and other protests gathered in the Nile Delta, in the south and along the Suez Canal.
In an ominous sign that the unrest had not ended, about 250 pro-Mubarak demonstrators attacked the crowd of several thousand in Alexandria with knives and sticks, witnesses said. A dozen people were injured in the melee that followed, medical officials on the scene said. The army fired warning shots to separate the groups.

S.A.T.A

The longer the revolution is allowed to meander,greater the chances the ordinary people are going to grow weary of this this limp stalemate.Mubarak will be waiting to strike back once the weariness kicks in.Th revolutionaries should so haste in toppling the govt,occupy the seats of power,gherao the presidential palace,force Mubarak out instead of a prolonged negotiation,you cant bargain your freedom with a tyrant.

News on TV don't look. Looks like the situation is rapidly worsening. Protests have gone violent with a pro mubarak faction trying to break the anti protesters. Luckily the army is neutral and kind of pro protesters. The police is off the scene.
Things can get very ugly from here on. I don't know why Mubarak does not step down now instead of waiting for 6 months and in the mean time so many lives might be lost.

civfanatic

Am watching it live on CNN. Situation does not look good at all.

pro mubarak faction is nothing but those who benefit from looting the country and paid goons similar to paid stone pelters in kashmir.

Oh man... that's nasty! What a pain when you think that Egypt was the fastest growing economy in North Africa and a potential contestant along with South Africa in the BRIC nations.

Yesterday, I saw this video and was moved by the spirit of the solidarity shown by the Egyptians: