Indian defence industry exports watch

Mariner HK

the chinnis ( as some call them ) would have had less ambitious specifications and would have announced to the world that they completed the project in record time.!

the APPARENT problem re lng time frame is a POLITICAL rather than a capability one - i.e no continuity in funding and the successive govt throwing the project to the back burner and giving lower priority

what india seriously need is a white-heat serious look at the political system which always and without exception is the chief obstacle in all our developments programs whether military or indeed civilian.
AGREED... roma u rock..

shom

It really worries me as a Indian with great Ancient past.I wondered did we had some extra brain like Drop Tanks in the ancient times when we had greatest technology advancement in all field. We had a knowledge of starts its movements ,UFO (vimanas) greatest mega cities with 11 lac germ palaces ,Drainage system and much much more.When today nasa the world's best space agency ,Microsoft and many leading co has HUGE contribution from INDIAN. Once Bilgates said,If usa want to stop our recuirment of indian into microsoft We have no other option but to shift to INDIA. But,This 2nd largest population in the world,Country which thought humanity the ways to live like human is the worst weapon producers.Even small nations like Israel Japan Malaysia brazin singapore export their defence equipments,Civil and military technology.

We have the worst history of failurw in Indigenous weapons capabilities.Whole world laugh at our face.Including our own people laugh at ADA,DRDO ,HAL and othe defence PSUs when ever they say that This product will be inducted in 5 years or what ever the time they mention. Its a shame how can this Great Indian Human Race succeed abroad and in Private Firms in india but cant produce a RIFILE ,Tanks,Fighter jets and other normal essential Weapons required to save this nation from security threats.Now some of fools reading this will counter a question "Kid producing indigenous AC is not easy DEAL' I Agree but are DRDO ,ADA ,Ordinance factory, HAL etc not ASHAMED to say this...? For what taxpayers money been paid them for ? Since a normal poor indian cant produce a high tec weapon these defence PSUs are created and recuited on basis on their talent to produce these things... THEY MUST PRODUCE INDIGENOUS WEAPONS...Thats their primary objective.

Lets come to our 30 year old legacy. TEJAS. Today every deal is a scam.Its true no bitching.The same core group selected Agusta choppers which was denied as too costly by PRESIDENT of UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ,Clinged the Rafale deal .How can this deal been clean and honest.That too rafale was rejected during field trails by INDIAN AIRFORCE and EF typoon came up as a leader.IAF expressed its intrest on EF typoon.Later rafale was brought back our defence minister and later won the deal.Am not saying rafale is a bad choice what am saying wat if ef was our better choice ? What ever we all agree to disagree on MMRCA. Now how can one belive this was a fair deal with no kick backs ? If there was a kick back for 20 Bil$ deal the kick back amount is very huge.If a dassault paid this huge bribe to get this deal its obvious the price the offer to us will be manuplated and ll be high . Ofcourse it will be.After all Rafale is not for charity . So this deal is not and will not be fair.Am affraid it ll even move ahead.Now the price quoted by rafale is less so it was our winner but the tricky part is this quated price is not the life cycle cost ? Rafale was lowest bidder against EF typoon 's Price and life cycle cost .. This is the problem for not signing this deal yet.Our Mr.Perfect Antony Ji said negotiations are going on to make rafale accept this bidding price as inclucive of life cycle cost. Thats why my friend we got news that MMRCA deal will cost more than what we thought.this is not bitching we all knew about it. MAKE SENSE ? Dont know this deal will go through or not...

What if we scraped mmrca deal.Its a possible many times came close to it recently and in the past. Now because of these anti national politicians Kick backs and bribe now our countries security is at STAKE.We already 7 squadrens less.Pakistan getteinf new and upgraded f16s,j17,j11b and j10 is also on card for pakistan,on eastern front its CHINA.I really wonder how our politicians takes china so easily when USA-sole super power is affraid off,the whole South China sea nieghbours getting togher (ganging up) to take this chinese might but INDIA takes it as ALL IS WELL. China wont attack india .As if China is our bab. Senseless and poor fore sight of our defence personal will be felt when whole lots of missile and bombs rains from our skies.But these BABUS and Netas will flee to other western nation where they will live like a BILLINIORS... Sometime i thought this might be the reason the steal too much. So what can we do for our IAF? Only remedi is Scrap this deal first. Lets have this mother of all deal money 20 billion dollars for mmrca ,chopper deal some 6 bils$ or more, i mean india to spend nearly 100 bilion on weapons. Just think wat if this huge money Invested in our INDIGENOUS PROGRAMS. Insteed of rafale we can produce our own Medium class tejas with two engines.We can buy engines and other system for now and assemble it in our 2 engined config MCA tejas. CANT we do it? We will produce our own MCH , medium wieght Dhruv helli.
We always critic China for coping but do u all remember when our PM Mr.Singh on rare occation opened his mouth and said to our defence PSUs like drdo,ada hal etc that "BEG,STEAL or BUY" ? But is so funny and shamefull that we cant even do that? We had To for t 90, sukoi 30 mki but do u know the production rate and quality of the machine we produce is not the quality of the russian's . And w still cant produce su 30 mki at the rate which we have to ? Hal is so casual about it so has our babus and netas.Now is that mean we dont have ability to even "BEG STEAL"?

What shall we do know ? :We need accountability black and white from defence PSUs.The head of the project should be held and stripped from his position and all gonerment benifits should be stoped for not meeting the dead line or indulge in corruption or lobbied by forign weapon vendors to delay the indigenous projects.I strongly belive it will have greater impact on our projects and paythe way for indigenous weapons.
We need to bring in Private players and use the model of USA and RUSSIA where 2 to 3 companied like HAL will compete with each other.Today hal makes some jokes like basic trainer will be ready by 2015 ...now we all should notice is that due to this delay of this WW2 design trainer with tuboprop fan ...We had to buy swedish trainer for double or triple the cost.Is it a co insident ? Or IS IT A ORGANISED CRIME? All project meet this same fate and we end up exporting.If are are exporting its fine .But why do we waste our money pay hal cheif and drdo and othe PSUs ?Just think about the money spent till now and what was the result? NOTHING

Our Army recently expressed is dissatisfaction on ARJUN MK2... our army should be told that u must live with it.As russians and usa had to at their early years...What ever they got they mass produced it and later IMPROVED it.If we keep importing where are to taking our future ? What is the use at the time of war when exported country ban INDIA or sanctioned us ?

Now just think about the following BELOW.: tell ur comment on it Like how u felt and how u feel :

Year 2014.War escalated between india and Pakistan .China enters the war .USA ,russia and kept out of conflict .As nuclear war may break out and they call for peace in the region. Prime Minister Mr.Modi order for War time projects INCLUDING MCA tejas .Not cheep like tekas mk1 but cost arround 80 mil $.With more power full Specs.To mass Produce.To prepare for full blown WW3.

MCA Tejas

Project started 2014
First Flight: 2015 december
Induction 2016 ~2017 on war time basis.
Thanks for DRDO ADA .

Specs:
India copied specs from best delta wing fighters fron Ef and Rafale

Crew: 1 or 2
Length: 52ft 9in
Wingspan: 35ft 11in
Max Takeoff weight: 51,809Ibs
Powerplant: 2× Eurojet EJ200 afterburning turbofans, 20,250Ibs
Max Speed: Mach 2+
Max Supercruise Speed: Mach 1.5
Range (without tanks): 864 miles
Service Ceiling: 65,000ft

Mass produced and later exported to its ally. Now India forms its own alliance.Takes potions as the leader of the group.

Year 2020 India test flown its Pak Fa with russian help and also AMCA ... With these technology India to upgrade its MMRCA tejas into 5 th gen Features. Now world's Chepst 5 th gen Fighter is born...

HOW WAS IT TO READ? May be very ambitious but WHY ITS NOT POSSIBLE ?

Long live this great nation.May our mother HINDUSTAN reclaim its Super Power Again
By-Hareesh Kumar (MARINER HK)
..JAI HIND
Inshaaa Allah this will happen believe in India ,, believe in urself ,,, we can do it ,,, and we will do it,,,,

The real story begun from here, before it people of our own said it could not fly, And foreigners laughed at us ..

That was because it is a silly Indian dream and Indian cannot do something like making its own design jet fighter or a tank let alone a Aircraft carriers..

And i am not a devil advocate, Its truth search a little on LCA threads which are given with LINKS.. ;)

==============================

National Industry is not about Pride Only, The Pride comes second when the First to stand on our own feet becomes reality..

Phase-1 commenced in 1990, full scale funding in 1993 then how can you call it a 30 year old legacy ?

India and Nepal are expected to close a massive military deal, including the supply of lethal weapons for the first time in nine years, when officials from both countries meet in Kathmandu next week.

The 11th Nepal-India Bilateral Consultative Group on Security Issues is set to take place in Kathmandu on June 8 and 9, where joint secretaries from respective Foreign Ministries will take a call on NA's request for the supply of military stores and equipment.

"The meeting is expected to discuss the procurement of military equipment for trainings, joint exercises, counter-terrorism action, information sharing between the two armies, the NA said in a statement. The NA in 2013 had requested India for an immediate supply of arms valued at NRs 1.76 billion.

According to local media reports, the NA is seeking to purchase more than 26,000 weapons of various kinds including several thousand Indian-made Insas rifles; more than 11 million rounds of ammunitions; bomb disposal equipment and explosives for training purpose.

Also on the NA shopping list are landmines, detonators, safety fuses and time pencils.

Nepal, last year, began taking delivery of non-lethal military supplies from India after the successful integration of former Maoist combatants into the NA. New Delhi has imposed an arms ban in 2005 after former Hing Gyanendra Shah took over executive powers and restricted democratic and civil liberties.

India will be providing some of the weapons in grant, while some will be on loan after a down payment of 60 percent, NA spokesperson Brig Gen Jagadish Pokharel was quoted as saying by Ekantipur.com. He also said the NA is procuring new weapons to replace the current models, which are mostly outdated, for military trainings and joint exercises.

the NA had received several hundred vehicles including 35 armoured, 216 light and 154 heavy vehicles.Among the vehicles were 58 trucks with a capacity of 7.5 tonnes.

============

Source : India, Nepal To Sign Major Arms Deal Including Insas Rifles Contract

I was going through this Article..
Kindly provide your view ... How can India improve its Export Status ?
What all can we export and to whom?
What impact will it have on our relations with US Russia and Even China.....?
India and Defence Exports: Silver Lining to a Dark Cloud

C Uday Bhaskar
Member, Executive Committee, IPCS

Defexpo India, held in New Delhi in February, showcased a wide range of land, naval and internal security systems with as many as 624 companies participating - both foreign and Indian. The 368 foreign companies were drawn from 30 different nations who collectively represent the dominant global arms export cluster.

India, which now ranks among the world's top arms importers (US$ 3. 3 billion in 2010), is clearly a valuable customer, and conservative estimates suggest that if the GDP growth remains robust, over the next decade, Delhi would be spending as much as US$ 100 billion in acquiring major military inventory items from Indian and foreign entities.

However Defexpo is about India seeking to demonstrate its own capability in this hugely competitive market, and some of the global indicators are stark. As per the Stockholm-based SIPRI's estimates, for 2011, the world's four major arms exporters were (in US$ billion): US 9. 98, Russia 7. 87, France 2.43, and China 1.35. The 15th country in the list is South Korea with an arms export figure of US$ 225 million. In the same year - 2011 - India ranked at number 54 and had total exports of a mere US$ 8 million.

Clearly, India has to review its arms and military export profile in an objective and holistic manner. While India in the last four decades has made some significant design and development progress in a few critical areas such as missiles, nuclear weapons, nuclear propulsion satellites and to an extent in warships - the track-record in the larger spectrum of conventional arms is distressing.

The unalloyed truth is that there is not a single credible major military inventory item/platform that is truly Indian designed and manufactured. This includes the spectrum of personal weapons, artillery guns, tanks, ships and fighter aircraft. Yes, there are sub-systems that have been introduced and some major breakthroughs are in the pipeline (such as the main battle tank) but they are yet to be realised.

Here, the historical context is instructive. The first modern gunpowder factory was set up in Ichapur, West Bengal by the East India Company in 1787, and a gun carriage unit in Cossipore near Kolkata in 1801. Almost a 100 years later, Ichapur was converted into a rifle factory in 1902 and these factories played a valuable role in World War I.

However, almost 70 years after attaining independence, India, which no doubt had been steadily de-industrialised during colonial rule, has not been able to find the political determination and sagacity to create a reasonably credible indigenous defence production base. Not even for the smallest inventory item - the personal rifle and other small arms such as revolvers - most of which are still imported. This is a paradox, and a shame that for a nation that has over 2 million personnel in uniform - military, para-military and police put together - India did not deem it imperative to design and manufacture its own assault rifle.

Much the same experience can be related in the case of the Indian army's main battle tank - though the improved version of the Arjun is soon to be inducted - skeptics aver that it may still be delayed. The most deplorable event is the long delay in the inability of the Indian defence PSUs and the eco-system that sustains them from designing and producing a suitable artillery gun. The Bofors scandal going back to the Rajiv Gandhi years in the late 1980s still plagues decision-making.

The track-record in the aviation industry has been even more bleak and notwithstanding the early success of the small fighter aircraft in the 1960s (HF-24 Marut), India still does not design and manufacture its own fighter aircraft, a trainer or a transport plane. Yes, currently the Tejas light combat aircraft and the Dhruv helicopters produced by the DRDO are a silver lining though the last lap is yet to be completed.

In contrast to the other two services, the Indian Navy has had greater success in indigenisation and to an extent exports - but this is only relative. The reason may lie in the fact that the Navy is the only service that has invested in ship design, has uniformed personnel in this cadre and also works in close co-operation with the shipyards. Thus the Navy has become a stakeholder in the process of indigenisation and from the first INS Godavari class frigate in the 1980s, India now designs and produces warships that are deemed credible fighting platforms. Yet here again one must concede that the critical ordnance - guns, missiles and torpedoes - are totally imported.

However, the current Defexpo has drawn attention to the areas where India has made some progress and the synergy between the state-owned defence PSUs and the proven private sector is waiting to be harnessed.

One visible success story is that of the Kalyani artillery gun by the Bharat Forge group which could be a breakthrough. The entry of major private groups such as the Tatas, Reliance and L&T among others augurs well but the need for nurturing this initiative with political integrity and commitment cannot be over-emphasised. Their entry and success needs to be enabled by the state, and this is where the lack of political will and bureaucratic hurdles need to be redressed - with the utmost urgency.

The current monopoly that defence PSUs have over production of major inventory items, the lack of an empathetic relationship between the military and the DRDO, the step-motherly treatment meted to the private sector, and the near total absence of academia in this endeavour are major policy issues that need to be redressed by the next government on a war-footing.

In ten years, the UPA government alas has shown a singular lack of resolve in this crucial area of national security, and hence the ignominy of watching imported military equipment being paraded on Republic Day. Hopefully Defexpo India will draw the right kind of attention to the contour of the very dark cloud and the silver lining that needs to be burnished.

Re: Indias as an exporter in Defense needs to Increase Exports of Arms

hi @abhi_the _gr8_maratha

"lca still in production for IAF
akash have been ordered by IA and IAF, as I already said , we must first supply our own forces , export of akash will be considered after it is supplied to IA and IAF
astra is just tested from su30mki, so no export of this weapon this year
we export radars to myanmar.
we export boats to mauritius ,maldives ,
we export rifles, helicopters, radars, boats , SAR plane( Do 228) etc. @Pulkit "

All these things are gifted on credit or loan in addition to it the orders are too small to make any impact....
Not talking about things which are in order of Indian Defence ...
Is there nothing else?
If we are at top of the importing list then we must make sure sure do make it to the exporting list aswell...

abhi_the _gr8_maratha

Triple post

abhi_the _gr8_maratha

Double post

cobra commando

Tharki regiment
India Expands List of Countries For Arms Exports

The Indian MoD has formulated a Defence Export Strategy and also a Standard Operating Procedure for issuing 'No Objection Certificate' (NOC) for export of 'military stores'. Since 2008, the directorate general of foreign trade has empowered the department of defence production to issue the NOC. In the last three years and the current year, 2014-15, NOCs for sale of materiel to 55 countries were granted. They include as diverse a group of countries as Algeria, Libya, Germany, Namibia, Italy, Gabon etc. The list of countries India exports 'military stores' are: Algeria, Benin, Nigeria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Sri Lanka, Paraguay, Japan, Afghanistan, Spain, Nepal, Belgium, Malaysia, Norway, Romania, Port of Spain, Venezuela, France, Vietnam, UK, UAE, Bangladesh, Ghana, Sweden, Germany, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Egypt, Burkina Faso, Brazil, Israel, Republic of Korea, Macau, Oman, Tunisia, Libya, Nuevo Leon, Ecuador, Kazakhstan, Uruguay, Netherland, Canada, Russia, USA, Namibia, Indonesia, Mauritius, Myanmar, Switzerland, Czech, Kenya, Botswana, Tajikistan, Singapore, Ireland, Italy, Gabon and Turkey. The above information was given as part of a reply to a question posed by a parliamentarian in India. India has a policy of not being aggressive on defence exports and actual figures are less than 50 million a year. Most if it is of ammunition of India's largely Soviet era weaponry.

India Expands List of Countries For Arms Exports

India's Defence Exports Likely to Surge 40% this Year
The overall defence exports including those from private and public sector units have reached 695.70 crore till September this year
The Dollar Business Bureau

Of the total shipment value, the share of private sector was 63.38% this year, much higher than the contribution of 41.67% and 30.97% recorded during the financial years 2013-14 and 2012-13 respectively.

As India’s defence exports have already touched Rs.700-crore mark in the first half of the current financial year, the shipment of this sector is expected to set a new benchmark with the government unleashing a slew of policy reforms to
push domestic manufacturing and overseas sales by private players.
Between April and September this year, the export of defence items by private companies was valued at Rs.441.06 crore, more than three times higher than their annual shipment value of Rs.132.17 crore
recorded during previous year.
While private firms exported items worth Rs.286 in 2013-14, their total shipment was capped at Rs.138.13 crore in 2012-13, showed the data revealed by the Minister of State for Defence Rao Inderjit Singh on Friday. The figures were collected
on the basis of clearances given by the Ministry of Defence for the export of military stores.
According to the Defence Ministry, the overall exports of the sector including those private and public sector units have reached 695.70 crore till September this year. Of the total shipment value, the share of private sector was 63.38% this year,
much higher than the contribution of 41.67% and 30.97% recorded during the financial years 2013-14 and 2012-13 respectively.
Going by the current trend, the total export of Indian defence equipment is likely to increase by at least 40% by the end of this fiscal as against Rs.994.04 crore registered during the past financial year.
Apart from relaxing various norms to allow private firms to enhance exports, the government has taken several initiatives to attract foreign investments in the defence manufacturing as well.