Anglosphere - India's Future?

On Immigrants , here in DE
@Mad Indian @Rashna
On China,
Yup they thought of China as another Korea/Singapore.
But if I have learned one thing in my life it is that we must be able to profit from all situations....this chinese posture has given some stress to Japan and US and they want to industrialize india...since India lacks the Capital...and vast majority of Indians are good followers but bad leaders, this should work out a positive profit for us. Simply because we have not much lower to go.
That red part is true for all countries and not jut India/Indians

Hmm..yup I guess what I wanted to say is that Indian Hindus suffer from low self esteem / slave mentality.

yeah thats undisputable ................... Blame it on our education

argumentum

I'm very optimistic about America in the long term (though not in the next 10-20 years), I think Mad Indian's instincts are correct. You have to understand how our system was deliberately engineered to use the natural instincts of man and groups of men (factions or special interests) to preserve liberty and promote prosperity.

The key argument is the in the 10th federalist paper, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federalist_No._10 , which contains an almost mathematical formula for using diversity to maintain liberty.

This theory has stood the test of time, and while we may go up or down temporarily, the long term trend is always up. India, being even more diverse than the US, should try to learn from this.

On China,
Yup they thought of China as another Korea/Singapore.
No, they never thought that. They knew what kind of country China is since the day one.

But if I have learned one thing in my life it is that we must be able to profit from all situations....this chinese posture has given some stress to Japan and US and they want to industrialize india...since India lacks the Capital...and vast majority of Indians are good followers but bad leaders, this should work out a positive profit for us. Simply because we have not much lower to go.
That is where you go too far.
There is no one wants to industrialize India. Investing heavily in India doesn't mean industrializing India--different direction, different strategy. Investment is profit oriented while industrialization is capability oriented.

argumentum

yeah thats undisputable ................... Blame it on our education
Brainwashing has a limited effect as long as you maintain free speech. Kids tend to change their minds a lot in college, where leftists still try to bully dissenters, but there is some room for free thought and dissent.

With even a little breathing room, logic has an advantage over dogma.

This is what India needs to fix most of all, it has given too much legal ground to "community sentiments". Time to reverse the tide and strike back against the forces of backwardness arrayed against free thought.

Brainwashing has a limited effect as long as you maintain free speech. Kids tend to change their minds a lot in college, where leftists still try to bully dissenters, but there is some room for free thought and dissent.

With even a little breathing room, logic has an advantage over dogma.

This is what India needs to fix most of all, it has given too much legal ground to "community sentiments". Time to reverse the tide and strike back against the forces of backwardness arrayed against free thought.
Name new major rivers in the world that have formed in the past 100years?!?!

No, they never thought that. They knew what kind of country China is since the day one.

That is where you go too far.
There is no one wants to industrialize India. Investing heavily in India doesn't mean industrializing India--different direction, different strategy. Investment is profit oriented while industrialization is capability oriented.
And bull shit is cow oriented. There I have added more substance to your post

You won't find any major new rivers in the world. You might see some new tributaries or branchesand a few small corrections in path but the course of the river usually stays the same.

Point being, thinking and ideas are very similar. Once you bring up someone to think in a particular way, he will think in that particular way unless there is some massive change in his thinking pattern due to very extensive reading of subject matter(like your dam analogy). Once a person starts thinking like a socialist/moron he will always think that way till something extraordinary happens in his life. He will usually start building his identity around it. After that, any criticism of the ideology would be taken as an attack on his identity by him. So his rationality will stop in that regard and he will end up as an ideological slave.

So it is very essential that the very process of thinking is brought up to be liberal from childhood

For example, if some one asks me what my opinion is on Microsoft investing 100crore in India next year from which it will earn a profit of 1000crore over the next 10years, I would say that plan is awesome for India as those 100crore investment would generate jobs here and would help Indian govt with taxes and tariffs.

If you say the same thing to a communist retard(excuse the redundancy) , he would say we should oppose it as US will rob India off 900crores. See the difference?

And no I am not making this shit up. This is the exact reason given by communists and socialists who oppose foreign nuclear plants(or any global trade for that matter) in India- those foreigners want to make profits from us and so we should oppose it

argumentum

Pessimism is easy because it absolves you of the responsibilty to do something about the situation.

Minds can be changed, movements can be started. Why do modern classical liberals cede "yes we can" to the progressives? Why is it "yes we can" provide healthcare, and not "yes we can" end the drug war?

If you want freedom, you have to take it, it's never given freely. Start a movement to get back real free speech, a Twitter campaign to honor Salman Rushdie .. If he can get a knighthood why not a padma vibushan?

It's your country, make of it what you will. That's as much a part of Americanism as anything else.

You won't find any major new rivers in the world. You might see some new tributaries or branchesand a few small corrections in path but the course of the river usually stays the same.

Point being, thinking and ideas are very similar. Once you bring up someone to think in a particular way, he will think in that particular way unless there is some massive change in his thinking pattern due to very extensive reading of subject matter(like your dam analogy). Once a person starts thinking like a socialist/moron he will always think that way till something extraordinary happens in his life. He will usually start building his identity around it. After that, any criticism of the ideology would be taken as an attack on his identity by him. So his rationality will stop in that regard and he will end up as an ideological slave.

So it is very essential that the very process of thinking is brought up to be liberal from childhood

Peter

Pratik Maitra
Is that why you are living in US right now? Because you thought about love and harmony of the world? o_O

Dude get over this socialist nonsense that we owe any body anything. Nobody owes anybody anything
Thank you bhai for giving muh tor jawab.

Pessimism is easy because it absolves you of the responsibilty to do something about the situation.

Minds can be changed, movements can be started. Why do modern classical liberals cede "yes we can" to the progressives? Why is it "yes we can" provide healthcare, and not "yes we can" end the drug war?

If you want freedom, you have to take it, it's never given freely. Start a movement to get back real free speech, a Twitter campaign to honor Salman Rushdie .. If he can get a knighthood why not a padma vibushan?

It's your country, make of it what you will. That's as much a part of Americanism as anything else.
Lol. Seriously stop creating straw man. I am neither a pessimist nor someone who had given up . what the fuck do you think I am doing here?(right now I am trying to give course correction to an idealist ). No seriously I am a realist. What I am saying is based on what I have observed and reasoned.

Your solution to this leftist propaganda is trying to reason with leftists. It is very difficult and very inefficient. As I said , most leftists(and rightists) tie their identity to their ideology and so would be incapable of distinguishing criticism of ideology and their identity. So they will remain what they are unless something very dramatic happens.

So the only way for this to change is to change their thinking process in a very young age when they are at schools. Not when they have their identity based on their ideology.

For eg., I will give you one year. The challenge is to change your cousin from the typical entitled feminist, white man hating, free market hating pro social justice woman into a classical liberal. Are you up for the challenge? Let's see how much you are willing to work for change. Let me give my advice though unless your cousin is super brilliant with no identity crisis or identity around ideology, what I said would be pretty impossible. So you up for challenge?

I can give more examples if you want @argumentum on how much ideology as an identity plays a role in the thinking of people. Do you wanna hear?

argumentum

Lol. Seriously stop creating straw man. I am neither a pessimist nor someone who had given up . what the fuck do you think I am doing here?(right now I am trying to give course correction to an idealist ). No seriously I am a realist. What I am saying is based on what I have observed and reasoned.

Your solution to this leftist propaganda is trying to reason with leftists. It is very difficult and very inefficient. As I said , most leftists(and rightists) tie their identity to their ideology and so would be incapable of distinguishing criticism of ideology and their identity. So they will remain what they are unless something very dramatic happens.

So the only way for this to change is to change their thinking process in a very young age when they are at schools. Not when they have their identity based on their ideology.

For eg., I will give you one year. The challenge is to change your cousin from the typical entitled feminist, white man hating, free market hating pro social justice woman into a classical liberal. Are you up for the challenge? Let's see how much you are willing to work for change. Let me give my advice though unless your cousin is super brilliant with no identity crisis or identity around ideology, what I said would be pretty impossible. So you up for challenge?
I think it's important to distinguish between ideological leftists and those who take leftist positions because they are in a mileau where the consensus is leftism.

They vast majority of people simply take the consensus as their opinion. When they change groups of friends their opinions change. Agreeing with the consensus is probably a good strategy for social success in most cases, and this is what most (esp high schoolers like my cousin) are driven by.

A small number do become social justice warrior types with all the traits you mentioned. I agree these are impossible to argue with, because their worldview is a tautology and not subject to reason. It's more like a "faith" than a philosophy.

So the task is not to swing the latter group but the former, which I know from experience is not that hard.

I think it's important to distinguish between ideological leftists and those who take leftist positions because they are in a mileau where the consensus is leftism.

They vast majority of people simply take the consensus as their opinion. When they change groups of friends their opinions change. Agreeing with the consensus is probably a good strategy for social success in most cases, and this is what most (esp high schoolers like my cousin) are driven by.

A small number do become social justice warrior types with all the traits you mentioned. I agree these are impossible to argue with, because their worldview is a tautology and not subject to reason. It's more like a "faith" than a philosophy.

So the task is not to swing the latter group but the former, which I know from experience is not that hard.
Again you are not looking at the big picture. How the hell is the environment going to change from pure leftist BS to a classical liberal one when everyone one in their age is fed the same BS about leftism? And the ones you talk about those who go with the flow without any opinion are most like going to go with the flow again when you try reasoning about classical liberalism. They are more likely to nod to your pressure to reason than come to a decision on their own, seeing how they dint come to a conclusion in their schools and college. So how does one bring about classic liberal thinking as majority here?

And seriously you should take up my challenge. It is fun and would teach you a lot more than you think.