OBOR News & Developments

Tarun Kumar

IF nations could develop by debt loaded corridors all countries of the world would be rich by now. What people do not realize is that more than hardware, u need software for an economy to take off. In case of china it was a very talented people pool skilled in workmen activity coupled with government support and requirements of US corporations which led to Chinese take off. In our case we are emulating the same although not there yet. Now can such a software even exist in a muslim country where even a free discussions can lead to accusations of blasphemy and mass lynching. I am assuming that the Chinese may also be lynched if they say anything against islam. As for markets, There is no market in Iran or afghanistan and middle east is going bankrupt. So frankly what will the corridor achieve-I dont know. As for military, all China needs to be able to move are good roads which they already have. From our end we need a massive military expansion on all fronts for what could surely be a 2 front war. Paki economy is not our worry, it was always dead because of a unique socio economic culture in Muslim countries and Paki is first and foremost a muslim country.

IF nations could develop by debt loaded corridors all countries of the world would be rich by now. .
Fantastic point !!!!!
Simply said but powerful ... and most of us failed to notie it

As for military, all China needs to be able to move are good roads which they already have. From our end we need a massive military expansion on all fronts for what could surely be a 2 front war. .
yes !
IF we could also refer to my post above on the three areas why prcchina benefits ... the ultimate and final benefit if and when all e3lse fails is the military benefits of moving troops fast ...... but but but ....... ( we wont mention more ) ....

well im tempted to say

It could turn out to be a FAST TRIP TO CANNON FODDER

nevertheless on our part we have to upgrade the size of our military and start more defence manufacturing and less buying ..... get out of the world's largest importer and move towards top 5 defense manufacturer

our defence against a clearly possible 2 front war is way incomplete

I am assuming that the Chinese may also be lynched if they say anything against islam
Really? By who? The Pakis? You must be kidding, right? They dare not utter a word against their masters. Have they even let out a squeak when the Chinese banned beards, burkhas and the ban on celebrating Muslim festivals?

Slaves dare not ruffle the feathers of their masters for fear of getting lynched.

Interesting discussion on the CPEC: Pak media....The Pakis have finally started realizing that China, their deeper than ocean friends, are taking them for a jolly good ride!! Lol! :biggrin2:

shimshali

Fantastic point !!!!!
Simply said but powerful ... and most of us failed to notie it

yes !
IF we could also refer to my post above on the three areas why prcchina benefits ... the ultimate and final benefit if and when all e3lse fails is the military benefits of moving troops fast ...... but but but ....... ( we wont mention more ) ....

well im tempted to say

It could turn out to be a FAST TRIP TO CANNON FODDER

nevertheless on our part we have to upgrade the size of our military and start more defence manufacturing and less buying ..... get out of the world's largest importer and move towards top 5 defense manufacturer

our defence against a clearly possible 2 front war is way incomplete
CPEC is just a catalyst that is going to jump start our economy as you all have highlighted the massive debts will cripple our country i will further talk on this point at the end of my reply
the real reason for CPEC regarding Pakistan is not the connectivity but the energy projects the projects are fast tracked and are dozen in number just the projects that are gonna be completed on 8 year time frame are gonna add huge amount and i mean huge amounts of electricity. but the long term goal for cpec is no connectivity is no with china but with central asia and russia as a market as you all know the largest importer of Pakistani products is the US but in the long term goal Pakistan wants to decrease it and focus on russia and central asian states. Another thing to note is Why did chinahose pakistan as the first one belt one road project why such a risk why not the Turkmenistan-Tajikistan route they already have good road and rail infrastructure with better security plus less investment and risk... the reason is there is another country which has stake in this project which is Russia. to further elaborate russia on the long term will have warm water connectivity which it never had plus europe is neither a viable route nor a favorable export destination now some of you might say the russian part is far fetched but believe me is not lets just say i have got solid information on this,.
IF nations could develop by debt loaded corridors all countries of the world would be rich by now. What people do not realize is that more than hardware, u need software for an economy to take off. In case of china it was a very talented people pool skilled in workmen activity coupled with government support and requirements of US corporations which led to Chinese take off. In our case we are emulating the same although not there yet. Now can such a software even exist in a muslim country where even a free discussions can lead to accusations of blasphemy and mass lynching. I am assuming that the Chinese may also be lynched if they say anything against islam. As for markets, There is no market in Iran or afghanistan and middle east is going bankrupt. So frankly what will the corridor achieve-I dont know. As for military, all China needs to be able to move are good roads which they already have. From our end we need a massive military expansion on all fronts for what could surely be a 2 front war. Paki economy is not our worry, it was always dead because of a unique socio economic culture in Muslim countries and Paki is first and foremost a muslim country.
Now back to the crippling debt thing lets think about it are the economists and government that stupid that with such worse economic conditions that they would pursue such a gamble their must be something we are missing because even a 5 year old would know that such a gamble is likely to ruin pakistan. with exports falling the likability of massive debts killing the economy is most likely.
but they have taken a gamble to invest massively on infrastructure the thing is that China is planning to relocate its labor intensive industries and what better place then the 6th most populous country providing very generous exceptions to Chinese companies. this is the piece that led the government to take such a gamble and if you dont believe me just look at this it is already starting
https://tribune.com.pk/story/1384102/chinese-textile-units-interested-relocating-pakistan/

Tarun Kumar

Lol most of this labour intensive work can now be automated. How will it create jobs for pakis. As for large energy projects, India's experience has shown that without targeting theft and distribution side, generation projects are quite useless. moreover none of these projects are taking place at competitive tendering. There are no detailed study plans of feasibility reports of CPEC projects, no inter government agreements, no terms of contracts.First Pakis said that 38billion of 56billion is equity ,now they say all of it is debt. The whole thing is very murky and led mainly by Pak army and Chinese government. I am not even sure whether CPEC even exists in reality and it may just be a smokescreen to hand over Gwadar to PLAN (which will be very foolish). if the aim is to block Indian access to central asian/russian market and replace it with pakistan, for that aim to materialize there should be markets in these regions in first place. Russia is pretty much deflated by US sanctions and mainly needs a market for its surplus arms. Can Pakis absorb Russian arms exports at market rates- I doubt it. My sense is that CPEC is just a cover to draw all muslim countries and Russia into a Pak/China military alliance to create a full fledged eastern alliance. And this will be a fatal mistake of CCP which will lead to its eventual downfall.The only natural trading partner of both China and Pakistan is India but we all know why it is not working out. Both are out rightly demanding full territorial control o Indian territories which is not possible.

even a 5 year old would know that such a gamble is likely to ruin pakistan. with exports falling the likability of massive debts killing the economy is most likely.
but they have taken a gamble to invest massively on infrastructure .......
you wrote a great post and i liked it

you mentioned some solid reasons in your first lengthy paragraph

but as in all things we can draw great plans , unfortunately or boringly it's the dollars and cents that fuel even the loftiest of dreams which are planned to take place on the face of this earth .... we may quote fancy plans to involve russia and the CA states etc etc but the final analysis is the balance sheet , the plain dollars and cents

and youve recognised that in your second paragraph a portion of which i quoted above

i'd like to point of the phrase you wrote ....that it is " A Gamble to invest massively " or , if i may rephrase it , a gamble over a massive investment ... to me that puts it in a better perspective ...it's a massive gamble ? ..well to be fair , that's a major part of life isnt it , to take some gambles here and there

... so let's see how that gamble turns out ...cheers !

i'd like to point of the phrase you wrote ....that it is " A Gamble to invest massively " or , if i may rephrase it , a gamble over a massive investment ... to me that puts it in a better perspective ...it's a massive gamble ? ..well to be fair , that's a major part of life isnt it , to take some gambles here and there

... so let's see how that gamble turns out ...cheers !
Remember what happened when Yudhishthira gambled and put everything at stake including his wife in the hope of winning everything back from Duryodhana? He got screwed! The rest is history!!

I see the same happening with the CPEC. China is the Duryodhana here! :biggrin2:

Kazakhstan bound Pakistan’s first railway consignment arrives in Zahedan

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan's first transit consignment for port city of Octave in Kazakhstan through Quetta-Zahedan Railway has arrived in Zahedan.

According to Director General for Southeast Railway Department Majid Arjoni in Zahedan, the first train carrying potatoes, mango, tangerine and rice from Pakistan for destination in Kazakhstan arrived in Zahedan railroad station, Radio Tehran reported.

He said it was planned to transit one million tons goods through Zahedan railway annually.

Considering differences between standards of Iran and Pakistan railways, there was no possibility for Pakistani train to run on Iranian railway tracks, so the transit consignments should be transferred by "Trans-ship Operation", he added.

Iran's Southeast Railway Region has two types of rail, wide and standard, and now it is connected with Pakistan. This has been linked to international corridor route of east to west, which connects Pakistan to Turkey, Europe and Central Asia.

The route has special international importance and it has been confirmed by ECO and SCAP organizations. The railway distance between Quetta and Zahedan is 650 kilometers.

Copyright APP (Associated Press of Pakistan), 2017

This is a regular fortnightly service. From Zahedan, a mixed passenger and goods train leaves on the 3rd & 17th of every month at 10:00, arriving in Quetta (in Pakistan) at 20:30 the next day. The section between Bam and Zahedan had been completed in 2012. However, I believe transshipment is needed at Zahedan due to gauge difference.

To understand the route better.....(Click to expand).

Actually, one can travel from Dhaka all the way to London by rail!! But how long that would take I haven't the faintest clue!! :confused1:

Hong Kong firm to move R&D department to Pakistan
By Shahram Haq
April 16, 2017

LAHORE: Octo3, a Hong Kong-based financial technology company, has announced to move its entire Research and Development (R&D) wing to Pakistan.

The company, which specialises in development and provision of modern payment and other transactional solutions, further announced that it will invest in the Pakistani market in order to transform its ICT landscape.

The announcements were made based on the robust developments in Pakistan’s Information Technology sector and a rising need of digital payment solutions due to the growing e-commerce segment in the country.

“We have decided to shift our entire R&D department and other core function to Pakistan from Hong Kong as the country offers a lot of talent in the IT sector,” said Group’s Chief Executive Officer Tyrone Lynch.

“Few years ago, we outsourced our R&D wing to India, but after working a while we realised that things didn’t work as per our expectation, and we once again moved back to Hong Kong.

“After analysing the Pakistani market and the rapid developments and upcoming scope of ICT and digital payment solutions, on the back of China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), we decided to shift our R&D wing to Pakistan,” Lynch added.

The company, which started its operations in 2009, has its presence in Hong Kong, Singapore, Bangkok and now Pakistan with its clientele expanding in almost entire modern economies.

Since its founding chairman is a Pakistani, it aims to add a lot of value in CPEC-related and other projects by building database centres and other such ICT infrastructure both with government as well as with private and multinational companies.

The management is already in talks with local banks and financial institutions for provision of backend support to locally available payment solutions, which can be accepted globally as well.

“We are a solution provider company but in Pakistan we will work both on ICT as well as digital payment solutions,” said Ajmal Samuel, ,hairman and Co-founder Octo3 Group Holdings Limited while talking with The Express Tribune.

“I have access to foreign players who are willing to invest in emerging economies, however, due to the negative perception of the country they hesitate to visit,” he added.

Talking about payment solutions, Samuel said that existing players offering different wallets have already paved their way and have established the market and “the next step for us is how we can transfer this existing customer base and wallets to e-commerce payment solutions, which can simultaneously be accepted in global markets”.

“The e-commerce growth is so huge in Pakistan that some global players like Amazon have asked us whether our company can provide any digital payment solutions from Pakistan,” he claimed.

Published in The Express Tribune, April 16th, 2017.

By Shahram Haq
April 16, 2017

LAHORE: Octo3, a Hong Kong-based financial technology company, has announced to move its entire Research and Development (R&D) wing to Pakistan.

The company, which specialises in development and provision of modern payment and other transactional solutions, further announced that it will invest in the Pakistani market in order to transform its ICT landscape.

The announcements were made based on the robust developments in Pakistan’s Information Technology sector and a rising need of digital payment solutions due to the growing e-commerce segment in the country.

“We have decided to shift our entire R&D department and other core function to Pakistan from Hong Kong as the country offers a lot of talent in the IT sector,” said Group’s Chief Executive Officer Tyrone Lynch.

“Few years ago, we outsourced our R&D wing to India, but after working a while we realised that things didn’t work as per our expectation, and we once again moved back to Hong Kong.

“After analysing the Pakistani market and the rapid developments and upcoming scope of ICT and digital payment solutions, on the back of China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC), we decided to shift our R&D wing to Pakistan,” Lynch added.

The company, which started its operations in 2009, has its presence in Hong Kong, Singapore, Bangkok and now Pakistan with its clientele expanding in almost entire modern economies.

Since its founding chairman is a Pakistani, it aims to add a lot of value in CPEC-related and other projects by building database centres and other such ICT infrastructure both with government as well as with private and multinational companies.

The management is already in talks with local banks and financial institutions for provision of backend support to locally available payment solutions, which can be accepted globally as well.

“We are a solution provider company but in Pakistan we will work both on ICT as well as digital payment solutions,” said Ajmal Samuel, ,hairman and Co-founder Octo3 Group Holdings Limited while talking with The Express Tribune.

“I have access to foreign players who are willing to invest in emerging economies, however, due to the negative perception of the country they hesitate to visit,” he added.

Talking about payment solutions, Samuel said that existing players offering different wallets have already paved their way and have established the market and “the next step for us is how we can transfer this existing customer base and wallets to e-commerce payment solutions, which can simultaneously be accepted in global markets”.

“The e-commerce growth is so huge in Pakistan that some global players like Amazon have asked us whether our company can provide any digital payment solutions from Pakistan,” he claimed.

Unable to find any article which says they ever entered India.

Dark Lord

By Shahram Haq
April 16, 2017

Sometimes I wonder what would happen if Pak gains economic momentum and India stays a backwards country? How the tables would be turned! Maybe this is the long term strategy of China to create a wealthy, progressive Pakistan while india stays poor and backwards.

Lets see what happens.

Sometimes I wonder what would happen if Pak gains economic momentum and India stays a backwards country? How the tables would be turned! Maybe this is the long term strategy of China to create a wealthy, progressive Pakistan while india stays poor and backwards.

Lets see what happens.
If and when that happens, let's hope they grow a pair to attack us from the front. After 1971 they have only been attacking from the back like cowards.

Dark Lord

If and when that happens, let's hope they grow a pair to attack us from the front. After 1971 they have only been attacking from the back like cowards.
Attacking from back? They are openly violating LOC, openly harbouring terrorists like Hafis Saeed, lakhvi, Daood. They are openly destabilising Kashmir. Paki generals are openly threatening a nuke strike on India on their national tv. And you say they are attacking from back. They are attacking from front and all sides its us who are turning a blind eye. We have military might and economic superiority yet we are afraid to even declare Pak a terrorist state. Now tell me who are cowards?

If they were attacking from the front they would have owned up Kargil in early days.

If they were attacking from the front they would own up to sending tangos to our side.

And in many other aspects, when did they ever own up anything. They always deny their involvement.

In contrast did we not own up both sending troops and training Mukti bahini into Bangladesh.

That's the difference.

Nahi bhai Saab, they don't have the balls...

Pak is trying to cause diversions over their cpec paranoia. India needs to target cpec and start hitting the weak points never let it complete rather than wait and destroy later

If they were attacking from the front they would have owned up Kargil in early days........
wow ,.... two good psts ....
whether from the front or back , point is they're attacking , and causing serious disturbances

are goi coward ? might not even qualify for that

I say THE ARTICLE 370 needs to go ! .... it should have, a long time ago
it needs to go NOW or rather at least be modified, step by step now
( it needs to go like the malaysian airlines flight 370 into oblivion with no traces of where it went )

they have allowed the militant population to grow from +/- 3 million when we first inherited it to now +/- 8 million --- that's a ridiculous form of situational management

need to get the Pundits back WITH MILITARY PROTECTION AND FORCE

and if we keep delaying this and allow the terrorists to continue to keep physically and psychologically captive the 8 million and grow it to 12 million, then those numbers will become uncontrollable

that's what Pakistan wants .... and we don't seem to be stopping them

who're the cowards?

second issue

about the pakistani company relocating from H kong back to pakland,
no big deal , theyre jumpin onto some financial loophole or provision in cpec .....
simply there's money available on loan from prc and so the company is utilizing that availability
payback time comes later when the 66 billion or whatever has to be paid ....till the enjoy the holiday and you know all about that from the previous posts above

Pak is trying to cause diversions over their cpec paranoia. India needs to target cpec and start hitting the weak points never let it complete rather than wait and destroy later

Is there anything to destroy? That is just a road with outdated powerplants sprinkled here and there.

Destroying a road completely is not possible in my opinion. Causing massive land slides in times of war is.