ADA Tejas (LCA) News and Discussions

Which role suits LCA 'Tejas' more than others from following options?

• Interceptor-Defend Skies from Intruders.

Votes: 342 51.3%
  • Airsuperiority-Complete control of the skies.

Votes: 17 2.5%
  • Strike-Attack deep into enemy zone.

Votes: 24 3.6%
  • Multirole-Perform multiple roles.

Votes: 284 42.6%

Thanks. I was just about to post it here. Please share
Very well done. I loved the video and the views you carried. One suggestion. You have spent more time comparing Tejas with Canberra. Can you add a more material comparing with jets its going to face in air like F16's , Chinese JH7's, Su's etc that will is possibly face in interdiction mode.

patriots

Defense lover
things will clear soon ....,............more Tejas or sef

don't know why mod is not issuing statement.....may be still it's under consideration

Pandora

Well I always advocate ,we should ask Rakshamantri to intervene in this and push Arjun mk2 ,LCA tejas ,rifles and carbine down their throat.Trust me ,I know how things works in IAF atleast now days they are more focused in good wife and somehow complete 15yrs in force before taking on commercial pilot assignment.

R A Varun

Yes, it does..quite clearly even though author was trying to be subtle about it. But that's ok.

But this whole "numbers game" that IAF is playing at, seems a waste of effort, money and time on the part of MoD.

MoD should straight away ask this question to IAF :
"If those 100 odd SEFs are bought instead of Tejas, will you guarantee that during a two front war, we would be having an upper hand against both the rivals?
And let's assume that by some miracle and added help of these 100 SEFs, we tame the two neighbors by defeating their combined strength of over 2000 fighters and attack aircrafts, would they not look to escalate the situation with ICBMs and wouldn't we have to escalate similarly?"

IAF would surely defend by saying its deterrence and to prevent a war this is a must.

The fact remains those 100 SEFs are not going to increase any deterrence than what it is now.
In fact a better way to have deterrence is to establish joint commands. Our Army, Navy and Strategic command has quite the striking capability too and that's why I advocated for these joint commands and the procurement should be done at command capability level.
If that is accounted for and we deploy a combination of 300 Tejas mk1a + Tejas remote piloted versions + Mk2 would provide more deterrence than those SEFs. We already got sophisticated, long range jets with Rafale and Sukhois.

Problem is that the war fighting scenarios have changed a lot since nukes but our strategic thinking/procurement process has somehow not evolved completely.
well said narasimha,

but the problem is tejas can handle the entire pakistan fighter squadron varians given its capabilities in close range. in the mean time if the air force needs more fighters on both the fronts taking off from the bases deep inside then there comes the range. also the weapon load, these 100 sef's are intended to fill the gap that would be created by the mirages, while the mig 21 and 27 will have the far superior tejas to fullfill them, sef's will act as dual front aircrafts with large range than the tejas.

while the twin engines are for the replacement of the mig 29's and the jaguars. may be more rafales could add up. the suknoi's will be taken over by the pak-fa, and the AMCA WILL be the next twin engine fighter aircraft.

there is no matter of sidelining the tejas at any cost. while some one suggested enemy has two thousand aircrafts. please kindly note that, the chinese reuire deep hinterland bases to launch them, whiel bramhose can knock off the airfields in its range on western sector, especially even the emergency express runways.

Kay

well said narasimha,

but the problem is tejas can handle the entire pakistan fighter squadron varians given its capabilities in close range. in the mean time if the air force needs more fighters on both the fronts taking off from the bases deep inside then there comes the range. also the weapon load, these 100 sef's are intended to fill the gap that would be created by the mirages, while the mig 21 and 27 will have the far superior tejas to fullfill them, sef's will act as dual front aircrafts with large range than the tejas.

while the twin engines are for the replacement of the mig 29's and the jaguars. may be more rafales could add up. the suknoi's will be taken over by the pak-fa, and the AMCA WILL be the next twin engine fighter aircraft.

there is no matter of sidelining the tejas at any cost. while some one suggested enemy has two thousand aircrafts. please kindly note that, the chinese reuire deep hinterland bases to launch them, whiel bramhose can knock off the airfields in its range on western sector, especially even the emergency express runways.
IAF simply wants shiny toys and their kickbacks from lobbyists - I don't think any level of strategic thinking has gone into the procurement of single engine fighters.
What about inventory management of multiple types of fighters? How about dealing with wartime embargoes?
Nah...it's the same sort of excuses (endurance? Surely - now they remember endurance - not when selecting GE404?)
We saw this movie before - no summer trials for T90 and complains of torsion bar failure for Arjun tanks.
It seems the army has got filled up with good for nothing self-serving incompetent people in leadership positions and they need to be immediately purged to change the organizational culture. New leadership from youngsters is needed.

Does not matter who has written The Script(again) what matters is Tejas is not going Marut's way without putting up a bloody fight. By which I mean without making its opponents lose their Chaddi out in public.

Today in the era of social media the mainstream media is already losing its ability to influence and manipulate people. Little people buy when someone says all being done for national security. So no, no no no no no. You can not sell the blatant lie that you need Gripen E as SEF because Tejas is incapable. We will ask why not develop Tejas MK-2 based on Naval model if you are trying to reach the level of Gripen E?

You may be men in XYZ. But do mind we no more Bloody (+ignorant+) civilians.

singh100ful

This is what Prasun Sengupta has to say about recent LCA negativity

"HAL can provide the same type of consultancy (provided by Dassault), but to date no one has answered why HAL’s contribution in such areas was not sought since the late 1980s! The only one who can answer this is Dr V S Arunachalam, the then DRDO Chief in the late 1980s who successfully convinced the then PM Rajiv Gandhi to adopt the totally flawed methodology of developing the LCA Mk.1. It was evident to any qualified person (I.e. a licensed aeronautical engineer) by 2006 itself that the LCA Mk.1’s design & developmental roadmap was totally flawed & unacceptable to the prospective end-users (more about it explained below). But all this emerged in full-view only since 2015 when the stark truth could no longer stay hidden through denials!

Only those with blinkers on will view the issue as being negative or positive, as opposed to making an objective, emotion-less assessment of ground realities. One must NEVER be passionate about such matters, since injection of emotions clouds one’s final judgement. Now, let’s get the foundational fundamentals right:

1) Anyone seeking to develop a 4th-gen MRCA must receive substantial technical & industrial support from an established aircraft manufacturer from the detailed design stage itself. Was this the case with the LCA project? Definitely not, since the DRDO’s ADA was left in total charge of the LCA’s developmental effort.

2) The person heading ADA ought to be a licensed aeronautical engineer who understands the mandatory need for an optimally engineered end-product. Have any of ADA’s Directors to date been licensed aeronautical engineers? NO.

3) As per universal practice, ONLY a licensed aeronautical engineer will understand that whenever any combat aircraft is being developed, it is MANDATORY to start flight-testing the initial prototytpe aircraft with its on-board cannon & internal self-protection suite ALREADY INSTALLED. Why? Elementary: internal cannopn-firing involves generation of exhaust gases & kinetic recoil that have consequences for engine air-intake design/positioning configuration & the latter affects the structural integrity of the airframe. Until these 2 factors can be quantified through flight-tests, the airframe service-life can NEVER be established. Similarly, internal self-protection suites using EW jammers radiate energy that affects the performance of other avionics LRUs, i.e. electromagnetic interference (EMI). Hence, unless the compatibility of the EW jammer with other on-board mission avionics is established, the optimal performance of the entire mission avionics suite can never be ascertained. Has all this been done so far? NO. Cannon-fire tests/qualification & internal jammer-avionics compatibility tests should have been undertaken as far back as 2006. Since this wasn’t done & still hasn’t been done (contrary to global practices), virtually the entire LCA developmental effort tantamounts to putting the cart before the horse. Again, only licensed aeronautical engineers—not internet fanboys or techies engaged in CAD—are able to comprehend suich mandatory real-life realities. Hence, all that is outstanding for the IAF to do is say & convincingly prove (through easily available empirical data) that the airframe design/robustness Tejas Mk.1 & Tejas Mk.1A is UNSOUND from a flight-safety standpoint & that will be the final nail in the coffin of these two aircraft variants!!!

4) As for LCA versus MiG-21, don’t compare apples with oranges, i.e. 4th-gen MRCA with 2nd-gen MRCA. If you want to compare quantum of testers reqd/used, then do so between the LCA & Rafale or LCA & Gripen or F-16 Block 70. MiG-21 obviously requires far less testers since it does not possess the quantum of on-board avionics the LCA Mk.1 does. Human resource is always the most expensive component of any institution & that’s why the manpower-levels of the IA & IAF have stayed frozen & have not had any increases since the 1990s-hence don’t delude yourself with wrong assumptions."

3633th flight on 31st Oct > 3682th flight on 16th Nov : 49/16 =~3 per day

LSP3: 9
LSP5: 12
LSP4: 6
LSP7: 16
PV6: 6
No LSP-8. Strange! IFR testing should have been going in full swing by now. Atleast dry contact should have begun.
------
BTW all those HAL haters should try to e the plain significance of flying a FBW fighter incident free for 3633 times. Not to add flights of Tejas in squardron service.

tejas warrior

Interview with HAL CMD: ‘No frozen standard of preparation of LCA… that’s where delays are coming’

On the recent reports about the LCA Tejas and the foreign single-engine fighter, where does the HAL stand? Is everything fine with LCA?

There is not much controversy about the LCA. HAL stands very strongly behind the LCA. We have established the production line capacity of eight aircrafts, the first five of them are already flying and have done more than 600 sorties. They are doing up. and we have kept things in place to produce eight and we are investing Rs 1,331 crore to increase the capacity to 16 deliverable a year. We have also used another concept of contracting the main components of the aircraft such as the front fuselage, centre fuselage, rear fuselage to L&T, WhAM, DTL.

We have placed the orders. If these guys start giving me the required top-quality product, that adds to my deliverables. Now question comes, how much order I have. I have 20 IOC, of which I will provide 11 to IAF by the end of this financial year, and that would leave me with 4 fighters and 4 trainers, and trainers’ SOP we hope can be concluded so that the production run can be there.

As far as the FOC order is concerned, mid-2018 is when FOC is expected to come but we are asking the customer (IAF) to allow us to cut the material. Because if we start now, the aircraft will come after three years. By then, this AON of 83 LCA will be converted into a contract between the IAF and HAL. However, today the facilities are on and the rate at which jigs are created are available, and the purchase orders can be verified and checked.

What is the delay in getting the FOC now?

The aircraft are flying and the operational capacity enhancement requires a thorough verification. It is a developmental work and we are planning to fly 60 sorties a month. Now between IAF, ADA and HAL, we are ensuring that these many sorties happen.

While the promises are for getting the FOC by mid-2018, we will definitely get it by December 2018. We should then be able to supply these 20 FOC by 2022. And then on to the next 83… If capacities are put on depending on the configuration clearance, the numbers can be rolled out.

http://indianexpress.com/article/busine ... g-4944113/

G10

Hal wants design frozen and then it will deliver it in next decade. And customer should be happy and place more orders. Great.

soikot banerjee

Hal wants design frozen and then it will deliver it in next decade. And customer should be happy and place more orders. Great.
$hit happens when you are only busy with manufacturing on license and then you are asked to get things on your own. It's 3 Decades of rust, atleast will take 5-6 year to go away. All we are paying for our sins, by dumping Marut. If we dump this too, Voila you will get another license manufacturer this time in Private.

tejas warrior

I feel line wouldn't kept ideal this time.. some order of Mk1 IOC/FOC will be placed OR 2nd line will be delayed so that HAL will never reach 16/yr before FOC is achieved.

kamaal

Interview with HAL CMD: ‘No frozen standard of preparation of LCA… that’s where delays are coming’

On the recent reports about the LCA Tejas and the foreign single-engine fighter, where does the HAL stand? Is everything fine with LCA?

As far as the FOC order is concerned, mid-2018 is when FOC is expected to come but we are asking the customer (IAF) to allow us to cut the material. Because if we start now, the aircraft will come after three years. By then, this AON of 83 LCA will be converted into a contract between the IAF and HAL. However, today the facilities are on and the rate at which jigs are created are available, and the purchase orders can be verified and checked.

What is the delay in getting the FOC now?

The aircraft are flying and the operational capacity enhancement requires a thorough verification. It is a developmental work and we are planning to fly 60 sorties a month. Now between IAF, ADA and HAL, we are ensuring that these many sorties happen.

While the promises are for getting the FOC by mid-2018, we will definitely get it by December 2018. We should then be able to supply these 20 FOC by 2022. And then on to the next 83… If capacities are put on depending on the configuration clearance, the numbers can be rolled out.

http://indianexpress.com/article/busine ... g-4944113/
Very discouraging statement from the man. "we will definitely get it by December 2018", I thought March 2018 should be the final date, that shows nothing is going as per plan regarding FOC. HAL should revamp itself or be ready to be sold out in pvt hands, bcoz it is slowly becoming anti-India PSU.

Plus HAL's incompetency & IAF's misplaced priorities are helping foreign companies to exploit the public fund.

Why is GoI not selling 51% stake in HAL ???? just do it and see the magic happening after that.:basanti: