BBC NEWS: Pakistan's MQM 'received Indian funding'

Rashna

@pmaitra
Ofcom to take charge of BBC
Corporation's trust to be axed as communications watchdog gets beefed-up role to rule on impartiality and value for money

By Christopher Williams

10:46PM BST 25 Jun 2015
The BBC Trust will be axed and its powers handed to the communications regulator Ofcom, Westminster sources have revealed.

For the first time in the broadcaster’s nearly century-long history, it will be governed by an external body, as part of the renegotiation of the BBC Charter.

The move is expected to be signalled in a Green Paper that will formally trigger Charter renewal negotiations within weeks.

It comes after John Whittingdale, the new Culture Secretary, insisted that he does not have a “vendetta” against the corporation but warned that it needed a “very robust system in place” to deal with issues of impartiality.

• John Whittingdale interview: I am not going to war with the BBC

John Whittingdale MP (JULIAN SIMMONDS)

The move will mark a partial rejection the proposals of Rona Fairhead, the chairman of the Trust, who earlier this year suggested the it should be replaced with a new “bespoke” body dedicated to regulation of the BBC.

Ministers are instead planning an expanded remit for Ofcom, which also acts as the watchdog for the telecoms and commercial media industries.

The Government is understood to believe that Sharon White, Ofcom’s recently installed chief executive, has the necessary independence and cross-party support to take on politically sensitive oversight of the BBC.

Negotiations towards the renewal of the BBC Charter have not begun formally, but a source close to the Government’s plans said “you can put your mortgage on it”, referring to abolition of the BBC Trust and expansion of Ofcom’s remit.

The task would include regulating editorial standards, reviewing value for money and monitoring the BBC’s impact on the market.

The plans are understood to have the support of the Chancellor, who has publicly praised Ofcom’s oversight of commercial broadcasters such as ITV.

Ms White previously worked as a senior civil servant in the Treasury.

Sharon White is the first woman to run Ofcom

It is understood that the document will otherwise provide a starting point for discussion rather than firm proposals, but Westminster sources confirmed that at a freeze in the licence fee is the best the BBC can hope for financially.

• Treasury mandarin Sharon White gets top Ofcom role

The Government is also understood to be considering shortening the length of the BBC Charter from 10 years to five to make its funding model more flexible amid the rapidly shifting media landscape.

Since its creation less than a decade ago, the BBC Trust has been criticised for handing out over generous payoffs for departing executives.

The Trust has also been condemned for its role in investigating the Jimmy Savile scandal, and for making false allegations against Lord McAlpine.

The body’s trustees have come under fire for holding other high-profile jobs.

Ms Fairhead faced calls to resign over her directorship of HSBC, in light of tax evasion allegations surrounding its private banking arm.

Campaigners said the BBC Trust’s vice-chairman Roger Carr should be ousted over his chairmanship of the arms giant BAE Systems.

The BBC was accused of “left-wing bias” during the months leading up to the general election, with senior Conservative sources repeatedly saying that its coverage favoured Labour’s campaign.

• BBC's Lord Hall agrees to appear before MPs over 'biased' European coverage

BBC Director-General, Tony Hall

Lord Hall, the director-general of the BBC, said at the weekend that the licence fee could be replaced with a “household tax”, which would help protect funding as more people abandon traditional broadcasts in favour of

streaming online. Watching BBC programmes via the internet does not require a TV licence unless it is simultaneous with broadcast.

The idea of a universal levy rather than a licence fee is under consideration but Ministers fear it could leave the Government open to criticism for raising taxes, sources said.

Ministers are also understood to be considering whether the BBC could enjoy a new source of funding worth hundreds of millions of pounds by charging pay-TV operators, led by Sky and Virgin Media, for access to its channels.

ITV and Channel 4 haves been campaigning for such payments, known as retransmission fees, but the BBC has stayed out of the debate, fearing it could be accused of wanting to charge viewers twice.

The future of the BBC lies with the Government at the end of the charter review process. The current charter expires at the end of 2016.

The charter renewal process could see significant changes to the “regressive” £145.50 TV licence, Mr Whittingdale has indicated.

A BBC Trust spokesman said: “We aren’t going to comment on speculation and these issues will be debated as part of Charter Review. The important principle is that the BBC’s independence is protected.”

A DCMS spokesperson said: "Ministers are currently considering a range of options for how Charter Review will be conducted and an announcement will be made in due course. There is no set process, but of course we are determined to conduct a robust and thorough process, with significant opportunities for the public to contribute."

Ofcom declined to comment.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/bbc/11700135/Ofcom-to-take-charge-of-BBC.html

quote has been slightly edited

Owen Bennett Jones of the BBC has quoted the opinion of a Pakistani official who makes claims about India .

The whole world ( except, it seems, the BBC ) knows that Pakistan has strong bias against india - so how accurate can those claims be .,surely they should be put to test by independent persons or a competent committee from third countries ?

and yet the BBC swallows it wholesale ?
that's the BBC's idea of Journalism ? .....truly laughable

i think we have to agree with Dmitry Peskov ( quoted above ) and begin to allocate less time if any for the bbc .....with so many other broadcasting networks available, i dont think we should miss the bbc at all

ref:- .@LETHALFORCE @Sakal Gharelu Ustad @Rowdy @aliyah
@pmaitra @Kunal Biswas @Srinivas_K @cobra commando

Abbasi

BBC also exposed paki double game against war on terror , do u care? can u prove BBC allegation in international community??

teri aur tri mulk ki aukat nahi ha itni:megusta::megusta::lawl::lawl:
Aukat haiii isiii liya India ki phatti hai :cruisin2:

Abbasi

Well according to some paki media reports. This bbc allegation might be blessing in disguise for MQM as last time allegations against MQM were not proved and MQM got double popularity and it might be the case now as well
In your dreams Now MQM time is finish Now General is Raheel Sharif not anyone else

Abbasi

yes mr.abbasi we doing it.....if ur real paki then no need to be so surprised abut it.....u must be hearing n reading these things daily......in Pakistan there is R&AW ka hatth in everything from bomb blast to choking of LNG pipe,if ur boy/girl gets low grades in schools they not getting admissions, heatwave, extra rain all has R&AW ka haath in it.
u can print that in US papers too if u like.......neither we care nor the world :)
Really ur RAW have nothing else to do ? They are in Pakistani schools grading student :eek1:
Do it what you can do but ISI will take revenge check the sepration activities in India :hehe:

Abbasi

can u prove in courts internationally. nobody trust you. its just mere allegation by BBC . you can u fool your own jahil awam and blame india for your own in competencies but not the international community
Yes very soon we are going to expose you internationally dont worry

Puhhhhhlease expose us internationally and Universally. :rofl:

btw why didn't you raise it in US since you wanted to complaint against India to your ex-Abba aka US.

Anyway... world would laugh when you rant again since you are a proven Terrorist State and gave shelter to Osama.

SafedSagar

Nigga you guys have been saying that since your inception, please do it fast. Omg cant wait. #GoingToBeExposed #SuchWait #VeryScared
Here is some motivation...

aliyah

Really ur RAW have nothing else to do ? They are in Pakistani schools grading student :eek1:
Do it what you can do but ISI will take revenge check the sepration activities in India :hehe:
sepration activities in india....... u meen Baluchistan :)

very soon ??? how soon ??? UN dont support you on kashmir, ,OIC dont support you. saudi dont support you, ameerika dont support you. how will u expose us on MQM and balouchistan ??? and how soon, zaid hamid told us in 5 yrs pakis will be on moon , aaj uski gaand me saudi moon bana rahe ha

:rofl::laugh::laugh::laugh::biggrin2::biggrin2::biggrin2:

affsoss u r a madrasa educated, first apne gare baan me jhanko

ur ISI started terrorism and interfere in India

in 1948 by sending tribal in Kashmir

in 1965 operation Gibraltar

1987 till now in Kashmir

26/11 Bombay

revenge to RAW le rahi ha beta:balleballe::balleballe:

Aukat haiii isiii liya India ki phatti hai :cruisin2:

kithoo???

economy tusa di down ha

security tusa di down ha

bizlee pani tusa di down ha

international community tusa badnaam ho

leader tusa de bahar ja ke kaskool leker mangde ne

education system tusa da down ha

health hospital system tusa da down ha

tusa da hockey and cricket kol paisa ha nahi,
koi tusa de ghar anda nahi

te phaati phaaji hisab la lo kindi ha:cruisin2::cruisin2::cruisin2:

anupamsurey

all BBC does is quote Pakistani officials ranting India India. there is no proof, no credible sources (except for pakistani officials), and one must not forget pakistanis have memorised RAW too, so that they can rant whenever necessary

paki media and politician will bark and MQM wil come back more stronger

Abbasi

kithoo???

economy tusa di down ha

security tusa di down ha

bizlee pani tusa di down ha

international community tusa badnaam ho

leader tusa de bahar ja ke kaskool leker mangde ne

education system tusa da down ha

health hospital system tusa da down ha

tusa da hockey and cricket kol paisa ha nahi,
koi tusa de ghar anda nahi

te phaati phaaji hisab la lo kindi ha:cruisin2::cruisin2::cruisin2:
India kooool Bathroom banany wasta Paisa nahe

minorities ty zulm krny vich twada pahla naam ayyy

Rape vicch sary records tusiii pechy choor dity

Poverty vichh tusiii pechyyy

Literacy rate sirf 60% tusan da

Tusan dy National leader Ghandiii je kiii aik Inteha pasand Hindu maryyya

Ty dasooo phattti kis dii ??? :hehe:

Abbasi

affsoss u r a madrasa educated, first apne gare baan me jhanko

ur ISI started terrorism and interfere in India

in 1948 by sending tribal in Kashmir

in 1965 operation Gibraltar

1987 till now in Kashmir

26/11 Bombay

revenge to RAW le rahi ha beta:balleballe::balleballe:
lOlx you are saying Madrasa educated to Idealogue person

In 1947 India send Army in Kashmir

In 1971 RAW makes Mukti Banies for separation of Pakistan

After 1971 India supporting terrorism in Pakistan till now

26/11 Bombay no athentic proves of ISI involvement

Aur rooo rahy hain rooondoo :hippo::hippo:

lOlx you are saying Madrasa educated to Idealogue person

In 1947 India send Army in Kashmir

In 1971 RAW makes Mukti Banies for separation of Pakistan

After 1971 India supporting terrorism in Pakistan till now

26/11 Bombay no athentic proves of ISI involvement

Aur rooo rahy hain rooondoo :hippo::hippo:

Kashmir maharaja signed document to stay with india so ur logic fail

just like as u say 26/11 no proof same way there is no proof of Indian involvement in Baluchistan and MQM

as i said international community,muslim nation,EU koi gaal nahi sunda tusa di

India kooool Bathroom banany wasta Paisa nahe

minorities ty zulm krny vich twada pahla naam ayyy

Rape vicch sary records tusiii pechy choor dity

Poverty vichh tusiii pechyyy

Literacy rate sirf 60% tusan da

Tusan dy National leader Ghandiii je kiii aik Inteha pasand Hindu maryyya

Ty dasooo phattti kis dii ??? :hehe:

ya ,asa ta bathroom dubai ruler al makhtum de mahal te jande ha

literacy rate of india is 75% keeping in mind population of 1.2 billion and ur is less than 50% despite of population of 18 crore

people below poverty line of Pakistan is 50%

there are more Muslim killed by ur own Muslim in Pakistan forget the minorities. te tusa ta minority nu president bana dende ho na

As far as rape is concerned tusa da 50% country no go area ha DATA kitho ana. more over ur media dont have time to report they are busy in hindu saazish and money laundering and terrorism, karachi de halat,election rigging,, more over u people are more famous for admi hu admi se pyaar karta hu
:bounce::bounce:

gandhi nu hindu ne marya ,te tere bude da ki gaya
:pound::pound:
as i said u proved u r madrasa educated

Abbasi

Kashmir maharaja signed document to stay with india so ur logic fail

just like as u say 26/11 no proof same way there is no proof of Indian involvement in Baluchistan and MQM
Kashmir Mahraja signed but Kashmiri Peoples dont want to live with you
Assam UC Hyderabad Bombay was also signed as a states of Pakistan but India send army to these states
We caught Indian weapons we caught telephonic tapes of Your Army commanding BLA & TTP