DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

View attachment 18236 View attachment 18237
DRDO successfully tested new Precision Guided High Speed Low Drag (PGHSLD) aircraft bomb.
PGHSLD mid-course guidance is by fiber optic gyro based GPS-INS module ( GPS receivers + inertial navigation system ) with laser homing in terminal phase

the terminal seeker used is a semi active laser seeker mounted on a gimbal assembly

CEP <30M using only GPS-INS

CEP <3m using SAL seeker in terminal phase

guidance is dual GPS/INS + SAL therefor is immune to jamming

max range should be around 30km depending on release altitude

tail unit comprises of
1.4 separately actuated control surfaces
2.GPS-INS module
3.GPS receivers
4.flight control unit / avionics

nose unit comprises of.
1.fixed control surfaces
2.GPS receivers
3.gimballed SAL seeker

harsh

Are you retard or what m8? Though its good to be a nationalist but being a blind one comes with a price and yeah the price is ignorance.

This footage shows their indigenous gun smiths.

I bet they can design better shit than the indigenous shit tier assault rifle we have,fuck atleast replicate a Bulgarian AK,its not rocket science.

Gun rights and open market can only save this country,this is what happens when you hand out your govt to commies.
Wow
Now i am a retard to be nationalist.
And you are not because you are not a nationalist.
Man any body can make a gun. In bihar and MP criminals are making a good copy (good only for them because they can't get it from anywhere else) of ak47 .

If you think our army standard is so low that they can accept a gun which have quality of pak illegal market then you are retard. Plz check before posting. Our army recently rejected sig, berreta, cz801.

So plz don't make it personal like retard before checking your facts.

What can we do if we have such generals in our army
What do you mean? He is right and called a spade a spade. He's hit the nail on the head.

The problem with you is that you have not been to any Ordnance factory and seen how they function and what kind of technology they use which is as old as the Himalayas. No R&D, no nothing. The workers rule the roost and there's zero accountability. Try firing someone and the factory comes to a grinding halt with unions going on hartals etc. It's the law of the jungle.

These factories are the failed legacy of Nehruvian ideals of socialism and centralization. Privatization was a bad word. We need to change with times and shut down most ordnance factories and hand over responsibility of production to the private sector.

Following are some opinions and facts, I'd like to put forward, hoping that ensuing discussion would take place on the basis of reason and logic and not petty personal grudges. Since I am having some kind of technical difficulties, I cannot write it as an article but as a series of posts, something I'll try to remedy as soon as possible so kindly bear with me.

Is India better off with or without OFB?

OFB is the oldest organization belonging to government of India, established in 1775 by East India Company. As of today, the primary responsibility of OFB is manufacturing of ordanance and vehicles among other things for the Indian Armed Forces. Since the independence of India in 1947, OFB has been the sole provider of various aforementioned items with few minor private players in between. This unholy monopoly was the result of decades long failed policies initiated by the first PM of India, Jawaharlal Nehru which gave India its infamous License Raj.

OFB as an organization employs more people (164,000) than two of the three largest defence contractors in the world put together, namely Boeing Defense, Space & Security (50,699) and BAE (82,500) with few glaring differences.

Unlike the above mentioned defence contractors which are well known for intensive R&D, creating pathbreaking technologies and revolutionary products, OFB manufacturers licensed products based on TOT gained from other organizations like DRDO, IWI, UVZ etc.

The combined revenue generated by these two companies is upwards of $50 billion against $3 billion generated by OFB during the same period.

Someone may point out that I maybe comparing apples with oranges and that maybe I should compare OFB with ordanance makers. For that I present to you the case of ATK, one of the largest of its kind. ATK has 16,000 employees and generated $4.7 billion during year 2014.

NOTE: Since, I am writing this in a hurry, the figures haven't been vetted thoroughly and are open to corrections as well as constructive criticism.

OFB has long enjoyed the unnatural monopoly, which has resulted in substandard products, higher costs, shoddy work ethics and contributed to the ruin of one of the largest Military Industrial Complex outside of Europe and North America after the culmination of WW2. This has resulted in turning India into one of the largest defence importers of the world and at the same time sufferer of chronic shortage of equipment and ammunition, ranging from the desperately needed 155mm howitzers and assorted ammunition to modern small arms.

CAG has routinely criticized OFB for its work ethics which results in harming Indian Armed Forces preparedness to fight a war. This is unacceptable for a country with two nuclear capable adversaries with large armies of their own.

Ammunition Shortages

According to the 2015 report of CAG, Indian Army suffers from chronic shortages of critical ammunition ranging from 155 mm rounds for howitzers to 125 mm rounds for main battle tanks to the piddly 9mm rounds for pistols and submachine guns. India has suffered the consequence of such blunders when it ran out of ammunition during Kargil War and had to import ammunition from Israel and paid through its nose for doing so. Bharat Forge received an order for emergency production of 155mm rounds. Though present NDA government has initiated a course correction, it falls short hilariously. Ten years of either deliberate or accidental sabotage by previous UPA can't be washed away in just 2 or 3 years.

Faulty ammunition

OFB is not just responsible for ammo shortages but also for the death of men in uniform. Over one lakh faulty anti tank mines provided by the OFB resulted in Pulgaon depot fire which claimed the life of 16 including 2 officers, though Army shares the blame for it as well. 2 BSF soldiers have been killed and 43 have been injured as a result of faulty ammo. These are some of the many examples.

Lethargy or criminal negligence?

The mere mention of Kargil War invokes the memory of the infamous Bofors guns raining hell on Pakistani intruders. Whatever taint Bofors carried, it was washed away by the blood of Pakistani troops so it was nothing short of a tragedy that when Army was running from pillar to pole to induct more 155mm howitzers, OFB was comfortably mum. It wasn't till 2009 when COAS V K Singh said that he is going to import the guns, OFB in a Shyamlan like twist revealed that they had the blueprints all along.

Financial Drain

In 2015-16 MOD spent Rs 54,500 crores on pensions, 36% of which was spent on defence civilians. Since, OFB is the largest component of defence civilians, it got away with a major chunk of the money allotted for pensions. To put this into perspective, an OFB employee which makes 19th century Dunali (Double barrel shotgun) is entitled to the same pension as the jawan sitting atop Bana post in Siachen.

Conclusion : It is about time the armed forces, government and people of this country take a stand against the epic disaster that is OFB. They are already creating a ruckus, that government is mulling privatization of OFB as the last thing they want to do is an honest day's work and be accountable for their actions.

and just like old handlooms in Bhagalpur met their destiny same way lack of common-sense caused OFB to come to this stage.
Trying to be extra clever the planners and policy makers lost their common sense!

It will also push govts to wage wars.

We saw it happen with America.

For some reason I am not comfortable seeing Private enter defence manufacturing.
The American MIC needs to push America into war regularly because America doesn't have any enemy at its gates, and no country across the oceans is foolish enough to want to go to war with them either. So they need to make up random enemies and wage pointless wars to keep getting giant orders. But this is not the case with India. China isn't going anywhere, and neither is a nuclear pakistan, which each look for the slightest opportunity to strike us. So there is ample reason for our armed forces to keep stock of the most advanced weapons available without having to go to war, or to invent an enemy. So I don't think the consequences you're afraid of apply to India.

NeXoft007

IMG_20170728_163302.jpg

Can't find a suitable thread to post it, so fuck this shit. If our Thermonuclear device with 200 kT yield weighs 270kg, and net weight of 340kg when integrated inside Mk. 5 warhead (shown in the pic below), then it makes full sense that we already have megaton yield warhead.
Re-entry-vehicle-options.jpg

Agni 3 have 3.5 tons payload/ throwweight actually. So, we do have megaton yield warhead and ability to cover 5000 km with 1.8 ton payload. Now these revelations makes Agni V's actual capabilities questionable.
Range_vs_payload.jpg