BrahMos Cruise Missile

Yumdoot

China Begins To Feel Nervous As India Prepares To Deploy Brahmos Missiles In The North-East
Having ignored it, India is getting serious about defending its North East frontlines. The Indian Army is all set to raise a Brahmos missile regiment there at the cost of Rs 4,300 crores. The regiment will be made up of 100 missiles and five autonomous launchers mounted on 12x12 heavy duty trucks.

The Block III missiles being deployed are the latest generation of the Brahmos with “trajectory manoeuvre and steep-dive capabilities”. The 290 km range brings a lot of Chinese tactical bases in Tibet within range. Since the Brahmos’ destructive capability is well known, China is obviously nervous.

Now People Liberation Army, through a newspaper has said that “India deploying supersonic missiles on the border has exceeded its own needs for self-defense and poses a serious threat to China's Tibet and Yunnan provinces”.

Indiatimes Frontlines was recently in Arunachal Pradesh and visited the Bumla Pass close to Tawang, which China claims. We saw huge army presence in the area and the terrain posed a challenge. The rugged mountain side needs to be heavily defended and the near vertical steep dive capability of the Brahmos can even flush out the enemy hiding out of sight.

No wonder the Chinese are nervous.

http://www.defencenews.in/article/C...eploy-Brahmos-Missiles-In-The-North-East-7687

How many Bhramos will be needed to cripple the Chinese air defense and infantry formation in the TAR and Leh. With Su 30 mki equipped Bhramis-A will it be able to complete the task form Stand of range. And do we have all the required platform.i.e. # su 30 mki or any dedicated bomber.
If you only want to make sure slowing down the response of Chinese force in couple of hours, I guess 200 will do if India is the one initiating the war.

If you want to improve the damage imposed on Chinese military bases, considering the mountain territory and the intensity of Chinese air defense (both will significantly reduce the opportunity and accuracy, range of Bhramos), you may have to triple that figure.

If you want to keep those Chinese military infrastructures in TAR out of service in 24 hours, you have to triple your figure further since you have to continue the attack on the same target every 6-7 hours, so another 3 times.

No matter how good you attack can archive, the land based Bhramos can only attack those within its range, say 300km (the range will reduce a lot in mountain and trajectory manoeuvre to avoid air defense). So, probably within 4 hours, those Chinese long-range cruise missiles will start hitting back, in order to make sure enough Bhramos survived and enough Bhramos keeps shooting at the same time, obviously you need more. It is hardly to estimate since it depends on both sides effectiveness. But I think, a double figure is must.

So, based on all the conditions in the above, if India can start the war first and make sure the war ends in 24 hours, you will need at least 3600 bhramos in best scenario.

If you only want to make sure slowing down the response of Chinese force in couple of hours, I guess 200 will do if India is the one initiating the war.

If you want to improve the damage imposed on Chinese military bases, considering the mountain territory and the intensity of Chinese air defense (both will significantly reduce the opportunity and accuracy, range of Bhramos), you may have to triple that figure.

If you want to keep those Chinese military infrastructures in TAR out of service in 24 hours, you have to triple your figure further since you have to continue the attack on the same target every 6-7 hours, so another 3 times.

No matter how good you attack can archive, the land based Bhramos can only attack those within its range, say 300km (the range will reduce a lot in mountain and trajectory manoeuvre to avoid air defense). So, probably within 4 hours, those Chinese long-range cruise missiles will start hitting back, in order to make sure enough Bhramos survived and enough Bhramos keeps shooting at the same time, obviously you need more. It is hardly to estimate since it depends on both sides effectiveness. But I think, a double figure is must.

So, based on all the conditions in the above, if India can start the war first and make sure the war ends in 24 hours, you will need at least 3600 bhramos in best scenario.
India will not start war first .....but if we start war first we will make sure to destroy your retaliation capabilities .....

Indians have many long range cruse missiles like Nirbhay & shaurya ................shaurya is Hyper-sonic with maximum range of 1900 km . ............soon bramhos -2 will be tested . ..........now India is a MCTR member so range can be increased too

bramhos is more famous because it can be launched from land , ships as well as fighter planes ..we have 2000 bramhos of various Types .

kstriya

What about the Bhramos A using Su 30 MKI, how does that fit in the battle scenario. What quantity and how many squadrons will be needed?

Had the drop test been done? Do anyone came across the result?

AFAIK it was scheduled for 26th to 28th Aug.....

Indian Army Acquiring More Land Attack BrahMos Supersonic Missiles
The Indian Army's boosting its already formidable inventory of BrahMos, the world's fastest cruise missile with a speed of Mach 3 (3,000 km/h), is being revealed as tensions with China rise in disputed and volatile border regions such as Arunachal Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir.

The Indian Army operates the newest operation version, the BrahMos Block III, to engage land targets, even those behind the reverse slopes of hills or mountains. Block III can be launched in either a vertical or inclined position and is capable of covering targets over a 360 degree horizon.

The army has deployed Block III to five regiments, each operating about 100 missiles. The land-attack version of BrahMos has been operational in the Indian Army since 2007.

The Indian Army will deploy a BrahMos regiment operating the Block III to defend the state of Arunachal Pradesh, which China claims belongs to it.

Indian media reported a huge build-up of Chinese military forces all along the 4,057 kilometer Line of Actual Control (LAC). Arunachal Pradesh is the most northerly state along the LAC and one of the most threatened by China.

To be deployed to Arunachal Pradesh will be the 864 Regiment of the Indian Army's 41st Artillery Division. The regiment will operate from four and six BrahMos batteries and three to four Mobile Autonomous Launchers (MALs).

The regiment will command up to 100 BrahMos Block III cruise missiles, each armed with a 290 kg warhead. It is the fourth missile regiment to be equipped with BrahMos.

The fire-and-forget BrahMos Block III possesses unique trajectory maneuver and steep-dive capabilities that allow it to hit targets on the reverse slopes of mountains. It can steep dive up to 75 degrees.

Read more: http://en.yibada.com/articles/15968...brahmos-supersonic-missiles.htm#ixzz4KAVGKzqr

What about the Bhramos A using Su 30 MKI, how does that fit in the battle scenario. What quantity and how many squadrons will be needed?
Actually what I am telling you is you can hardly win a war by relying on a single weapon in modern war. Today, we are fighting by a system which consists of bomber, fighter, cruise missile, ballistic missile, artillery, etc, etc. Each type of weapon has its own advantage and disadvantage. There is no weapon can kill all and end all. Bhrams is a good weapon but has its own disadvantages: price, range, lack of maneuverability, more vulnerable to interference. It was developed targeting American super aircraft carriers, I don't understand why India wants to use it in land war which definitely requires large quantity.

Price: Not a concern right now as already hundreds of missiles have been inducted. Also, in case of a war, do you ever think of the price? Especially when you are about to lose a big chunk of land.

Range: 300km is a more than enough of a range if you want to thwart an incoming attack. It can take out nearest air bases, approaching tank regiments, artillery formations etc.

Lack of Maneuverability: Really? Brahmos is probably the most maneuverable missile there is in this world.

Vulnerable to Interference? : What kind of interference are you talking about? Geographical? The whole point & design of the brahmos is such that it passes/avoids and maneuvers over & around the interference.

Price: Not a concern right now as already hundreds of missiles have been inducted. Also, in case of a war, do you ever think of the price? Especially when you are about to lose a big chunk of land.
Frankly, for a war regarding a big chunk of land, hundreds is a peanut figure. So, yes, it is a right concern when this missile's price is even higher than other's ballistic missile with longer range.

Range: 300km is a more than enough of a range if you want to thwart an incoming attack. It can take out nearest air bases, approaching tank regiments, artillery formations etc.
300km is the result of high route. In the case of breaking through the air defense, you have to take low altitude, which in return will short the range to 130-150km.
Taking out tank regiment and artillery formations? What a brilliant idea, using 3m dollar worth of cruise missile to attack such a low value and dispersed small target, are you sure that you are an Indian?

Lack of Maneuverability: Really? Brahmos is probably the most maneuverable missile there is in this world.
Comparing to whom? The same class supersonic cruise missile or ballistic missile? Yes.
To other lower speed cruise missile? No.
It is a simple physic issue: the faster you fly, the greater overload your body has to withheld. So, for supersonic missile, in order to reach the same level of maneuverability, the body material must be far stronger than other low speed missile. But under the same level of material tech, stronger material means heavier body which will affect your speed. So, unless you have superior material tech, Brahmos' is kind of low maneuverable missile among all cruise missiles in the world.

Vulnerable to Interference? : What kind of interference are you talking about? Geographical? The whole point & design of the brahmos is such that it passes/avoids and maneuvers over & around the interference.
Electronic and magnetic interference. The high speed design leave shorter time for the control system to sort out interference, re-calculate target position and re-adjust the flying posture.

BrahMos test-firing from Sukhoi soon
On the ongoing flight test programme of BrahMos supersonic missile being integrated on a modified Su30-MKI, ACM Sandeep said that advanced trials are in progress.

“We’ve already completed a dummy drop. The next step will be to test another parameter, before we fire the actual missile,” he said.

It was Wg Cdr Prashanth, a Test Pilot, and his buddy Wg Cdr M S Raju, a FTE, -- both from ASTE -- who had successfully carried out the first flight of Su-30MKI fitted with BrahMos on June 25 this year.

Interestingly, a PTI report quoted Chief of Air Staff Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha saying today that the live missile would be fired in three months.
http://defenceforumindia.com/forum/...e-news-discussions.57142/page-52#post-1212845

su35

Frankly, for a war regarding a big chunk of land, hundreds is a peanut figure. So, yes, it is a right concern when this missile's price is even higher than other's ballistic missile with longer range.
Of course cruise missile price is much higher than ballistic missile but tell me can ballistic missile can be used to destory moving object or support advancing strike corps. Ballestic missile are best against hardend bunker, ammunition factories not against high ranking generals or terrorists.

300km is the result of high route. In the case of breaking through the air defense, you have to take low altitude, which in return will short the range to 130-150km.
Taking out tank regiment and artillery formations? What a brilliant idea, using 3m dollar worth of cruise missile to attack such a low value and dispersed small target, are you sure that you are an Indian?
Yes range varies with altiude, but i feel the average range varies between to 250 to 350. After all only few missiles of the world have even maximoum range above 1000. For getting more range subsonic cruise missile are used. It is important for the missile to deliver a devastating blow and morale loss . Apart from that range do not really matters. Firing missiles from long range will make the vunerable to radar detection. More time radar gets to scan missile less will be the probabilyt of hitting the target. It is also a major issue with ballestic missile.
Comparing to whom? The same class supersonic cruise missile or ballistic missile? Yes.
To other lower speed cruise missile? No.
It is a simple physic issue: the faster you fly, the greater overload your body has to withheld. So, for supersonic missile, in order to reach the same level of maneuverability, the body material must be far stronger than other low speed missile. But under the same level of material tech, stronger material means heavier body which will affect your speed. So, unless you have superior material tech, Brahmos' is kind of low maneuverable missile among all cruise missiles in the world.
Who is after all asking for manevorablity in a CRUSIE MISSILE. If you are so concerned about manevorability why not to use a fighter jet armed with agm. BASIC PURPOSE of developing crusie missile was to develop an alternative of fighter jet for goin for deep strike mission where is their is high risk of loosing plane and pilot where surgical strike can not be possilbe. There are also cost effective alternative of crusie missile that are precison guided artillary shell and uav but both offer very less range.
Electronic and magnetic interference. The high speed design leave shorter time for the control system to sort out interference, re-calculate target position and re-adjust the flying posture.
In that case even fighter jets, ballastic missile guided artillary shell are useless. Morever modern cruise missile usually carry ECCM with them

Raj Malhotra

Inspite of all out war in Syria, why is Russia not using Yakhont? Because it is toooo costly and also cannot turn tighty enough to hit pin point targets.

Brahmos is a super weapon for Anti Ship role but it is unsuitable and too costly for land attack use. It is disguised as a JV in India in spite of having 99% imported components and has been able to amass massive orders.

Brahmos lobby has been able to prevent induction of Prahaar, development of Prithvi Replacement and kept Nirbhay underfunded.

Of course cruise missile price is much higher than ballistic missile but tell me can ballistic missile can be used to destory moving object or support advancing strike corps. Ballestic missile are best against hardend bunker, ammunition factories not against high ranking generals or terrorists.
Well, American cruise missile is around half millions dollars;
Russian supersonic cruise missile is about 1-1.5 millions;
Chinese is selling their vision of supersonic cruise missile little bit cheaper.
So, yes, everyone's cruise missile price is generally cheaper than ballistic missile.
With the price of brahmos, you really can't afford to waste it on moving object.

Yes range varies with altiude, but i feel the average range varies between to 250 to 350. After all only few missiles of the world have even maximoum range above 1000. For getting more range subsonic cruise missile are used. It is important for the missile to deliver a devastating blow and morale loss . Apart from that range do not really matters. Firing missiles from long range will make the vunerable to radar detection. More time radar gets to scan missile less will be the probabilyt of hitting the target. It is also a major issue with ballestic missile.
Well, it doesn't matter. With the cheap price, you can simply overwhelm the enemy's air defense network with quantity.

With only 3m speed, Brahmos can't penetrate the air defense with the speed as ballistc missile. but it can't win with numbers either.

Who is after all asking for manevorablity in a CRUSIE MISSILE. If you are so concerned about manevorability why not to use a fighter jet armed with agm. BASIC PURPOSE of developing crusie missile was to develop an alternative of fighter jet for goin for deep strike mission where is their is high risk of loosing plane and pilot where surgical strike can not be possilbe. There are also cost effective alternative of crusie missile that are precison guided artillary shell and uav but both offer very less range.
Everyone is asking for manevorability in a cruise missile. With exceptional manevorability and low altitude flying route, cruise missile proved to be a deadly weapon in attack inland target.

In that case even fighter jets, ballastic missile guided artillary shell are useless. Morever modern cruise missile usually carry ECCM with them
No, Fighter jet has the pilot and ballistic missile doesn't rely on external guiding signal, so they basically don't have that problem. In the case of cruise missile, they are relying on external signal in major part of their journey, so that make them more vulnerable to these interference.

Brahmas land attack version is not available in large numbers. A small numbers at Army's disposal can initial do some damage but unavailability in large numbers will make enemy very happy. Hence the key question, - Is Brahmos being produced in large numbers? Has the production capacity been augmented to meet navy, airforce, and army requirements. Can the Brahmos canisters be reloaded after the initial surge? Without that it S simply show and tell.

Inspite of all out war in Syria, why is Russia not using Yakhont? Because it is toooo costly and also cannot turn tighty enough to hit pin point targets.

so you want to use Bramhos to kill some jehadis with Ak-47 ??? awww India also Use Artilary shells instead of Agni-5 to kill Pakis jehadi ...........that does not mean ..............Agni-5 is useless .................deferent weapons have different purpose .

BrahMos can take a steep dive up to 75 degrees . Go & read about Maneuverability of Brahmhos before blabbering .

Brahmos is a super weapon for Anti Ship role but it is unsuitable for land attack use.
aww why did Indian Army deploy bramhos regiments at India-China before consulting an expert like you ??

It is disguised as a JV in India in spite of having 99% imported components and has been able to amass massive orders.
proof ???

massive orders because it is one of the best cruse missiles in the World and it is the main weapon of every Indian war ship ..................and we need it for China .

Brahmos lobby has been able to prevent induction of Prahaar, development of Prithvi Replacement and kept Nirbhay underfunded.
blah blah blah ..............do you even know the difference between Ballistic Missile & cruise missile ?

prithvi & prahar are not cruise missiles .

prahar is the replacement of Prithvi ................Prithvi was first test fired on February 25, 1988...............and inducted in 1994 .

Prahar was test-fired successfully on 21 July 2011 & will be inducted within 2-3 years .

comparing Nirbhay & Bramhos is just like comparing Tejas & F-22 .

Just telling Truth

The main hindrances of BrahMos are of export variant is called Yakhont which is given to India

Key points to remember:
• Only 120 km range when using Lo-altitude sea-skimming silhouette.
• Not smart ( can’t take equivocal measures on its own to avoid interceptor missiles and follows prearranged path)
• The SM-6 is though a diverse case is and can intercept supersonic missiles at sea-skimming elevations and high altitudes as well. This will be a crucial weapon for the any Navy to shield its fleet against missiles like the BrahMos.
• If we deliberate a solitary destroyer acting on its own, then the BrahMos will be spotted at about 25-30 km from the ship when it is in its sea-skimming incurable phase.