Designing a School for Impoverished Children

Indo-Canadian

o/ Hail Comrades

Hopefully I'm posting this in the right subforum. This is my first post. I am an Indo-Canadian university student studying engineering and business. One of my goals in this short life is to design and build a sustainable school for the poor in my ancestral land of Punjab. If successful I would like to expand other states. What I see in many developing countries is that parents don't allow their children to go to school (even if it's free and publicly funded) because if they do then the children cannot help the parents at work and thus the family will go hungry. So the solution I thought is that we need schools that act not only as a teacher for the children, but also an employer for the parents.

The requirements for my school are as follows:
- Must provide free education for families under the poverty line
- The core structure of the school must be able to function without donations and gov't help (however donations and gov't help would be greatly beneficial).
- The school should offer employment to parents under the poverty line.
- The school should be able to fund itself (i.e. excess output of the school can be sold to pay for operating costs)
- Must be environmentally sustainable

The way I envisioned how it would work is like this:
1) There has to be a big initial investment to build the school, gather supplies, and filling up seats.
2) The children learn in school while the parents earn income working in business owned by the school (farm, shops, restaurants, auto shops, etc.)
3) At the end of the month the school fees would be deducted from the parents pay checks. The profits of the school-owned business also go to the school. Their after-deduction income should be high enough for them to live above the poverty line. If this is not met then they'll go back to the same situation as described above.