Akhilesh for Metro, mono-rail in major UP cities

LUCKNOW: To ease traffic congestions in Lucknow, Kanpur, Agra and Varanasi, Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav today asked officials to prepare a feasibility report for starting Metro, mono-rail and BRTS services, and expedite implementation of the second phase of Metro project in Ghaziabad.

Yadav, who was reviewing the working of housing and urban planning department, asked the officials to prepare the report early, an official spokesman said.

He favoured implementation of northern peripheral by-pass project in Ghazibad on the Public-Private Partnership mode at the earliest, besides implementing the second phase of metro project there, the spokesman said.

Yadav directed for setting up an IT park in Lucknow to help youth get employment at the local level, besides asking for construction of flyover for dealing with the problem of traffic jams on the Lucknow-Kanpur national highway.

The Chief Minister also directed to give shape to the Jai Prakash Narian International project in Gomti Nagar area of the state capital.

Source

This dude seems to be in the right track, for now.

i disagree these r very costly services if keep on making it will entire state diwalia
You can disagree, but please do state your points for disagreeing.

India severely lacks a proper infrastructure. This step is in the right direction. It will not only create jobs in UP, but will also attract FDI. Who's benefitting?

john70

i disagree these r very costly services if keep on making it will entire state diwalia
actually cost effective. Metros and other such services though costly initially.... Save huge amt of money for nation, plus decrease pollution and ease up transportation. Good go ahead. IT development too is agood idea. Best of luck to him.

And who will pay for it ?

Majority of Bihari and UP people travel without train ticket, don't pay electricity bill but they want metro and mono rail
Who have been paying all these years for UP to run amok?

With good governance, systems can be put into place so that it is not abused and turn into a profit making business. Good policing can take care of almost all internal issues of a state.

Akhilesh is a young gun, we should give him a chance instead of being pessimistic.

While Akhilesh seems to sound very positive, I doubt this would be possible considering the mentality of UP folks in cities other than Lucknow. Not being offensive but the state hasn't evolved since 1800s apart from the state capital. Cities like Gorakhpur and Kanpur types are still stuck in the paanwala era.

The state first needs to start developing industries, increase social education standards and implement them sternly before putting out modern facilities like metros. Otherwise monorail and metro in UP would look like Mumbai local trains within 3 months of its inauguration.

The evolution of a state has to be in stages. I really hope Akhilesh is a change from the gunda raj that UP has suffered all these years.

Let us see. I don't believe a word that comes out from an SP worker, Akhilesh Yadav included. Talk is cheap - I will applaud after I see him put something into action.

And who will pay for it ?

Majority of Bihari and UP people travel without train ticket, don't pay electricity bill but they want metro and mono rail
You may be correct, but when you make such statements, please back it up with links.

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
Who have been paying all these years for UP to run amok?"¨"¨With good governance, systems can be put into place so that it is not abused and turn into a profit making business. Good policing can take care of almost all internal issues of a state."¨"¨Akhilesh is a young gun, we should give him a chance instead of being pessimistic.
"¨"¨"©Of course other Tax Payers..."©And who you kidding ??Good governance from a Socialist Party which never believes in free market policy.Impossible.From where they will get money ??"©And what's this Young blood BS ?? I don't understand why people think young person can lead better.Age doesn't matter yar.If you ask me what happened in U.P. after election, I would say "Behnji gaye aur Bhailog aaye".....:lol:

I think Yadav jr should first make the State free of goondaism.

That should be easier than building Metros and mono rails.

It will give the people confidence and give them hope and that will spur them to help Yadav jr achieve his dreams.

GUNS-N- ROSES

i think more than metro and mono rails the "young CM" would do well to concentrate on law and order first. if the first week is an indicator of things to come we r heading for tough time ahead.

btw how is he gonna fund these metro/mono rail project since he has promised almost 60000 crores through lap tops/tablets and other schemes.

Well,UP chaps are also great in their own way.

Bravery in genes, Bareilly to Britain
- Flying Cross ties two generations

London, March 24: This is the story of the boy from Bareilly who managed to fly a broken Chinook helicopter under enemy fire in Afghanistan — and was this week awarded a Distinguished Flying Cross in Britain for proving himself to be among "the bravest of the brave".

But in a sense the story of Flight Lieutenant Jonathan Arvind Singh, born in Uttar Pradesh of an Indian father, Arbinder Singh, and an English mother, Margaret Bhore — "my mother was teaching in India and she met my father there" — goes back a couple of generations.

Bravery in genes, Bareilly to Britain

and

Sir Cliff Richard, OBE (born Harry Rodger Webb) in Lucknow, India, to Rodger Oscar Webb, a manager for a catering contractor that serviced the Indian Railways, and his wife Dorothy Marie Dazely. Richard was baptised Harry Rodger Webb on 2 November 1940 at St Thomas's Church, Dehradun, India. The family lived in a modest home with other Anglo-Indians at Maqbara, near the main shopping centre of Hazratganj. The Anglo-Indians living at Maqbara were often employed as musicians; a band played at the Royal Cafe Restaurant, Lucknow, and another at the Mohmmad Bagh club, which was the officers' club serving the garrison at Lucknow. Dorothy's mother served as the dormitory matron at the La Martiniere Girls' School.

He is from UP and also from my school (the boys one).

So, UP has its place in the sun too!

"¨"¨"©Of course other Tax Payers..."©And who you kidding ??Good governance from a Socialist Party which never believes in free market policy.Impossible.From where they will get money ??"©And what's this Young blood BS ?? I don't understand why people think young person can lead better.Age doesn't matter yar.If you ask me what happened in U.P. after election, I would say "Behnji gaye aur Bhailog aaye".....:lol:
I understand your frustration. But hey, let's give him a chance shall we? It's not even a month that he is in the CM's chair.

I would say "Behnji gaye aur Bhailog aaye".....:lol:
:rotflmao:

VIP

Ultra Nationalist
I understand your frustration. But hey, let's give him a chance shall we? It's not even a month that he is in the CM's chair. "¨"¨ "¨"¨:rotflmao:
"¨"¨"©Well, he got his chance.UPians had given him the top position."©But I don't expect much from him.I think he's 2nd MMS.Ultimately Mulayam would take every decision.We can't expect much from a socialist party you know,they are brothers of communists.

lcatejas

Every one will come to know what this young gun will do....Promised to offer 1000 rs as unemployment allowance.. distribute laptop and tablets to students (idea imported from TN ) big question is from where money will come ... given a jail ministry to a criminal (ab Chore jail ki rakhwali karenge.. ) ..kuch nahi hoga UP ka ...

why not skybus . its cheaper then both would take less time to construct and money would remained within indian itself ??