Countering cold start: Military to adopt new war concept

By Kamran YousafPublished: June 4, 2013
ISLAMABAD:
Pakistan's military is all set to adopt a "new concept" of war for fighting future conventional threats, specifically pre-empting India's cold-start military doctrine, revealed security officials.
The new war concept, developed after four years of war games and military exercises, seeks to improve the mobilisation time of troops and develop an integrated response from the combined fighting arms of the army, navy and air forces, in case of a conventional military threat.
It will formally be put into practice with the culmination of the "Azm-e-Nou" war-games series this month. The exercises, which started in 2009, have been part of the army's new concept of war fighting, designed to respond to the threat posed by India's Pakistan-specific cold-start doctrine.
The cold-start doctrine is intended to allow India's conventional forces to perform swift and unexpected holding penetrations within the first 72 hours of hostilities.
The doctrine has been designed to give India an edge in the first few days of combat operations, before international pressure could be brought to bear on India and before the Pakistani military could respond effectively.

The Indian military, however, publicly denies the existence of any such doctrine. The final series of 'Azm-e-Nau IV' kicked off in Islamabad at the National Defence University on Monday to validate operational plans prepared in view of the emerging threat environment, said a senior military official.
All services chiefs are being hosted by Army Chief General Ashfaq Parvez Kayani for the finalisation of the new concept.
"The army war games are the culmination of a series of such exercises and aims at validation and crystallisation of operational plans prepared in view of the emerging threat environment," said a statement issued by the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR).
Operational plans of the Pakistan Air Force and Pakistan Navy are also being finalised in close coordination with the army.
The war games will continue for two weeks, the statement added.
Unveiling details of the concept, the military source said that after the implementation of the new war fighting strategy, the Pakistan Army would be able to mobilise its forces faster than India.
Published in The Express Tribune, June 4th, 2013.
Countering cold start: Military to adopt new war concept – The Express Tribune

========================================================================================

New concept? Why NASR failed?

After making Pakistan Navy an orphan, stalling modernization of air-force and eating up 40% operational budget now under integrated response does Pakistan army want operational control of the both?

part of azm nau exercise..

we want a multi tube variant of abdali as well

this concept is not new but old.started in 2009.

part of azm nau exercise..

we want a multi tube variant of abdali as well

this concept is not new but old.started in 2009.
India currently produces 1000 rockets per year... very soon will go up to 5000 per year...

Do you think you will be able to match India on this ??

India currently produces 1000 rockets per year... very soon will go up to 5000 per year...

They cant match but how would you satisfy jahil awaam, for that they are doing these "azm nau" exercises.

Pak Army needs to understand they can't take on Indian Army.
Pak army is not anymore suppose to fight with india..

the first layer of defence will be made around the indian border by the common pakistanis.

PA would be more of an overkill against IA

we do as well as much necessary

Upgraded variant of yarmook is in development.

meanwhile we are also producing Rockets of a-100 MRL locally apart from exporing

i am sure your figure is wrong..1000 rockets per year is a wrong figure..

the first layer of defence will be made around the indian border by the common pakistanis.

IA is not really interested in Gazwa-e-pak so you can make a FOOL of your jahil awaam about the "Hindustan Boogyman".

IA can simply sit and watch the show called WOT sponsored by US/NATO/AFG. :pop:

Just like US burned down Soviet with arms race, India is doing the same with Pakistan. Forget about Pakistan matching India, it has become difficult to even maintain the army what with their economy in total dumps. Pakistan will spend itself into Balkanisation when people say enough is enough.

They cant match but how would you satisfy jahil awaam, for that they are doing these "azm nau" exercises.
Bhai jaan ko pata nahin India ke paas kitna lunchers hai... with new production units coming up, the stock of rockets will be one of the largest in the world...

Just wait for couple of years... plus new artillery units to join in 2/3 years will widen the gap more"¦
I bet the gap with IA will be so big, it will find it self the same way Pakistani Navy & Airforce finds itself now

we do as well as much necessary

Upgraded variant of yarmook is in development.

meanwhile we are also producing Rockets of a-100 MRL locally apart from exporing

i am sure your figure is wrong..1000 rockets per year is a wrong figure..
Bhai Jaan,

I am very sure the current figure is 1000 rockets per year, with new infrastructure coming up, the target is 5000 rockets per year for Pinaka I / II in next 2 years"¦

If I am not wrong India has also bought the license production of Smerch MRL from Russia...

As far as MRL is considered India is doing very well"¦ IA is very happy and wants more"¦

It is not a good idea at all... Army should meet an army in a battlefield... should not hide behind a civilians...

Bhai Jaan,

I am very sure the current figure is 1000 rockets per year, with new infrastructure coming up, the target is 5000 rockets per year for Pinaka I / II in next 2 years"¦

If I am not wrong India has also bought the license production of Smerch MRL from Russia...

As far as MRL is considered India is doing very well"¦ IA is very happy and wants more"¦
1000 rockets per year is very very less compared to the size of indian army.
it should be no less than 10k starting.

alone pakistan had produced more than 50k yarmook rockets.as of 2004.if someone remember the older GIDS site.it had mentioned more than 50k rockets being produced till 2004.

than we have a yet another program of upgraded yarmook.
and than we have the A-100mrl.

beside this nasr can also be used as MRL with conventional warheads

It is not a good idea at all... Army should meet an army in a battlefield... should not hide behind a civilians...
no rather preserved to fight someone worth fighting

we just cant send our army to fight every xyz when police and common civilian can handle them without any problem

no rather preserved to fight someone worth fighting
Who else is there ?? You can not fight against USA... then who ??

we just cant send our army to fight every xyz when police and common civilian can handle them without any problem
Are you so sure... are your civilians trained to do that... even TTP is running & creating havoc in your country...

Bhai jaan ko pata nahin India ke paas kitna lunchers hai... with new production units coming up, the stock of rockets will be one of the largest in the world...

Just wait for couple of years... plus new artillery units to join in 2/3 years will widen the gap more"¦
I bet the gap with IA will be so big, it will find it self the same way Pakistani Navy & Airforce finds itself now
And add the Indian Navy getting bigger and stronger.Paki Navy has already given up matching Indian Navy an accepted Indian supremacy. :lol:

http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/indian-navy/51608-indian-navy-doubled-15-years.html

LOL... you discussed about this already many times.:dude:

Since Pak Army is being PROVED IMPOTENT and INEFFECTIVE you are pushing common pakis to become fodder and target practice for Indian Army.

Anyway we would send some NCC/Scout cadets(basically kids) and they would take care of your common man but I guess even they would be overkill for your common paki. :lol:

1000 rockets per year is very very less compared to the size of indian army.
it should be no less than 10k starting.

alone pakistan had produced more than 50k yarmook rockets.as of 2004.if someone remember the older GIDS site.it had mentioned more than 50k rockets being produced till 2004.

than we have a yet another program of upgraded yarmook.
and than we have the A-100mrl.

beside this nasr can also be used as MRL with conventional warheads
Please check your numbers once again... The number I have quoted does not include the once India have imported from Russia...