Customer support aka call centers in India

Bangalorean

Ambassador
Country flag
Has anyone else noticed that the quality of call center personnel has dramatically declined in India over the last few years? I have been noticing this for a few years now, and my guess is that this is because the bar is rising in India with increasing economic growth, and it is tough to find people of good standard to fill positions like customer support etc.

Here is the experience I had today. I need a DTH service for a house, which is in the final stages of construction. I want the wiring done right now, along with the rest of the electrical wiring, and the remaining installation (antenna, set top box, etc.) later, after the house interiors are complete. So, I began calling all the "customer service numbers" of various operators. I hope the people concerned come across this and do something about it. Maybe this thread can become a repository for rants about various people's experiences with these "customer support" call centers.

Sun Direct: Average
The lady was more interested in reeling off long lists of their "packages" with all the names of all the channels therein. She was tough to understand, but at least she gave me information about wiring and charges.

Airtel Digital: Pathetic