Your point being ???

=======================================

Your point being ???

=======================================
Who, me?

Average cost of a single BPJ is Rs 28,000 not Rs 1.5 lakh as mentioned in the article. Army needs 3.5 lakh units. Simple maths will give you the figure of 980 crore for equipping the army and that too if you keep the cost at 28,000 which will inevitably go down because economies of scale.

Even if you add, CAPFs like BSF, CRPF & ITBP to the list, you will get somewhere close to 3000 crores.

A far cry from the 20,000 crores.

It will now get 50,000 such vests for which it had to sign an "emergency" procurement contract worth Rs 140 crores.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...vests-needs-3-5-lakh/articleshow/51624423.cms
Let me quote few lines from the TOI report you have provided.

However, when the samples failed to meet requirements, the Army vice-chief's existing financial powers were "relaxed as a one-time exception" to ensure the urgent purchase of 50,000 jackets based on older technical specifications.
"The prototype has successfully undergone stage-1 and 2 trials. It will be a contender in the fresh capital procurement case being initiated again for the first lot of 1.86 lakh jackets," said a source.

When the acquisition of these 1.86 lakh jackets was first approved by the defence acquisitions council in October 2009, each was estimated to cost around Rs 50,000.
Now quoting from ET report.

Currently, India spends Rs 1.5 lakh on a single jacket used by the military and para-military forces. These jackets are imported from America.
Rounding up requirement of 1.86Lakh to approx 2Lakh gives us a saving of 1lakh per piece, which rounds up to 2000crore.

@Chinmoy Bruh...The source you posted is a typical example of Indian media which as always is clueless.

No, India do not spend 1.5 lakh for a BPJ. There is no evidence for it apart from the article itself. Army wanted NIJ level iv but for emergency procurement bought level iii. Level iv which it hasn't bought yet still won't go 1.5 lakh which is 5 times the cost of a level iii. US IOTV with plates go for $1000 retail. You can comfortably slash that in half for bulk military procurement. Even if India bought a Rs 1.5 lakh jacket, you are still looking at Rs 2,000 crore not 20,000 crore (every year according to the article).

Its better you clarify what you are intend to suggest in your posts ..

Big red fonts does not clarify anything, Keep font normal as its easy to read ..

@Chinmoy Bruh...The source you posted is a typical example of Indian media which as always is clueless.

No, India do not spend 1.5 lakh for a BPJ. There is no evidence for it apart from the article itself. Army wanted NIJ level iv but for emergency procurement bought level iii. Level iv which it hasn't bought yet still won't go 1.5 lakh which is 5 times the cost of a level iii. US IOTV with plates go for $1000 retail. You can comfortably slash that in half for bulk military procurement. Even if India bought a Rs 1.5 lakh jacket, you are still looking at Rs 2,000 crore not 20,000 crore (every year according to the article).
You might be correct on price front as there is no specific source from where we could have the price of any short of BPJ. But this 1.5lakh is not only being quoted by ET, but its been around in various news report. May be this price quote has came out of single source. But as a layman when I did some peddling on price front, this is what been provided in Indian market.

http://www.securityplanet.co/self-defense-products.html#bullet-proof-vest

Now NIJ IIIa level vest does costs 60K in Indian market. I am not sure if its Indian made or imported, but nevertheless a imported vest is not going to cost any where less. Now if we go for this same one on bulk prchase basis, maximum cost benefir would not be more then 10% or we should look at a price of 50K at max. No where it would be offered at 30K price tag. Now if this might be the cost of level IIIa vest, a price tag of 1.5 lakh for imported level IV is not far fetched.

Maybe someone who have knowledge on procurement front could shed some light.

http://www.dailyexcelsior.com/defence-minister-unveils-drdos-achievements-2014-17/

Defence Minister unveils DRDO’s achievements of 2014-17

NEW DELHI: Defence Minister Arun Jaitley today unveiled a compilation of the achievements of the Defence Research & Development Organisation (DRDO) here.

Addressing an event to unveil the compilation of the “DRDO Key Achievements 2014-17”, Mr Jaitley said a number of DRDO-developed weapon systems, platforms, dual use equipment have been accepted and inducted in the Indian Armed Forces and Paramilitary Forces.

DRDO Chairman and Secretary, Department of Defence R&D, S Christopher, Chief of the Army Staff General Bipin Rawat, Vice Chief of the Naval Staff Vice Admiral Karambir Singh, Vice Chief of the Air Staff Air Marshal SB Deo and other senior officials of the Ministry and the DRDO graced the occasion.

Some of the notable successful tests completed and inducted are Tejas fighters, Airborne Early Warning and Control System (AEW&C) System, Akash Weapon System, SONAR systems, Varunastra Torpedo, Bharani Weapon Locating Radar (WLR), Nuclear Biological Chemical (NBC) Recce Vehicle, AGNI-V, Long Range Surface to Air Missile (LRSAM), Medium Range Surface to Air Missile (MRSAM), NAG, Advanced Towed Array Gun (ATAG), Wheeled Armoured platform (WhAP), RUSTOM-II MALE Unmanned Aerial Vehicle.

The production value of DRDO developed products, cleared by the Defence Acquisition Council has grown by 60 per cent in the last three years to approximately Rs 2,57,000-crore from nearly Rs 1,61,000-crore.

The export potential of DRDO developed systems has also increased manifolds and this year export of torpedo stands at 37.9-million dollars. This is a step towards achieving self-reliance in critical defence systems and realisation of the Prime Minister’s vision of ‘Make in India’. (AGENCIES)

any idea what is manufactured in OFB Korwa and OFB nalanda?

1) snapshot of DRDO current and future product development.
Screen Shot 2017-06-14 at 12.16.14 AM.png

2) looks like there have been capacity upgrades in multiple OFB factories.

Krusty

I think it is time that India moves on from the Soviet/Russian model of appointing scientists as chiefs (with all due respect to the scientists) and hire professional CEOs like Western defence companies.

We have scientists who are very good at their jobs but management is not their cup of tea.
And then create sub companies run by Scientists because they know CEO isn't upto the job when push comes to shove..

Case in point skunkworks for Lockheed and phantomworks for Boeing. Both the CEOs stay well out of their operations. :)

Precisely what CEOs are supposed to do. Their job is to manage and market.

Management is something taught by institution itself since the inception of the individual into the organization ..

This is something common in defense forces and scientific organizations ..

NeXoft007

Hope they released the goddamm pics of K4 SLBM, SAAW, QR-SAM in that book.

kunal1123

idrw.org
Hindustan Turbo-Shaft Engine (HTSE) 1200 makes Progress: Report
2 minutes
SOURCE: IDRW NEWS NETWORK

Earlier this year, At Aero India idrw.org, was first to report on Scale model of the Hindustan Turbo-Shaft Engine (HTSE) 1200 Rotary engines for Helicopters displayed at the event. as per latest information provided by the Industrial sources to idrw.org, HAL has started assembly of the first engine to begin ground trials.

Metal cutting had begun for HTSE-1200 in FY2016-17 and now the assembly of the engine followed by initial ground runs will be done in next few months.

HTSE-1200 Engine for Helicopters is an In-house project initiated by Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd to replace Indo-French co-developed Shakti engines for LUH, LCH and ALH Series of Indigenous Helicopters developed by HAL in India.

HAL plans to use HTSE-1200 in the single engine configuration to power LUH and HTSE-1200 in the twin engine configuration to power ALH, LCH. HTSE-1200 develops a power of 1200 kW at sea level and can operate up to an altitude of 7 km and the project was initiated by HAL with its internal resources with an aim of developing the capability of indigenous design and development of turboshaft engines.

According to information provided by HAL to idrw.org at Aero India 2017, HTSE-1200 should enter full-scale production in 2021-23 after it’s clear all developmental trials. HTSE-1200 will allow HAL to lower its prices of its Helicopters due to the development of the in-house engine and also offer better after sales and spare support to its customer in India.

NOTE : Article cannot be reproduced without written permission of idrw.org in any form