is this true can you please provide link??
Military education need of the hour: Mohan Bhagwat, RSS chief
21 FEB, 2012
NASHIK: RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat has stressed the need for imparting military education to students citing "rising" threat to internal security.
"Even 64 years after Independence, India is being threatened by China and Pakistan....with rising concern over internal security, we should give top priority to military education to students to make India strong,"Bhagwat said.
He was addressing the platinum jubilee function of Bhonsala Military School here last evening.
"Current education system is business oriented...Foreigners have adopted our education system and our police-makers are imitating theirs..This should be rectified," Bhagwat said.
Bhonsala Military School was founded in 1937 by the staunch Hindu leader Dr B S Moonje who also played a role in mentoring Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) founder K B Hedgewar.
"The Bhonsala Military School was founded by Moonje in a view to protect the nation and has been acting as a feeder institute to fulfil backlog of military officials," the RSS chief said.
Senior RSS functionary Prakash Pathak informed that the BMS was going to start a similar facility exclusively for girls in Nashik.
The BMS run by the Central Hindu Military Education Society (CHMES) is also mulling to set up a flying club and a pilot training institute besides a centre for service preparation and aeronautic engineering education.
"We are receiving proposals from the states of Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Uttarakhand for setting up military schools there and will soon take a call on them," Pathak said.
Bhagwat also released a book 'Smaran Samaranche' written by city-based Girish Takale.
Earlier, BMS students called "ramdandis" held a march to mark the occasion.
Military education need of the hour: Mohan Bhagwat, RSS chief - The Economic Times
RSS, BJP mulling another term for Nitin Gadkari
Feb 20, 2012
New Delhi: Murmurs of BJP President Nitin Gadkari getting another term have been growing louder as the RSS top brass continues to repose its faith in him and is happy that he is leaving no stone unturned in improving the party's prospects in Assembly elections since he took over.
Gadkari, who will complete his three-year term in December 2012, has led BJP from the front in the ongoing Uttar Pradesh elections.
From ticket distribution to ushering in leaders like Uma Bharti and Sanjay Joshi, Gadkari has been deeply involved in the party's endeavour to win as many seats as possible in the politically crucial state.
RSS Chief Mohan Bhagwat is said to have expressed his satisfaction at Gadkari's performance, according to sources, and this augurs well for the latter. RSS is keen on continuing with Gadkari till the Lok Sabha elections scheduled to take place in 2014, they said.
"The chess board of politics within BJP and the RSS is such that Gadkari is likely to be given another term. There is no other suitable alternative on whom both the Sangh and the party can easily have a consensus. Since he has done a good job till now, he is likely to be rewarded," a BJP MP said.
The BJP Constitution states that the party president will be elected only for one term of three years. But this clause has been amended in the past and once the Sangh founthead decides to change it again, the rest will fall in line, the sources said.
Gadkari was the RSS choice for the BJP top post after it faced two consecutive defeats in the Lok Sabha polls in 2004 and 2009. Since he has been building up the party for the next general elections, it is logical that the party not change the leader midstream, they said.
"Gadkari is Bhagwat's 'pet boy'. Moreover, his style of functioning is to take everybody along as far as possible. He has managed to take tough decisions like bringing Uma Bharti and Sanjay Joshi into the party fold," a senior leader said. Joshi's induction had left Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi unhappy, but Gadkari stuck to his guns and RSS has stood by him.
The RSS meet scheduled to take place in Nagpur from March 15 to 17 could take up the issue of Gadkari. By that time, the results of the five on-going Assembly polls, including the crucial Uttar Pradesh elections, will also be out.
Gadkari's policy of distributing tickets to candidates on the basis of surveys and local inputs has made the process more infallible. Though some leaders say this has delayed decision-making and a few have prevailed over BJP's Central Election Committee to get their followers the ticket, most feel this process has improved prospects.
The 55-year-old leader has also got a shot in the arm with the party retaining its hold over the Mumbai, Nagpur and Thane local bodies.
In the 2010 Bihar elections too, BJP had performed much beyond expectations.
Gadkari has also taken some tough decisions. These include asking Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa to step down after he was indicted by the Lokayukta in a graft case, sacking party MLAs in the Jammu and Kashmir Assembly after they cross-voted, and forming a BJP-led coalition government in Jharkhand with JMM.
RSS, BJP mulling another term for Nitin Gadkari - Politics - Politics News - ibnlive
RSS can't be banned, must maintain close vigil on it: Digvijay Singh
Congress general secretary Digvijay Singh on Wednesday sought a "close vigil" on the organisation.
Singh, however, said that banning the RSS was not possible.
"How can it be banned when it has some 150 associations of it...it is not possible...but it is necessary that a close vigil be maintained on it", he told reporters in Lucknow.
RSS can't be banned, must maintain close vigil on it: Digvijay Singh - India - DNA
Sangh is working to materialise the dreams of Vivekananda :Mohan Bhagwat
RSS Sarsanghachalak Shri Mohan Bhagwat addressed a huge gathering of swayamsevaks at Nagerkoil in Kanyakumari district of Tamil Nadu on February 12. The event was organised as part of the 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda. A total of 15,906 swayamsevaks in complete uniform participated in the function. More than 51,699 people from the general public including a large number of women also witnessed the event. Former judge of Chennai High Court Shri AR Ramalingam presided over the function. Prior to the function a welcome committee under the chairmanship of Shri VVD Raveendran, leading industrialist, was formed and the Committee successfully organised the event. The secretary of the Reception Committee Dr Sreenivasa Kannan who is Kanyakumari Vibhag Sanghachalak, delivered the welcome speech.
Addressing the swayamsevaks, Shri Bhagwat said mere celebration of Swami Vivekananda’s birth anniversary is not sufficient, real remembrance of him would be through implementing the values he propagated. “Today’s event should encourage us to study and think more on the lines of Swami Vivekananda,” he said.
“Swami Vivekananda lived his spiritual life entirely for nationalism and the countrymen. He had won America by his very first word. He had observed in great detail the material abundance and the wealthy life of America. He was accommodated by a rich man in his palatial house with all types of modern amenities of that time, and looked after cordially by him. But in the midnight that rich man was awakened by a cry. When he woke up and began to find out the place from where the cry came, he had seen Swamiji sitting on the floor in his room on the ground and weeping bitterly. The rich man asked Swamiji whether there was any slackness in his hospitality or is there in any way Swamiji was discourteously treated. Swamiji replied tearfully about the wealthy way of life of Americans and the piteous and pathetic life of millions of people of his motherland and the restlessness it created in his mind. The host was wonder struck and began to rever the Swamiji more for his patriotism and inner feeling for his fellow countrymen. Such was Swami Vivekananda! He lived not for his welfare but only for the welfare of his country,” Shri Bhagwat said.
He said Swami Vivekananda shown the way for the development of the country—Bharat should exist as Bharat only and make progress only in Bharatiya way. It should not change itself as a carbon copy of any other country. He always remembered the lion cub-sheep story.
Keeping the story of a cub which grew up with sheep and forgot the character of a lion in his mind, Swami Vivekananda found out the reasons for the sorry state of affairs of the people. “Our rulers, even though raised amidst us, had forgotten themselves like the lion in the sheepherd. We were unable to progress due to our self forgetfulness, even though it was our rule. Problems are here every where starting with border problem. We are the solution to all our crises. We are the descendents of those who lived and shed their sweat and blood for this nation,” Shri Bhagwat added.
He further said Swami Vivekananda performed “Bharat Parikrama” (spiritual circular pilgrimage by foot around Bharat) and understood clearly the problems of Bharat. He realised the need for an organisation to mould men who will think all the Hindus with good qualities in the entire world as their kith and kin. Doctor Hedgewar had his education in Kolkata and had participated in various activities for the freedom struggle. He had been imprisoned twice, once before starting Sangh and once after that for participating in the Independence struggle. He started shops to sell Swadeshi products. He had run a paper to inspire nationalism. He felt the need for well organised, reliable, strong, young men who can withstand anything. He held discussions about this subject with great personalities like Gandhiji, Netaji, Veer Savarkar and Malaviyaji. This is the vision envisaged by Swami Vivekananda. So he started the Sangh in 1925 to bring Swami Vivekananda’s dream of man-making into reality. He had seen with his own eyes the growth of Sangh in the right path in 1940,” Shri Bhagwat said.
He said the identity of this nation is Hindutva. Our forefathers without staining the earth with the blood of anybody from Mexico to Siberia, without changing anything, gave the Hinduness, which makes everybody feel the divinity present in every living being with qualities such as wisdom, valour, mathematics, etc, Bharath has to raise herself and stand on her own legs. People’s power had to be created for this. No change will come by merely changing the leaders, laws, etc. People adhering to our dharma, with mind to help others crossing over circumstances with good confidence, had to be created in village after village. Sangh is working only for this, the Sarsanghachalak said.
Shakha is the ground to impart intellectual, mental, physical training. It creates the feeling that our nation is one and we are one. Saffron flag inculcates within us the philosophy of Hindu dharma. Swayamsevaks, when major calamities occur, go there before anybody reaches there and help the people only because of this. Thousands of swayamsevaks are rendering services today with their own resources without expecting anybody. Swami Vivekananda had dreamt only this. Sangh is working only to bring that dream into reality. He called upon the swayamsevaks to generate Hindu unity to safeguard the Hindu society, Hindu culture and quality. “Bharat will raise only if Hindu Dharma exists. Universe will live only if Bharat rises up. Changing the thousand years of weakness is in our hands only. Shakha had to be held in every village to impart training to Hindus to imbibe Hinduness. Integrated social transformation had to be brought. That had to be brought out by our life. We visualise here the power of most disciplined swayamsevaks. We have to convey the message of Swami Vivekananda to every place. We should take over the responsibility of creating the oneness of the universe in this 150th birth anniversary of Swami Vivekananda. We should not remain as mere mute spectators. We should convey the message of Swami Vivekananda to everybody, and strive to create a society, which will dedicate body, mind and property as a whole for national life. It is neither the work of leaders nor God. It is the work of people’s power. Shri Bhagwat said the mothers too must get trained in Rashtra Sevika Samiti just like the Sangh work of generating people’s power for national interest. We should become transformers of our belonging to dedicate them to the nation. We should become karyakarta to create a society that will make the nation to raise and stand. We can see with our own eyes Swami Vivekananda’s dreams of our BharatMata adorning the universal throne and guide the universe. We shout strive for raising the nation and make her stand on her leg.
Presidential address was given by Sri A R Ramalingam, Judge of Chennai High Court (Retd). He remarked, “I have heard of Sangh. Today I am seeing in front of me. I can feel the qualities of Discipline, Patriotism, Service, Sacrifice in you. These qualities are needed today for the nation. This should grow and this will have a change in the society and we should all participate in developing these qualities”.
A book “Thirai” translated from Kannada novel “Aavarana” was released by Sri Mohan Bhagawat and received by the President of the function Sri A R Ramalingam. Two Audio CDs of patriotic song was also released by Sri Mohan Ji Bhagawat and received by Bala Ganesh, Industrialist. The book is written in Kannada by Sri S L Byrappa- a famous Kannada Writer. The book was translated by Sri Jaya Venkatraman.
Srilasri Muthukumaraswamy Thambiram, (Dharmapura Adheenam), Srilasri Kasivasi Thambiran (Thiruppandal Kasi Thirumadam),Sri Dhivayananda Maharaj, (Ramakrishna Tapovanam, Thirupparaithurai), Sri Akhilanandha (Swami Vivekananda Ashram, Thirukutralam), Sri Omkaranandha (Chidbavanandha Ashram, Theni), Sri Marudhachala Adigalar, (Perur Adheenam,Kovai), Sri Kumara Gurupara Swamigal, (Adhinam, Gowmara Madalayam Covai), Sri Chaitanyananda Maharaj (Sri Vivekananada Ashram, Vellimalai, Kanyakumari), Sri Sivalingeswara Swamigal (Sri Angala Parameshwari Sittar Peedam, Covai), Sri Ragavananda (Sri Anjaneya Madaalayam, Sankarankovil), participated in the mammoth gathering.
Ma. Suryanarayana Rao, Ma. Jayadev Ji, Ma. K C Kannan, Ma. Sitaram Ketilaya, Sri Ashok Beri, Sri Stanumalayan Kshethra Saha-Pracharak, Sri Sethumadhavan Kshethra Pracharak, Sri Vanniyarajaji Kshethra Sanghachalak, Ma. RVS Marimuthu, Prantha Sanghachalak Dakshin Tamilnadu, Sri VVD Ravindran Reception Committee President, Sri Pa Ra Krishnamurthy, Samskar Bharathi, Sri Rama Gopalan, Founder Hindu Munnani, participated in the gathering.
Sangh is working to materialise the dreams of Vivekananda :Mohan Bhagwat | Vishwa Samvada Kendra
Mammoth gathering of swayamsevaks in Kanyakumari
Well, Hinduism has no choice but to become organized if it wants an organized voice, and it does, like the other religions.
The RSS only has itself to blame for its negative image. I mean let's face it, for all the controversial stuff the Thackeray's spew out, they could easily promote a better face of their organization, but they don't. All we see is radicals once in a while going crazy over something or someone after every few months. If RSS truly indulges in social service, than it truly sucks in PR.
Sikh groups have been active in Africa, Pakistan, Malaysia, Indonesia, Burma, Thailand and even Japan (after the recent Tsunami). They are all over the place. They provide aid to the needy, and at the same time spread awareness and Sikh teachings to new people abroad. It is no surprise than that there is now actually a large and growing Caucasian Sikh community. Mind you, none of the places those groups operate in have a majority Sikh community.
Contrast this with the RSS, who have complained to no end about Christian missionaries converting NE tribals; so what has the RSS done in return other than blow hot air? Imagine how much more impact they would have had, had they set up free schools in the NE for poor tribal children and provided free healthcare and other such stuff what the missionaries offer. To fight missionaries, you have to turn into missionaries yourself and promote your religion. RSS needs to learn this. (If it hasn't already, if it has, manage its PR better so people can actually see its social activities).
Karthic, I think on another thread a conclusion was reached that Sikhs and Hindus have different survival instincts. Yes, I see your point about the evangelists, but from a Sikh point of view, evangelists are less of a threat than a group which tries to alter and change a religion's history and ideology from it's roots.
Much like many Muslims accepting Ram, Krishna, and all the other Hindu avatars as "Prophets", and than going on to say, we respect all those prophets very much but since Muhammad was the last prophet, we must all follow him. An example of trying to morph a religion from inside out; something the RSS has been trying by re-writing false Sikh history books. So I would rather have the evangelists in this case trying to match the Sikh communities charity work, and I doubt the evangelists can match the Sikhs in that department. If Sikhs start playing the same game in mass, we would probably end up converting most of the Christians to Sikhism too.
But yes, I do see your point with the evangelists, just hope you see mines with the RSS. No one should be stepping onto anyone elses toes. Not the evangelists, nor the RSS.
Look Karthic, I respect the Hindu religion, and I don't know much about the history or even the meaning of Sanatan Dharmas et all. I follow the Guru Granth Sahib wholeheartedly and my first prayer I ever learnt was the Japji Sahib. The world view that Sikhs grow up with from the Guru Granth Sahib is vastly different and I have very little knowledge about what Sanatan Dharmas et all are since they are not mentioned in the Guru Granth Sahib. Sikhs were commanded by their Gurus to only pay heed to the Guru Granth Sahib and nothing else for it alone will illuminate the way to achieve nirvana. Moreover, many of the things in the Granth Sahib are incompatible with everyday Hinduism, like the rituals, fasts, pilgrimages and worshiping idols of gods. Guru Nanak says all of that is useless and one must only concentrate on Nit Nem (remembering and repeating the name of god alone). I consider Hindus brothers too, we have a common culture, but I hope you can see where and why we differ.
This is what I keep saying.
On threads in the past, I have said that the cow piss connoisseurs need to stop whining about "oooh, RSS is soooo misunderstood - RSS is actually soooo good, they do so much good work, blah blah blah".
Whose fault is it, if the RSS cannot galvanize the rich Hindu temples to part with some money for PR and social activities?
Babas launch TV channels for promotion of yoga, Muslim leaders launch channels for propagation of religion, and people try to claim that the RSS cannot launch any PR initiative of its own, and is always "misunderstood"!! Who believes this?
There was some reason why I said "You know nothing about RSS". I will not blame you for that. Most of the works are not highlighted by media as RSS supports BJP which is Anti-Congress/Left.
Ekal Vidyalayas is school which function in about 35,000 villages catering to 10 lakh students free of cost. This is conservative estimate. It has presence in 2/3rd of Tribal belts. It has branches in many other countries including USA.
Ekal Vidyalaya - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
They raised lots fund by charity and helped Millions of students.
Ekal Vidyalaya fundraiser raises $320,000
kal Vidyalaya Foundation reaffirms peoples’ faith
There are many school too like Saraswati Shishu Mandir, Bharatiya Vidya Niketan, Gita Vidyalaya, and Saraswati Bal Vidyalaya which is helping poor Hindus across the country. Vidya Bharati set up 14,000 schools at the nursery, primary and secondary levels, post-graduates training colleges and had over 18 lakh students under its tutelage. In that period, there were 80,000 teachers on its rolls. These numbers almost doubled in last decade.
There are 2-3 more organisation which are helping SC/ST/Poor in rural areas to stop conversion. They were successful to stop such things in M.P., Chattisgarh. Christians are only 2%. There is few organisation for rehabilitation and providing job opportunity.
Then there is Seva Bharati who is very actively working in social welfare.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seva_Bharati
Then there are many Hindu groups in USA, Europe, Bangladesh and everywhere. All are active and when anything happens. People protest and 90% demands were always accepted. Have you heard the name of Rajan Zed ? There are many.
I can go on and on. There are around 150 small/big social groups as RSS wings and working intensively everywhere. It was successful. So much that, 2nd Biggest political party was created. As far PR, Well I don't from where you heard. I see 80% Internet users support RSS and openly and actively.
Last edited by Galaxy; 21-02-12 at 03:10 PM.
I can tell a few things about this Bangalorean.In South-India where we have mammoth Temples and devasthanams even though the day to day adminstration is done by the respective state governments each temple has a shadow organization of the local strong man families who influence that temple area who protected the Temple and its treasures for many generations against all adversial forces for millenia. These people generally are say lingayats or gowda families in Karnataka couples with the lower classes the south indian Brahmins of each temple generally are involved only in the rituals and poojas.Similarly in TN and AP it will be Kammas,Reddies,Gounders and other OBC's
Now lets go back to past history of say the Marathas who fought the war of attrition in the South India against the Auranghazeb they were not all kind to the local populace.The local populace was equally exploited by both the Marathas and Mughals.In all this fracas the maratha Peshwas (Chhitpavan Brahmins) and their auxillaries Pindaris looted the Sringeri mutt and many south-Indian temples thankfully Tirupathi was saved.From that time onwards any organization which has Chitpavan brahmins is Persona Non Grata in South-Indian temples that ironically is the RSS.
This was most notable during the Babri Masjid demolition the RSS courted the Kanchi\Kumbakonam Shankaracharya no other mutt co-operated with them in the south.same thing hapenned when Satya Sai Baba died
Who cares what many people think ?? RSS is not for everyone nor it had any such intention. RSS doesn't invite anyone. People join on their own wish.
RSS is not centrist secular political party but religious and social organisation. It is still the largest Hindu social organisation. There are many people who don't like RSS but there are large no. of people who like RSS.
Last edited by Galaxy; 21-02-12 at 03:41 PM.
If there is a Ban on CONgis then India will develop much faster
It takes moolah.
When the have to use their own money for some of their social activities how can they launch TV channels..You talk as if launching a TV channel is like going to a shop and buying one kilo sugar. It's not.
First of all I dont even know if the Govt will give permission.
Try Government and the so called 'secular' laws.
The answer is the Temples (which matter and are rich enough to do such work) are NOT allowed to do that. Because all the rich temples are governed by State Govt appointed Devaswom boards and their transactions are indrectly under the control of the state Govt which manages the income and utilizes the assets.
Else why would Sabarimala Dewaswom board give 3 crore to Haj subsidy when infrastructure in Sabarimala itself is not sufficient to handle the massive amount of pilgrims ?
Last edited by KS; 21-02-12 at 10:59 PM.
Unfortunate but yes.
That is problem with people. They lump all the right wing organizations, in this case the Sena is a political party with different ambitions as that of RSS, into one seemingly homogenous entity. That is wrong.They are all different organizations with different idealogies with different methods.
Secondly yes RSS truly sucks in PR and in showcasing its services to the poor. But that showcasing needs money and 21sy century marketing skills which these pracharaks lack. Its like how , when the invaders were blazing their way to victory through cannons and artillery we were still depending on frontal horse charges shouting Bajrangbali Ki Jai and walking right into a cannonball.
RSS needs to evolve its methods to suit the blitzkreig being unleashed on it. I myself have written letters/emails many times to their leadership. But sadly no response.
The difference is funding. While the Khalsa groups have plenty of funding from gurudwaras, RSS doesnt have that luxury. One of the perks of being an organized religion I believe. Moreover some one was heard saying why would the Temples part with some of their huge income to RSS activities. Good question. The answer is the Temples are NOT allowed to do that. Because all the rich temples are governed by State Govt appointed Devaswom boards and their transactions are indrectly under the control of the state Govt. This is not the case in Gurudwaras or Mosques or Churches where they manage their own properties. Another area where Hindus are being short changed in the name of secularism.
Anyway I as a concerned Hindu do my part. I have been sending 5000 Rs a year as my individual contribution to RSS. I know it is small, but I am just one person. I hope other concerned Hindus too do their part and chip in with their contributions, however small. I assure you it is going to good hands.
Believe me the bolded part has already been tried by the evangelists (that Krishna is also a son of God and a Messiah who came before jesus) so Hindus are also children of God (Christians).
Anyway you must know that Hindus by and large simply don't care what Sikhism is. For us it is another of the Indian religions that is native to this land and we consider that it poses no threat to our way of life. The Sikh masses should understand that.
As I told you before if you consider Sikhism as a distinct faith I will not argue that and will respect your views. But it still doesn't change the fact I consider it as much more closer to Hinduism that the Semitic religions which are completely at odds with Hindu dharma.
Last edited by KS; 21-02-12 at 11:03 PM.
Even I would want true secularism here. Cannot be done at one shot, but should be done in stages.
Yes, RSS could do with some PR and outreach activities, if they really have a lot of stuff to showcase.
Thread Information