DRDO, PSU and Private Defence Sector News

Presently their is plenty of material required from OFB, To arm a Army of +3 million and i doubt anyone else can do that, The needed material is not yet in the scenario due to this kind of blame bazi, If OFB is not working as per need then it need to be kicked hard at its bottom and Government will support this as its doing with HAL ..

The Gentlemen officers speaks wrong and also right, But the question is what he is trying to imply here when OFB have provided AR in 6 month time when they changed to nonsense 7.62nato, Further Dhanush is still not yet induced in mass despite it was ready back in 2013, Where is TATA DRDO tata drdo kestrel when we are spending millions after BMP-2, What happens to Arjun when they beat down T-90 bhishmas ..

He encourage Pvt sector is a right thing, But under what context he is making this statement now is very doubtful.

when they make improvements at ofb then while doing that maybe they should change the name of the ofb with austrian or czech sounding name ,
maybe then these foreign obsessed corrupt army officers gonna start liking their manufacturing .

Zero-Sum-Game

@Kunal Biswas bhai, do you think ofb did a good job on the 7.62 nato 1c rifle..? i have read your concerns about the magzine design but still that leaves rest of the features like mag release, sights and lack of ingenuity on the design.
I have a question for you though, the r&d is not the strongest of the suites of the ofb board then why do the factories compete for the weapon designs and dont club together their resources? isnt it a self goal?

I am quite satisfied with the design because i see its another 1B1 in 7.62nato, Same handling and other procedure will be same, The more new things one adds the more alien it looks to the basic grunt, When their was a transition from SLR to INSAS their were many problems one including oiling procedure as they used to do with SLR which resulted in oil spilling in many fine 1b1 rifles ..

OFB is better with R&D and not serial production, L1 bidders make quality bad, Regarding clubing together i cannot say much as i don`t have proper insight ..

@Kunal Biswas bhai, do you think ofb did a good job on the 7.62 nato 1c rifle..? i have read your concerns about the magzine design but still that leaves rest of the features like mag release, sights and lack of ingenuity on the design.
I have a question for you though, the r&d is not the strongest of the suites of the ofb board then why do the factories compete for the weapon designs and dont club together their resources? isnt it a self goal?

charlie

Presently their is plenty of material required from OFB, To arm a Army of +3 million and i doubt anyone else can do that, The needed material is not yet in the scenario due to this kind of blame bazi, If OFB is not working as per need then it need to be kicked hard at its bottom and Government will support this as its doing with HAL ..

The Gentlemen officers speaks wrong and also right, But the question is what he is trying to imply here when OFB have provided AR in 6 month time when they changed to nonsense 7.62nato, Further Dhanush is still not yet induced in mass despite it was ready back in 2013, Where is TATA DRDO tata drdo kestrel when we are spending millions after BMP-2, What happens to Arjun when they beat down T-90 bhishmas ..

He encourage Pvt sector is a right thing, But under what context he is making this statement now is very doubtful.
Well the gentlemen is taking pot shot at OFB because of backdrop of something. In the case private sector motivated him and for the right reason. It seems the private sector complained to PMO office.

"While the Ministry of Defence is still undecided about keeping out the inefficient public sector undertakings (PSUs) from manufacturing vital ammunition, the Indian Army continues to wait for it.

Inexplicable flip-flop by the Ministry of Defence (MoD) over a decision to keep out inefficient public sector undertakings from participating in fresh tenders to manufacture vital ammunition for the Indian Army, has dismayed private players in the fray.

Eight Requests for Proposal (RFI) were issued in November last year for the manufacture of different kinds of ammunition needed urgently by the Indian Army. The contracts, once finalised would run into at least USD 5 billion worth of orders over the next decade.

In fact, the MoD had in 2015 recognised the need to augment capacity for ammunition manufacture in private sector since the Indian DPSUs and the Ordnance Factory Board (OFB) were unable to meet the perpetual critical shortages faced by the Army. Pre-bid meetings were accordingly held with prospective private players in late 2016. In these meetings, PSUs—Bharat Electronics Ltd (BEL), Electronic Corporation of India Ltd (ECIL) and OFB — were not invited as the MOD had decided to build additional capacities in the private sector only.

Subsequently, Director General Ordnance Services (DGOS), published RFPs in March this year for procurement of eight types of critical Ammunition Stores inviting offers from the private sector only. The intended participation of Indian private industry in this segment was aimed at harnessing the capabilities of the private sector to accelerate the process of indigenisation of strategic ammunitions to meet the requirements of Armed Forces.

The MoD had good reasons not to allow DPSU participation. According to figures available with those who have the responsibility to deal with ammunition availability, BEL and ECIL, entrusted with manufacturing the crucial electronic fuses meant for 105 and 130 mm guns, will take five and six years respectively to complete the existing orders given to them, because of their own track record, dating back to many years, of manufacturing just about 50,000 fuses per month.

The Army cannot wait so long. Therefore the decision to invite the private sector participation in what is considered a strategic sector was taken. The idea was to create additional capacity in the country (in the private sector) even as DPSUs continued to manufacture part of the requirement.

Accordingly, sources say as part of the RFP process, the pre-bid meeting was held at Sena Bhavan on 8 May 2017 in which DPSUs were not allowed to participate as the response was invited only from the private sector. In fact, representatives of some PSUs who happened to be in the room were barred from attending the pre-bid discussion.

Then suddenly, in early June following vigorous lobbying by representatives of ECIL and BEL, the Department of Defence Production (DDP) apparently reversed the earlier decision not to allow DPSUs to participate in the eight RFPs under discussion.

The fear among private sector players now is that the level playing field that was being offered by the MoD by keeping the DPSUs out is being abandoned. The reason is simple: DPSUs already have the rights to technology sourced from abroad–and purchased earlier. They can, therefore, quote a price much lower than the private manufacturers who are still in talks with some of their foreign partners for the Transfer of Technology (ToT). “In the event, this RFP is extended for bidding to DPSUs, PSUs and OFB… (it will) result in a further additional price advantage to the DPSUs, PSUs and OFB due to the ability to cross-subsidize across two different orders,” one of the associations said in a letter to the government.

While the DPSUs can theoretically supply crucial ammunition at a lower price, they are certainly not in a position to meet the timelines prescribed by the Army. In any case, the Army is not taking away the orders from the DPSUs; the private players would only add to indigenous capacity.

As other private sector competitors said in a communication to the government: “We learn that the PSUs are being allowed to participate in the bidding which would definitely be a retrograde step…allowing the entry of PSUs will be the repeat of the PSUs dependent model which has repeatedly failed miserably over all those years.”

Almost all of them have sought reversal of the MoD decision and have even approached the Prime Minister’s office (PMO) to intervene in the matter.

While the government’s final decision is awaited, there is clearly an internal tussle on within the MoD, given that the final extension for participation in the eight crucial ammunition tenders is yet to be published by the ministry."

Meanwhile, the Army continues to wait for the crucial ammunition.
https://swarajyamag.com/defence/-fl...ys-acquisition-of-crucial-ammunition-for-army

Ammunition shortage has a very different context and in that context its quite logical to order ammunition from Private sector which will be license or Tot, from DRDO or foreign ..

square

Strategic Issues
i think vcoas has just overstated in the heat of the moment......."atishookti allankar " as we say in hindi .....

vcoas might be unhappy to get their mortars on time , compare to that of pakistan.....but vcoas also should remind that unlike india , pakistani army do not complaint even if 50% of their bombs do not explode ...

The Ultranationalist

Why it wouldnt be, our own generals and officers have played a key role in sabotaging indegenous weapon programs, just see that chinese tin can jf17, it aint shit when compared to tejas but look at the attitude of our air force, they want an engine with 95 kn of thrust in it, rafale has 2 × 75 kn thrust engine and kaveri has peaked 84 kn. Arjuns too have both outrunned and outgunned t90s but army has found an issue with its weight.

http://www.business-standard.com/ar...runs-outguns-russian-t-90-110032500022_1.html

Pandora

Well many members will go berserk reading this post but still my honest reply is why this vice chief litterly begged to ofb to do some jugaad for imported items.I will not name those items here but yes OFB is still in lala land with 9-6 typical babu dom office but calling Pakistani OFB a better choice shows his knowledge about enemy.

mavles ihctep

Pakis inducted their junk fighter 2007.This year only they integrated glide bomb in junk fighter. It took them almost 10 years to integrate glide bomb in junk fighter. While our airforce is reluctant to induct LGB capable fighter jet

VVice chief is overestimating paki capabilities in paki defence industry. In 1965 war one stupid General's's false report on ammuntion level led to early ceasefire agreement while our army is advancing other hand pakis almost exhausted their entire ammunition.

The people who usually defend OFB won't buy a Hindustan Motors Ambassador if they can buy a Baleno and won't fly in Air India if Indigo is available. Reason being, it's easy to talk high and mighty when you don't have the skin in the game.

OFB is as patriotic and relevant as HMT. A relic from license raj era which is incredibly shitty at its job yet enjoy perks like no other.

The reason you need more privatization is not just because of quality control and professionalism but simple economics dictates that unlike Sarkari babus, private sector employees don't get bungalows and pensions etc.

As for the nobody can equip 3 million strong army other than the Vishnu's 11th avatar called OFB, Tata group is worth $100 motherfuking BILLION. If no, then feel free to go back to BSNL landlines, Premier Padminis, HMT watches and Dyonara TVs.

... simple economics dictates that unlike Sarkari babus, private sector employees don't get bungalows and pensions etc.
They do if they perform. You can always substitute pension for stock.

valkyrie_1810

What can we do if we have such generals in our army
Are you retard or what m8? Though its good to be a nationalist but being a blind one comes with a price and yeah the price is ignorance.

This footage shows their indigenous gun smiths.

I bet they can design better shit than the indigenous shit tier assault rifle we have,fuck atleast replicate a Bulgarian AK,its not rocket science.

Gun rights and open market can only save this country,this is what happens when you hand out your govt to commies.

They do if they perform. You can always substitute pension for stock.
As you rightly pointed out, performance and stock options are precisely what they are "options". Pensions are compulsory and life long.

It's a dog eat dog world out there man. You get the boot within months if not weeks for not performing, unlike the chai biscoot munching, safari suit & bata chappal wearing, gutka spitting assholes who fucked up this country to its very core.

As you rightly pointed out, performance and stock options are precisely what they are "options". Pensions are compulsory and life long.

It's a dog eat dog world out there man. You get the boot within months if not weeks for not performing, unlike the chai biscoot munching, safari suit & bata chappal wearing, gutka spitting assholes who fucked up this country to its very core.
Absolutely and as it should be. While I do not advocate an anarcho-capitalist libertarian paradise, however the state of our sarkari factories is pathetic. The whole mindset of sarkari job security is ridiculous.

Irreverent mostly & 'motherfuking ' 100 Billion is now where the total cost of R&D infrastructure presently owned by Government R&D organizations ..

Besides, In last many decades its OFB that has proved to provide large quantity of arms and ammunition, No private sector came forward, Only during this Government rule Pvt sector is getting its much deserve place but they have not proven themselves yet, I will not bet everything on some who are untested..

Tata group is worth $100 motherfuking BILLION. .