Brahmos is a scucess story of military cooperation between India and russia ( want to see more simmilar sucess story )
brahmos is way better than the yankee counterpart BGM-109TOMAHAWK
Brahmos is a scucess story of military cooperation between India and russia ( want to see more simmilar sucess story )
brahmos is way better than the yankee counterpart BGM-109TOMAHAWK
News is confusing. Does it means the missile can be fired only when plane is at mac 1.5?
Air-launched BrahMos to be test-fired in Dec 2010
i guess it is min 1.5 mach or more.
seems logical because of the removal of a booster is compensated by the aircraft's KE in motion.
that is a good find nitesh. have always wondered about it.
I am trying to explin it sir. The point here is we must keep the definition of speed & velocity in mind to understand this part.Let me explain from the begening.The suface to surface, sea to sea , sea to surface missiles need some extra bit of speed to to make it equally effective when compared to its air to sea/surface counterpart. ITs because air launch version follow a much straighter flight path compared to the sea and surface launched one.So even though surface launch versions do have a greater speed its actually approach velocity toward the target is considerably low.Now for brahmos, when launched from jets will require less than standered 2.8 machs.when all the standered fighter jets is suppose to have more than 1.5 machs in a situation when a stand off weapon has to be used there is absolutely no need to hv a booster which can accelarate the missile from 0 velocity to 2.8 machs because otherwise the missile will be gaining 1.5+2.8 =4.3 mach and will completely spoil its accuracy.
Tomahawk was designed a TLACM while Brahmos was designed as an AShM and then converted to LACM, so don't know where you got this "yankee counterpart" BS.
You can compare apples and oranges if your want, but please refrain from fanboyism.
Tomahawk - Weight 1,440 kilograms (3,200 lb)
Brahmos - Weight 3000 kg
Tomahawk - Length Without booster: 5.56 m, With booster: 6.25 m
Brahmos - Length 8.4 m
Tomahawk - Operational range 2,500km
Brahmos - Operational range 290km
Tomahawk - Warhead 1000lb, including nuclear
Brahmos - Warhead 300kg AP
Tomahawk - Subsonic
Brahmos - 2.8M
nirbhay is more like indian tomahawk version. but it is yet to be tested.
http://www.telegraphindia.com/107072...ry_8080771.asp
A humble request to everyone..lets not make a fool out of ourselves by comparing a brahmos with tomahawk just like wht pakistanis do by comparing brahmos with babur.They have completely different strategic and tactical values so lets not compare apple with oranges.
[mod]Despite several requests you are continuing with entire posts in bold font, please do not repeat this. Next time you will have to be warned[/mod]
we dont need nirbhay ,we already have brahmos with high speed and precision ,rather they should modified it into AWACS killer ( although russia is developing that missile with the help of india ) considering that russia is signatory of START treaty ,it cant develop missile of range of excess of 300km,hence india role in brahmos 2 will be greater
Babur has no conventional value, it is a nuklear strike missile as in an inferior Kh-55. Brahmos is far more significant as it can strike any ship, any coastal target, and large interior targets.
the three services need it.
quote from the link-
“Every modern military needs to have missile options. The requirement for Nirbhay was projected by all three armed forces to fill a gap in our missile programme,” Avinash Chander, the director of the Advanced Systems Laboratory, Hyderabad, who is in charge of the project, told The Telegraph in Delhi today.
please go through the link.
I completely disagree with you.Even subsonic cruise missile like tomahawk or babur dose hav significant conventional role to play as have alreay observed the role played by tomahwak in the gulf war. Now about babur its highly likely that its no way as accurate as it claims to be and thus reducing its conventional value but it will always leave a space for furture upgradation.But even in the conventional area long range subsonic & super sonic short range missiles have completely different roles to play.So lets not compare them.
[mod]please don't put entire post in bold letters[/mod]
I am sorry sir. i am new so i didnt know this.
hey no problem mate it happens
What Vladmir means is the Chinese have not yet developed capable seekers for conventional roles. At that distance the babur will miss the target.
even if babus is accurate , one should notice the speed of the missile ,the lesser the speed ,the more time you give to intercept the missile , if you see babur with its subsonic speed would take 22 minutes to reach 300km targer ,where as brahmos will take just over 3 minutes for same distance
greater speed =lesser chance of intercpeting in mid course
Thread Information