After 20 years, RAW upgrades to super spy jets

utubekhiladi

The Preacher

After 20 years, India's external intelligence agency Research and Analysis Wing (R&AW) is set to spread its wings — deep into enemy territory.

The agency is to acquire two Bombardier jets packed with Israeli multi-mission airborne reconnaissance and surveillance systems that will multiply its capability along Pakistan and China borders.

The Bombardier 5000 aircraft, which will replace two 21-year-old Gulfstream jets, will daily collect electronic and ground intelligence 180 km inside the neighbours' territories.

The jets are being uploaded with electronic intelligence collection packages in Israel and flight trials begin in July.

Fitted with synthetic aperture and electro-optical radars, the jets, expected to be pressed into service in the next two years, will be able to monitor strategic and military activity across the borders.

Last June, the cabinet committee on security quietly approved the $300m ( Rs. 1,500 crore) deal with Israel's ELTA, a leading defence electronics firm.

R&AW's Aviation Research Centre has some 30 airborne intelligence collection platforms but they're dated, with Boeing 707 and Gulfstream jets fitted with antique analogue radars.

While both Pakistan and China have airborne platforms fitted with electronic and communication collection capability, the new spy jets will be unmatched in the sub-continent.

The agency will be able to collect day-to-day ground intelligence as the jets will be provide real time data such as troop or armour movements for prompt reaction.

A Global 5000 can fly close to 5,000 nautical miles (9,300 km) non-stop at Mach 0.85 (907kmph) and can climb to 43,000 feet in 23 minutes.

With both China and Pakistan deploying missiles and building logistics aimed at India, the spy jets will help make the battlefield — from low intensity conflict in Kashmir to all out hostilities — more transparent with strategic (missile) alert capability.

http://www.hindustantimes.com/India...grades-to-super-spy-jets/Article1-849802.aspx

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Why in the hell do they need to make such information public. India is perhaps the only country whose secret service publicizes its assets in such a manner. Are they trying to tell the Paki swines and Chinese dogs to upgrade their equipment? :facepalm:

Chalo good to know, you should have published more pin pointed details like where it is going to be stationed, who will be handling it , Indian media is such a jerk that they don't know what to be published. More over the babus, who leaked this news in reply to some 'kharcha paani' should know to keep their mouth shut and do their duty. :angry:

I know such a giant a$$ can't be concealed for long, but talking about RAW's prospective intention is way too much. Don't the editors have this common sense? :fu: :why:

Pokemon

UTK you are perhaps over reacting.

Do you think that ELTA wont be having chinese and paki moles within to leak the acquisition details to them??

Most probably they are informed much before us.

These details are open, they can be sought through RTI anytime. Moreover the information is provided during parliament proceedings, recent bills stressed on this disclosure. RAW/IB budget & expenditure is now overseen by parliament committee unlike past. Remember, we are a democratic country & therefore public demands to know how its money is spent.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
UTK you are perhaps over reacting.

Do you think that ELTA wont be having chinese and paki moles within to leak the acquisition details to them??

Most probably they are informed much before us.
"R&AW's Aviation Research Centre has some 30 airborne intelligence collection platforms"

- why would the media release how many airborne intelligence units we have?

* having a mole in ELTA is one thing but announcing in a loud speaker is a whole different thing.

Defcon 1

These details are open, they can be sought through RTI anytime. Moreover the information is provided during parliament proceedings, recent bills stressed on this disclosure. RAW/IB budget & expenditure is now overseen by parliament committee unlike past. Remember, we are a democratic country & therefore public demands to know how its money is spent.
I don't think this is true. the intelligence bill has not been passed yet, as far as I know. till the bill is passed, the government cannot accept that we already have an intelligence agency named RAW, as the bill itself contains the clause which suggests setting up of RAW.

the bill was introduced in that session, but not passed. It was supposed to be passed in this session, as far as i know.
It is in subject approval with passage sought in this session. But Govt already recognizes RAW/IB.

Defcon 1

It is in subject approval with passage sought in this session. But Govt already recognizes RAW/IB.
IB is recognised, but not RAW. At least not officially.

Anyways, how is the plane different from an AEW&CS?

Defcon 1

In that case, link me the draft of new bill which suggests to setup RAW.
ReportDetail

on the bottom of the page u will find the link. although it also mentions setting up of IB, but i have already seen some ads for recruitment in IB, hence we can assume that the government recognises IB. thanks

Pokemon

"R&AW's Aviation Research Centre has some 30 airborne intelligence collection platforms"

- why would the media release how many airborne intelligence units we have?

* having a mole in ELTA is one thing but announcing in a loud speaker is a whole different thing.
Announcing an obvious is no harm.

Will you protest if IAF announces its going to procure 250 FGFA???

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
Announcing an obvious is no harm.

Will you protest if IAF announces its foing to procure 250 FGFA???
first you need to understand what secret agency like RAW is all about. no sane country announces their secret services spying equipment's, tactics and methodology. you are doing the wrong kind of comparison here just for the argument shake.

Pokemon

first you need to understand what secret agency like RAW is all about. no sane country announces their secret services spying equipment's, tactics and methodology. you are doing the wrong kind of comparison here just for the argument shake.
UTK you are fetching more paranoia out of the news than it offers.

Everyone is aware of acquisitions going on in the world and about the machine specs that are open in public.

You will be amazed to know then that china and pakistan both must be knowing about super jet more than classifieds.

ReportDetail

on the bottom of the page u will find the link. although it also mentions setting up of IB, but i have already seen some ads for recruitment in IB, hence we can assume that the government recognises IB. thanks
It is the same Manish Tiwari bill posted in other thread.

RAW is no separate agency, it is under umbrella of Cabinet secretariat's undertaking. Its existence is pretty much recognized. In the current setup it is answerable only to PM. Thus to make it more accountable, it is being pushed out of PMO secretory's powers leading to parliament committee.

utubekhiladi

The Preacher
UTK you are fetching more paranoia out of the news than it offers.

Everyone is aware of acquisitions going on in the world and about the machine specs that are open in public.

You will be amazed to know then that china and pakistan both must be knowing about super jet more than classifieds.
you do not know that for sure. you are assuming that chini and baki know about such jets. plus, you have no idea, how many top classified projects india is currently working on right now. there is a reason why certain stuffs should be kept secret.

well, lets see, let's make announcement from tomorrow onwards; example is given below..

"hey you, Yes, you Bakistani and chinese sons of B@%^*&. Look over here, RAW just got a freaking brand new spy jet. look how shiny this thing is.. look at that.. beautiful isn't. now listen carefully, from tomorrow on-wards RAW will be using this new Bombardier Jet equipped with Israeli multi-mission airborne reconnaissance and surveillance systems that will multiply its capability along your borders. Bite it. now this jet can gather your ground intelligence about 180 km deep in your territory. howwzzaatt? this jet also contains synthetic aperture and electro-optical radars,and will be able to monitor strategic and military activity across your border borders.. haha~ very funny. now beware we have 30 surveillance jets, more than bakistan. did i also mention that this jet can fly 9,300 km non-stop at Mach 0.85 (90 7kmph) and can climb to 43,000 feet in 23 minutes. now if u need more information regarding this jet then, please refer to our great secular media

now, tomorrow we will also reveal information regarding our spies and their equipment including all our nuclear launch codes because our friends assume that you guys already know about it. so stay tuned... we will be right back."

from now on, we will announce all our secrets with 'band-vaaja' :fyeah:

boris

Good Purchase but should have been kept away from media eye,what R&AW has and will acquire shouldn't be declared.The agency is an asset for the Nation.I do like the current setup of being answerable to the PM,it has worked well till now.