Defexpo 2014: Land, Naval & Internal Homeland Security Systems Exhibit

AVERAGE INDIAN

EXORCIST
Tata Motors to show armoured amphibious platform at DefExpo

Tata Motors, the largest vehicle mobility solutions provider to the Indian armed forces, will display a new specialty vehicle, WHAP (Wheeled Armoured Amphibious Platform) and LAMV (Light Armoured Multipurpose Vehicles) during the upcoming DefExpo 2014 to be held at Pragati Maidan.

The company has also secured an order worth Rs 220 crore to export 520 special military vehicles for the United Nation-funded peace-keeping force in West Africa. The vehicles are currently going through prototyping, validation and testing with deliveries to start by May-June this year.

Talking to our sister magazine Autocar Professional on the sidelines of a round-table discussion on the Tata Group's presence in the defence sector, Vernon Noronha, vice-president, defence and government business, Tata Motors, said, "The 520 special military vehicles include ambulances, jeeps, water and fuel tankers, recovery trucks, and refrigeration trucks with 6x6 and 4x4 configuration with left-hand drive and air-conditioned cabins."

Tata Motors, which has been supplying vehicles to India's armed forces since the last six decades, is now focusing on modernisation and system upgradation of mobility platforms while moving from being a logistics supports vehicles provider to combat vehicles players.
The Wheeled Armoured Amphibious Platform, developed along with DRDO, is powered by a 591bhp engine coupled with automatic transmission and is a modular vehicle with interchangeable snap-in modules. "The vehicle is almost ready and we are waiting for DRDO to start the testing and validation at their facility. Once the trial results come, we hope the government will place an order for these vehicles soon," said Noronha.

At present, 14 Tata companies are engaged in providing support to India's defence sector. The Group's revenue from the defence sector for fiscal 2013 was over Rs 1,700 crore and is expected to grow by 40 percent in fiscal 2014. The current order book size of the Tata Group in the defence business is in excess of Rs 8,000 crore.

Tata Motors to show armoured amphibious platform at DefExpo | Car News | Others | Autocar India

Re: Tata Motors to show armoured amphibious platform at DefExpo

Any pictures of TATA LAMV?

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
Re: Defexpo 2014: Land, Naval & Internal Homeland Security Systems Exh

Finmeccanica, 27 Companies Barred From Exhibiting At DEFEXPO 2014

India has barred Finmeccanica and its five subsidiaries from participating at the upcoming defense exhibition DEFEXPO 2014 in New Delhi next week. The fallout from the VVIP helicopter deal will keep out subsidiaries AgustaWestland, Selex, Alenia Armacchi, Oto Malera and WASS, all of which are vying for contracts worth an estimated USD6 billion, from participating in the show. Besides Finmeccanica, the Government of India has barred 27 domestic and overseas from attending the show. According to various reports, Finmeccanica has already paid the participation fees for the show and this would be returned to it shortly through online banking procedures. In February last year, India froze payments for the helicopters and launched the official probe after Italian police arrested Giuseppe Orsi, Finmeccanica's then chairman and chief executive, for allegedly paying bribes to middlemen to secure the deal.

India has already taken delivery of three AW101 choppers and is seeking repayments worth some $ 367 million. The fate of these helicopters remain unclear however, AgustaWestland has says that it remains "committed to working with the Government of India to resolve the issues, and is ready to perform the remaining obligations under the agreement." The firm will continue to support the three helicopters already delivered to and currently operated by the Indian Air Force, the statement added.

Finmeccanica, 27 Companies Barred From Exhibiting At DEFEXPO 2014

Twinblade

Any questions to be asked ???

- Status of MCIWS/F-INSAS rifle and multi cal rifle procurement (as OFB would be manufacturing both).
- ATAGS 52 Cal artillery gun, when can we expect it to enter trials (earlier reports said 2016, but it's better to hear it from the horse's mouth)
- questions related to FICV from all four contenders (OFB, Mahindra, Tata, Ashok Leyland-L&T)
- Questions about LSV from all contenders (OFB, Ashok Leyland, Tata, Mahindra, Landrover, Vectra)
- Long range indigenous MBRL (120Km) which we keep hearing about but haven't heard any solid info about the project.
- Air Launched version of CLGM, when can we expect to see it.
- Don't forget to enquire about WhAP
- Replacement of Tatra trucks in indigenous systems by Tata of Ashok Leyland.

- Status of MCIWS/F-INSAS rifle and multi cal rifle procurement (as OFB would be manufacturing both).
- ATAGS 52 Cal artillery gun, when can we expect it to enter trials (earlier reports said 2016, but it's better to hear it from the horse's mouth)
- questions related to FICV from all four contenders (OFB, Mahindra, Tata, Ashok Leyland-L&T)
- Questions about LSV from all contenders (OFB, Ashok Leyland, Tata, Mahindra, Landrover, Vectra)
- Long range indigenous MBRL (120Km) which we keep hearing about but haven't heard any solid info about the project.
- Air Launched version of CLGM, when can we expect to see it.
- Don't forget to enquire about WhAP
- Replacement of Tatra trucks in indigenous systems by Tata of Ashok Leyland.
ask organisation with product specific question.................

Like for DRDO it will be drdo only
OFB will be OFB product.
They cant answer what MOD is doing.

Re: Tata Motors to show armoured amphibious platform at DefExpo

The vehicle platform, developed jointly with the DRDO's Vehicle Research & Development Establishment (VRDE), is a mobility platform featuring a Norwegian-built Kongsberg MCT-30-R medium-calibre remote turret sporting a US-built ATK 30mm/40mm Mk44 Bushmaster automatic cannon as a primary weapon and a secondary FN Herstal M240 7.62mm general purpose machine gun.
The vehicle also comes integrated with the Raytheon-Lockheed Martin JAVELIN anti-tank guided missile system and a commander's independent weapon station fitted with a General Dynamics M2HB 12.7mm machine gun.
TATA To Unveil New Vehicle Platform As India's FICV Project Hits The Shelf

It's based on the TATA 8x8 albeit a heavily modifed version, the good thing is this is another instance after the PINAKA where we see the private sector join hands with DRDO to provide a capable paltform in a remarkably short timespan. also the DRDO involvement makes it much more likely for this vehicle to actually make it into production given that government agencies are already involved in the development.

So many things to ask! :scared1:

Please ask about:

1> When will FICV tender close. Has the current tender been scrapped as per some reports?
2> Are there plans to mount the Dhanush gun on the Catapult platform?
3> Are there any upgrade projects for TAL "Shyena"? When will "Varunastra" be inducted?
4> Any progress on L&T Littoral Submarine?
5> Is Spike getting inducted as a vehicle mounted platform only or as MANPADS as well?
6> Are there any Indian companies coming up with reflex/acog/thermal/telescopic sights? And NVG goggles?
7> Status of LSP & GPV tenders
8> Does TATA/Mahindra etc. plan to develop de-linked independent suspension like in Tatra trucks?
9> Will PDV replace PAD in Phase 1(2000km) or is it a part of Phase 2 (5000km)?
10> Status of cruise missile defence ststem
11> Any update on proposed LFRJ-LRCM?
12> When will the next test of Nirbhay take place?
13> Update on Nag/Namica/Helina
14> Is CLGM/SAMHO being made into a MANPADS system?
15> Are there any plans to replace the aging 9K22 Tunguska point defence platforms with Pantsir S1 or NBS Mantis or Oerlikon Skyshield?
16> Are there any tenders to induct squad automatic weapon for infantry, once INSAS LMG is phased out?
17> What is the status of DRDO Multi-Cal weapon?
18> Why in Arjun was the turret top mounted gunner sight rejected? This could have allowed the left side of the turret to be as protected as the right side.
19> Arjun MkII was supposed to have a smooth bore gun. Has it been implemented yet?
20> Any plans or development on light tanks for mountain borders or would that be tasked solely to MGS platforms?

I do plan on going though but this time it's prolly be on the general day as i'm tied up for the week.

I'm sure you will be seeing Indian SF (IAF/IA/IN) there- could you chat with them and ask about what their future acquisitions will be and what they've received in the past 12 months.

any passes available ?

one of my relatives is in the army..i can try to get some but then again i dont know whether he's still posted in delhi or not :confused:
what should be filled in company designation ? or is it even necessary to fill it ? i read somewhere people coming in business category need to be connected to defense.

IAI will present at Defexpo 2014

IAI will present a wide range of strategic systems, including a series of mission aircraft, a variety of UAV's, advanced radar systems, air defense systems, L/MRSAM, and command and control systems for various theaters, including cyber and ICT

In fields of HLS and the Exclusive Economic Zone security - IAI will present integrated systems such as UAV's, marine sensors, radars, command and control systems and more. IAI will additionally present an unmanned surface vehicle system, which supports a wide range of applications for HLS and the protection of exclusive economic zones, including - port security, patrol of coastal and territorial waters, surface protection and electronic warfare, and protection from the beach.

Furthermore, the advanced technology platform for battlefield management for ground forces - BMS will be displayed.

http://www.israeldefense.com/?CategoryID=483&ArticleID=2722&utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=twitter

my connection to defence.......................DFI...............:india:
im thinking of leaving it blank but then it might get rejected

LOL.............No one check it........... they dont even see your online application, it is just in case they are strict for entry this time. Usually just bring your visiting card, that will be enough. (I attended all the defexpos in Delhi, even when i am student, i got pass somehow). Inside no one care who you are, if you ask too many questions, they will ask from which organisation you are from.